We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Azul Beach Resort Riviera Maya
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita(Puerto Morelos)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun(Puerto Morelos)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Acamaya Reef(Puerto Morelos)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,823)
Filter reviews
3,823 results
Traveler rating
2,795
684
181
100
63
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,795
684
181
100
63
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstequila barblue restaurantkids clubaquanox barfamily swim up suitebeach bedsdeluxe roomssushi riverlatin restaurantchil restaurantbeach butlerswinging bedsbaby monitorbaby foodgourmet inclusivefisher pricebeach bum vacation
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,293 - 2,298 of 3,823 reviews
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Despite having a family suite and a request for separation from the noise (had read other reviews)...we found ourselves in the villa 11's. It seemed like a decent location, but we we were awakened by a noisy crowd on the first night.

The rooms also made it difficult to keep our 7yro from disturbing our 1 1/2 yro since the rooms do not have doors--only privacy screens. We recommend adjoining rooms to avoid having kids in the same room.

Service wasn't bad, but there is clearly an effort to upsell bottled wine.

All in all, a nice property but the value for money was not stellar.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, General Manager at Azul Beach Resort Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with the Trip advisor community. I do apologize for the inconvenience with the noise you experienced on the first night of your stay.
The family suites are specially designed for families with a private king size bed area and separate with sliding door, the living area with a sofa bed is designed to accommodate 3 childrens under the age of 12.

The Gourmet Inclusive product here at the Azul Beach Resort offers a variety of house wines but we do have in addition a Wine list where all our clients can choose special wines for a extra charge.

I thank you once again for your feedback and we hope to see you and your family again for a future visit.

Many Thanks,

Peter Hechler.
General Manager
gm@azulbeachresort.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

This is a wonderful place to relax, enjoy and chill out. Its a real jewel of a hotel, having just 148 rooms, you will never feel overwhelmed crowded or just a number. To me its the optimum size for a small friendly beach hotel, having enough in the way of restaurants, bars and pools to keep the place interesting.

The standard of accommodation of food, rooms and facilities are right up to the mark for any 5star, but what really makes the place so special are the staff. Nothing is ever too much trouble, and everyone you meet from the front desk to the beach attendant are so much fun and come across as genuine real people whose hospitality is a real pleasure.

Will we be going back - you bet!

Room Tip: Any room in block 7 will be a good bet. Not sure about the older "original" blocks
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derry_Young
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, General Manager at Azul Beach Resort Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experiences of your recent stay , it was a pleasure to host your vacation.

I'm happy to know that you enjoyed the majority of our services and facilities.

Thank you for choosing the Azul Beach Hotel and I look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,

Peter Hechler
General Manager
gm@azulbeachresort.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

This is the fourth trip to an all-inclusive in the Riviera Maya area. I would say that Azul Beach was by far the best. It's great on many fronts, but would highly recommend it for families in particular. We spent a week there in October with two adults and two young boys (4 & 7) and all had an amazing time!! Below are some specifics:

Property & rooms: My favorite thing about this hotel is that it's big enough to have great amenities and lots of things to do but small enough that you can walk from one end to another in 10 minutes or less. You see many of the same people each day and get to know them over time, which makes it particularly fun. The resort consists of many individual buildings spread around the property with lots of pools in between. Our room was perfect. It was in building 9 and was a swim up family suite. So inside the room, the adult King bed had walls around it with sliding doors-- there were then two couches with a trundle bed on the other side of the wall for the boys to sleep. Then once you go on the balcony, there was a gate you could open and jump directly into the pool. You could then swim across the pool to the bar to get a nice adult drink, a good kid drink or lunch. You can't ask for much nice of a setup.

Dining: The food was great. In many other all inclusive resorts you have to fight to make a reservation and plan ahead. Here, all dinners are sit down, waiter service restaurants and no reservations are needed. The food is great and the drinks are made with name brand alcohol, unlike the junk I've seen at other places. The service at the restaurant was great. Our kids fell in love with Ruben, our waiter at Blue who served us breakfast each day. The staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome and get the kids whatever they wanted. Many of the waiters knew our family, what they wanted and were fantastic with them. We typically had breakfast at Blue (the outdoor restaurant by the beach), had lunch in the pool bar or at the great little sandwich place, and then cleaned up and sat down for dinner.

Service: It couldn't be better. The people were simply amazing. They knew us after a day and many staff members would say hi to our boys and give them high fives after the first day. Everyone went out of their way, from the check in process to the end. We did change about $40 into pesos at the beginning and left small 20 pesos (~$1.80) tips when the service was great. It helped further increase the quality of service and was just the right thing to do as they guys work hard and have earned it. You don't need to tip, but it's nice to do and goes far.

Beach: This was a mixed bag, but was mostly a positive. For the first two days, the red flag was up and the beach was covered by seaweed. We could have fun playing on the sand, but the water wasn't usable. But then the next 4 days it was great. The beach was very gradual and no steep drop offs, which is great for little kids. We spent a lot of time swimming in the ocean, playing ball, etc. There is definitely still seaweed even when it's nice, that's the one negative. It can be annoying at times, but not inhibiting. But the calm water without any drop offs made me overlook the seaweed. On the beach, we had a blast. We played volleyball and soccer several times a day. They have nice cabanas you can put stuff in and chill out on. It would be nice if they had a few more non motorized water sports -- they just have two canoes and then take you out in the hobie cat sailboats. But the hobie cats need a staff member to take you out and the process to do this is disorganized and we were never able to do it all week. They really need a few more things like maybe some stand up paddleboards, inflatables, etc. to play with there. But overall the beach was great.

We booked this through Amy at Beach Bum Vacations, a place we saw in another TripAdvisor review. She was great, knew the property, got us a good deal, and was very helpful.

Simply put, we loved this place. Amazing service, great property, great food. This place is absolutely perfect for families. I'm not sure it's where I'd go for an adult only trip, but I'd take a family there any day. It's a great property with great people -- go there and have a blast!!

Room Tip: Definitely the swim up rooms. Who doesn't want to jump off their balcony into a pool when you wake up in the morning; or go for a late night swim?
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank KevinColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, General Manager at Azul Beach Resort Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review and kind words, it was a pleasure to read the details of your experiences.

Once again , we thank you for choosing the Azul Beach Hotel and I look forward to your next visit

Best Regards,

Peter Hechler
General Manager
gm@azulbeachresort.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this lovely hotel for one week in October 2013 for our honeymoon.

All the staff work very hard and are also very friendly which is great.

The rooms are average as we had a basic one but would expect by the standards here that the higher class ones would be even better

We visited the blu restaurant for breakfast and lunch and a few evenings but would have to say the Italian restaurant is far the best with a better variety for the fussy eater and I even asked for things that was not on the menu which was excellent for me and the service was also good

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Theentrepreneur1709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, General Manager at Azul Beach Resort Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Many thanks for your review of your stay at the Azul Beach Hotel, i'm glad that you enjoyed your stay and that we catered to your every request.

We all hope to see you again very soon at the Azul Beach Hotel.

Best Regards,

Peter Hechler
General Manager
gm@azulbeachresort.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

On arrival at this hotel we were met by Alonso(front desk manager) who went out of his way to make sure we felt really special. The service from all the staff from cleaners to bar staff to restaurant staff was exceptional. The food was excellent with plenty of choices in all restaurants. We would like to give a special mention to Mateos the beach waiter who made sure we were never without drinks while relaxing in the sun. We would also like to mention Javier ( pool bar), Leticia and Hurias in the restaurants and also Sergio who was a great help in setting up our skype calls home. All in all this hotel and staff deserve 5 stars plus and we hope to come back some day

Room Tip: We upgraded to a prestige room which was well worth the extra we paid.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mags6056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, General Manager at Azul Beach Resort Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Thank you for your review of your experiences , we appreciate that you have taken the time to share your comments with future travelers and guests.

I hope you will return to visit us again soon at the Azul Beach Hotel.

Best Regards,

Peter Hechler
General Manager
gm@azulbeachresort.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews