We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“relaxing visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Excellence Riviera Cancun
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Certificate of Excellence
Spencer, Iowa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“relaxing visit”
Reviewed March 15, 2012

We stayed at the Excellence the 3rd week in February. The food was good and the employees were very courteous and helpful (shout out to Claudia, the hostess at the breakfast buffet - she was the friendliest employee we ran into, and they were ALL friendly). The pools were our favorite part. We asked for a swim-up room and it was definitely worth it - we had our own pool chairs and even though the resort was at 92% occupancy, the way the resort was laid out, we didn't feel like it was crowded. The spa was EXCELLENTE, as was the martini bar.

Room Tip: we loved being in the first floor swim-up room. If you don't stay up late, you may want to ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Angela38410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8,851
    1,817
    530
    183
    114
See reviews for
567
8,583
66
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,574)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2012

We stayed at the Excellence for 10 days and it was absolutely wonderful. Overall the food was very good. The buffets were kept refreshed and clean and the presentation as well as the quality of the buffet food was very, very good. We enjoyed the Asian the best of the three "nicer" restaurants, but the Italian and French were good as well.

We are beach people, but the one day we used the pool it was nice. Water wasn't overdone with chlorine and it was clean.

We enjoyed the beach....they do a wonderful job of keeping the beach sea weed free. As stated in other reviews, you have to get up early to reserve a chair, doesn't matter where - pool or beach. And yes, there are those that reserve a chair and don't show up till 1:00 or so. Whatever, it's that way at many resorts. The service on the beach was lacking. We didn't mind getting up to get our own drinks but the lack of service would be a problem for some.

The rooms were very,very clean. After being there for 10 days and looking at the bottom of my slippers....they were still white! The maids worked very hard to clean the rooms and did a great job.

I found the pillows very hard (husband loved them) and called housekeeping about it. Was told they were brand new and therefore hard because they were new. I said I couldn't sleep on them. They didn't sound real happy and said they'd look for "older" pillows. Thought they blew me off and an hour later a maid shows up with two "older" pillows that were perfect. How nice is that, right?

We would definitely stay at this resort again. First and foremost what always brings me back to Mexico are the people. They are gracious, kind, friendly and are happy you are there. And it certainly was a nice plus to find a great place to stay!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank gypsy59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2012

We stayed at the Excellence for the last week in February.

The hotel was pretty much full, and we can reconfirm what many people have said about the issue with sunbeds, my record was not being able to find a (good) pair together at 6.20am at the spa pool.
You really do have to join in the rush which is a definite negative for this hotel as I personally feel very uncomfortable about the practice, but it's just a necessity there.
Unfortunately such is the publicity for this issue on tripadvisor that from arrival day nearly everyone is reserving the sunbeds, not sure how that is going to change.

We paid the extra to have the excellence club upgrade and we think it is worth it - the excellence pool is far less troubled by sunbed shortages (though the spa pool is much nicer).
The beach area for the excellence club has a lot more space too. The actual excellence club also is a relaxed escape to have a quiet drink any time, and provides a really nice coffee machine,
beating by far the ordinary coffee served at breakfast.

We emailed the hotel in advance to request a room on a high floor (less noise) and were answered almost immediately and when we arrived we were alllocated a room on the top floor as requested. Whilst we are not sure that it wasn't just luck, I do believe that they listened and allocated a room as requested. This based on the fact that pretty much across the board the staff were extremely helpful - we certainly found that they were very focused on helping wherever they could.

For vegetarians (I have to write this bit as I really appreciate the bits others write about vegetarian fare):
We probably chose this hotel over Le Blanc based on reports about the amount of vegetarian options. Generally we were not disappointed. There is no issue at all with breakfast or lunch (a slight lack of labelling means you will sometimes have to ask if something is a veggie option). The restaurants all have at least one starter and one main without meat and there is also a separate vegetarian menu that all the restaurants will offer (not one per restaurant as we'd imagined).
We ate at the Indian, Italian and Mexican and thought all were quite good.
The Italian probably served us the best all round meal, but on other visits a couple of the vegetarian dishes were quite bizarre, not in a good way!

General advice:
A taxi into Cancun from the hotel costs $45 or 450 pesos (so pay in Pesos). I would recommend getting your own cab back, or arranging with the driver (rather than the hotel) for him to wait and
take you back / drive you around a bit when you are there - the strip is long and there's a lot of space between areas of interest.
Don't feed the lizards - they appear to be quite shy of humans, but they are suddenly very brave when there is food about (one jumped onto our lounger when we were snacking!).
If you are excited about the free champagne - it's actually pretty ropey and more honestly described as sparkling wine in certain places in the hotel.
If you like spa treatments - the hotels spa is extremely good, and has all the heat and ice, hydrotherapy pools that top class spa's in the UK would have. They do daily offers that are reasonably priced - well worth trying one.
A room on the ground floor by the spa pool would have been my second choice after the sea view room we had. The spa pool area is really lovely.

Overall - this is a really good hotel, assuming you pay for the excellence upgrade I cannot imagine having a bad holiday here.

Room Tip: Sea front, or by the spa pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank Haggis7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrimack, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2012

No complaints! Tha staff was extremely nice. All the restaurants are "A la Carte" or buffet. We tried almost all the restaurants, which are all different and the food was very good. Be sure to bring nice pants and dresses for evening meals only. No bermudas allowed guys. The amazing pools were never crowded and clean. If you want some shade by the pools, put your towels on one of the beds early in the morning, before you go to breakfast. We learned that after day 2 in the sun...after my husband and I got sunburns. The beach wasn't as nice as I expected. There was a lot of seaweeds. The do push it away in th morning, but it's still there. And there was a lot of transparent fish in the water....You don't even see them until you get in. They keep nibbling your feet and your legs. Not very fun on my part. When it rains (not very often) they organize activities. We did Bingo for fun and I won a little time at the spa. It was great! Averall, I recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to relaxenjoy the sun and eat great food!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mels321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2012

We had the opportunity to get away for a long weekend. Our original plan was to head to Florida but we had not been to Cancun in 4 years and realized we were overdue to head back South of the border. We had stayed at Secrets Capri twice before and loved it. We decided, however to try something different this time due to the reviews we read here and the specials the resort was offering.

After a very chaotic scenario and 2 hour wait at Customs, we found our driver and headed to the resort. We used Cancun Transfers, private car, and very good service. The resort was only a 15 minute drive from the airport and when you are short on time, this is a real plus. We arrived at the resort at 1:30, were greated with champagne and as expected, were told our room would not be ready until 3:00. So, we went to have lunch at the open-air restaurant, The Grill. We had sandwiches, drinks and enjoyed the salad and dessert bar. The setting was beautiful and the food was good. There was a band playing on the beach that helped get us into vacation mode. After lunch, went back to main check-in and was told our room was still not ready (it was a few minutes before 3:00 at this time). So, we changed into our swimsuits (bring them in your carry-on) and headed to the pool. We enjoyed a walk out onto the pier and a silly music trivia game at the main pool bar.

When we arrived in our room, it was spacious and clean. The lighting in the bathroom was extremely dim for getting ready. Since we had read about the beds, we requested a pillow top for the mattress and housekeeping brought it right away. We had absolutely no problems with the bed for the duration of the stay. We had reserved an "ocean view" room (Bldg. 7 but Not Excellence Club) and really, our view was of the pool. So, I am not sure if it was worth the difference in price. You could see a small bit of the ocean if you looked to the side of the balcony. The balcony itself was very large and relaxing to hang out on in the evening. Our room was very quiet for sleeping at night. However, because of it's location overlooking the main entertainment area and pool, you could hear the festivities of the day even with the patio doors closed. Things get very quiet however after around 11:00 pm.

Our first evening we dined at the French offering, Chez Isabelle. The wait was about 90 minutes. We waited at the beautiful Martini Bar which was hopping every night we were there. It was very crowded and with one bartender, we had to wait about 20 minutes for a drink. Finally, our table was ready and we had an enjoyable meal in a beautifully decorated atmosphere. To sum up our dinner at the French and other restaurants at the resort, the variety and presentation of the food was excellent, but sometimes the quality and preparation was just ok to good. But it didn't matter to us because we didn't really come to the resort for food. If you are a red wine drinker, the red wine that is included is not very good but the white was ok. They do offer a wine list for purchase.

Because we waited for dinner, we missed the Circus show which we heard was very good. We enjoyed the Beatles tribute band that played outside. In the evenings, this place has such a fun atmosphere. The outdoor theater is just beautiful and during our stay, there was always some sort of band and entertainment going on.

The next day, we enjoyed the very large breakfast buffet and reserved our pool chairs very early. Unfortunately, you need to do this. We saw people searching and out of luck as early as 10:00 a.m. Paella demo on the beach along with Sangria was fun. The daily coconut demo and outside soft serve ice cream machine were nice touches. The evening's Mexico night was also festive and very well done.

We found that our first two days, service to be ok, but slow. We heard they were at almost full occupancy so I guess that's the reason but the waiting was a little bit more than what we had expected. On our final day (a Saturday) the service seemed to improve and we had warm and prompt wait service whereever we went. Note that at least at the pool bar, if you want top shelf liquor, they are more than happy to provide it upon request. The drinks are weak and so a couple of times, we requested a "double" and they will make them happily! This is when tipping was helpful.

Our final night, we dined at Basmati, again after a 90 minute wait. Fortunately, there were some casino games going on so we did that while we waited and listended to a very talented female singer and band. Again, the grounds and entertainment really lend itself to a great atmosphere in the evening. Basmati was delicious and very nicely decorated. Along with the breakfast buffet, it was our favorite meal of the trip.

The pros of this trip were the room size and cleanliness, location to the airport, outdoor entertainment, activities, beautiful grounds, spa and pools, excellent variety of food options. It's a nice blend of relaxation and activities. Very easy to get into vacation mode!

The cons of this trip was waiting and slow service due to what seemed to be being at near capacity. I guess for this level of resort, I felt they needed more staff during this peak travel time and greater availability of pool chairs for all guests. Also, the "hot" tub was never hot and would have been great on some of the cooler evenings.

In the end, I gave Secrets Capri the slight edge over this resort and my husband preferred Excellence Riviera Cancun. But we would both return to this resort without hesitation. I could not imagine anyone having a bad time or poor experience at Excellence Riviera Cancun.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ClevelandTraveler22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2012

This was actually our third time stay at Excellence Riviera, so actually the third holiday of a lifetime!
From the moment we arrived we relaxed, the hotel is clean and well maintained and the level of service offered is fantastic, if anything it could spoil you for anywhere else. We had a swim up room, this allows east acces to the pool and a fantastic aspect to enjoy your morning coffee.
We were luck enough to meet the drinks & beverage manager Silverio Chooch, who redefined service, nothing was too much trouble and he went above and beyond to ensure we had everything we could want, we was excellent.
Another special ment goes to Ceaser, the gentleman who looked after us at breakfast, again the special extra service that lifts this resort above others.

Room Tip: I would advise a swim up room, if anything is not to your liking tell the staff they will do anythin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SiRugby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massillon, OH
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Everything about this resort is true in its title..EXCELLENCE. They really strive to be excellent in everything they do.
The Room - Very clean and classy. The room service was amazing. We had an ocean front room. The view alone was worth the trip.
The Food - Increadible, Basmati (indian) was the best in our opinion. The range of food provided is amazing. From french, indian, seafood, pizza, mexican, and american cuisine, all were amazing.
The Service - This is what really makes this resort truly excellent. Everyone from the hotel manager to the guys raking the beach went out of their way to say "hola" and to ask you how you were and if you needed anything.
The Grounds - Perfection... We walked the beach every morning and could see other resorts. You can really see the effort Excellence puts in to maintaining their beach. The interior of the resort was filled with winding pools and lush gardens.
Overall - An experience we will never forget. Thanks to all the Employees at Excellence Riviera Cancun

Room Tip: Ocean Front was amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zaba19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Morelos
4.0 mi away
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
#1 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
769 reviews
1.5 mi away
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
9.0 mi away
Valentin Imperial Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
11,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
10.3 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,628 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excellence Riviera Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excellence Riviera Cancun

Property: Excellence Riviera Cancun
Address: Carretera Federal 307 Chetumal-Puerto Juarez KM 324 -342 | Manzana 7, Lote 1, S.M. 11, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#2 Spa Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#5 Business Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Excellence Riviera Cancun 5*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This all-suite, all-adult Resort is set along Mexico's renowned Mayan Riviera, between Playa del Carmen and Cancun, on an immaculate white sand beach. Six meandering pools wind through their grounds. You have unlimited access to eight international restaurants and ten bars, plus such amenities as an expansive swim-in spa, a full-scale fitness and cardio-conditioning center and an unparalleled range of activities on land and sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Savannahville Tours N.V., Orbitz, Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Excellence Riviera Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excellence Riviera Maya
Excellence Riviera Cancun Hotel
Excellence Riviera Cancun Puerto Morelos
Excellence Cancun
Secrets Excellence Riviera Cancun
Cancun Excellence Riviera
Excellence Resort Cancun
Excellence Riviera Cancun Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Morelos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing