We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellence Riviera Cancun”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Excellence Riviera Cancun
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Certificate of Excellence
Mesa, Arizona, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellence Riviera Cancun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

Our company recently had 3 days of meetings at the resort and thoroughly enjoyed it. From the food quality to the service/staff to the rooms; truly a wonderful experience.

Mayla and the concierge staff helped with all of our groups needs and went above and beyond to help us.

Well done!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8,870
    1,823
    530
    183
    114
See reviews for
568
8,602
66
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,581)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

This was our 2nd visit to the excellence and i must say, it is still a fantastic place to go for a holiday.
Everything is good at this place,
the rooms, grounds, pools, a la carte restaurants, drinks (with or without alcohol), beach, activities, spa, live music, wifi
The best bit is the service you receive is always excellent.
We met a lot of repeat visitors who have tried to find a similar experience elsewhere, but always
end up a little dissapointed, so they keep returning here.
That pretty much sums the place up.
Book it and enjoy!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fuddymucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleetwood, England
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

Yes, for us, again. 7th time at The Excellence but on this occassion it was for our honeymoon. We often get asked why keep returning when there are so many other places in the world to visit. For us its the allround package, premium drinks, fantastic food, great grounds and the most important factor, the staff. From arriving at Reception to be greeted by Jose & Jesus with a welcome home greeting (thats exactly how it feels for us).We keep in touch with many by Facebook and look forward to seeing them every year. Matias was aware that it was our honeymoon this year and pulled out all the stops to make it extra special. Marianna and Natascha were fantastic and looked after all our needs. As ever, this hotel, the staff and everything about it was wonderful. There have been changes this year with the introduction of bottles of spirits to compliment your minibar, food on the beach at lunch time and a change with some of the shows (all got the thumbs up). The hotel was the busiest we have seen it but we only had to wait to get into Chez Isabele (90mins). Staff seem to be moved around a lot more which threw us when looking for familiar faces. Benjamin who we met 7years ago seemed to be in a different spot every night. Alfredo now fronts Basmati working with Chef Saju and Oscar and Ramon. This was our favourite with Saju more than happy to come to the table and tweek the menu to your personal taste. Armando now fronts Agave along with the master of the Mayan Coffee, Bartolo. Bars Manager Silverio is a true gent and leads his staff from the front, often checking to make sure your drinks were topped up whilst sat by the pool or on the beach. Joel is wasted in Alegria, I wish he was back in the Martini Bar, one of the best barmen i have ever come across. It was good to see Alfonso (entertainment) that boy does know how to get the party going but he does not appear regular enough. Even if you could not see him, you knew he was about by the sheer laughter and atmosphere when he was around. Our day starts with a laugh with the lovely Gabby greeting you for breakfast and our regular waiters Juan (Speedy) and Ramon. Juan has us in stitches and also truly impressed with Ramon who asked after my parents by name. They joined us in 2008 at the Excellence but due to ill health no longer do long haul, but Ramon remembered them. These are the reasons why we keep returning. Genuine nice staff who can't do enough for you. I see the odd moan about the hotel on trip advisor but do have to ask myself what goes on in some peoples heads. We can't get enough of the place and have already made plans to return next year. We are not the only ones, Carol & Derek and Brian & Sandra are also members of the 7years club, we can't all be wrong about how good the hotel is! can we? There are far too many fantastic staff members to name but Matias, Mariana & Natascha, keep up the good work and keep our room available for next year, we'll be back with family & friends. Sharon & Paul xx

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sharon98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Windsor, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

We just got back from our vacation at The Excellence. Amazing experience to say the least. The service was impeccable. The grounds were beautiful, the room extremely clean. Anything we wanted, we had quickly. The staff were always happy making our stay so enjoyable and carefree. I highly recommend The Excellence. Thank you for a great vacation!!!! :)

Room Tip: We had a top floor in building 7. It was great. We could see all over the grounds from our room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Breeanne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NORTH WALES UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

This was our 2nd visit to ERC , everything was how we remembered it , check in was smooth and all our requests were met . We settled in straight away . As it was our second time we knew a little of what to expect and we weren't disappointed . Food was delicious my favourites (Spice and French ) my husband enjoyed Barcelona for all his lunches thank you Viridiana . As we stayed for 2 weeks we did get to try all restaurants at least once , and the longest we waited for a table was 20 minutes which suited us as we enjoyed a pre-dinner drink . We used the kafe cafe bar the most through our stay and the staff were excellent always smiling , making sure we had everything we needed even though they were always busy . The one or should I say two differences to the ERC which I noticed this time round was the addition of Natascha and Mariana (guest services ) they made themselves known straight away , they were on call throughout our stay making sure everything was as should be and if it wasn't they would do their best to change it . We had one little hiccup while we were here , when we explained our disappointment the ladies went above and beyond to rectify this , and the only memories we take away with us are nice ones .
I had read some reviews that the rooms smelt mouldy and damp we didn't experience this first time around but did this stay , if we went out and left the air con on (especially at night ) when we came back the room did smell a little and the sheets felt damp , but after being in the room for ten mins we didn't notice it , that's why I scored the room 4 this time I'm sure if I spoke to someone about it , the staff would have seen to it , but we could live with it . I didn't enjoy the beach as much this time , only because people have started feeding the fish and they won't leave you alone nipping and there are quite a lot . We have looked into going somewhere new next time but if its not broke don't fix it ! Over all an excellent stay again treated like stars and we enjoyed every minute of it , can't wait for our 3rd visit . Again a big thank you to ALL the staff you all do a fantastic job in contributing to the smooth running of ERC .

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kelly n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swarthmore, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

We just got back 11/8/12 & had the most awesome time. Beautiful rooms, beaches, restaurants, bars - all very clean & top of the line -very classy. Join the Excellence Club Guest -it is worth it. The concierge service is superb, upgrade mini-bar & room service, beach towels, beach bags, terry cloth bathrobes & slippers, free internet access & anything you need or ask for they provide immediate service for you. The entire staff is very, very pleasant - EVERYONE! They can't do enough to make you happy & have a wonderful time - we felt so special every day. Even upon arrival greeted with champagne & cool towels! Top of the line liquor & fantastic food! Check out the menus online. Entertainment was good - a variety each day & even a harp player and piano players. Adults only wide range of ages - and all a lot of fun - we celebrated our 40th anniversary & had the vacation of a lifetime - BOOK YOUR TRIP THERE - IT IS THE ULTIMATE BEST!!

Room Tip: The Excellence Club section - 2nd floor - room 8155 section
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Kristine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

My sister-in-law had a destination wedding, reception, and rehearsal dinner at Excellence. It was a beautiful location to create some awesome and cherished memories. My husband and I had a Jr suite and the room was amazing. The people were so nice and accommodating for all of our wedding and personal requests.

Room Tip: Jr suite with a pool view in the 6000 location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kasey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Morelos
4.0 mi away
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
#1 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
1.5 mi away
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
9.0 mi away
Valentin Imperial Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
10.3 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,642 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excellence Riviera Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excellence Riviera Cancun

Property: Excellence Riviera Cancun
Address: Carretera Federal 307 Chetumal-Puerto Juarez KM 324 -342 | Manzana 7, Lote 1, S.M. 11, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#5 Business Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Excellence Riviera Cancun 5*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This all-suite, all-adult Resort is set along Mexico's renowned Mayan Riviera, between Playa del Carmen and Cancun, on an immaculate white sand beach. Six meandering pools wind through their grounds. You have unlimited access to eight international restaurants and ten bars, plus such amenities as an expansive swim-in spa, a full-scale fitness and cardio-conditioning center and an unparalleled range of activities on land and sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Savannahville Tours N.V., Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Excellence Riviera Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excellence Riviera Maya
Excellence Riviera Cancun Hotel
Excellence Riviera Cancun Puerto Morelos
Excellence Cancun
Secrets Excellence Riviera Cancun
Cancun Excellence Riviera
Excellence Resort Cancun
Excellence Riviera Cancun Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Morelos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing