We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 26, 2011

We went to Zoetry in mid-September for our honeymoon. It was a very relaxing trip - a great place to stay if you really need to de-stress. Here are our pros and cons to staying at Zoetry:

Pros:

- VERY quiet. They have about 100 rooms there; when we were in town they only had 80 people staying (so about 40 rooms filled). They offer a lot of activities but because there were so few people around, we did most of the activities privately with the instructors (kayaking, yoga, snorkeling, etc.). It was really lovely to have some quiet time next to the ocean with little to no noise every day.
- You can hardly top the snorkeling experience at Zoetry. The guide will take you on a boat right off the private pier. Zoetry sits alongside the second largest barrier reef in the world, so you'll have a great opportunity to see several exotic fish up close. We even saw a baby barracuda.
- The rooms are gorgeous. We had our own plunge pool on our veranda that overlooked the ocean, plus a living room, bedroom, and a bathroom with a very big bath and a large glass shower.
- The drinks are great. If you get the Endless Privileges deal, you get a bottle of tequila, plus a bottle of champagne delivered your room each day. The bartenders by the pool do not skimp you on alcohol in the mixed drinks. And there are a large number of beers and cocktails to choose from.
- The servers will deliver your food/drinks to your chair/cabana on the beach OR directly to you in the pool. You hardly have to lift a finger.
- This Zoetry location includes a Thalasso Spa with a sauna, hot tub, salt-water pool, salon, spa services, and more. We loved the salt-water pool and found it to be very relaxing and soothing on our sunburns (!). We were surprised that we were often the only people at the Thalasso and in the salt-water pool, given that it was such a soothing thing to do.

Cons:

- Our biggest con by far is that everyone is trying to pitch you something to get more of your money. The person who picked us up from the airport tried to sell us on a private excursion. When we got to the resort, we had to ask three different staffers in three different parts of the resort to find out what activities we could do. Instead of giving us the list of activities, one tried to sell us a time share, the second tried to sell us on a shopping trip to spend more money, and the third tried to get out of telling us about the free activities that were included. He also was VERY reluctant to help us contact our travel agent who had told us about activities OUTSIDE of our resort. Obviously they only wanted us to spend money at Zoetry and they would do anything to get us to sign up for paid activities.
- This isn't really a con, but Zoetry is a health and wellness resort. So the food is delicious and healthy, the portions are small. But if you're the kind of person that goes to Mexico for some burritos and nachos dripping with cheese, you're not going to find it here. There are no snacks onsite and no vending machines.
- Take bug spray AND something to heal your bug bites once you get them. My husband was bit very badly from head to toe by something like sand fleas. When we asked for something to help heal the bites, they said they only had one tube of ointment at the resort and another couple was already using it. This really made us nervous - if we had gotten really sick, would there be an infirmary or at least some first aid onsite?

Overall, we would probably recommend Zoetry to our friends for the quietude and privacy alone. Just pack your bug spray (and maybe some Doritos). :)

QUICK TIP: Check out The Jungle Place ("Kuuxi Kaax") south of Playa del Carmen. It's a monkey sanctuary in the jungle, just 5 minutes west of the main highway. You can play with monkeys! (Zoetry does not have anything to do with the Jungle Place but they can get you a taxi to travel down there. An easy, quick trip well worth the visit!)

Room Tip: Specify number of beds (we had two when we wanted one). Personal Plunge pools are only on the first...
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank jaclwalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
info_zopdb, Social Media Coordinator/E-Concierge at Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2011

Bix a bel Jaclwalk,

We appreciate you have taken the time to share your overview on your stay with us on TripAdvisor. We always value the sincere opinion of our guests and take it as feedback in our constant commitment of improving our service levels.

We feel pleased to know that you have enjoyed the tranquility and privacy atmosphere that our resort offer to our guests, snorkeling with our experienced Marina la Bonita team, resort activities, our suites and ocean front views, Endless Privileges inclusions, the Thalasso Center and Spa wet areas and service.

In other hand we regret to know that you have not enjoyed your stay completely due to the way the services from our resort where offered to you, perhaps our staff have not handled this appropriately and we apologize if we have made you feel uncomfortable at any level. Please be certain that the supervisors of the areas mentioned will take measures to prevent re-occurrences like this in the future. We truly appreciate your comment.

It is true that we are a resort specialized in wellness and relaxation, however to please our guests is always our priority and when it comes to Food and Beverages our staff and chefs are always happy to accommodate your needs accordingly. We hope we can have the opportunity to host you again so you can enjoy from our off-side menu, we are certain that you will enjoy this very much!

Regarding to mosquitoes, locations in the area have the same situation on this matter. Our resort is located in a tropical area surrounded by mangroves. It is important to mention that we try to fight mosquito population strongly and doing our best to keep this controlled. We invest not only economical resources but work closely with a specialist that is helping us to reduce their impact by spraying our resort 3 times a day. We are unable to use stronger chemical solutions since we are a Green Hotel and very well known for our efforts to preserve nature and environment. Our guests comfort is our priority this is why we provide mosquito repellent at no additional cost and our boutique offers unguents or pomades to guest’s who required this. However we strongly suggest our guests to bring their own mosquito repellent to avoid misfortunate situations, especially if you are not used to Caribbean weather mosquitoes.

It is important to mention that we always offer our guest’s the suite type that they have initially booked when making their reservation to our resort. However we have different suite categories and these also include bed types categories.

Again, thank you very much for your comment, we hope we can have the opportunity to host you again home and may your next visit be better than the past one.

Warm greetings from all of us at Zoëtry Paraiso de la Bonita Riviera Maya!

Zuko Garcia
Social Media Coordinator/E-Concierge
Zoëtry Paraiso de la Bonita Riviera Maya
info.zopdb@zoetryresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,302)
There are newer reviews for Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,590 - 1,596 of 2,302 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The service was terrific and the property is lovely. We will definitely return and plan to take all our adult children next year.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ephraim55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

My husband and I went to the Zoetry in June 2011 for our honeymoon. We were very specific about what we wanted (Secluded, no kids, all inclusive, small..) and the Zoetry was PERFECT!! We got picked up from the airport in an Escalade with a bottle of champagne waiting for us. When we got to the hotel, we were greeted by the WONDERFUL staff. While we were taken on a tour, they took our luggage to our room. When they found out we were on our honeymoon, they upgraded our room for free. Our entire stay was 100% perfect. The staff were amazing and so friendly (Jimmy at the pool is a great guy who took time to get to know us) The service at every restaurant was excellent! The food is fabulous!! If I had any idea it was going to be this amazing, we would have stayed for 2 weeks instead of just 1. It was definitely hard to leave!! But we will absolutely be back!! If you are looking for the perfect getaway, look no further!!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank meweil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

If you are looking for peace and quiet and the most restful and relaxing vacation imaginable, this is the place for you. If you go, as we did, in one of the less popular months like September (supposedly the rainy season, but there was no rain), you also get tremendous value for your money. Here's what's included if you buy the "endless privileges" package from the hotel: transport to and from the airport in a Lincoln or Mercedes van, with champagne and a cold towel on your way to the hotel; a two-room suite with large rooms and high ceilings if you are on the third floor, a huge separate bath with large shower and (non-jacuzzi) large stone bath, double sinks and closed off toilet and bidet, with private plunge pool if on the first floor and two balconies if on the second or third floors, all rooms overlooking and close to the ocean; world-wide free phone calls, free internet, free laundry service, all meals, espresso in your room, food/drink room service, champagne (local, not that terrific) and fruit (apples in our case) in your room refilled whenever you request, bottle of Cuervo tequila with lime and salt in your room, refrigerator filled with free beer, wine, sparkling water and juice, daily classes of some sort (water aerobics, kayaking, wine or tequila tasting, cooking, etc.), "Mayan" group steam ceremony with herbs ("Temezcal"), guided tour of thalassotherapy facility (five minute steam or dry heat, 10 minutes in the indoor jacuzzi pool), fresh water and salt water outdoor pools with jacuzzi/whirlpool jets, 12-passenger speedboat ride to and from nearest town, Puerto Morelos, for an hour shopping in the flea market there (not worthwhile; you have to bargain for everything, there are no listed prices and no regular stores), catamaran sunset hour ocean cruise (sign up as soon as you get to the hotel at the booth next to the swimming pool since this fills up quickly, and if you don't get a spot show up anyway because there are last minute no-shows), beds and lounge chairs on the beach serviced constantly by an attendant who brings you any drink you wish, lounge chairs by the freshwater pool with similar service, afternoon tea with a selection of 25 teas and little treats, library with computer, books, bar, comfortable sofas and grand piano, absolutely terrific harp player every day at breakfast except Sundays, great Mexican guitar trio at dinner, wildlife all over the facility (parrots, cockatoos, peacock, cordoned off baby crocodile, iguanas), abundant tropical trees and flowering plants everywhere (fruiting coconut and date palms, etc.), free use of (somewhat uncomfortable) plastic kayaks. What's not included: any individualized spa treatment (with the coupons offered by the facility the cost, for example, of a 60-minute massage is about $130, and the cost of a 60-minute facial is about $110); any non-house wine with a meal (the house wines are actually excellent; prices vary for wine but you can apply a $10 coupon towards any bottle); a private dinner on the beach next to the ocean ($240 applying a hotel coupon); snorkeling ($55 for a half day snorkel) (if you want to do snorkeling on your own, bring your own equipment; otherwise you have to beg the hotel for equipment when not in use); and any trips off the facility either by car or boat other than the trip to Puerto Morelos. The food was excellent, with many vegetarian options on all menus clearly marked. There are two indoor eating spaces (called "Kaax" and "La Canoa"), both also with outdoor space overlooking the ocean. "La Canoa" had a dress code that included a collared shirt and non-jeans and no gym shoes or sandals for men, which unfortunately we did not learn about until we arrived, and is strictly applied, and the hotel has no dress shoes to borrow, so we were never able to eat inside the La Canoa facility. They did allow us to eat on the terrace, and the food was gourmet and truly excellent. There are also two outdoor food areas, one Japanese and one more casual and pizza-oriented that was closed for construction. The majority of the one and two-star reviews on this site are suspiciously written by individuals whose only contribution to tripadvisor is this one single review, and I learned that much of what they wrote was untrue: (1) there was no required sales pitch that we had to listen to in order to get hotel coupons; (2) we saw no mosquitoes or ants or any other unwanted bugs; (3) the food was delicious and there was a wide selection; (4) there was plenty of brand label liquor available (we drank Johnnie Walker scotch); (5) there was some seaweed on the beach but the hotel dealt with it every morning, and, after all, one expects seaweed on a beach; (6) there was not a single child of any sort; (7) nothing went missing from our room, and in fact when we left a $5 plastic watch out we had a notice placed next to it that it should have been placed in the room safe; (8) the portions are indeed not super-sized American and this is a good thing, and since you can order as many dishes as you want, the smaller portions are a feature and not a bug, and, finally and very thankfully, (9) no one actually expects you to learn any cutesy "Mayan" phrases. We do agree with the comment that the bedding (pillows and mattress pads) could use an upgrade. There were a few things that we did not like: (1) The registration staff person who gave us a personalized tour of the facility when we arrived told us that the construction at the outdoor restaurant would be finished by the next day. In fact it was not finished and the restaurant was not open during our entire stay, although at one point its menu was served by another restaurant. (2) We would have appreciated the hotel defining and limiting the hours at which construction noises would be occurring at the restaurant and notifying guests of those hours so we could make arrangements to be somewhere else when power tools were in use. There is a daily newsletter where it would have been easy for the hotel to include this information. (3) The hotel should have specified the dress code for guests at the La Canoa restaurant in advance or offered use of appropriate attire. It's not really acceptable to have one of only two restaurants not available to you because of some rule that you were not informed of in advance and have no power to remedy because there are no stores within miles. (4) The tipping policy remained unclear to us. While we were informed at the outset that tipping was not required or expected, it was clear that staff people were hoping for tips and who can blame them (one waiter even stood expectantly at our table jangling coins in his pocket!), but the front desk would give us no guidance on amounts. We would have appreciated either some guidance as to an appropriate range of tips or having the hotel implement a no tipping policy and having us pay more at the end. At the same time there were personalized touches that we absolutely loved, such as the turn-down service where the staff carefully laid out robes and slippers for you and sprinkled them and the bed with fragrant tropical flowers. Although we had never been to this area before and have nothing to compare this to, we met a couple who had been to several of the highly rated resorts in the area and said that, if rest and peace are your goals, Zoetry was best of all. We will surely return.

Room Tip: While you are not guaranteed any room, the building is in an "S" shape, and certain rooms...
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Shain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Very quiet and laid back. Food was excellent. The portions are small so if you eat heartly order extra. Six of us ate in the wine cellar and it was well worth the extra $20 apiece. Service, menu and food were all A+. Would do that again. Grouper was tops. If the outdoor grill is open, try it. The pool service was prompt and drinks were plentiful. Pepe was our man and did us right. Chairs prepared and drink choices remembered.

Room Tip: There is no best room. Each is different in decoration, but all of ours were the same size.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank lynnheavenmimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

This is the second time we have been to this resort and liked it so much the first time that, after considering a number of luxury resorts for our honeymoon, we decided to go back to this one. The resort is fairly small which is part of its charm to us in that all the rooms are beachfront and there is no sense of hustling or bustling around the resort. It is an oasis of natural scenery and wildlife with peacocks and exotic birds roaming the resort. The atmosphere is serene and perfect for a vacation away from it all where you can relax and be pampered. Before we get there we always think we will do some activities outside the resort but once we are there we find that relaxing at the beach and pool in this environment is so satisfying that we end up opting to simply stay within the resort and master the art of lounging in the pool or relaxing in the beach beds with a good book and some guacamole and chips and a margarita. The rooms are very large and very clean (yes it is a tropical oasis yes it is possible to see bugs outside and if you leave your balcony door open, I imagine inside) but we found our room to be virtually spotless and meticulously cleaned from head to toe (all glass doors included) twice a day. The staff is more than polite, they are friendly and encourage you to have your best vacation ever and will try to accommodate your every request. They pamper their guests thoroughly and have a great attitude. We ended up stranded there due to the hurricane and unable to fly back into New York for days and management was more than gracious in extending special consideration to our situation and helping us in many ways without our even asking. It was a truly wonderful vacation, worth every penny to us and we would surely go there again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank whynotnow27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

This is a wonderful place to go and relax and that is what we where looking for. From the time you are picked up in the private luxury suv to the check in they make you feel that you are home. The whole trip was worth it. The pool staff was over the top, delivering you food drinks and moving your unbrella to keep you out of the sun or in the sun they where great. This is not a place to come if you are looking to party in up and hoop and howler(you can and it is ok) but it is laid back. They onsite marina was a plus, we took a day trip to Cancun in a boat which was wonderful. We also took a private fishing trip which was awesome, my wife caught a really nice sail fish.
So looking for a place that is relaxing and with things to do this is the place. Thanks Zoetrys we will be back......

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Sugar1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Morelos
6.5 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#8 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
8,944 reviews
5.5 mi away
Moon Palace Cancun
Moon Palace Cancun
#24 of 176 in Cancun
22,214 reviews
3.0 mi away
Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
13.1 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,914 reviews
1.2 mi away
Azul Beach Resort Sensatori Mexico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita

Address: Carretera Chetumal _Cancun Km 328 | Bahia Petempich, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico (Formerly Zoetry Paraiso de la Bonita)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#5 Spa Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#5 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#6 Green Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#8 Family Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range: $484 - $1,342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita 5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zoetry Paraiso de la Bonita, an ultra-luxury boutique resort, offers a completely new kind of vacation experience focused on wellness, serenity and romance, as well as social and environmental responsibility. Set on 500 yards of beautiful beach, this exceptionally unique property features 90 beachfront suites; La Canoa, a AAA Four Diamond award-winning restaurant; the first certified Thalassotherapy Center in North America;in-house scuba diving center, a private 48 ft. Catamaran. Zoetry Paraiso de la Bonita, one of the Leading Hotels of the World, has also earned the AAA Five Diamond Award for 13 consecutive years. Each of the 90 lavish oceanfront suites is uniquely decorated with hand-picked treasures from around the world and feature private ocean front view terraces, Bvlgari® bath amenities, fine luxury linens, sparkling wine and fresh fruit daily, 24-hour private, in-room dining, maid service three times each day and a welcome bottle of Tequila. For an added measure of intimacy and romance, a selection of suites also offer access to private terrace plunge pools and outdoor honeymoon showers. Endless Privileges® provide guests limitless access to personalized, private chauffeured airport transfers; unlimited worldwide calls and concierge service; daily breakfast, lunch and dinner gourmet dining options with an assortment of organic, local and gluten-free food and beverage selections plus 24-hour dining options allow guests to enjoy late night bites at Restaurant Kaax or stay in and order room service. The Sip, Savor & See Dining Experience provides 60 more dining and entertainment venues at nearby sister resorts; complimentary cocktails and specialty beverages from a variety of domestic and international top-shelf brands and top-shelf spirits; sunset catamaran sail; shopping excursions by boat; complimentary 24-hour laundry service; relaxing 20 minute Thalasso Experience per guest; as well as complimentary greens fees at nearby Grand Coral Riviera Maya. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zoetry Paraiso De La Bonita Hotel Puerto Morelos
Paraiso De La Bonita
Paraiso Bonita
Zoetry Paraiso De La Bonita Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Morelos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing