We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly Excellent!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Excellence Riviera Cancun
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 21, 2013

A wonderful, relaxing getaway...perfect paradise for a week! If you are looking for a pure relaxation vacation, this is it! The hotel was beautifully landscaped & maintained and the food & service were top-notch. All the people were so nice and accommodating of our every need. The pool, beach & lazy river was a great atmospheres to rotate between, depending if you wanted more lively activity or just to read a book in peace. The entertainment at night was fun as well.
Paola, was a really good yoga instructor, and I was able to reproduce the relaxing ending to her yoga session on the beach once I got home (except wish I had the ocean waves in the background). This is our second time staying at an Excellence resort (first time was with Playa Majures) and we will definitely be booking another Excellence vacation as soon as we can!

Room Tip: We stayed in Spa 4 by the Lazy River and Spa which is a quieter end of the resort.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PeacefulVacatio... B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (12,339)
There are newer reviews for Excellence Riviera Cancun
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,539 - 6,545 of 12,339 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Not as good as reviews I had read:
1) make sure you get a room away from the road. The noise from the trucks/buses starting off after negotiating the craters in the road made our whole room vibrate
2) the food is acceptable at best. Overcooked, undercooked, microwave reheated etc. you name it you get it. And the portions are small. Most food at any of the restaurants lacks taste. some of the menu descriptions are laughable. Load up at the breakfast buffet and at lunch.
3) the dress code is confusing and not consistently enforced. If you are eating outside underdress, otherwise the heat and humidity will make your experience uncomfortable.
4) anything you need in your room, guaranteed you will have to call at least twice, including trying to get your room cleaned.
5) Don't fall for the wine menu trick. House wines are included, just ask for them. This applies to most all inclusive places in the area.
6) the beach is nice, but the water is horrible. Not clear at all. Full of floating weeds which are continually being collected by a tractor and rake that goes up and down the beach! So much for peace and quiet. Plus we had to take out of the water floating plastic bags, an old toothbrush and remnants of campfires.
7) the evening entertainment is good
8) all of the staff we met were very attentive and tried hard. Not their fault.

Summary: overrated and disappointing. Will not go back to the area as the beach/water experience is a repeat of a previous stay close by.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mediocriollo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excellence_Group, Community Manager at Excellence Riviera Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Thank you very much for taking your time to share with all of us this review, our guests feedback is very important for us and it is our regret that we were not able to meet your expectations.
Although many travelers find Excellence Riviera Cancun to be a great place for romantic and relaxing getaway, with excellent food options and outstanding service, we do understand that the concept of our hotel does not suit your expected vacation.
On the other hand, your valuable feedback is very appreciated as it helps us to improve the pointed observations about our hotel.
Thank you once again for taking time to give us your opinion. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you and provide you the memorable and relaxing experience you deserve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

After returning from a family vacation in Hilton Head with our children we decided to do an adults only vacation with a group of friends. Our friends had been there before and told us we would love it. We did! We definitely will be back. Everything was perfect and reading past reviews about wait times at the restaurants kind of had me nervous but even though there were 6 of us we never had a wait. Loved the nightly entertainment as well as the daytime activities and want to give a shout out to Jorge as he was wonderful! Our room was in Building 7 and though we liked being close to everything I think next time we will go to a quieter location near the spa. Mid afternoon became a little crazy round the main pool.

We are already trying to get family members to come back with us next time!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Excellence Riviera Cancun for our honeymoon June 25-July 2. It was amazing! We stayed in the Excellence Club, buliding 8 and had a gorgeous ocean view. Everything about this resort (pools, beach, food, service, entertainment) is amazing. We spent most of our time in the Excellence pool and beach area. All the staff made our experience wonderful, however Rosalba and Moises in the Excellence Club area were the best! They truly made our experience top notch! It was pure relaxation and fun! We definitely recommend the spa, as well! I could go on and on about how amazing this place is! It was a perfect choice for our Honeymoon! We can't wait to return!!! You will not regret booking a stay at this resort!

Room Tip: Third floor of excellence rooms have gorgeous ocean views. Some friends we made had wim up rooms, w...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

This place is amazing!! Excellent service, great food, plenty of activities & entertainment, & the food and drinks just kept coming!! I really can't say enough good things about this place. #Perfection

Room Tip: Junior swim up suite was epic!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Echoing almost every review - our experience was absolutely wonderful.
From the efficient and friendly check-in, complete with cold towels and champagne, to the smooth check-out everything was perfect.
The staff were incredibly friendly, always smiling and very welcoming. The pools were wonderful, and if you venture away from the main pool (with the swim up bar) you can easily find a more secluded, peaceful spot.
The rooms are large, clean and well appointed, and we had no trouble with noise from the pools/beach/other rooms.
The restaurants are all of a very good standard, our favourite was Spice.
I can't recommend this resort highly enough, it was an amazing trip and I'm looking forward to returning!

Room Tip: As part of our Honeymoon package we were upgraded to the Excellence Club - after reading reviews pri...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank somewhere_else08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excellence_Group, Community Manager at Excellence Riviera Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to host you, and be part of your vacation in the Mexican Caribbean.
We are very pleased to know that our staff was able to make of your stay a relaxing and memorable experience due to the excellent service provided and also that we were able to exceed your expectations.
Thank you once again for taking time to give us your opinion. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you and provide you the memorable and relaxing experience you deserve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

I use this site all the time but this is my first review...........shame on me!

We have just got back today and this was our second visit to this resort, the first time since 2008 but this time it was our honeymoon.

Firstly if your thinking of booking here, don't just do it.........it is that good! I can safely say this as I am a total nightmare when it comes to committing a bit of money, I review things to high heaven and on Mexico resorts I must of spent months. However it was totally worth it, for what it's worth this is what we found:

Rooms - Well actually it's a suit, big bed, nice tv, well appointed mini bar restocked daily and a nice addition since our last visit is the spirits, branded at that. On the room front there are various upgrades, however personally I don't feel it's worth it unless money is no object and you plan to spend a lot of time there. I know some people like the swim ups because you get your own sun loungers, however there are so many free so why pay more when you don't need to, save the money a put it towards some of the fab trips.

Restaurants - 8 a la carte, lobster, steak, Italian, Asian, French, Mexican, Indian and the buffet. No booking which is great and no limitation on how many visits, fantastic. If its busy you get a buzzer and go to one of the various bars. Oh yeah the food is great as well.

Pools - loads of them from the swim up to the lazy river around the spa, all fantastic.

Staff - Absolutely fantastic, so friendly and can't do enough for you and what I really like is their not fishing for a tip. Their just giving you great service, however if you do give them a tip they are so appreciative. Unlike a lot of places I've been to, both home and away where it is expected even though they haven't done anything to deserve a tip.

Resort/location - if you haven't got kids or you want time away from the kids this is great, it's adult only, which personally I love because the resort is all about grown ups and its not trying to accommodate various age groups. In terms of location it's only a 30 min transfer and is close to a little fishing village that you can walk to.

The only drawback for me is the diving centre, they are a jack of all trades offering all sorts which I suppose is great for some but I am an advanced open water diver and would much rather talk to a specific dive centre a posed to the sales guys they have at these places. I don't want to be sold a trip diving on Cozumel, which for a 1h 30m bottom time on two tanks I don't want to be out of the resort from 8 to 6, mostly travelling, I am paying a lot money for the resort and want to enjoy it, half a day is fine but not the whole day. Personally I think they should show you more of the local dive sites, if you want Cozumel you need to be closer.

Overall this is an amazing resort, hence the great reviews you can read for yourself. This was our second visit and it will not be our last, we will definitely go back again and we never normally go back to a resort.

If you book you will not regret it!

Ps do the trip to swim with whale sharks, mind blowing, we were in the water with about 100 of them and saw a manta ray, turtles and wild dolphins.......mega!

Room Tip: Building 2, 3 and 4 are around the back of the spa, nice and quiet.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Tony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excellence_Group, Community Manager at Excellence Riviera Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. We are delighted to read that you found in our resort your home away from home.
We are very glad to read how memorable and special was your stay, due to the food & drinks quality encountered, our hotel accommodations and the outstanding service provided by our staff members, who always attended to your needs.
We are looking forward to welcome you back and have another opportunity to pamper you with our service creating another experience to remember.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Morelos
4.0 mi away
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
#1 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
887 reviews
1.5 mi away
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
9.0 mi away
Valentin Imperial Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
11,980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
3.7 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#8 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
8,944 reviews
21.4 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#11 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
16,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excellence Riviera Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excellence Riviera Cancun

Address: Carretera Federal 307 Chetumal-Puerto Juarez KM 324 -342 | Manzana 7, Lote 1, S.M. 11, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#2 Spa Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range: $338 - $720 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Excellence Riviera Cancun 5*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This all-suite, all-adult Resort is set along Mexico's renowned Mayan Riviera, between Playa del Carmen and Cancun, on an immaculate white sand beach. Six meandering pools wind through their grounds. You have unlimited access to eight international restaurants and ten bars, plus such amenities as an expansive swim-in spa, a full-scale fitness and cardio-conditioning center and an unparalleled range of activities on land and sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Savannahville Tours N.V., Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Excellence Riviera Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excellence Riviera Maya
Excellence Riviera Cancun Hotel
Excellence Riviera Cancun Puerto Morelos
Excellence Cancun
Secrets Excellence Riviera Cancun
Cancun Excellence Riviera
Excellence Resort Cancun
Excellence Riviera Cancun Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Morelos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing