We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family resort!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Azul Beach Resort Riviera Maya
Ranked #3 of 27 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We just returned from our vacation to Azul Beach. My wife and I travelled with our two children, aged 13 and 6. They both had a fantastic time in all of the pools and at the beach. Azul Beach has a kids club for children between 4-12 years old. Our 6 year old only went there on one day (our last at the resort), and we had to pry him out of there. They had something for just about any child's interest in there and also held a movie night for the little ones one night (Alvin & the Chipmunks). The restaurants were excellent. We had everything from seafood and steak to Asian and Mexican delicacies.
Our room was a sight to behold! We had a family suite with a swim out deck. We had a bedroom, dining room and a separate sitting room with a couch and fold out bed for the kiddos. They also had their own television. The bathroom featured a huge jacuzzi bath and separate rainfall shower (my favorite). The deck opened up into our own swim up pool that was used frequently.
The service at Azul Beach was terrific! The staff knew us by name and was very attentive. It was impressive to walk through the lobby on the second day and have the lady at the front desk address me and my daughter by name! Everyone was helpful and quick with a smile.
If you are looking for a family friendly resort with excellent service/facilities and want to avoid the crowds at the mega-resorts, I recommend giving Azul Beach a try. You won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: If travelling with children, a family suite is definitely the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BlissfulTraveler96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, General Manager at Azul Beach Resort Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experiences of your recent family vacation . We are very focused on all the needs of our guests , especially the families and we do everything to take out the stress of traveling with children so you can enjoy some well deserved quality time as a family.

It was a pleasure to host your holiday at the Azul Beach Hotel and I hope that you will return again in the near future.

Best Regards

Peter Hechler
General Manager
gm@azulbeachresort.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,465)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,053 - 2,059 of 3,470 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2013

I went looking for a restful place in order to get away from the stress of a big city, and I couldn't have selected a better place than Azul Beach Hotel. It has great selection of international food, its a clean and comfortable resort with a great staff. From the moment your taxi is at the gate all the way to its clear and white sandy beach, every staff member from the hotel manager to the staff members in its various restaurants, the bar to the safety officers and its lifeguard at the beach, your are made welcome and care for. I definitely will return to Azul and will recommend it to my family and friends. Kudos to Bernardino, Juan , Javier, Rafael, Samantha, Reveca, from safety: Fernando, Silvio, Juan Carlos, Alvaro and Ezequiel; Rafael Samantha, Ruben, Mario, Johan, Robiel and Francisco from house-keeping, Alonzo, Yamily and so many others thank you for the service and for caring.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonnie R R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, General Manager at Azul Beach Resort Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Thank you for your detailed review, I thoroughly enjoying reading your feedback.
it was a pleasure to host your holiday, creatiung memories that will last after your departure and for many more years to come.

I am very proud of each and every employee , we have a great hotel and this is all enhanced by the quality of our service and the level of excellence from our staff.

I hope that you will return again in the near future

Best Regards

Peter Hechler
General Manager
gm@azulbeachresort.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

I traveled to this resort with my fiancé for a wedding in late October. From the moment we arrived at the resort we were treated great. The staff was very friendly and very accommodating. At the time we went the resort was not very big as they were going through construction to expand. I liked the size as it was not a far walk to the beach, pool, restaurants, front desk, etc. The bar staff by the pool learned your name by the first day and always said hello after that. Great drink service on the beach as well...the staff also came around a few times a day with a cold towel to cool your face and body down.

The food in the restaurants was amazing. I would have liked to try the sushi place but it wasn't open. We learned about the travel club that they offer and I bought into the travel club, which allows me significant discounts for myself and family/friends when traveling back to any of the Azul or El Dorado / Karisma properties. I am looking forward and planning a trip back in the spring.

Overall this is a great resort for families. They do have nightly entertainment but if you are looking for a busy/loud/party night this may not be the resort for you. The nightly entertainment included a Michael Jackson show, fire show on beach, etc. After that there is a tequila bar that stays open until 1am or so. The staff there was great as well.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bmich81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, General Manager at Azul Beach Resort Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Thank you for your review of your experiences from your recent vacation. We appreciate that you have taken the time to share your comments with future travelers and guests.

Once again , many thanks for this great review and I hope to see you again soon at the Azul Beach Hotel

Best Regards

Peter Hechler
General Manager
gm@azulbeachresort.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The beach was beautiful. This was a great child friendly place to stay. It's very relaxing and the travel desk was very helpful in arranging our excursions. The food was fresh and there were a lot of nutritious choices. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, General Manager en Azul Beach Hotel, at Azul Beach Resort Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Many thanks for your review. I'm happy you had a great vacation at the Azul Beach Hotel.

It was a pleasure to host your holiday at the Azul Beach Hotel and I hope that you will return again in the near future.

Best regards,

Peter Hechler
General Manager
gm@azulbeachresort.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We just returned from Azul and had the time of our lives! What an absolutely wonderful resort!! David who manages the resort was on top of everything every day. He could always be found amongst the guest seeing to their every need. At the Spa the service was incredible. We found Cynthia who manages it to be terrific, and her staff Maria (great deep tissue massage), Patricia (great relaxing massage), Wilmere, Veronica, Anna all amazing but the "Best" we save for last. Roberto was awesome!!! He truly made our stay memorable and was just wonderful in every way! All the staff in the entire resort were so warm, happy, and so eager to please. Room service was quick, transportation was great, and you never had to wait anywhere for anything. The entire staff made this trip so enjoyable they are as a unit awesome!!!

We hope to be fortunate enough to return someday soon. Until then we honestly highly recommend this resort to anyone looking for a 5-star get away that will truly be memorable!!!

Stu & Victoria NH

Room Tip: We stayed in Villa 7 which was wonderful, but all villas seem close to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StuVic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, General Manager at Azul Beach Resort Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Many thanks for your wonderful review, I'm glad that you experienced your vacation at the Azul Beach Hotel. Your praise for your staff , especially cinthya, Maria, Patricia, Ana, Veronica, Wilmere, David & Roberto will be passed on to them as there is nothing better than receiving recognition from our guests.

It was a pleasure to host you holiday and we look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards

Peter Hechler
General Manager
gm@azulbeachresort.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

My family of 14, all converged on Azul Beach Resort to celebrate our daughters wedding.
The moment we arrived, all the employees were extremely happy to make our experience unforgettable.
My husband was killed in Afghanistan on December 3, 2012. For the past 7 months, our hearts have been heavy.
The incredibly sincere service we received was unsurpassed...
From facials on the beach, to a beautiful beachfront wedding, our trip was amazing~
Collectively, we all decided this was the best vacation ever!
We will continue to return to Azul Beach Resort.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adrienne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, General Manager at Azul Beach Resort Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review, i very much enjoyed reading about your experiences. We feel very privileged each time we are chosen to host such a special occasion in our guests lives and we do our utmost to ensure that we create exactly what they envision for their wedding .

It was an honor to host you and your family and I hope that the Azul Beach Hotel will be your number one choice for future family vacations,

Best regards,

Peter Hechler
General Manager
gm@azulbeachresort.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

The only bright spot of our stay here was the lovely staff and service of the locals. I have to give them credit. Apart from that, everything else was terrible. Not only is the all inclusive MEALPLAN a scam, they had no record of our reservation upon arrival, there was one person at the desk at 11pm on a Saturday night, not another soul around. We were told they could give us a room for the night but the next day would have it straightened out and make it up to us. The room we got was located in the back half a mile from the beach and pool, with a Sewage odor outside. That is what they burn the incense to cover up. We spent our entire first day still packed, waiting for a room change, with no access to wifi because our room wasn't registered, and ultimatetely someone from the concierge told us he could get us $200 back for the trouble. That turned out to be nothing but a "gift" for being taken on a sales tour to get us to buy their timeshare or upgrade our room for another $600! Then, two days later we were handed a bill for $1800 for the mealplan! Our travel agent told us it would be half that amount. If these weren't enough insults, discussions with Prestige, the timeshare management, did nothing but waste more of our time waiting for this manager or that manager who were all out to lunch or in meetings, then ultimately blaming it all on our agent, and doing absolutely nothing. No room change, no $200 back. Nowhere is their meal plan pricing printed or posted on their website. For all we know, somebody made a nice commission.
NOT only is the mealplan a scam, the hotel is located SO FAR from anything it's at least $100 roundtrip taxi fare to do anything such as shopping, Cancun, tours, etc. There is ONE bar, located outdoors at the pool, and a volleyball net on the beach. This is your entire range of "activities" for an "all inclusive resort", and if it rains, your one bar is rained out too! Anything you want to do costs MORE. Nothing is included, except food, and even that, sorry to say, left alot to be desired. Mexicans make good Mexican food, but not Sushi or Italian. There are No shuttles, no transportation, no activities, even the Wi FI isn't free, and if you each have a tablet, it's $10 per day PER DEVICE. If you do want to go on a tour, you have to book it a day in advance, and lose your money if you cancel due to rain. If you want a cabana on the beach you ahve to get there at precisely 3pm the day before to reserve one. And that is all there is to do on the property, or spend $100 to go anywhere else. And that would be my recommendation.......stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, General Manager at Azul Beach Resort Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

As general Manager , firstly I would like to apologize for what seems to have been a very dissappointing stay at the Azul Beach Hotel. I am quite confused by your comments as the entire hotel is Gourmet Inclusive and we have no other mealplans available. All our hotel packages and rates include this meal plan inlcuding the deals purchased through a travel agent or tour operator. Only guests that use an membership exchange program such as RCI or interval International have to pay for the GI plan separately , usually prior to arrival or on occasions on arrival with the prestige staff.

after a full review with my staff , I believe that we located your reservation and upon checking your final bill , we found only additional charges for spa treatment taken at Vassa spa .

Best Regards

Peter Hechler
gm@azulbeachresort.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Morelos
0.8 mi away
Azul Beach Resort Sensatori Mexico
20.6 mi away
Azul Beach Resort The Fives Playa Del Carmen
Azul Beach Resort The Fives Play...
#59 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
6,774 reviews
2.4 mi away
Excellence Riviera Cancun
Excellence Riviera Cancun
#2 of 27 in Puerto Morelos
12,676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
#1 of 27 in Puerto Morelos
922 reviews
6.1 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#8 of 27 in Puerto Morelos
9,172 reviews
1.0 mi away
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azul Beach Resort Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azul Beach Resort Riviera Maya

Address: Carretera Federal Cancun-Tulum Km. 27.5, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#3 Spa Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#6 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range: $358 - $1,072 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Azul Beach Resort Riviera Maya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Azul Beach Hotel is a family-friendly, boutique-style property located on a gorgeous beach 20 minutes from Cancun International Airport. All of the 148 rooms are just steps from the beach, pools, restaurants and bars.Featuring the Gourmet Inclusive® concept, epicurean offerings include candlelight dining on the beach, a fresh fish fry and butler service to the canopied beach beds. There’s an all-lobster menu, 24-hour room service and over 30 tequilas in the tequila lounge.Azul Beach especially caters to families with young children with loaner baby equipment, kid's club and parent support. The exclusive Family & Friends Vacation Planner coordinates family reunions. Romantic couples love Beachfront Sky Massages and Suite Scenes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Azul Beach Resort Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azul Beach Hotel, By Karisma Hotel Puerto Morelos
Azul Resort All Inclusive Beach
Azul Beach Resort Riviera Maya Mexico - Puerto Morelos
Azul Hotel Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing