We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Azul Beach- The Crowd!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Azul Beach Resort Riviera Maya
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Tenn
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Azul Beach- The Crowd!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

This is our second time at the Azul Beach Resort. The first time was wonderful. This time was a big change. Over crowded. Every restuarant did not have enough help. Dinner took 2 and half hours or more.
Not enough beach chairs for everyone and had to stand in line every afternoon to reserve a covered hut.
Be sure that you request a room on the front side. THey gave us a room on the back of the new part and it was beside the sewer system. We requested to move because of the awful smell.
The bright spot- beautiful weather every day, Kevin our beach butler was outstanding, and Melissa , at the front desk, was a jewel.
It is a nice place for children's entertainment. Not for couples.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new part away from the sewage system.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ksunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, Guest Relations Manager at Azul Beach Resort Riviera Maya, responded to this review, May 11, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of your second stay at the Azul Beach Hotel. We appreciate your comments and we are very sorry that this visit was not the same level of experience you received on your first visit with us. We have discussed your comments and we’re sorry that you found the hotel crowded. We have increased the number of rooms slightly, however, we have also added new restaurants, swimming pools and public areas.

The Azul Beach Hotel was completely renovated and we have received a very positive response from our loyal guests that have returned year after year. We do apologize if you encountered an unusual odor in areas of the hotel. The resort is located within a national park in which mangroves can be found nearby. They can produce an indifferent smell which at times can reach the hotel. We have planted fragrant plants and flowers throughout the grounds to eliminate this odor.

I’d like you to know that we have taken all of your feedback into consideration. We hope that you will return for a third visit to the Azul Beach Hotel and we will do our best to surpass your experiences of your first stay with us.

On behalf of Azul Beach Hotel, we’d like to thank you for choosing to stay at our resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,062 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,191
    572
    158
    88
    53
See reviews for
1,647
730
27
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (846)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Banff, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012

Loved this property, however, as a childless couple, we realized quickly that we were not the priority in this resort. If you have children, you'll be royalty there.

After staying at other good AI resorts (El Dorado/Valentine/NOW Jade/Dreams Tulum), this one was an upgrade in service overall and facilities.

ROOMS - The old rooms are just that - old, outdated and about 200 sq ft (average NA hotel room is 300 in a 3 star hotel). After one very loud night in a cramped room (next to front desk and genny) we upgraded to the new section. We ended up with 2 doubles instead a king bed, but could easily move the nightstand and move the beds together into one. Good size, huge bathroom and shower. Odd glass doors on the toilet and showers, but they were completely frosted for privacy. Not sure why this is so popular in Mexico and Dominican but they are prevalent in the newer properties.

Food - Mostly very good. Breakfast buffet or a la carte. Lunch on the beach awesome. Recommend the Italian and Mexican for dinner. Ask about included appetizers as some nights we were served so much food for appetizers (not ordered) that we couldn't eat what we had ordered. Snack/beverage stand has AWESOME sandwiches and a nice snack option before a late dinner. Room service always quick and hot without the annoying phone calls once you finish to remove plates. Unlike other properties, they have figured out that you'll finish in around an hour and come to remove the plates automatically.

Pools - Never saw one that was too busy or didn't have chairs available. Heard some whining about pools not being heated but I swam in the coldest one every day. Being Canadian, this wasn't an issue.

Beach - Very narrow and and short and cluttered with beach beds that are incredibly popular, booked full daily and not used very much. Sand was nice but not very much of it. You can't actually use the pier that's pictured on the websites - apparently it's for photos only.

Service - Excellent overall with great emphasis on children. We knew that this was a family resort going in but didn't realize that we would be one of only a very few couples without kids. We purposefully chose dates right after Christmas vacation in hopes that most kids would in school, not on vacation, but failed to account for the 0 - 4 years age range. We quickly learned to go to dinner later, ask for tables away from families and found a quiet pool not used by families, so it worked out fine for us.

My only criticism of this property would be that there is no place to hang out after 11:00 pm for a drink except a crowded, dark and old bar inside the main building. Would be nice if it had a patio or somewhere with fresh air.

Also, beware of staff who try to sell you things such as "handmade jewelry made by a single mother" (cheap plastic crap) or tequila at a discount rate. The staff is mostly exceptional but these two incidents were dampers on an otherwise excellent trip.

Both my husband and I agreed that this is best vacation we've had since our honeymoon, and would only hesitate to go back because we don't have kids and have no desire to have them ourselves or surround ourselves with others'.

Room Tip: Swim up suites in building 9 connect to a swim up bar that closes around 5:00 pm. Building 8 swim u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Purplekat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012

This is the third review I have tried to write, but for some reason Trip Advisor keeps taking mine down saying various parts of it are not right (even though it's my own account of my trip- not theirs). So let me try one more time...
I would not go back to this hotel. I know a lot of people like it and the reviews are amazing. That is one reason I picked it to hold my wedding with forty of our friends and family. I will simply say that the old rooms are not nice. Do not get an old room. The food is okay. Some of the hotel staff is friendly and work hard. Others were not. They promise great pillows and nice smelling rooms, which I never saw. A lot of "yes we can do that", but nothing would happen. Azul oromises A LOT, but the end result wasn't worth the price.
I have been to Mexico three times to all inclusives. Loved the other resorts and will go back to them. I will not go back to Azul. Sorry. Hope this review makes it through the TA guidelines!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
32 Thank Lovetotravelmore1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, Guest Relations Manager at Azul Beach Resort Riviera Maya, responded to this review, May 11, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

We are very sorry for what seems to have been a disappointing experience. We’re sincerely sorry that you feel we over promised and were unable to deliver. We can assure you that we did our very best to ensure that your wedding celebrations were very special and memorable.

As mentioned in other responses, prior to your arrival, the hotel went through a major renovation which included the addition of our new suites, new restaurants, swimming pools and public areas. We do still have the existing rooms, deluxe rooms and our guests can choose when making their reservation, which room category they wish to book. We know that this does not change your experience with us and for that we are truly sorry.

On behalf of Azul Beach Hotel, we would like thank you for choosing Azul Beach Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochrane, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2012

I must say this place is the best place so far in our family travels. The food was great with a kid friendly menu and enough variety for the adults. We were there one week starting March 8th and the weather was almost perfect. The staff was very helpful remembering names and other important things that the kids needed. The personal touch was evident in many areas. The beach was nice and their workers were on top of the cleaning and raking of the sand to keep it looking good. The king sized bed was new and comfortable in the upgraded room. The snorkeling was better than many of the other resorts in the area as they tied up out front of the beach to get a look at our fish. The kids program is good for children under 10 years, if older then ten the Azul sensatorie has more for that age so you can take the over there ( 15 min walk). Over all very nice I would recomend to friends and family.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mackdaddy_101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

This is definitely a family resort catering to those with small children. I wouldn't go if you don't have kids. We used to do adults only resorts until now. We took our 8 month old son and it was fantastic. The hotel provided a pack n play, gerber baby food, high chairs at restaurants, a baby monitor, and even a stroller at no extra charge. Very nice rooms, and wonderful beach. Good food. My review is detailed on some room for improvement for those who like to know exactly what they are getting, but that's being a bit picky I admit. Overall a great all inclusive experience for travelling with a baby. If you are debating about going here, go ahead and book it.

Rooms - We had a junior swim up suite. It was awesome. Large tub for 2. Modern decor. Separate sitting area with sliding doors to close off the bedroom - perfect for creating a place for baby to nap. Deck that was shaded and led right into the pool. We got the swim up suite so that we could let our son nap and still swim/lounge so that we wouldn't feel like we were always stuck in the room waiting for nap time to be over. It was perfect! We were in villa 10, which is in the back of the resort so no ocean view but quiet and worth it. Also close to a swim up bar, so one of us could swim to get a bev and come back easily. Definitely worth it if you have a baby who will nap a lot.

Beach - Gorgeous. We got a swim up bed 1 day. No charge, but a ridiculous process to wait in line for 30+minutes at 3pm to sign up. It was a great day, but we only did it once bc it was a hassle.

Food - Pretty good. Not outstanding, but way better than a buffet place. Would like more variety and offerings on the room service menu, since that would have been more convenient a few nights. Bad experience 1 night at the Latin place - they would not go to another restaurant next door to get an available high chair for us. We had to take turns holding our son and feeding him in our lap. I found that to be inexcusable for a place like this. We saw it happen another night to a couple with twins - yikes! Chil was good, but very slow. Otherwise all restaurants were good and people were very nice. Breakfast was great. Beach bbq food was great, but started too late for those with little ones. Our son goes to bed at 7, so we wish it had started at least at 6. Instead we had to go one at a time to grab plates to take back to our room since all the restaurants were closed too. Not ideal. This is why we had hoped the room service options would have been better. In fact, I was surprised at the lack of Mexican food and fresh seafood on many menus.

Baby stuff - Pack n plays are all different. Ours was basic, but had a nice mattress. Others had changing table attachments etc, but we didn't need that. They are not brand new and are clearly used, but that didn't matter to us. We could put it on the deck to play, or inside to nap. Baby food is for the taking at the snack bar only. We didn't know that at first, so one day they did go get it for us at breakfast which was really nice. A huge plus to limit what we packed. Bottled water is available but you have to keep calling and asking the front desk as you need it. High chairs at restaurants are the FP space saver kind with a toy tray - cute! We used a graco stroller that worked great and our son loved riding around in it. The only issue is that we had to ask 3-4 times for all the baby things that we had requested ahead of time and which were promised to be there when we arrived. Pretty annoying. At least they did deliver eventually. No stores nearby, so pack everything you need for baby!

Pool - Nice. Would be better if they had a kiddie pool or a wading pool of some sort, since there are so many little ones around. It also said it was 6feet in some areas, but I'm pretty sure it was 3-4 feet since it wasn't over my head anywhere.

There wasn't anything bad about the resort, just some room for improvement on the details. We had to ask repeatedly for everything. For us this is an annoyance on vacation, because we hate inconveniencing people. And the last day we scheduled assistance for our luggage and they never showed, so we were late for our transfer. They also seem to have immediately lost our checkin sheet right after we filled it out, since we never got the aromatherapy or other stuff they have you select. The toy menu they have ont he website didn't exist. We did get 2 toys to use for the week, but it was just that they brought out 3-4 for us to see. I swear the website says they have activity tables you can use, but we never saw them. We still had a wonderful time and would probably go back someday if traveling with kids again.

Room Tip: Villa10 swim up rooms are shaded in the afternoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bmcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochrane
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

I'm not kidding..we had a fantastic time at the Azul beach hotel. we left on the 8th and returned on the 15th of march 2012.

We booked through Sunquest vacations..dealing with them was fine no problems with booking online. The flight down to mexico was delayed (Thomas cook)...its not the best airline to fly, but it gets you there. Transfer from Cancun airport was about 20 mins to the resort, the sunquest representatives put you where you need to go, and its really a simple and easy experience for transfers. The rep at the resort was no-where to be seen, but the hotel staff were great so you don't really need a rep.

Once we arrived at the hotel, we were greeted by the most friendly and pleasant staff, we have ever come across...there was no great rush for rooms, that I see when a bus load of guests arrive. you are sat down, given some bubbly, and your details are taken. They then bring you a choice of scents and pillows to chose from for your room, and you quite simply relax until someone takes you to your room. All of the staff at the hotel can not do enough for you. the service was spot on!

There are some mentions of the rooms in other articles...just to sum up; if you book a "Deluxe room" you will be accommodated in the older part of the resort..we did this at first, and quite frankly these rooms are not 5 star standard...don't get me wrong they are clean, have a bed, and are functional...but really are a disappointment. we decided to upgrade at the hotel, and opted for one of the suites in the newer part of the complex. Honestly the difference is like night and day.

The restaurants are fabulous..we only experienced slow service on two occasions, but we were not in a rush, so it was not of any concern to us. I really can't say we had a bad meal, or bad service, so a big thumbs up to all the chef's and waiters/waitresses in the restaurants.

One thing that really is annoying when going on holiday, is the people who insist on getting up early to secure a beach/pool bed with their towel, and don't use this bed until mid morning. At this resort the staff put towels on each bed at around 7-8am...which is nice as it stops those selfish people from doing this as the towels are not available until this time.

Negatives:

1. The rooms in the older part of the complex are a let down.

2. The beach is quite narrow and there was a lot of seaweed being washed ashore - it was cleaned up regularly, but looks unsightly.

Positives:

1. Great smaller boutique hotel.

2. Great staff.

3. Great service.

4. Great food.

5. Nice gardens and features.

6. Good pools.

7. Perfect for a week vacation.

Room Tip: Book a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scratchnsniff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2012

Overall, not bad. Great looking reception area and a small, intimate property. When we arrived, they put us in Villa 6. This was horrible. For 3 nights we were woken up every night by the noise from those coming out of the tequila bar. They'd hang out by the villa and the doors are thin. Additionally, the air conditioner units are VERY loud. Try to get into the new section, although they're all suites and cost a lot more, but they do have new and quieter ac units.

I did finally ask to be moved and they certainly made me feel bad for asking. I believe it was Alfonso at the front desk that I spoke to and he was very rude. Only after asking to speak to Frank, the GM, did things move along. Frank was really nice and offered us free massages. I didn't want anything, other than a good night’s sleep, so I declined the offer. It would have been nice to have been upgraded to a suite but they don't seem to want to go out of their way when they don't have to. We were eventually moved to Villa 1 and things were better. It's a lot quieter over there which is really nice. Downside was that for 2 days, they had plumbing issues and shut the water off sporadically. I was in the shower, covered in soap, when they shut it off. Not fun. Would have been nice for them to give people notice or at least an update.

The rooms in the "old" part (Villas 1-6) are small and very dated. AC units are loud and you wake up to the housekeepers talking in the hall. The doors are very thin.

Now the food. Very impressed. The presentation and taste was really nice. Best food I've had in Mexico. Thanks to Fidel, Jorge, and all the others that took care of us. At times they were a little slow but we were in no rush. If you're in the Blue restaurant for lunch, order the Chocolate Banana Pie for desert. It was the best. Chill served the best hamburgers and 24 hour room service was a nice touch.

Beach was nice. By far, the best beach within walking distance. We walked it every day down past the Sensatori resort. Sensatori’s beach was pretty gross. If you’re heading out for a walk, be prepared to walk by the Desire Resort - a clothing optional resort - but nothing we all haven't seen before.

Pools were cold except for the heated one in the back, premium section. Shout out to Oscar, our great swim-up bartender in the heated pool. I can't remember a time when I've had so many shots.

I would consider going back only if we were put up in the new section. It's not a cheap resort by any means, so if you get a bad room, you're on the losing end of the deal.

Room Tip: Avoid Villa 6 at all cost. It is extremely loud, especially when drunk patrons are coming out of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Morelos
0.8 mi away
Azul Beach Resort Sensatori Mexico
5.9 mi away
Moon Palace Cancun
Moon Palace Cancun
#23 of 182 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20,674 reviews
6.1 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#9 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,923 reviews
2.6 mi away
Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
2.8 mi away
Royalton Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azul Beach Resort Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azul Beach Resort Riviera Maya

Property: Azul Beach Resort Riviera Maya
Address: Carretera Federal Cancun-Tulum Km. 27.5, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#5 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#5 Spa Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#6 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#7 Business Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Azul Beach Resort Riviera Maya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Azul Beach Hotel is a family-friendly, boutique-style property located on a gorgeous beach 20 minutes from Cancun International Airport. All of the newly renovated 148 rooms are just steps from the beach, pools, restaurants and bars.Featuring the Gourmet Inclusive® concept, epicurean offerings include candlelight dining on the beach, a fresh fish fry and butler service to the canopied beach beds. There’s an all-lobster menu, 24-hour room service and over 30 tequilas in the tequila lounge.Azul Beach especially caters to families with young children with loaner baby equipment, kid's club and parent support. The exclusive Family & Friends Vacation Planner coordinates family reunions. Romantic couples love Beachfront Sky Massages and Suite Scenes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Azul Beach Resort Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azul Beach Hotel, By Karisma Hotel Puerto Morelos
Azul Resort All Inclusive Beach
Azul Beach Resort Riviera Maya Mexico - Puerto Morelos
Azul Hotel Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing