We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$327
$308
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$250
$196
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$285
$235
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Now Jade Riviera Cancun(Puerto Morelos)
$250
$189
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$226
$161
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$291
$160
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$487
$294
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$471
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$549
$472
Otel.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (14,377)
Filter reviews
14,377 results
Traveler rating
11,366
2,086
607
196
122
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
11,366
2,086
607
196
122
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslazy riverchez isabellelobstermartini barthe grillflavor marketsol barspa viewbarcelona restaurantclub poolroom serviceour honeymoonfrench restaurantlas olasclub levelmichael jackson showswim up room
Filter
Updating list...
7,989 - 7,994 of 14,377 reviews
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We go the Mexican Riviera twice per year, always staying at high end all-inclusive adults only resorts. Normally we stay at Le Blanc or The Zoetry but we booked last minute over the holidays and those properties were booked. So we thought we would try The Excellence. The beach was a huge disappointment. Brown, sea-weed filled water like nothing we have ever seen in the Mexican Caribbean. If you want to sit by a pool all day and the ocean does not matter this will not affect you. We come to the Mexican Caribbean to enjoy clear, aqua water which this resort does not have. Far from it. The service was spotty and absolutely not indicative of a 5 star. Each day on the beach there was only one staff member servicing the over hundred plus guests on the beach for drinks, etc. If you got a drink after waving your hands for an hour you were lucky. Want lunch or a snack on the beach at your chair? Good luck! We did not see anyone successful in getting food brought to them. The one server on the beach was named "Betsy" and she was as nice as could be. However, she could not possibly handle everyone who rightfully paid a lot of money to have a drink, a bottle of water, or maybe a snack, at the beach. You have to get up and go to a bar near the pools and stand in line to get a drink - the bars also very understaffed. Again, not indicative of a five star. The same lack of service was at the pools. Two out of four days the resort ran out of clean towels for the beach and pool. The rooms are very dated and have not been refurbished for what look like over a decade. The food at dinner was good, with many choices, but be prepared for big waits and more lines. Each of the restaurants would have empty tables but not enough staff so you are given a pager and when your table is ready, usually in about an hour, you are paged. All in all this is a 3-4 star property on a really bad stretch of beach. If you don't care about the ocean, and are not interested in bar/food service by the beach and pool amongst other things normally seen at 5 star resorts in Mexico, you may be fine.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mhnate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excellence_Group, Community Manager at Excellence Riviera Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Thank you for having chosen Excellence Riviera Cancun as your holiday destination and for taking the time to share this review with us.

We are disappointed to hear that your experience with us did not live up to your expectations and we would like to extend our sincerest apologies.

Your comments are very important to us because give us the opportunity to know better about the aspects we need to work on in order to give the best service, the kind of service our guests deserve. Please rest assured that all the issues you have raised have been addressed and that appropriate corrective actions have been taken.

We truly hope to have the privilege to welcome you back in a near future and to provide you with a truly unique vacation experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Went Dec. 16 to Dec. 23, 2013 for my wife's graduation present. The staff was amazing. Food was excellent. Most couples we met had been to this hotel numerous times. We also never left the resort and never were bored. Highly recommended!!!

Room Tip: Excellence club is not worth the extra money.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jason N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Stayed Dec 24-30, having cancelled on Hardrock Riviera Maya due to delays in the reconstruction. ERC was beautiful. Staff attentive and friendly. No pressure to tip or difference in service. Drinks flow freely. Food just OK, beef always tough. Music not intrusive. Rooms nice. Resort a bit secluded, would be nice if there were walkable areas nearby. No problem getting chairs at beach or pools. Oddly, can't buy ERC souvenirs. 20 min from airport.
Golfed. At TPC Cancun. Overpriced. Fairways very thin.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank WaymanDudley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We arrived at the resort on the 31st of December and apart from the fact we had to wait 90 minutes for our room to be ready we are having a wonderful time. That said, we enjoyed a lovely snack and drink whilst we waited and it was new year so hotel was at capacity.
We are in a standard room (6308) it overlooks the pool and is very peaceful. It is also well situated for the beach, restaurants and bars.
There was a superb Gala Dinner on New Years Eve and last night we enjoyed a lovely meal at the Mexican restaurant. Think we will try the Indian tonight.
All the staff are extremely friendly and courteous whilst still laid back. The drinks service at all the pools is great and you are asked if you need anything on a very regular basis.
We are particularly like the Martini Bar where the staff are great at recommending new drinks for you to try. The house wine at the resort is also really good (Sauvignon Blanc and Merlot) so definitely no need to pay for other wines.
The full bottles of alcohol in the room are also very impressive. We have Tequilla, Rum, red wine and vodka, in addition to all the beers etc in the fridge. Given the choice we would have preferred a bottle of whiskey, but I guess they give you what is deemed to be most popular.
I saw a review saying there were too few pillows, but I simply asked for more and even my request for feather pillows was accommodated.
I have never done all inclusive before but I have to say I am won over by this resort. Really enjoying our stay :)

Room Tip: Our room is centrally located but nice and peaceful. We have a thatched roof which makes room quite dark and shaded, if you prefer a sunnier room as for one without the thatched roof.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SaraHoneywell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Excellence at the end of August 2013 to celebrate my birthday! We had a wonderful time and have not stopped talking about the trip since. We cannot wait to come back and explore other Excellence Properties.

We checked in and had one hiccup where a king room was not available so they had to put us in a double queen room. Not a huge deal but was a little disappointing after booking a king. Wasn't going to ruin our trip though. We stayed in a swim-up room and I wouldn't have it any other way! The hammock was amazing and excellent for afternoon naps. It rained a couple of days but that didn't keep us from enjoying the pool right outside our room. The mini bar in our room was also a plus! My only complaint is the pools closed too early. Some nights after the shows were over it would have been nice to swim again.

The entertainment was great. We really enjoyed each night. We never made it to the club but sounded like a great time. The recreation team was awesome. They always made getting a coco loco fun and you could tell they really enjoyed their jobs.

We met Mariana who served us drinks almost every single night. She was fantastic! She remembered our names, drinks and took care of us. She definitely deserves recognition. Luis, who worked at Basmati, was also fabulous. He suggested our entire dinner and had us hooked on Indian food immediately. Every choice he made was to die for. All of our dining experiences were great. Food was delicious, staff was friendly and fast.

We loved that you could get a beach chair anytime and still find space at the pools as well. The drink service on the beach was a little slow but I understand it takes time to run back and forth.

Overall we had a wonderful stay and cannot wait to come back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MDub6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews