We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Casa del Mar

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Morelos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Casa del Mar
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

This was my eighth trip to Puerto Morelos and I have always stayed to the north of the square but this year, I decided it was time for a change and found Brenda and Julio's beautiful property on a vacation rentals website. The property is on a quiet street and three of the nine units have views to the sea. The other's look out into the mangrove. The kitchens are well-fitted with everything you could need, the bathrooms are spacious and the on demand hot water is both green and efficient. Julio and Brenda provide lovely linens for the comfortable beds. (Beds in Mexico are notoriously hard and these are an exception to that rule) There are also beach chairs, umbrellas, and bicycles for their guests use; all of them in good repair. Who could ask for more: two minutes to Mitzy's convenience store for beer, soda, and snacks, three minutes to restaurants and shopping in the town square and an easy five minutes to the beach.

Julio and Brenda made us feel like part of the family and went an extra mile for us when I was injured and required a hospital visit. This was above and beyond any expected treatment or services hosts should provide.

We will definitely be back next winter and if I can figure out a way to make Mexico a destination before 2015 I will be staying at La Casa del Mar.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank edgyjunecleaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    3
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
12
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

This is a new Casa and has been decorated lovely, inside and out. It is a short walk to the main square, shopping restaurants and the beach. The owners Julio and Brenda are gracious and so personable. So helpful and available to you most of the time or if not on the premises then only a phone call away.
I will return next year to La Casa del Mar

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 7Princess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We just arrived from La Casa Del Mar and we where totally satisfied the units are brand new and very well decorated,Julio and Brenda are very nice and made sure we had everything we needed,The Condo Unit is very close to the town square about 5 minutes walk and the beach is the nicest we have seen in Mexico...The Pool is perfect to refresh on hot days and they also had Beach chairs we could use as well as bicycles free of charge they even supplied fresh water to all the units...Beds where very Comfy...There is also a roof top terrace with ocean views that we can use equipped with a BBQ..We loved it so much that we all ready booked for next year...Book with no hesitation you won't regret it

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank c_lurette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stayed in Puerto Morelos for two weeks over Christmas and New Years. We had never been to Mexico before but knew we did not want to stay in a big city like Cancun or Playa. Puerto Morelos was perfect for us. It is a small fishing village that has maintained its charm despite the fact that people are catching onto to this lovely place and it is starting to grow. The people are super friendly and most of the locals we spoke to spoke english. The vendors did not harass you and everyone was always very helpful.
La Casa del Mar is owned by a lovely couple, Brenda and Julio. They were super to deal with right from our first contact with them. Very professional and helpful in every way. They pre-purchased for us (on our request) a turkey for Christmas dinner, along with necessary cooking pan and utensils and purchased beer and water for us upon our arrival which we gladly paid them for. They offered to pick us up from the airport for a fee which we were very grateful for. Julio had our picture on his phone and we recognized each other immediately at the airport.
When we arrived in Puerto Morelos, they drove us around the town so we could get our bearings and he pointed out the markets, restaurants etc.
When we got to Casa del Mar, we were pleased with our choice. It is a small building in a quiet area with 9 lofts, including one Penthouse, which we would book the next time. The units are new, cozy, with all new furnishings and appliances. All modern and airy apartments. We were on the second floor facing east so we got the very bright sunrise each morning and a very small partial view of the sea. We enjoyed having our coffee in the morning and our evening cocktails on the balcony which looked out onto the street. The building is located a couple of blocks from the centre of town. Only 5 minute walk to closest restaurant. There is no direct beach access but it is close enough to walk north a few minutes to the central beach square where the lighthouse is and your can then go north or south although you can not go far south along the beach.
The loft was furnished with sufficient dishes, glasses pots etc for our stay. We generally cooked breakfast every day, occasional lunches and some dinners in between our sampling some of the lovely restaurants in the village.
There is a full oven/stove and a small fridge, toaster, microwave and he brought us a coffee maker.
The maid is available to come and clean the loft twice a week for $10 if you choose. We kept the place clean and swept every day and took our garbage out. There is no recycling.
You can not drink the water. We bought water almost every day for cooking and drinking and even brushing our teeth. It would be nice if towels were changed more often. The beds are a little small for those used to king size but they were comfortable. There is also a hammock and a futon in the loft.
Air Conditioning was perfect, as we like it cool, and my friend was very happy with the wi-fi. Lots of channels on TV.
There is a lovely courtyard with a small pool, more just for cooling off. We sat out there a couple of times, and rarely saw other people out. Very comfortable wooden loungers with chairs and umbrella too. Extremely relaxing to sit and read a book. There is also a roof top terrace although we did not use it.
The location of the building is close enough to walk everywhere, yet just away from the centre and the hustle of this lovely little village. We had a lovely time and recommend to anyone looking for a relaxing vacation. The lofts are available for long and short term.
Thanks Brenda and Julio. We appreciated your hospitality. Pictures to follow.

Room Tip: Rooms on east side get the early morning sunrise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Caro99Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lacasadelmar2013, Propietario at La Casa del Mar, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Google Translation
Hola David & Carole, fue un placer recibirlos y haberlos conocido, esperamos seguir en contacto, pues aquí en Puerto Morelos , ahora tienen su casa en la Playa y sera un gusto volverlos a recibirlos.
Les enviamos un abrazo y muchas gracias por sus comentarios.
Nuestro mejores deseos para este 2014.
Julio & Brenda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
226 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We loved the design of the "loft condos": high ceilings, clean lines, airy. The recessed lighting and "floating" staircase were great. Lots of counter space & shelves. Brand new appliances. Balcony looking west.

But first, a few words on Puerto Morelos. I had driven through PM maybe 5 times over the past 35 years, but had never spent much time there. As other towns along the coast have been over-developed and over-populated, Puerto Morelos has maintained its charm. It's still sort of gritty: flooding, graffiti, trash, wild dogs. But the turquoise waters, snorkelable reef, clean beaches, range of dining options, and proximity to Tulum & Akumal make it a worthy destination.

And La Casa del Mar is a worthy base for your Puerto Morelos stay. Less than a year old with brand new everything, a unit for 2 people could easily accommodate 2 more in a hamoca and sofa-bed. The complex is built around a courtyard with a small pool. Very nice at night, especially from the roof-top terrace. A rooster provides complimentary wake-up call.

It's about 10 minutes south of the zocalo, near the freight pier, which mean harsh lighting and noise at various times of day. It would be great if they had direct beach access, but you have to hike 5 minutes north and cut through a hotel. Most of the nicer swimming beaches are north of the iconic leaning lighthouse in town anyhow.

A few minor problems. Not enough towel racks. No coffeemaker. Microwave is too high up. No recycling. Could use bedside reading lights. The few beach umbrellas & chairs were hogged by a few guests.

But overall, La Casa del Mar was a pleasant, clean, safe place for our week in PM.

Room Tip: If you like sunrises, get a unit with a balcony facing east.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cdub333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Morelos hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Morelos
Hotel Hacienda Morelos
#16 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
358 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel el Moro
Hotel el Moro
#15 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
283 reviews
23.5 mi away
Hotel Arrecifes Suites
Hotel Arrecifes Suites
#17 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
#1 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
769 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort
1.7 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#9 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
8,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa del Mar

Property: La Casa del Mar
Address: Rafael Melgar 8 | S.MZa 1 lote 8-01, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Morelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full equipped lofts, quiet and comfort ambiance, pool area, chairs, umbrellas, and beach towels, bikes, kayaks for our guest.close to everything, away from noise. Plus a full equipped 2 bedroom penthouse with ocean viewjust opened so everything its brand new.wifi, cable tv. A/c. Towels & linnens. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Casa Del Mar Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Morelos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing