We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lived up to the hype!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Excellence Riviera Cancun
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 14, 2013

My parents and aunt/uncle have been here 11 times collectively so they've been urging me to go. I finally went from 11/5 through 11/12/13 and it was all that they have been saying it was. The entire property was spotless- even the remote common areas, bathrooms, etc.
The restaurants had a unique feel to each. Despite being on the same property, when going to dinner each night the variety was nice to have at our disposal. Specifically we ate at the French (2 times), Italian, Mexican night in the common area which they set up beautifully, the Lobster House and the steak house.
The people there really cared about providing a premium level of service to all guests which was apparent.
I even utilized the medical doctor on staff 24/7 to help rid me of a lingering sinus infection when we first arrived.
Helpful and pleasurable employees included: Aravi/Daniella/Mariana (concierge), Fernando/Alejandro/Joel (bartenders), Fernando (steak house server), Isac (Mexican night server/Agave) and a special thanks to Jorge and Luis for their constant work in the entertainment category. Jorge (Mega-tron AKA Calvin Johnson) is full of energy and was exemplary in coordinating the daily beach activities (soccer, volleyball, football) as well as happy hour activities like Bingo. These types of things created a nice atmosphere among guests and provided a forum for meeting people from different cultures and backgrounds.

Cons: The only thing that frustrated me was that we had difficulty getting a table for 6 at the French restaurant each time we went. They wanted to give us two tables, one of four and one of two. We were able to finally get a table for 6, but if that's something that they don't allow/want for that particular restaurant, they should put in the restaurant description that they provide for each place. It would allow guests in groups to plan more effectively.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (12,828)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,650 - 6,656 of 12,828 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2013

A first class holiday made even better by the customer service and responsiveness from all the staff we encountered in our 2 weeks at the ERC. The booking and service offered from Zoe at Blue Bay Travel was excellent and the Virgin Premium Economy flight from Gatwick started a memorable holiday in Mexico.
Private transfer from the airport to the hotel was seamless and whilst the access road to the hotel was in poor condition following previous poor weather the road was approx. only 1 mile and was a minimal issue (Having taken the 90 minute white knuckle ride to Sandals Whitehouse last year, this transfer was a breeze!)
Introduction & check-in processes were hassle free as we started our 2 week holiday in the Excellence. It is hard to be critical of anything and whilst perfection is impossible to achieve the management gave numerous opportunities to raise any issue of concern at regular meetings in the excellence club. Any requests and small maintenance issues were resolved almost immediately. The general facilities, food and amenities have been covered in depth in numerous previous reviews and could not be faulted.
The Excellence Club Pool staff were all first class and truly customer focussed; with a special mention for Moises whose personality and presence is an absolute pleasure. His morning laughs and "singing" were a welcoming introduction to another lazy day in paradise. He is a modest and humble man with a huge personality who justifiably deserves special mention and praise. The Barcelona staff of Lizeeth, Patricia & Aravi were always a welcome sight at breakfast with their cheery smiles and excellent customer service which was fully demonstrated on a consistent basis. All waiting staff were keen and eager to be of assistance especially Tomas who was ever present, efficient and gracious.
The General Manager Jean Francois Girault was in regular attendance at various club events and could be seen on many occasions conducting inspections and observations throughout the hotel. A special mention for the management team must go to Susana Maura, the Assistant GM whose professionalism, customer focus and kindness were exemplary. Susana is a real asset to the Excellence Brand and deserves recognition.
To summarise, an amazing holiday experience made even more special by nature of the people who work at the Excellence Riviera Cancun. Due to our experiences we’ve booked to go to Excellence Playa Mujeres next year with another great deal from Zoe in Blue Bay Travel. If EPM matches up to the ERC we will be more than happy.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Getting to the hotel was the only problem, its probably a mile or so off the main expressway and the road is filled with potholes. It was raining so the road was flooded, but our driver (USA Transfers) continued on. It took about 20 minutes to travel one mile down this dirt road. But once we got to the resort we were greeted with champagne and our bags were taken care of. We booked a swim-up suite 9004 which was not ready until 3pm. We were in building 9, which was very quite and private, which we wanted. The room was amazing and the maid service was great. We left $2.00 every morning on the bed for the maid and they seemed to appreciate it. We liked the fact that we didn't need reservations for the restaurants, they give you a pager which is good while waiting in the martini bar. We though all the restaurants we good and the bars were great as well. Pool-side service was sketchy on a day to day basis, but ok. Everyone was very nice and the resort was constantly getting cleaned. The rafts did go fast a few days, but around 4:30p the main pool looses direct sunlight and the pool clears out a bit. Saw a few shows and they really go all out, they also have special themed nights which are fun as well. We would recommend this resort, but unfortunately the road in and out of the resort takes a bit out of ya. We did the the Explore excursion which was fun. Everything was definitely EXCELLENCE and we love the entertainers. Not sure if we would return just because of the silly road that makes the first 20 minutes of your vacation get off to a rough start.

Room Tip: love the swim up-suite not sure if Excellence club would be worth the money. Unfortunately there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gcoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Flight out was probably the easiest, hassle free, flight I have ever taken. Priority check-in was a dream, considering the huge queue for standard check-in and this was all part of our booking through Book,Pack,Fly. I have to say, booking this trip was so easy, BPF are agents for Thomas Cook and when the documentation came through it was all Thomas Cook heading telling us the cost of the holiday, if booked direct with Thomas Cook would have been £350 more, so well done BPF.
When the flight was called at Manchester Airport, again, there was no hassle whatsoever, straight through and onto the plane. One thing that did not happen was my wife's vegetarian meal request, this must never have been passed on, but the crew were so helpful, they arranged for one of the few spare meals to be put aside for my wife. For a 10+ hour flight I was not particularly impressed with the in-flight entertainment, the selection was OK, but not on demand (Perhaps we have been spoilt with long haul via British Airways).
Arrival in Cancun was welcome, transition through passport control was speedy, even if the wait for luggage was a bit tedious. One thing that I have not read about in any report was the hard sell corridor we had to negotiate before we could leave the airport. As first timers to Mexico, we were looking for our transport to the hotel when flocks of private agents descend offering tours, trips, adventures and shopping tips, all at a "bargain" price. This I found slightly annoying, but when ignored, they leave you alone. The coach trip to the hotel took only a short while with the majority of that time taken on the assault course from the main road. Pot holes big enough to lose a small car in and water deep enough to require waders for pedestrians, made us think twice about leaving the hotel again, although when we did, once.
The Excellence Riviera itself is impressive upon arrival and again when entering the reception, however the overall magnitude, size and complexity of a hotel this size is breathtaking. Others have reported minor incidents involving staff who do not meet up with preferred standards, well I would like to state from a personal view, it would be a miracle for everyone to be at their best all of the time. Not everyone was as pleasant as they could be, maybe the bar men even a bit rude at times, but they work hard continuously trying to meet some outrageous demands from guests. The rest of the staff, from management to the gardeners always had a smile and a welcome. You soon learn that saying 'hola' means a lot to everyone.
I had requested a quiet room for our relaxing stay, third floor block three was just that. Facing the entrance to the Spa and looking out across the grounds with the sea in the background was beautiful. The room, perfect and spacious, a huge bed, jacuzzi, walk in shower and a table at which to eat from the 24 hour room service menu, a fridge full of drinks with bottles of spirits that are replenished as needed, was fantastic and this is a standard suite, no added extras.
Dining: It's difficult to know where to start. I love my food and my wife is a vegetarian however, she does eat seafood and the choice is amazing, all cooked to perfection. In fact I became tired of hearing "This must be the best meal yet" after each visit to a different restaurant and that continued throughout the 2 week stay. One thing I have to wonder is how does this hotel provide a la carte meals at lunch and dinner for everyone when other hotels charge a fortune if you want specialized dining? My tip for anyone dining at the Excellence is do not be swayed into choosing a favourite until you have tried all of the restaurant's, each one has something exceptional to offer. Also, if you are not fussy about where you want to eat and there's a wait for seating at one, just move on to the next. The wait is rarely very long anyhow.
There is so much to say about the facilities, the Spa, the pools, the entertainment, the internet suite and much more…. All first class. I have read about the terrible beach full of seaweed, yet while we were there the sea grass was cleared by a tractor twice per day and the beach was very good. Another point is the sunbeds, at no time were we without a choice either on the beach, or around at least one of the pools. The pool floats can be a bit scarce with people trying to hang on to them when not in use. Unfair practise, but it happens.
House keeping was a bit erratic in when the room was made up. It could be anytime between 10 am and 6pm. But when it was done, it was perfect.
We did see people hanging around waiting for rooms to be made ready. Practical reasons like check out not being until noon and the hotel staff trying their best to accommodate people hanging onto their rooms because of late flights, means the room staff are run off their feet to get everything ready in time. Remember, the hotel has a lot of holiday makers and was at 95% capacity during Oct/Nov.
By all accounts the swim-up rooms are not worth paying extra for. Yes, you do have a section of almost private grass in front of the room, but in most cases, it is extremely difficult to get in and out of the pools without the use of stairs which may mean walking in front of other swim-up rooms to access.
For our first week the excellence club area was very busy and noisy. For the second, it was so quite patrons were forced to mix with the rest of the hotel for company and entertainment. However, the rooftop rooms did look fantastic.
One complaint, not really the fault of the hotel as they have to accept bookings, a purely a personal niggle – The hotel is advertised as an adults only, specialising in couples, honeymoons, anniversaries etc.. Then why, oh! why, do companies choose this hotel as a good place for corporate excursions. Groups of loud merrymaker’s, no doubt having a wonderful time, making life a misery for couples wanting a quiet, intimate time with those they love. There are plenty of hotel that could meet the needs of corporate gangs on vacation in the same area.
Our one excursion from the hotel was to the local village of Puerto Morelos, which as we were informed was only a mile down the beach. Really, it was closer to two and in 30 degrees, felt like 5 miles. We did this to avoid the extortionate price of necessities such as suntan cream in the hotel. $35 in the hotel shop, or $6 at the local supermarket for the same thing.
Had we not taken this trip and taken a taxi back we would never have seen the sight of a lifetime, a huge crocodile (Alligator?) just outside the hotel main gate. I didn't even know it was there until the taxi driver pointed it out only a few feet away. Please see the photographs.
All in all, a wonderful holiday in a wonderful hotel. Congratulations to the staff. Also, congratulations to the tour operator for a top notch package.
Any questions? Answers will be attempted a.s.a.p.

Room Tip: Should I return to this hotel, top floor of block one would be my choice. If upgrading, sea view bl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank lolhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excellence_Group, Community Manager at Excellence Riviera Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Allow us to thank you for taking the time to write this review in which you share your experience at Excellence Riviera Cancun with all Trip Advisor Readers.

We were pleased to know that your relaxing vacation with us was highlighted by the courteous attention of our staff, comfort room accommodation & amenities, and enjoyable food in our restaurants. We also appreciate your detailed feedback, which helped us identify specifically the areas of opportunity encountered during your stay.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you and provide you the memorable and relaxing experience you deserve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We were there for 7 nights. I cannot say enough nice things about this resort. We were there for our 25th wedding anniversary and had upgraded to the Excellence Club with an ocean front room. From the moment we arrived, we were treated like royalty. There was never a time that our needs were not met nor our requests fulfilled. The room was absolutely beautiful and perfectly located on the top floor of building 7. We not only had a full view of the ocean, we also overlooked the Excellence Club pool area. The resort did many special little things to make sure our anniversary special. When we arrived in our room the flowers, chilled champagne, fresh fruit and the beautiful swans that were made out of towels was outstanding. The stocked mini bar was also very nice with a great selection of not only drinks but snacks too. The bed was so comfortable and the room so quiet that we were well rested the entire trip. The staff was outstanding. They were there to get us anything we needed at all times. They always had a smile on their faces and never complained about anything. The Excellence Club Pool staff were just exceptional. We did not have issues with not being able to get a float for the pool as I had read in other reviews. In fact, the resort received a shipment of new floats the week we were there.

This resort was very clean and very well maintained. The food and drinks were more than plentiful and very good. We especially enjoyed the BBQ area on the beach. It was nice to be able to leave the pool area in our swim wear and be able to get great food without having to get dressed. Most afternoons we just filled a plate and took it back to the pool area to eat. In the evenings we dressed for dinner and went to several of the restaurants. We enjoyed every meal we had. However, the best dinner was our dinner on the beach on our anniversary. We were escorted from the Excellence Club to the beach where we were met by photographers to take pictures (for us to purchase at a later time) of our special dinner. We were then taken to our table on the beach and served our pre-selected dinner. They had a harpist come and play romantic music while we dined. The food, drinks, special deserts and experience was very romantic.

The spa treatements we had were so wonderful we never wanted them to end. One day, the spa staff actually came to the Excellence Pool area to give free massages! That was a very nice treat.

I could go on and on about the great things about this resort. However, I do want to mention a couple of things that could help others. I would absolutely upgrade to the Excellence Club. Don't be afraid to ask for your mini bar to be stocked the way you want it as they are happy to do it. The only diet soda on the premises is Coke Light which is Coke Zero. This was a bit distressing to me as I am diabetic and there was no white diet soda. This did not leave me very many options for drinks. The only US beer is Budweiser and Bud Light. This was okay, but my husband is a Miller fan. If you are going to have a dinner on the beach and you have special dietary needs, let them know when you are booking the dinner so that they can make sure they follow your needs. Also, many of the chefs at the regular restaurants will accomodate your needs if you let them know ahead of time.

Room Tip: I would not get a swim up suite unless you do not mind that you will not have any privacy. They are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

The people at this resort were outstanding! They met all expectations. Resort was well kept, clean, plenty to do and nightly entertainment was wonderful. Many choices to lounge around or join some activities during the day.
I would suggest not asking the tour people at the hotel for information about the area. Do your research before getting to the resort. They were not helpful about suggesting anything other than the usual tourist spots.

Room Tip: Everything about this resort was wonderul. It really is mostly couples so would definately go again...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emilymom09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Ok so I do not have much experience with traveling but this place looked amazing, and the reviews were also amazing and with the help of a wonderful travel guide, we booked our honeymoon/10 year anniversary! We booked the excellence club swim up suite and our room was in the 7000 block!! We traveled with another couple who were also celebrating a 10 yr anniversary. Traveling to the hotel WOW the roads were horrible - NOT A CHANCE (so glad I wasn't the driver)!! The roads were flooded, there were potholes the size of a dining room table and the bumpiest ride EVER! We were told that the resorts are working together to possibly pay to have the roads fixed but were also told - probably won't happen. They were pouring stone but that wasn't helping since the roads were seriously under water. Upon arrival at the Excellence Riviera Cancun we were greeted with a cold rag (but we were literally arriving during a major storm so it wasn't "refreshing" and a glass of champagne - which was TOTALLY refreshing!). We were taken to the Excellence Club, given more drinks and some snacks while we were waiting for our room. The staff were wonderful. As a matter of fact the ENTIRE staff, minus one manager at the Spice Hibachi restaurant, was amazing! The room was nice, bed not so comfortable - our shower was horrible since the water would go from just right to scalding hot to freezing about 25 times during the shower. The bed was not very comfortable, very hard and the air conditioning did not work for the first 2 days. I will admit that once I complained about the ac it was fixed within hours and worked wonderfully for about two days then slowly started to not cool the room again. The nightly turn down service and the daily activity menu were always greatly appreciated. The entertainment coordinator Pedro was amazing and the staff was extremely friendly.

The spa service was also amazing, a definite since it seems the main attraction is the spa. Because of this we felt like chastised children on more than one occasion. The music - yeah just not there - elevator music pretty much all around the pools, it is more of a HUSH HUSH atmosphere. We were told to turn down the music, we were disturbing others (two women whom were at the pool each day at 7:00 a.m. and stayed until 7:00 p.m. ) the rest of us were just trying to have a good time. At dinner in the hibachi restaurant we were told we had to be quiet - IN HIBACHI???? I had my fill - went to the manager complained, as did a few others, absolutely NOTHING was done about it. I thought this was in very poor taste. Needless to say - if you are looking for a night-life - look elsewhere. If you want quiet, serene, total relaxation - maybe. However.....

the food - totally not impressed - the Lobster House and Chez Isabelle were our favorite the others, the food was cold, well done meat still very pink inside, and very bland food.

The pools - well other than the hot tubs being cold for at least 2 days and being SHUSHED at the excellence club pool I guess it was ok. I loved the lounge chairs in the pool and the pool beds at the pool as well. If you ordered food from the club pool however, be prepared to wait - at least 45 minutes to an hour!

The entertainment was mediocre at best - the only show I enjoyed was the michael jackson show. And the "night club" - what a joke - the DJ was AMAZING..but since this was such a "serene" hotel - there were only 2 people dancing one night we went and the next night there were maybe 5 of us total..pretty sad for the nightlife experience.

The resort was absolutely GORGEOUS - however, the beach was full of seaweed and the water was red flagged our entire trip. I was also told by another guest that one of the rooms had lots of mold on the inside of the curtains. Our room had a little funk around the leaking air vent but otherwise was not bad.

All in all I would say I would not recommend the hotel unless some major changes are made - or if you think this sounds wonderful - then good luck, I hope you have an amazing adventure!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Melody E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excellence_Group, Community Manager at Excellence Riviera Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Thank you very much for taking your time to share with all of us this review, your feedback is very important for us and it is our regret that our hotel didn’t suit your lifestyle, although many travelers find Excellence Riviera Cancun to be a great place for romantic and relaxing getaway, with excellent food options and outstanding service.

At Excellence we are committed to provide services and facilities in consistency with the hotel high standards, a continuous supervision is held in all hotels areas to ensure our installations comply with this goal. Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience.

On the other hand we are very sad to read we didn’t meet your expectations since one of our main objectives is the satisfaction of our guests with a high quality on the food and the drinks. Our Food & Beverage Manager and our Executive Chef have received your feedback and are working on improvements to guarantee our guest the best quality possible.

Regarding the mentioned issue with the beach, please note that depending on weather conditions, the ocean can be seen more clearly some days than others. Be sure we definitely do our best to keep our beach as clean as nature allows.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you and provide you the memorable and relaxing experience you deserve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Morelos
4 mi away
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
#1 of 28 in Puerto Morelos
936 reviews
1.5 mi away
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
3.7 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#8 of 28 in Puerto Morelos
9,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9 mi away
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
12,266 reviews
11.6 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
0.3 mi away
Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun
Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun
#6 of 28 in Puerto Morelos
7,587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excellence Riviera Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excellence Riviera Cancun

Address: Carretera Federal 307 Chetumal-Puerto Juarez KM 324 -342 | Manzana 7, Lote 1, S.M. 11, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#2 Spa Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#5 Business Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range: $356 - $751 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Excellence Riviera Cancun 5*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This all-suite, all-adult Resort is set along Mexico's renowned Mayan Riviera, between Playa del Carmen and Cancun, on an immaculate white sand beach. Six meandering pools wind through their grounds. You have unlimited access to eight international restaurants and ten bars, plus such amenities as an expansive swim-in spa, a full-scale fitness and cardio-conditioning center and an unparalleled range of activities on land and sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Savannahville Tours N.V., BookIt.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Excellence Riviera Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excellence Riviera Maya
Excellence Riviera Cancun Hotel
Excellence Riviera Cancun Puerto Morelos
Excellence Cancun
Secrets Excellence Riviera Cancun
Cancun Excellence Riviera
Excellence Resort Cancun
Excellence Riviera Cancun Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Morelos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing