We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing vacation!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Excellence Riviera Cancun
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 11, 2013

This was our fourth visit to Excellence Riviera Cancun and, after an off year, we were very pleased with our experience and so glad we gave it another chance. The same excellent staff throughout the resort, (Daniella, Mariana, Betsy, Ana, Gustavo, Santiago, Guillermo, Luis, Roberto, Gabriella, Armando, Juan, Dionysis, Jennifer, Alfredo to mention only a few) close proximity to the airport, adult only, ala carte evening dining with no reservations required and beautiful grounds are our main reasons for choosing this resort.

The resort is back to the 4.5 star level we've enjoyed in the past and Jean Francois Girault has put his mark on the resort in a positive way with improved food quality and presentation. The breads and pastries are incredible. There were ample new pool floaties, the chaise lounge pads have been replaced and the new sun beds are very comfortable for relaxing and/or reading. The pool level made for perfect filtration, elevators are faster and the grounds pristine. We enjoyed the addition of the rain shower in our room; a nice touch.

We ate at Chez Isabelle 4 times, Toscana, Spice and The Grill 3 times and once at Agave. Chez Isabelle is currently under renovation to increase capacity. What dining in the temporary Barcelona location lacks in atmosphere is more than compensated for by the excellent staff, led by Manager Juan, a changing daily specialty menu and wonderful food. The menu at Toscana has changed so I was disappointed that my favourite chicken breast and cannoli dessert are no longer available. I regret the extra work I caused poor Guillermo. My husband says he’ll be off on stress leave and will run shouting “no mas!!!” when he sees me again. I admit to being a fussy eater; I like what I like; don’t eat “cute” animals or any type of seafood. The menu does not specify the cut of chicken but, since I only eat white meat, I assumed (hoped if you will) for a breast and it was, in fact, a leg. My next selection, beef with mozzarella, didn’t specify VEAL so, again, I wouldn’t eat it. Guillermo offered to get me a steak but I opted for dessert to save us both further dismay. In Spice, the Manager Roberto had a Thai Fried Rice prepared for me substituting cashews for the chicken. Although I still miss the spring rolls, the tempura vegetables (part of the Tendon entrée) are a great option. Our last experience at Spice was ruined by a large group (22) of extremely loud guests who, while having a great time, spoiled it for everyone else. Staff are so accommodating; if you make a special request in advance, the restaurant manager will do his best to deliver. If you like seafood, you’re in for a treat because it is fresh, expertly prepared and the portions generous. Our meal at Agave was our only disappointment. The food was lukewarm and unappealing and it was downright annoying to have wedding guests from the private function at Basmati walking through the tables for access to the washrooms. Having the guests from the private function access the washrooms through the front entrance would have made more sense.

The friendly staff, variety and quality at The Barcelona for breakfast and lunch was wonderful but they are seriously understaffed and the toaster kept blowing fuses. Thankfully the breads were so amazing I just gave up toasting. Fresh sushi and a pasta station are always an option. We ate lunch at The Grill once and, although tasty, the food was lukewarm so not enjoyable for me. We tried the totally under the radar wood oven pizza available poolside daily but you need to be very specific on EXACTLY what you want. A nice option. Revive, the smoothie bar, is once again alcohol-free.

There is ample seating available beachside and numerous pool options throughout the resort; something to suit everyone. Shade options are plentiful. We always opt for a quiet pool and don’t really care that the more “remote” pools lack frequent bar service. The lovely gardens are home to lots of beautiful birds, gorgeous blue butterflies, geckos and iguanas.

Our only negatives were the daily fluctuation in temperature/pressure in our room shower and the food overall being lukewarm UNLESS you made a special request for hot food. Thankfully the shower issue lasted for only about 30 seconds at a time and we are always careful to keep the showerhead turned away when not in use. Food should ALWAYS be hot, it shouldn’t have to be requested. The road from the main highway into the resort is a nightmare of giant potholes but that is beyond the control of the hotel.

We had a great time and are so glad we didn’t give up after our disappointing stay last year. We’ll definitely return next November and hope to get a week in this coming March.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SengaMilne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (12,665)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,417 - 6,423 of 12,665 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2013

We had 22 friends make the trip, for many was our first all inclusive visit. Not bad, but not great. The facility is 20 years old and showing some age. The staff was ok to incompetent. There was a fountain area, fountain was not working and at night difficult to see the drop off. one of our members fell into the fountain (no, she had not been drinking) and sprained her ankle. They did call medical staff, but they essentially told her to ice it and provided a wheel chair for use on the property. While this was occuring, 2 other people approached our group and said the same thing had happened to one of their group in the last 2 days. The facilities staff then moved plants around the fountain-but that only lasted 2 days and they removed them. They beds had plastic liners and the sheets and linens were not very high quality. at $400+ a night, expected more. We tried to dine together as a group, or at least a 2-3 tables-the staff at the restaurants were not very accomodating and reluctant to move tables together, unless we agreed to purchase a few bottles of wine at an additional cost. the bar service was adequate, but not really motivated, and our group tipped well, at least the first few days.One final note-the transportation companies are most interested in selling you activities-they were very inflexible in coordinating transportation to the airport with less than 1 day notice-claiming it is the drivers union requirement to have all documented passengers, they needed registration via fax and it was impossible to get updated information in less than 5-6 hours. Lots of excuses, not much on action-welcome to Mexico!

Room Tip: do not pay for the upgraded ground floor rooms-not worth $50 a night to have a hammock/swim up room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excellence_Group, Community Manager at Excellence Riviera Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Thank you very much for taking your time to share with all of us this review, your feedback is very important for us and it is our regret that we were not able to meet your expectations, although many travelers find Excellence Riviera Cancun to be a great place for romantic and relaxing getaway, with excellent food options and outstanding service.

We are very much surprised by your review and the disappointments you faced during your stay with us. At Excellence we are committed to provide services and facilities in consistency with the hotel high standards, a continuous supervision is held in all hotels areas to ensure our installations comply with this goal. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience.

Our corporate customer service department remains at your disposal at customerservice@excellence-resorts.com in order to further discuss the matter or in case you require any future assistance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

My husband and I went her for our honeymoon. It was amazing from the time we arrived until the time we left. We were greeted with champagne and the escorted to the Excellence Club. We arrived around 11:00 so of course our room was not ready yet. We new it would not be as check in time is at 3:00. We went and ate lunch and hung out. I would suggest to bring your swimwear in a smaller bag so you could go to the pool/beach while you are waiting. All the resturant were wonderful. We did not eat one bad thing. I cant wait to return someday!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at the Excellence Resort in Riviera Maya Cancun from 11/30-12/7. We stayed in the Excellence Club, Oceanview room. We could not have been more pleased with the hotel, the room, the service, the food and more importantly, the other guests. Every aspect of the trip was A+ and the staff could not have been more attentive!

The beach was beautiful and each restaurant was excellent!

I highly recommend this resort and we cannot wait to go back there next year!

Room Tip: The oceanview room in the excellence club was great. Loved watching the sunrise over the ocean each...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JIM P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Stayed at ERC Nov 26-DEC 8 2013 and last year around the same time.Observations from this trip and last year,thought the food was better in the restaurants.last year the pool bar revive served alcohol this year it was a juice bar.Had a swimup suite 4008 in building 4,.last year service around swimup suite was great, this year in the first seven days not once were even asked or had any kind of bar or drink service offered,Room service maid service and minibar service were great with very friendly employees.Breakfast and lunch at Barcelona were fantastic with a great variety of food and waiters , a standout being Misael very professional and courteous and who made my husbands birthday memorable . Was nice to meet the general manager and seem him walking around the property,and receive a call from the assistant manager on our last night asking how our stay was,very nice touch Had a great time and will return again

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wisema55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We stayed for one week here and found the staff to be very courteous and helpful. The resort was clean, spacious and beautiful. We spent most of our time at the beach and swimming in the ocean but the pools were beautiful. Breakfasts were especially great with terrific selection and a live musician playing different instruments each morning. Lunch and dinner options included several different types of restaurants: Indian, Italian, Mexican, A Grill, and several others and the food was very good. One night they did a beautiful outdoor Mexican dinner with a live singing/playing band that went table to table---a really nice touch! Our room was an open concept style which we enjoyed with a whirlpool tub in the room, a lovely sitting area, and a nice sized balcony overlooking the swimming pool areas. There were many activities each day--although we were too busy relaxing on the beach to partake in many of them but they looked fun. The selections at the bars were all premium brands and the bartenders mixed a mean mohito and mango margarita!! And there was a very well stocked mini bar included with the room. We would definitely return and recommend this resort as a great vacation place.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cpb15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We stayed at the Excellence Riviera Cancun from November 23 - 30, 2013. This was our 13th stay at ERC and needless to say this is our home away from home. We were joined on this trip by our good friends who also have several stays at ERC.

Excellence Club
We have always stayed at the Club level on all of our trips and feel it is worth the additional money you pay for all the extra things you get, especially the private beach and pool area, Club and Concierge service, all day snacks, appetizers and top shelf liquor. They are currently upgrading the club level rooms and were halfway through building 8 during our trip, they started with the swim-up rooms and are working their way up. They removed the large TV stand and mounted the flat screen TV on the wall and then built a long marble shelf under the TV where you can set our luggage. The beds are now mounted on the floor with the headboard being part of the wall and they were providing all new pillow top mattresses. They did add some new furniture and changed the bench on the porch to a small day bed. They have gotten rid of all the computers in the Club lounge since the whole resort and beach area now have very good Wi-Fi service and most people use their phones or pads. They did move all of the computers up to the front lobby area and have made a very large computer center if you need it and it does include a printer. There was also a wireless printer in the Club which you could connect to if you wanted to print something. They have once again rearranged all of the furniture in the Excellence Club since they removed the computers. The have added more small round tables to dine from, they expanded the bar area by making it longer, and they moved the large liquor cabinet behind the bar area and cut it down in size. They have added numerous new day beds around the pool and out on the beach and fixed up several of the palapas. Most of the older beach chairs and wicker beach beds were moved to the regular beach area which has improved that area also.

Renovations
Besides the changes in the Club section, Chez Isabell is also under renovation and the meals are currently being served in the Barcelona restaurant. They are also reworking all of the shops by the Theater, the Cigar shop was made much smaller and it is back open, the Jewelry shop was almost ready to re-open when we left, and all of this made room for 2 more stores, but not sure what was going in the new locations.

Dining
The quality and selection of food in our opinion, is very good and the breakfast and lunch buffets in Barcelona have an endless selection and various choices to suit any appetite. We especially like the cook to order egg station at breakfast and the cook to order meat station for lunch. Our favorite places to dine in the evening are Chez Isabell, Basmati, The Lobster House, and Toscana. Remember if you do not get a good meal or enough to eat just ask and ERC will take care of your requests. By staying in the Club we also had the pleasure to enjoy the special afternoon chocolate treats and drinks on Tuesday and Thursday afternoons at 4:30, and this is not to be missed if you are a chocoholic! Additionally, the afternoon Crepes at Café Kafe and the Pizza oven are all nice additions that have been added to the ERC dining options in the last several visits. We had the pleasure of meeting the new Head Chef at ERC Ernesto Palapa who took very good care of us, and Chef Saju in Basmasti who always makes sure we get something special for dinner.

Entertainment
Once again ERC provided great daytime and evening entertainment especially all of the different bands they get to play are all really good. Not to be missed is the Michael Jackson Show, The Urban Show and Claudia Trevino. The one day they also had mechanical bull riding on the beach for the rock and roll burger event. The Disco was very active on this trip and every night there were lot of people partying and dancing.

Employees
Once again GM Jean Francois Girault, Asst. GM Susana Maura and Guest Service Mgr. Mariana Montes provided with an exceptional vacation and special returning guests services that were beyond our expectations. The entire team ERC of employees is why we return again and again to this resort, and ERC always provides us with a care free, very relaxing vacation!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank sunylatitude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excellence_Group, Community Manager at Excellence Riviera Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

First of all, allow us to thank you for giving us the opportunity to welcome you back at Excellence Resorts.

We are glad to know that every time you have stayed with us, you have been able to enjoy of many unique and memorable experiences due to the amazing staff, the high quality food and drinks encountered at our Restaurants and bars, and lastly but no less important, our Resort facilities. We will ensure that your amiable comments reach the eyes and ears of all our staff at Excellence Riviera Cancun. It means so much more when it comes from the opinion of our valued guests.

We all look forward to welcome you once again, and to make every effort to continue exceeding your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Morelos
4.0 mi away
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
#1 of 27 in Puerto Morelos
920 reviews
1.5 mi away
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
3.7 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#8 of 27 in Puerto Morelos
9,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
12,173 reviews
11.6 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
0.2 mi away
Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excellence Riviera Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excellence Riviera Cancun

Address: Carretera Federal 307 Chetumal-Puerto Juarez KM 324 -342 | Manzana 7, Lote 1, S.M. 11, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#2 Spa Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range: $326 - $739 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Excellence Riviera Cancun 5*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This all-suite, all-adult Resort is set along Mexico's renowned Mayan Riviera, between Playa del Carmen and Cancun, on an immaculate white sand beach. Six meandering pools wind through their grounds. You have unlimited access to eight international restaurants and ten bars, plus such amenities as an expansive swim-in spa, a full-scale fitness and cardio-conditioning center and an unparalleled range of activities on land and sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Savannahville Tours N.V., Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Excellence Riviera Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excellence Riviera Maya
Excellence Riviera Cancun Hotel
Excellence Riviera Cancun Puerto Morelos
Excellence Cancun
Secrets Excellence Riviera Cancun
Cancun Excellence Riviera
Excellence Resort Cancun
Excellence Riviera Cancun Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Morelos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing