We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Excellence Riviera Cancun
Nearby Hotels
$314
$253
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$318
$238
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$597
$448
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$329
$210
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Now Jade Riviera Cancun(Puerto Morelos)
$263
$187
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort(Puerto Morelos)
$344
$244
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$234
$187
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$469
$455
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$336
$208
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$540
$489
HotelsForEveryone
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (13,822)
Filter reviews
13,822 results
Traveler rating
10,882
2,038
586
194
122
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
10,882
2,038
586
194
122
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslazy riverchez isabellelobstermartini barthe grillflavor marketsol barspa viewbarcelona restaurantclub poolroom serviceour honeymoonfrench restaurantlas olasmichael jackson showclub levelswim up room
Filter
Updating list...
7,825 - 7,830 of 13,822 reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Please forgive how late this review is, life did not slow down after we returned in May. This is the first time that we have tried two resorts in one trip. We stayed at Secrets Maroma the first 3 days – loved, loved, loved it!! The beach was beautiful!!! I would really consider ourselves as “pool people” but we spent most of our time on the beach. We had a blast swimming in the sea and feeding the fish. The entertainment staff was fabulous!!! We enjoyed all of the shows and the food was great!! I even won a t-shirt playing Black Jack!! We sat in on a guacamole class and now I am the official guacamole maker at all our family gatherings. We had a swim out suite, I don’t know if I would spend the extra money for that again. Our pool was rather cool and we did not spend any time in the pool at all. We did not see anyone else in it either. They told us that they did not heat the pool after May 1st but it was beautiful to look at in the evenings with a nice drink in your hand.
We spent the next 3 days at Excellence Riviera Cancun. The pool there was excellent; we spent all of our time there. We had a regular pool/spa view and our view from our balcony was wonderful – so peaceful!!! My husband became an avid sailor on the hobby cat. The staff at Aqua World took him out and showed him how to operate it. We went out several times. The food and the service were fabulous and I would definitely go back.
Now a comparison of the two resorts – it is rather simple. If you are beach people, go to Secrets Maroma. If you are pool people, go to Excellence Riviera. You won’t be disappointed!!! My husband and I have been to Mexico five times and have never stayed at the same resort twice. You only have one airfare and two resorts – great vacation! This is one trip that I would repeat.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TexasTeresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We spent the past week at the Excellence Riviera Cancun, and our overall impressions of the resort were wonderful. My husband and I were part of a family group comprised of two couples and two singles of varying ages from mid-20s through mid-70s, and I think we all came on vacation seeking different ways to shake off a lot of stress and immerse ourselves in relaxation.

In most of the restaurants, the food was top notch. A notable exception was lunchtime at The Grill, which none of us enjoyed. That said, The Grill's dinner selections made up for it. We especially enjoyed the buffet breakfasts and lunches at Barcelona and felt that, unlike most buffets, everything tasted as if it could have been served a la carte at a restaurant as opposed to the cheap quality usually found in a buffet atmosphere. We also very much enjoyed the food at Chez Isabelle, even though as a group of 6, we were unable to get a table together.

Some of the things we thought could have been improved:

* My husband and I arrived at approx. 11a on our first day - check-in is at 3p. Our room wasn't ready, but we were told our room would be ready before 3p and they gave us a pager that would notify us at that time.

We appreciate that the resort allows you to start taking advantage of its amenities before the official check-in time, but our pager never went off, and our room was not ready until AFTER 4p. We found the first few hours of our stay very frustrating, as we schlepped throughout the beach area with no bathing suits and with our carry-on luggage in tow.

* Two of our three rooms were located in the "7" building, and the proximity to the theater area made it difficult for those occupants to sleep at night due to the loud noise.

* The shades in the room let an awful lot of light (there is a sheer portion between the left and right shade), which makes it hard to sleep past 6:30a.

* One of the rooms experienced recurrent air conditioner problems and found that the maintenance people who came to assist were somewhat condescending.

* Most of the activities during the day time either started 15-20 min. late, or did not happen at all. We experienced this with water aerobics, bingo, Zumba, the water show, etc.

* We would have loved to have more live music options by the theater or Cafe Kafe during the day. If you weren't hanging out by the pool listening to booming dance music, there wasn't much else going on.

Things we loved:

* (Most of) The staff. Our first day, we had the pleasure of meeting Gustavo in Barcelona... hours later, he was our bell hop. Throughout our stay, he was friendly, warm, and welcoming and by far, one of the best employees we met. We also liked Israel and Jorge from the entertainment team. One thing we thought was great about Jorge was that he injected bits of information about Mexico and its culture into our activities, even Bingo. Rosalba, who waitressed (and bartended?) near the pool was also very sweet, and we enjoyed speaking with her.

* Depending on who you are traveling with, the room. My husband and I loved the cozy atmosphere with it's sitting area and the balcony. My sister and great-aunt, however, shared a room and found the lack of privacy, such as a changing area, concerning. Also an item of note, there are two channels of hardcore porn on the TV lineup. Kind of awkward if you don't realize and stumble on to these accidentally.

* We really liked the not-main pools. We spent some time in the lazy river and enjoyed it, but mostly we hung out in the pool next to the main pool. It was much less crowded but still close enough to jump out and back in the main pool for a drink at the swim up bar.

* The atmosphere. Most of the walkways and the floors inside the buildings were tiled, which provided a nice aesthetic. We also loved the patio dining for breakfast and lunch, and the romantic tables located close to the pool at The Lobster House and The Grill. The Spa and its pools were also beautiful. Also, the resort felt smallish in comparison to resorts we have stayed at previously (Moon Palace, Valentin). I happened to like the more intimate feel of Excellence.

A couple of other notes:

* It's not the resort's fault since it is a federally protected beach, but we did not love the ocean area. The water was cloudy and filled with tons of seaweed, as was the sand near near the water. My husband and sister participated in the kayak tour activity, and they both came back with complaints about how bad the water smelled (like sewage).

* The Spa: We were grateful to receive a coupon for a free "Jetlag Refresher" couple massage when we arrived at the hotel, and we LOVED this. We found the atmosphere near to the Spa pool with its waterfalls incredibly relaxing. It encouraged us to come back for a full massage, which we did the next day. Neither of us are "Spa People," and we found the staff to be sensitive to this. They were professional, friendly, and made sure to ask whether we were comfortable throughout the session. The hydrotherapy circuit after the massage was an interesting... novelty. It was kind of silly, but we mostly enjoyed that, too.

To sum up:

If you are looking for a relaxing, adults-only resort with an intimate feel and tremendous food, Excellence may be exactly what you're looking for. If you're looking for a lot of daytime activities and a lot of nighttime partying, you might want to look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask for a Spa building - they seem to be quieter than buildings 6 or 7, which are located close to the evening entertainment.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank joanieandbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excellence_Group, Community Manager at Excellence Riviera Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

First of all we would like to thank you for the time that you have invested in sharing your experience during your stay in our hotel, we are glad to know that you endorsed our property highly.

We are pleased to know that your relaxing vacation with us was highlighted by the courteous attention of our staff, hotel grounds, spa services, and enjoyable food & drinks in our restaurants and bars.
We also appreciate your detailed feedback, which helped us identify specifically the areas of opportunity encountered during your stay.

We are looking forward to welcome you back and have another opportunity to pamper you with our service creating another experience to remember.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We just got back from Excellance Riviera and it was GREAT! I have stayed all over the world in 5 star resorts and this is up there with the best! All the best resorts have great rooms, service, and great food but what sets this one appart is the fantastic entertainment. The production ,the dancers, the proformers are way above any resort level. It's like a small Las Vegas show. My hats off to all the proformers! The staff are all excelant, the chefs fantastic and housekeeping staff are the best. Clean, great views, great beach, great food, and great entertainment! Doesn't get any better!!!!!!!! can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rick34990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We traveled with a group of friends to this Excellence resort in the summer of 2012 and had a fantastic time. We found this resort after staying for our honeymoon in the Excellence Playa Mujeres.

The Excellence chain is so great due to the staff. They will take care of anything you need. Unfortunatly since it has been so long I only remember one name: Danny the activities director and his catch phrase 'oh - my - gatos'. He was awesome throughout.

One thing I really liked about this property was the pier. I had a great time at night sitting on the pier and watching the night.

The resturants/bars are all the same as the other two Excellence resorts and the food was ok to excellent. The drinks were usually always top shelf even if you forgot to ask for it ;)

I love the daily activities and the turndown service they provide. Nothing like a schedule of events some chocolate and a little mariachi statue in your room each evening.

Again Excellence you nailed it...now get on that Jamaica resort!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShinAmano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Excellence Riviera Cancun was a great resort to stay while in Cancun. There was always an activity scheduled and the food was great. 5 different restaurants to choose from...if you didn't want to wait in line for one place, you could just wander over to the next. Service was also good and staff very friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews