We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful adults-only retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Excellence Riviera Cancun
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Certificate of Excellence
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Wonderful adults-only retreat”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Another excellent trip to an Excellence resort. People are great, place is clean, food is overall good, spa is wonderful... Only complaint I can think of is how LONG the room service takes! All of the other big complaints that others have about competing resorts, Excellence has figured out. They do it right. We had a wonderful stay and will return to an Excellence property.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rewrhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,834 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9,142
    1,858
    536
    183
    115
See reviews for
606
8,838
68
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,694)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Braunfels, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The staff at this resort were amazing. They were courteous and professional. In our six day stay we were always greeted with a smile and kind words. The employees went out of there way to take care of us. We were worried about the food as we'd read other reviews on other resorts, however, the food was excellent. We never had a bad meal. All the restaurants were wonderful, each with it's own character and we never felt like it all tasted the same. And we really enjoyed ordering pizza on the beach! We upgraded to the oceanfront room which included the Excellence Club membership. This was in our opinion was well worth it. A more private, quieter beach & pool area, Chocolate Thursday, upgraded room amenities, Excellence Club personal concierge where they attended to any special requests. Our room was clean & well maintained. Bed was very comfortable. A/C kept the room cool, just remember to keep the front door and patio door closed or it will shut off. My wife and I haven't had a getaway alone together without the kids in three years. We wanted a peaceful, relaxing vacation where we could rediscover each other and recharge for the upcoming school year with the kids. THIS WAS IT! No worries here. We called the Excellence Riviera our Bubble, and except for one day when we went to Akumal to snorkel, swim in a cenote & shop in Playa del Carmen, we never left our Bubble. We would return to the Excellence Riviera without any hesitation. Highly Recommend this resort.
The employees are what make this place special. They genuinely cared. The hotel grounds & beach were spotless.
We rented a car, only a little more than R/T airport transfers. Free valet parking at resort, only 15 minutes from airport.

Room Tip: Building 8 towards the beach end were the quietest rooms with best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 2budz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was our 6th stay at Excellence Riviera Cancun and we can not wait to go back. We love the lazy pool, activities, entertainment, food, and most of all, the staff. They go out of their way to give you the best vacation possible. There is no need to leave the resort. Thank you to: Mariana in guest service; Bernando in beverages; Armando, Enrique, Gustavo, Reyes, Tomas, Ramon in Barcelona; Isac in Agave; Antonio "Banderos" in Spice; Pablo in Martini, and Erika, Miyea, Veronica, Betsey and Ana who never stop moving.

Room Tip: We stay on the third floor and there is never any problem with noise. The balcony view is beautiful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dewey88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Our room did not receive service until late our first day but I figured they were backed up since I do work at a hotel and understand. The only thing that really bothered me was that our room smelt like sewage and it did not get fixed until our last day.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HyattSales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Excellence RC is a top notch resort - especially if you want to eat, drink, and relax. The resort is very well laid out - no super long treks to dinner or the beach. The staff, bellman to bartender, was extremely helpful. They constantly went out of their way to help us and deserve every tip they earned and then some. The food and drinks were fantastic and always available. The only slight drawback was they didn't have a huge selection of water activities available on site - but there were plenty close by. I'd highly recommend this resort.

Room Tip: We had a great room without the Excellence Club - not sure you need it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelV2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodway, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had a wonderful expierence. The resort was awesome. The food was delicious at all of the 9 restaurants.The personnel and waiters were sensational. The only negative thing were, we had requested a King sized bed and when we got their all they had were two twin beds. I spend three hours of negoiating but finally got our king sized bed. Also we didn't appreciate the (two free porn channels) on their TV's. We called the front desk and had them blocked. I have a ministry that helps men struggling with this addiction problem. I wish they would remove the channels completely, because for the last 12 years I have seen the damage pornography has done to both men and women and how it destroyed their marriages.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smokey555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Bucuresti, Romania
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Excellence Riviera Cancun is a spectacular hotel, all inclusive, i think is the best way to organise your holiday! The hotel have big pool, a spectacular vue, vegetation, beach area, 8 restaurant, bars, discotheque, show every night! The rooms are big, clean, with bed king size, shower, jacuzzi and a mini bar.Relax, party, beach, friendly waiters and employees, good food, good drinks,all in one place! They have mediterian reastaurant Barcelona, italian Toscana, the Lobster house, the grill house, Spice assiathic, Basmati indian and Chez Isabelle french. The only thing is that i think they have to improve a little the special moments for honeymooners and anniversary!Chez Isabelle is the most romantic restaurant and everybody choose it for special occasion and it is full. I tryed to be useful and i announce them at the entrance of restaurant that i want to celebrate a special occasion in that night and i want them to have time to prepare it! I was very desapointed because they refuse me and put me to come back when i am ready for dinner to stay in the line to wait 30-45 minutes a free table. At the end, it was nice the dinner but i was a little upset because of this event. For special occasion they give you a bottle of wine free and a continental breakfast in the room.Regarding the other restaurant i like a lot Barcelona, Spice and Chez Isabelle. At Spice we reserved at live cooking show taganaki!! Dont miss taganaki !!!It was very cool! Its a fix menu but the experience is very nice! The beach area -they try to clean it each day but the see brings a lot of dirty vegetation! I appreciate that the staff works very hard to improve this. Also each night they organise piano bar, show with diverse themes very cool! Dont miss the show! Regarding the rooms, the best are from the ground floorbbecause they direct acces from the room to the pool, you have like your special space at the pool,but inside are the same. I spend a beautiful holiday here, relax, fun, amazing place! i will come back!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Morelos
4.0 mi away
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
#1 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
832 reviews
1.5 mi away
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
11.6 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Valentin Imperial Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
11,662 reviews
10.3 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,761 reviews
21.4 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#11 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
15,714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excellence Riviera Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excellence Riviera Cancun

Property: Excellence Riviera Cancun
Address: Carretera Federal 307 Chetumal-Puerto Juarez KM 324 -342 | Manzana 7, Lote 1, S.M. 11, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#2 Spa Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#5 Business Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Excellence Riviera Cancun 5*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This all-suite, all-adult Resort is set along Mexico's renowned Mayan Riviera, between Playa del Carmen and Cancun, on an immaculate white sand beach. Six meandering pools wind through their grounds. You have unlimited access to eight international restaurants and ten bars, plus such amenities as an expansive swim-in spa, a full-scale fitness and cardio-conditioning center and an unparalleled range of activities on land and sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Savannahville Tours N.V., Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TravelUp, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Excellence Riviera Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excellence Riviera Maya
Excellence Riviera Cancun Hotel
Excellence Riviera Cancun Puerto Morelos
Excellence Cancun
Secrets Excellence Riviera Cancun
Cancun Excellence Riviera
Excellence Resort Cancun
Excellence Riviera Cancun Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Morelos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing