We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$318
$308
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$254
$196
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$285
$235
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Now Jade Riviera Cancun(Puerto Morelos)
$242
$177
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$222
$161
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$406
$133
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of $163/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$480
$294
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun(Puerto Morelos)
$370
$236
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$478
$450
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (14,384)
Filter reviews
14,384 results
Traveler rating
11,372
2,087
607
196
122
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
11,372
2,087
607
196
122
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslazy riverchez isabellelobstermartini barthe grillflavor marketsol barspa viewbarcelona restaurantclub poolroom serviceour honeymoonfrench restaurantlas olasclub levelmichael jackson showswim up room
Filter
Updating list...
12,167 - 12,172 of 14,384 reviews
Reviewed January 2, 2009

My husband and I enjoyed our stay, from Dec. 22-27, at Excellence but not as much as our Christmas stay at Secrets Capri a few years back. The beach is better, the pools are great (though water is quite cold) and the waiters and bartenders worked hard and were friendly (e.g. Ephraim, Edy, Ramon). The rooms were somewhat larger. On the other hand, the food was slightly worse ( with Chez Isabelle being great and the other restaurants okay), the entertainment was worse, with no great effort on making Christmas Eve/Day special as it was at Secrets. Also, watch the Front Desk...one person tried to short my husband on a dollar to peso exchange, and Viktor in particular was unfriendly and less than helpful. I really expected better given the rave reviews I read on Tripadvisor.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank enjoylife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2009

We are a family of 3 from Toronto. We just returned from 1 week at Excellence (Dec 25-Jan 1) and I cannot believe we were at the same resort as the other recent "reviews". It is truly beyond belief how people complain and whine about things. Bottom line is that these are large, all inclusive resorts. They need to try and please 95% of the roughly 800-900 people who stay there every night. The other 5% you will never please! Look at the reviews complaining about food, hardness of bed, lack of pillows. One lady we spoke to was all upset beause they did not have Grey Goose vodka for her martini!

In our view, this place was easily 5 stars plus. Property, staff, beach, rooms and service were simply beyond the norm. Sure there was some seaweed (cleaned twice a day), sure not every meal was perfect, sure the light in the bath could have been brighter. If you want to nit pick, you need to get away from an all inclusive and go to a Four Seasons where you pay $25 for a salad. And the comment abot leaving valuables in a locked suitcase rather than the electronic safe in the room (free and secure ) is simply laughable and shows the mentality of some people.

The real highlights for us versus standard 5 star All Inclusives were a) very quiet and relaxed, b) adults only, c) every meal al a carte and fresh, d) all restaurants require no reservations, e) no noisy jet ski/parasailing boats at all, f) rooms were very nice and the beds were absolutely fine , g) property is very well laid out with very short walking distances, h) beach was very nice, i) property was immaculare and highly maintained.

The only possible downfall is lack of beach palapa/beds. You needed to be up early to get one!

Bottom line is to read these reviews carefully. This property is at the very top of of a short list of truly 5 star plus hotels in the carribean.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank dadp_canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2009

I used this website to help me find a nice place for our anniversary. We spent 1 night at Desire and 2 nights at Excellence. The reviews about Desire on this website were mixed but my expectations were far surpassed. At excellence there were high reviews but my expectations weren't met!!!

We got to the resort at about 1 pm, 2 hours before our check-in time at the Excellence Club Level. All was well until we met our host at the Excellence Club (Alex). We were told to wait about 2 1/2 hours before check in and got the feeling that rooms were ready but we were denied access to them. After a so,so lunch we returned to check in. The restaurants by the way don't require reservation but you will wait 20 minutes for a table!!! The room was awesome for the first impression. The bed was horrible, the alarm clock did not work and it took 7, yes 7, phone calls to have a broken hair dryer replaced.

The next morning about 10 am we went to the "private" Excellence Club Level beach and pool. A bed, beach chair or chair that was not taken could not be found. We then went to the general public section of the hotel and again, no vacant chairs.

Paying $ 800 a night and not being able to get a beach chair or pool chair got annoying real fast. The pool concierge told us taht there was nothing she could do. We then called the Club Level concierge and layed into him. The result was that 2 hours later we were taken to the "private club" beach and a pregnant lady that was supposed to be on the "public" side was booted out!!! Not her lucky day but also bad for us because it made my wife feel bad.

I agree 100% with the prior review about the New Years dinner and entertainment. The grounds and rooms are beautiful but the service sucked. I think it is because the resort is too big. There were service personell everywhere but NONE of them could deliver. It's all yes sir and then nothing happens. One department has to talk to the next and so on.

If you're used to HoJo or Hilton, you will LOVE this place. If you're used to the Ritz Carlton, Four Seasons or even Hyatt, you WILL NOT LIKE IT. In my opinion, not worth more than $ 300 a night, even with the Bulgari Shampoo and soap.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank zcrownroyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2009

i travelled with my family Mum, Dad and sister for a nice relaxing break for 2 weeks over xmas.
We arrived on the 14th December late evening to a lovely welcome with cold towels and a nice cold glass of champagne, checkin was very simple and easy and was welcomed to a stunning lobby area.

Rooms:
We where quickly shown to our rooms that where big spacious rooms with seperate living area and a great jacuzzi bath just what you need after a 10 hour flight.
Rooms where clean and a restocked mini fridge with everything you need, the room was a little worn but still a good standard.

Resaturants:

There is lots of restaurants to choose from with so many different types of food to choose from, i really enjoyed the french for good food, the mexican for a great lively evening with a fab mexican band and barcelona was good all round for breakfast and lunch
(this is my prefrence but everyone has there own tastes) but for variety this hotel had it!

Entertainment:

There wasnt a lot to choose from, They day there was yoga and football, vollyball as well as scuba diving lessons i was a little disapointed with the evenings but obviously for others on honeymoon or romantic break thats not what your looking for. comdien was funny and magic show was very entertaining.

Staff:

I couldnt find anything wrong with the staff they where brilliant, very friendly and will do anything for you i felt they did really enjoy there jobs and that nothing was scripted it was all real and sincere.

Drinks:
All drinks where top shelf and the coktails where brilliant.

Beach:

It was well cleaned with plenty of towels and sun beds the last week did get busy but it was xmas, the water is very murky and lots of sea weed but if you enjoy the pool which i do i had no problems with it

Location:
its 30 min for cancun and 30 min from puerto del carmen it cost around $80 return, i would say it wasnt great for location but if you not fussed on seeing mexico then its ideal.

Xcaret:
We went to xcaret for the day and night which cost $120 that included the night show it was a brilliant day with lots to do enjoyed the river snorkel in the under caves and the man made beach, i enjoyed the evening show i havent seen and show like it before with over 240 cast members, i also swam with dolphins there that was extra for a hour swim and you do get a full hour in the water unlike some and would love to do it again!

My overall view of the whole resort its self is the hotel is stunning and the staff are brilliant, the location isnt great but i do think if you there to relax and see mexico its good.
I found the food great and at a high standard.
I wouldnt go back beacuse it was only couples but i do recommend to people on there honeymoon/anerversary and on a romantic vacation.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sam1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2009

We just returned from a fabulous week at Excellence Riviera Cancun. We were treated like royalty from the moment we arrived, where we were greeted with champagne and fantastic service. Everything on the resort was new, clean, and first class!
The food was wonderful, and we especially liked the breakfast and lunch buffets and dinner at the Lobster House. The service was amazing, very friendly and no waiting at the bars or restaurants. The staff (ask for Humberto and Juan) treated us like old friends! Our suite was a perfect size for a couple, and the mini bar was restocked daily as promised.
We also got a couples massage at the spa. It wasn't the deep tissue type massage we expected, but it was still very nice and relaxing. We also liked the private terrace with champagne and chocolate covered strawberries afterward- nice treat!
Ricardo, at the front desk, gave us some great ideas for excursions. Upon his advice, we rented a car and drove to Tulum for a day, and we went into Puerto Morales and chartered a snorkel tour of the reef with "Dive In" (ask for Paco). Both trips were awesome!
The only thing that wasn't great about the resort was that the pools were freezing! Of course, it was December, so that's no one's fault. The ocean was warm, though.
We would recommend Excellence to couples looking for a relaxing, low key, luxurious and romantic getaway.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Hotrod75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews