We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best vacation of our lives!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
West Point, NY
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best vacation of our lives!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

If you want to be pampered, eat gourmet cuisine daily, and have the most relaxing stary of your life, stay at the Zoetry Paraiso de la Bonita! We stayed for a week in June and July 2012 for our 15th anniversary and plan to go again. The staff will bend over backwards for you and make you feel cared for. Even at the peak of summer, the weather wansn't terribly hot. The amenities are fantastic--so much so that we only left the resort once for a short tour to a nearby town. The only downsides were that the beach is inside a coral reef and occasionally the water near shore turns brown, which happened for the second half of our stay. Also, othe reflection pool that came with our room was a bit murky, not crystal clear. But everything else was over the top great.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JWZ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
info_zopdb, Social Media Coordinator/E-Concierge at Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear JWZ1,

Thank you for your preference to have spent your anniversary celebration with us, it was an honor to have you home. Thank you for your time to post a review.

We are overjoyed to know that we have exceeded your expectations with food selection, with the great staff service, and with our relaxing ambiance which distinguish our resort.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.
Warm Regards,

Karla Martinez
Social Media Coordinator & E-Concierge
Zoetry Paraiso de la Bonita
info.zopdb@zoetryresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,581
    343
    122
    63
    53
See reviews for
180
1,548
37
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (681)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

We traveled in the month of August 2012 and could not have picked a better time of year to go. The weather was amazing.

The hotel is fantastic. The staff unbeatable and the food marvelous!

When you go you must visit Miguel who works at the pool area and also on the beach. He was one of the most delightful people we have met in our travels and gave impeccable service!

We had a room with a pool off of the patio and it was well worth it. If you are worried about any dirt, leaves or other things in the water just buy and bring a small strainer with you. They keep the pool very clean.

The grounds are kept very pristine. The beach does get seaweed that they remove continually during the day. Do not let that stop you from going to the beach. It was beautiful and well worth spending your time there.

The restaurants were very good. We did not have a bad meal at any of the restaurants. The service was very good. You are enjoying your dining experience and not trying to get in and out as fast as you can. Go and enjoy the experience.....you are on vacation.

The resort only has 90 rooms and yet you hardly see other people. It was a great feeling of relaxation.

We would recommend this resort to anyone who wants and needs to relax. Do not go thinking that you will be entertained. This is for those who know how to relax and enjoy the finer things that life can provide.

Thank you Zoetry for providing a wonderful place in paradise!

Room Tip: Do not be afraid that the rooms are to far away from the lobby. The main floor has a better view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jetsonboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
info_zopdb, Social Media Coordinator/E-Concierge at Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Jetsonboy,

It´s a pleasure for us to know about the great experience that you had in this paradise. Thank you for your time to share it.

Thank you for your kind comments about the hotel grounds, food selection and staff service. You can be sure we will continue with the great work to surprise you every time you decide to stay with us.

We can´t wait for your next visit.
Warm Regards,

Karla Martinez
Social Media Coordinator & E-Concierge
Zoetry Paraiso de la Bonita
info.zopdb@zoetryresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

My husband and I had our kid-free vacation at Zoëtry September 8 – September 15, 2012. We booked our vacation through Mike McHugh with Dream Makers Vacations. This was our first trip booked through Dream Makers and we are so very pleased with the level of service provided, quick email responses leading up to and during vacation and the comfort of knowing that Mike was genuinely concerned that we have a memorable vacation. Kudos to Mike!

We arrived via US Air at 11:03am CST. Customs and immigration in the airport was easy to maneuver, we retrieved our luggage and made our way through the masses of vacation club sellers without a hiccup. We were warmly greeted by Mario holding up a Zoëtry sign and escorted to a private Lincoln Navigator and given a refreshing cold bottle of water and cool mint cloth. And, away we go to paradise!

Time of arrival at Zoëtry … 11:45am CST. What more could one say than let’s get this vacation started!

Upon arrival at the resort, we were greeted with a refreshing glass of organic tea of the day and our tour of the resort started. Never mind the luggage; it was being attended to by the concierge to be delivered to our suite. Our tour of the resort was provided by Rudy. We were shown the 3 restaurants, 2 bars, 2 pools, spa, organic garden and along the way introduced to many staff who make Zoëtry what it is today.

We stayed in the ocean front/view plunge pool Bermuda Suite (all suites are named after the owner’s travels). We were in the 2nd set of buildings which was very convenient to the front of the resort. Upon arrival in our suite, there was a complimentary bottle of Tequila (salt/lime included) and fresh fruit. Our suite consisted of a separate sitting area with TV, mini fridge/bar, desk and French doors leading to the plunge pool. The sleeping area had a king size bed with TV, French doors and an enormous master bath (2 dual sinks, sunken tub, shower with glass door, private toilet, safe) along with plush robes and matching slippers. There is no check in/check out at a desk; this is done in the privacy of your suite. You will be asked to put a credit card on file as this is a cashless resort for purchases (boutique, bottles of wine, spa, etc)

The beach has had many mixed reviews and after reading so many TA reviews prior to our vacation, I was eager to see what the fuss was all about. Is there seaweed on the beach? YES
Does the beach staff work hard to clear the beach many, many times during the day? YES, YES, YES The staff are constantly grooming the beach with rakes and via tractor to make the beach as nice as possible for the guests. There is seaweed in the water but it is NOT unbearable. Is the water crystal clear as in the Turks/Caicos Islands or Saint Lucia? NO However, just because there is seaweed on the beach should not give this resort a bad name.

Breakfast is served at the Kaax Restaurant daily and this was by far what I looked forward to each day. You can order as much or as little as you desire. My favorite was the fresh mango platter and the yogurt. My husband’s favorite breakfast was the Coconut French Toast (which he called LOAF since the portion is so large). The OJ is freshly squeezed! There is also a wellness menu that you can order from, too.

Lunch is served at the Kaax Restaurant and El Chiringuito (outdoor grill). We tried both restaurants and were pleased with the selections and variety offered. The Cheese Casserole and ribs with corn on the cob and potatoes at El Chiringuito is very good and filling. There is an awesome appetizer platter of chips with hummus, salsa, and guacamole that should not be passed up (definitely helps get rid of the munchies at the pool).

There is a sushi bar (can’t remember the name) located adjacent to the Kaax Restaurant. This trip proved to be my first sushi experience. I gave it a try and can honestly say that it’s not my favorite food for me. However, you can get some of the most AMAZING shrimp cocktail from the sushi bar along with many other dishes. My husband thoroughly enjoyed the sushi so I am assuming for sushi lovers it’s a good place.

Dinner is served at 2 of the 3 restaurants each night beginning at 6:30pm; The Kaax Restaurant, El Chiringuito and La Canoa. Please be advised that the restaurants alternate serving each night so you will want to make sure you know which restaurants are open during the evening.
Dress code for the restaurants: Breakfast/Lunch – women should wear a swimsuit cover up and shoes are required (flip flops, etc.). Casual dress attire for men and women can be worn at The Kaax (dress shorts for men). Formal dress attire is required at La Canoa. Men are to wear long pants, collar shirts and closed toes shoes. Ladies are expected to wear nice sun dresses, Capri pants/dress pants, etc. and sandals (no flip flops).

The Hippo Bar is the main bar for all of your cocktail wishes. If you want something and the bartender(s) are unsure of the cocktail, they will kindly take your suggestions. I wanted vanilla ice cream in my Piña Colada which I told them made the drink not as icy. After that, whenever I ordered my drink, they knew to add the ice cream. The Hippo Bar is open 10am – 10pm but if you desire a cocktail earlier or later, one will be made for you, just ask! 
The Library Bar is air conditioned, has a small library of books, a TV, chess, checkers and comfy leather sofas to relax in. This bar usually opens around 6:30 – 7:00pm and stays open until 11pm. This is usually the place people gather after dinner.

The Bird Lounge has daily Tea/Pastries from 5pm – 6pm and this is adjacent to the Kaax Restaurant.

I did arrange for a private dinner on the pier for my husband’s birthday. The dinner lasted about 2 ½ - 3 hours. We had our own waiter (Edgar) who was always eager to make sure everything was to our liking. After dinner, Edgar and 3 other staff members served my husband a chocolate cake and sang Happy Birthday to him. Then, we were served dessert again. We left dinner stuffed and satisfied!

Each evening the staff will turn down the bedding and lay out your bathrobes and slippers for you. Also, you will be given a newsletter for the next day’s activities along with the tea and cocktail of the day. It’s nice to have the newsletter and it makes for a great piece of memorabilia.

We did experience a few minor hiccups during our stay but thanks to the communication between our travel agent and the resort, these issues were resolved quickly. Be aware, the snorkeling is not included in the Endless Privileges package. Snorkeling is $55.00 per person and there is a minimum of 4 persons for the excursion. Snorkeling is offered 2x each day; 11am and 2pm and if you schedule a time and no one else has signed up, you will need to reschedule your excursion. This happened to us several times during our stay (having to reschedule). Would we snorkel again? No, mainly because it’s a guided snorkel at the Puerto Morelos Reef National Park and when you are trying to snorkel and see the sea life and keep up with a guide, you tire easily. We didn’t see anything that we have not seen before and for the cost, we were somewhat disappointed.

We ventured into the small and I emphasize small town of Puerto Morelos. This is a fisherman’s town! The center of town has the leaning lighthouse on the beach which is a nice focal point. We mainly went into town simply because it was part of our Endless Privilege package and wanted to see what was there. There are several small stores to shop at (accepting US Dollars) and be prepared to barter for your goods. I purchased a cotton sundress and the shop keeper wanted me to pay $70 USD and I got him down to $20 USD (which he gladly accepted). A lot of the shops carry the same items but it just depends which shop keeper is willing to barter to get your money. The shop keepers are famous for saying “2nd time better price”. We saw several restaurants, coffee house, polico’ station and a gorgeous Catholic Church. We were escorted into town by one of the Zoëtry drivers and he stayed until we were ready to go back to the resort. In no way would the resort staff drop us off and leave so we felt fairly safe the 2 hours we spent looking around.

We did not use the spa, but did stop in to take a peek. The pricing is very expensive even with the$200 resort coupons.

The staff goes the extra mile to ensure your stay is pleasant. Carlos is a great bartender and if you are unsure of what you want, he’ll make you a surprise. Eric and Carlos (different one) are awesome pool and beach servers. Just remember, they are people too and a little respect goes a long way. We saw several couples bark orders and demand things constantly which I thought was totally uncalled for when the staff is trying to please you 24/7. Alex is the activity coordinator and speaks good English. The resort does have a ping pong table in the game room so be sure to ask Alex for a challenge. Other activities included bingo, Spanish lessons, tequila tasting, cooking class and aqua gym (the list goes on and on). Miguel, Pepe and Antonio are worth mentioning, too (great service provided by all).

Be sure to check out the craft table on Monday, Tuesday, Friday and Saturday. Juan brings his ceramics (for sell) or you can paint your own. He is very talented and quite funny when you get to know him. I painted 2 pieces and after Juan “touched up” the pieces, they looked totally different. :)

There is something for all adults at the resort even if all you do is sit back and read your Fifty Shades of Grey books and drink cocktails. We met 2 other couples and started new friendships. Keep in mind, this resort is NOT geared towards children even though children are allowed. This is a quiet wellness resort with no loud DJ’s and stammering drunken folks. If you are looking for night life and partying, go elsewhere.

In closing, the final rating is ….

Husband: 3.5
Wife: 4

Husband rates at 3.5 due to the comfort of bed (was very firm) and food quality.

Wife rates at 4 due to the food quality (breakfast wins out hands down); level of beach and pool service and the staff was super friendly. We had some communication issues between us and the marina staff regarding a snorkeling and shopping excursion, the plunge pool was not cleaned our first few days of stay, the mini bar was not restocked until Monday and on several occasions the housekeeping staff forgot to leave us washcloths.

Were we overall pleased? YES
Would we return to Zoëtry? YES

p.s. The iguana's and birds are harmless! They also are what make this resort that it is today. Go and enjoy some R & R with your significant other!

Room Tip: Ask your travel agent to reserve your suite in buildings 1 or 2 which are closer to the center of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GremlinVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
info_zopdb, Social Media Coordinator/E-Concierge at Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear GremlinVA,

We would like to thank you for your visit and for your review. All of your comments and suggestions allow us to identify our opportunity areas and make the proper corrective actions, and also to identify the great work and keep the highest standards in service and facilities.

Most important for us is to know that the staff exceeded your expectations with their attentive service.

We well be waiting for your return.
Kind Regards,

Karla Martinez
Social Media Coordinator & E-Concierge
Zoetry Paraiso de la Bonita
info.zopdb@zoetryresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

I just returned from my week long honeymoon stay at Zoetry. It was absolutely perfect. Service is beyond comparison. Staff always referred to us by name, knew our drink preferences, and pool side/beach side service always had our lounge chairs/cabana prepared. Constantly brought cold ice water, would carry drinks to us in the pool or at the activities around on the pool dock. Honestly I never had a minute to look around and ask for something, the staff always took care of everything!

Food was amazing. Everything was so fresh and fantastic. I agree with past reviews about the sushi however. Just ok. I recommend the choc crossiants and French toast, but the best breakfast was the eggs with salmon, basil, cheese, and veggies.

Room was always clean, turn down service and laundry is a must!! Bath products smell amazing! Also, drinks and champagne restocked with a little desert plate delivered every night!

Room service fast, efficient, and never had a mistake. Definitely do the champagne breakfast. But when they bring your room service they set it up for you every time anyway, freh flowers and all.

Also sunset catamaran cruise and snorkeling was a must as well!! Just added to the absolute beauty of the resort and the continually amazing service and staff.

The only recommendation is from previous reviews about bugs. I brought bug spray and never had an issue! (even at our private beach dinner, which I must add is a must! Perfect for a long relaxing exclusive dinner!!)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kerrylee07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
info_zopdb, Social Media Coordinator/E-Concierge at Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Kerrylee07,

We would like to thank you for your kind comments and for your time to share your experience.

We are overjoyed to know that we have exceeded tour expectations with the food selection, thank you for your suggestions of dishes to other travelers who read your opinion.

It´s a pleasure to know that the staff have surprised you with their incredible service. Thank you for your kind comments about the rooms.

We´ll see you on your next visit.
Warm Regards,

Karla Martinez
Social Media Coordinator & E-Concierge
Zoetry Paraiso de la Bonita
info.zopdb@zoetryresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York, USA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed with Zoetry a couple of years ago for my milestone birthday and returned 2 years later to celebrate a milestone birthday for my husband. Prior to check-in I simply made a small-ish request that we are moved closer to the common area of the hotel. To my surprise and amazement, they upgraded us to a pool-suite. I was also pleasantly surprised to see that most of my “family” was still there. This means it’s paradise to work there as well as to stay there. There are some new staff members, who in my opinion, made the transition just as smooth as our first trip and for that – welcome and thank you.
Please be advised – THIS IS A QUIET RESORT WITH NO BELLY FLOPS OR SHOTS AT THE BAR!!! The resort is comfortably quiet at 11:00pm so don’t expect to dance the night away. We simply walked or sat on the beach with a refreshment from our daily restocked minibar.
The food menu has been stepped up (if that is at all possible) but keep in mind that Zoetry is a wellness and spa resort so the portions are smaller, still quite tasty, but not what we are used to in the US. The chef is amazing with his creations. Knowing that the portions were small, and if there was something I wanted to sample, I simply asked and the response – My pleasure! So, for those who say that the portions were small simply did not use the “all-inclusive” feature at this resort.
There are two strolling groups: a duo; and, a trio. FABULOUS!!! My only suggestion is that they should play at Hippos until 11:00 or the Library. They are wonderful and will play your request! Really nice people. Please talk to them as they add so much more to your vacation.
We were there during Ernesto’s sideswipe. I watched as every person who worked at Zoetry lift everything from the beach and tie it down, board windows, sand pack the beach, move the boats and everything from around the pool to safety. They went overboard to make us safe and to feel comfortable. Then the next day when the sun was beaming, you could not tell that there was a hurricane. Sometime early that morning, everything was put back into place. It almost broke my heart because it was done manually! Simply amazing people! Truly amazing!
In response to the bug situation – yes there are oogobs of mosquitos. Bring your own DEET infused spray because the mosquitos are used to the natives so the mosquitos love the taste of new blood.  Otherwise, even after Ernesto, I did not see any bugs out of the ordinary. Please know that you are on a beach which abuts a mangrove so you hear bugs, but Zoetry sprays the property NOT the mangroves.
The turtles were there once again, but stayed in their nest and did not poke their cute little heads out but we’ll be back! They have upgraded the beach ware and it still blends seamlessly with the décor of nature and with the colors of Zoetry.
What was also amazing and endearing was that they remembered us! Caesar, Pepe, Alejandro, Wendy, Rafa, Carlos and Eric, to name a few, thank you, thank you, thank you. It was my pleasure!
The only negative? My holiday was not long enough!

Room Tip: Opt for a 3-floor room for better views over the trees and request a closer room to the common areas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NewYorker0122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
info_zopdb, Social Media Coordinator/E-Concierge at Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear NewYorker0122,

It was a pleasure for us to have welcomed you back for the second time to our paradise. Thank you for your preference and for your time to post a review.

Thank you for your kind comments about the food and the staff service, every staff mentioned here will receive your special thanks and they will be very honored.

We can´t wait for your next visit.
Warm Regards,

Karla Martinez
Social Media Coordinator & E-Concierge
Zoetry Paraiso de la Bonita
info.zopdb@zoetryresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

My wife and I went to Zoetry just to get away and that's what we found. We weren't looking for night-life, Vegas-shows or tons of people so this place was perfect. My complaints aren't deal-breakers but they were enough for me to want to try other alternatives next time.

I went in Oct 2011 and my biggest complaint was the mosquitoes (it's almost a year later and I'm still living in fear!). These pests have been mentioned before but I was tormented by them. I slept with the windows and doors closed every night and went through a "room-check" to find as many of them lurking in my room as I could but I wished I could have left them open to hear the ocean. The hotel is built into a swamp so mosquitoes are part of the deal I suppose. My second biggest complaint was the bland food. There weren't any dishes that made an impression so I would have liked a bit more spice more flavor or just cover everything in salsa. My third complaint was the beaches. The water was constantly filled with floating seaweed and other debris. As was mentioned numerous times; the debris is constantly washing up on the beach and the club did do as well as humanly possible in my opinion. I just had no desire to go into the water because of all the floating "stuff" so my complaint is against their chosen location because this will be a permanent problem for them.

Overall I'd still try the place at least once but I wouldn't go again - at least not until they could assure me the mosquito problem has been reduced since I last visited(?). The facilities deserve a 5 but the exceptions listed above knock it down to a 4 at best.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kroozin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
info_zopdb, Social Media Coordinator/E-Concierge at Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Kroozin,

We would like to thank you for your recent visit and for your time to post a review.

We regret to know that our beach area didn´t met your expectation, we are located very close to the second largest coral reef in the world, this is why our beach area is different from others located in the Riviera Maya.

In regards to mosquitoes, please take into consideration that we are located in a tropical area surrounded by mangroves which at the same time is a national protected area. It is important to mention that we try to fight mosquito population strongly. We are doing our best to keep them under control, especially during rainy-season, when they are at their peak. We invest not only economical resources but work closely with a specialist that is helping us to reduce their impact by spraying our resort 3 times a day. We cannot use stronger chemical solutions toward this due to the fact that we are a Green Hotel, and very well known for our efforts to preserve nature and the environment. Our guests comfort is our priority, however these efforts sometimes seem to be insufficient due to our location. But please be certain that this situation is controlled in great manner. We advise our guests to bring additional mosquito repellent in order to avoid similar unfortunate events.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon for another relaxing experience.

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

My wife and I visited the Zoetry at the recommendation of my brother and it was fantastic. We were looking for a nice/small high quality resort and that's what we got. We stayed 7 days and enjoyed the pool, restaurants, and various (albeit limited b/c it's a small resort) activities.

We went to another of their sister resorts (Secrets- Silver Sands) for dining and it was a great benefit. You can enjoy dinner at any of their affiliated resorts and we chose Silver Sands because it was close. This was a bigger resort with a lot more active nightlife and more people. It was good to get off resort for a bit, but we were glad to get back to the Zoetry.

Only complaint was the "presentation" by AM Resorts. Upon check in, you're promised various benefits if you just take part in a 90 minute presentation about their vacation club. We received $500 for SPA services, but keep in mind this only got my wife and I one massage (The spa is very expensive). We were subject to a high pressure, rude sales team that tried to pressure us to committing to a huge commitment within 60 minutes. I said "no" and the sales team left the table in a huff. Afterwards, another guy came by saying he was "quality control" to ensure we were treated with respect. After a couple questions, he gave us another offer. Just another salesperson. There was more to the disrespect, but just take my word on it.

So in summary, go the Zoetry if you want to relax, have great service, and beautiful location. Say no to the presentation no matter what they offer you...it's not worth it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JayM1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
info_zopdb, Social Media Coordinator/E-Concierge at Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear JayM1978,

We would like to thank you for your time to share your stay experience with this review. All of our guests comments are very important for us to keep the highest levels of service and facilities which always have distinguished us.

We are overjoyed to know about the relaxing time you have enjoyed with our pools, restaurants and with the staff service.

We regret to know that you were uncomfortable with the invitation received to assist to the presentation, this is a great opportunity offered to our guests to know other sister resorts and know about the benefits of the program, however if the guests decide not to go, their desition is respected with no presion.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon for another magical vacation.
Sunny Regards,

Karla Martinez
Social Media Coordinator & E-Concierge
Zoetry Paraiso de la Bonita
info.zopdb@zoetryresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Morelos
20.0 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,841 reviews
6.5 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#9 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,086 reviews
5.5 mi away
Moon Palace Cancun
Moon Palace Cancun
#22 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Royalton Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
12.8 mi away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#7 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,480 reviews
3.0 mi away
Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita

Property: Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
Address: Carretera Chetumal _Cancun Km 328 | Bahia Petempich, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico (Formerly Zoetry Paraiso de la Bonita)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#4 Spa Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#4 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#4 Business Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#8 Family Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita 5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zoetry Paraiso de la Bonita, an ultra-luxury boutique resort, offers a completely new kind of vacation experience focused on wellness, serenity and romance, as well as social and environmental responsibility. Set on 500 yards of beautiful beach, this exceptionally unique property features 90 beachfront suites; La Canoa, a AAA Four Diamond award-winning restaurant; the first certified Thalassotherapy Center in North America;in-house scuba diving center, a private 48 ft. Catamaran. Zoetry Paraiso de la Bonita, one of the Leading Hotels of the World, has also earned the AAA Five Diamond Award for 13 consecutive years. Each of the 90 lavish oceanfront suites is uniquely decorated with hand-picked treasures from around the world and feature private ocean front view terraces, Bvlgari® bath amenities, fine luxury linens, sparkling wine and fresh fruit daily, 24-hour private, in-room dining, maid service three times each day and a welcome bottle of Tequila. For an added measure of intimacy and romance, a selection of suites also offer access to private terrace plunge pools and outdoor honeymoon showers. Endless Privileges® provide guests limitless access to personalized, private chauffeured airport transfers; unlimited worldwide calls and concierge service; daily breakfast, lunch and dinner gourmet dining options with an assortment of organic, local and gluten-free food and beverage selections plus 24-hour dining options allow guests to enjoy late night bites at Restaurant Kaax or stay in and order room service. The Sip, Savor & See Dining Experience provides 60 more dining and entertainment venues at nearby sister resorts; complimentary cocktails and specialty beverages from a variety of domestic and international top-shelf brands and top-shelf spirits; sunset catamaran sail; shopping excursions by boat; complimentary 24-hour laundry service; relaxing 20 minute Thalasso Experience per guest; as well as complimentary greens fees at nearby Grand Coral Riviera Maya. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zoetry Paraiso De La Bonita Hotel Puerto Morelos
Paraiso De La Bonita
Paraiso Bonita
Zoetry Paraiso De La Bonita Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Morelos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing