We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Location in paradise”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Puerto Morelos, Yucatan Peninsula

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
orygungal
Salem, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Location in paradise”
Reviewed January 4, 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The location of this spot is heaven. Right on the beach, with beautiful sunrises every day directly off the balcony. Walking a very short stroll to from shore snorkeling, swimming, boats to the reef, the town square, and fabulous restaurants. You can hear the Mexican music from the beach bar just down the beach as you sit on your own balcony and enjoy your drinks and snacks. It is not too loud or intrusive. Great pool. Spots to sit in the sun or shade around the pool.

Casa Toucan was just remodeled, and it is just beautiful now. A large balcony, great bathroom, bedroom and kitchen. Large living/dining room. Everything is first class. We were the first to rent since the apartment was remodeled. In fact, they were finishing it as we arrived.

The whole complex was undergoing some renovations that are probably finished by now. It looks even better than before. Because of the renovations, there was some construction disruption, but Jon and Alice did all they could to make things better for us. I would not hesitate to stay there again. In fact, we are trying to pick dates for next year. Highly recommended.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 26, 2017
Deborah & Wade -

Saludos from Casa Toucan! Thank you for your kind words regarding your time here with us. You are correct - our renovations are complete and the property is AMAZING! You touched on some of the many activities available to our guests here in Puerto Morelos, but the favorite activity is just sitting, watching the reef and the ocean, and listening to the relaxing sound of the wind and waves.

We are happy that you have already booked your return trip to come see us in 2017! Hasta luego!

Jon, Alicia, Jon Conner, Sully & Lobo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laurel154...
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“worst vacation rental EVER!!”
Reviewed June 6, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Where do I start...Puerto Morelos was incredible, don't get me wrong. We will definitely be going back, but most certainly won't be staying at the Casa Toucan! We booked after looking at their website which is full of pictures that do NOT represent this property, they must be very old! We were appalled at how run down the suite was, including an old ill-equipped kitchen with a broken down washer and dryer in it, ripped sheets on the beds, towels that were probably about 2 decades old, an old rusty shower caddy, sewer gas smell, cockroaches, distasteful decor, I could go on and on. The pool area was pretty nice, if you don't mind the owners laundry hanging on a line in it for days on end, and all the clutter spilling out from their living quarters, and neighbors coming over to use the pool while we were using it. That's right, the owners live onsite, which was not stated anywhere that I can remember. They basically are around watching everything you do while you are trying to enjoy some privacy on your vacation. They live in a 'tower' which is part of the complex, and when we were on our patio trying to enjoy the spectacular view at about 10pm, they were about 10 feet away with their door open and obviously annoyed that we were even out there. We are in our mid 50's so not exactly major partiers, we were talking and listening to music that was not loud. The door was loudly slammed as if we were making too much noise. It was 10 pm! Not exactly late on a vacation..,There were supposed to be inflatables to use in the pool, but they locked those up after we inadvertently used one that was 'off limits' for guest use. We were continually being told things we weren't supposed to be doing, even though none of these things were mentioned when we checked in. The beach access was covered in weeds, nothing like you see in the picture on their site. We had to remind them to bring in the cleaning person that was promised because we were there 10 days. Again, I could go on and on. In addition to all of these short comings, the owners pretty much made us feel like unwanted relatives visiting too long, even though we were paying way more than what this run down property warranted. The only reason I am giving this 2 stars is because the location is really convenient to the wonderful little village and the beach, and the pool and view were lovely.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 31, 2016
Greetings. Thank you for your feedback regarding Casa Toucan. I am sorry that we did not live up to your expectations. However, I do not understand the mentality of people that will not voice their concerns in person and who instead go home, hide behind the anonymity of the Internet, and leave such a derogatory review.

As you stated, we live on the property. Why would you not bring these concerns to my attention? If you were indeed "appalled" by details that could easily be changed, such as sheets and towels that you found unacceptable, why would you not ask that we replace them? In my opinion, it is because you are now exaggerating and in some cases outright fabricating the conditions about which you are complaining.

1) Please direct me to the photos that you feel are not representative of the property. Your original inquiry came here via TripAdvisor / Flipkey. After reading your report, I reviewed the photos both here and on our own web site, and the property is in much BETTER condition than in those photos. We constantly work to improve the property, both for ourselves and for our guests, and that progress is obvious by looking at the photos.

2) Why would we need to disclose to you that we live on-site? This is our home. Why do you find this a negative? I suspect you did not want us here so that you could further ignore our house rules. It is very clear in all of our information that this is a multi-unit, multi-tenant property. Where you equally disgusted by the presence of the other three couples that were on the property during your stay?

3) I don't understand your objection to our neighbors using the pool. Again, this is a multi-tenant property AND our home, and you are not entitled to a private pool. Further, our neighbor in question is an 81 year old woman with a fractured pelvis and a broken arm. She was using the pool accompanied by her Physical Therapist. I am sorry that this offended you. It is, after all, ALL about YOU.

4) No one slammed the door in objection to your presence or noise. If there were a problem, unlike you, I would have spoken to you about it. However, there were two nights in particular where your carousing , music, and dancing after 1:00 a.m. were particularly disruptive, but we chose not to make an issue of it in the spirit of leaving you to enjoy your holiday.

5) It is obvious that you did not bother to read any of the information that I sent you when you booked your reservation. The Welcome packet that you received states clearly and unequivocally that we do NOT supply pool inflatables. This was also the case with the other things that you were "continuously being told not to do". For most it is common sense, but you don't bring glass to the pool area. I am sorry that I offended you by asking you to follow this rule. And yes, I asked you not to take our personal belongings and use them in the pool. Again, when I send you a carefully-prepared orientation document, you should take the time to actually read it rather than take offense to the fact that we expect you to follow some basic rules while you are guests in our home.

6) The beach is Federal property and part of a National Marine Park. We don't own it, we don't make the rules, and we certainly don't have the right to make cosmetic changes in order to please guests that feel they are entitled to something artificial in a natural park. The "weeds" you refer to are a naturally-occurring ivy that prevents the beach from eroding. The Federal agency that oversees the beach wants it to stay there, so we cannot remove in order to suit your selfish vision of what it should look like.

I honestly feel like your problem with your stay here is that you did not like the fact that we live here - you wanted a private place where you could parade around in your matching thongs and drink and dance and play your music into the wee hours of the morning. In the future, if you want a private property, I suggest you rent a private property.

I hope you realize that your use of superlative and hyperbole do not make you more credible, nor does it make your review any more convincing. I don't understand how you can describe our property as "run-down", "ill-equipped", "broken down", and "appalling" while other guests have left more than 60 positive reviews and we have many guests that return to stay with us year after year. I think it's obvious where the problem lies. Suerte!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfsigesy
us
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“On the Beach and close to the Sqaure = Perfect”
Reviewed January 25, 2016 for a stay in January 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We spent 10 days in Casa Toucan 2 after Christmas. John and Alicia were terrific hosts. Great recommendations for massage and nail work. Helped us get a driver to take us to our next stop in Merida. Everyone was friendly and interesting to talk to. My wife loved having a hot tub available as she has back problems. Apartment was everything we needed. It was very comfortable and we definitely enjoyed our time here. We love PM and this was the perfect place to stay for our needs.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot tub and pool right next to the ocean.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 26, 2016
Anita & Katrina -

Greetings! Thank you for your kind comments about Casa Toucan. We are happy that you enjoyed your time here and that you took advantage of Blanca's amazing massages and Joy's lovely manicures and pedicures. Both of these wonderful ladies are our friends and neighbors, and we thank you for supporting the local community rather than putting money in the coffers of the big corporations. And yes, our improvised hot tub is a nice luxury on our cool, starry winter nights!

We enjoyed chatting with you about various random topics, and we hope that your time in Merida was enjoyable. Take care and please come back to see us the next time you want to escape the Minnesota winter!

Hasta luego!

Jon, Alicia & Jon Conner
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles M
2 reviews
“Relaxing beach getaway”
Reviewed September 21, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

My wife and I loved our time at Casa Toucan. The property is right on the beach, and in our upstairs room we had a splendid panoramic view out over the water. The location is ideal; it was a short, easy walk to good places on the town square for breakfast and dinner. Jon and Alicia are thoughtful but unobtrusive hosts, and they know the community well enough to advise you on arrangements for whatever you want to do in Puerto Morelos (snorkeling, diving, etc.). If you're looking for a restful several days, Casa Toucan is a great choice.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, hosts, swimming pool
Liked least: sea grass on the beach (not typical, our timing was just unlucky)
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 15, 2015
Charles & Kirsten -

Thank you for your kind words regarding your stay with us. It was nice meeting you and getting to know you a little. Jon Conner said to thank you for the chats and the skydiving shirt. We all enjoyed your company and hope to see you again soon!

Hasta Luego!

Jon, Alicia, and Jon Conner
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulandBa...
Ashland, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Place in Puerto Morelos!”
Reviewed July 26, 2015 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Over the past 10 years my wife and I have stayed at numerous condos and hotels in PM and hands down this is our favorite. In fact it is our favorite place to stay in all of the Riviera Maya. Location can't be beat, just one block from the town square and 40 steps from our favorite restaurant ( El Pesquero). The hosts are fabulous, leaving you to yourselves most of the time, but readily available if you need help or have any questions. We have stayed in both #2 and #3, both were awesome and we can't wait to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 15, 2015
Pablo & Babs -

It is always fun to have you here. Thank you for your kind words about Casa Toucan. You are correct - we are spoiled by our location - peaceful and quite beachfront, but within a block or two of all of the restaurants and amenities of Puerto Morelos.

We hope to see you again soon....even if you are Packers fans! Hasta Luego!

Jon & Alicia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashleighp...
Germantown, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Breathtaking view, Amazing Hosts & Unforgettable Trip”
Reviewed July 13, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Casa Toucan is the perfect location - close to everything you could want. The pool was very refreshing on some of the hot & humid days and couldn't get much closer to the ocean. My husband and I spent many hours with our arms over the ledge staring out at the water - only about 20 feet away! We stayed in Unit 2 with the personal balcony & washer/dryer. AC in the bedroom works well & quickly. Most places in town shut down pretty early at night so we browsed Jon & Alicia's extensive movie, TV show & music collection.

Owners Jon & Alicia go above and beyond to help make your trip as wonderful as possible. After booking, Jon emailed a welcome packet with all the information about their place and about the town. He is very thorough and great with communication. From recommending places to eat, activities and even setting us up with a personal tour guide to the local ruins, Jon & Alicia couldn't have been more accommodating. If interested in any tours, cenotes, ruins, etc, I highly recommend Jon's friend, Paco (but he called himself Francisco Cuevas Garcia). He was our personal driver for the day and knew the history of the entire area and was hilarious.

Puerto Morelos itself is a quaint little fishing town with tons of cafes, beautiful scenery and wonderful people. We really enjoyed our trip during the low season because this small town felt even more inviting and intimate with fewer tourists. The only thing that we didn't enjoy about our stay was the stretch of seaweed when you enter the ocean. Apparently there's been a recent influx, but hopefully that will be cleared up soon.

My husband, who isn't exactly big on traveling, is already talking about going back. Casa Toucan is a great place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: view, people, food, pool, almost constant breeze
Liked least: seaweed
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 15, 2015
Ashleigh & James -

Thank you for your kind words regarding your stay with us. Puerto Morelos is indeed a magical little village, and we too prefer the quiet and "slowness" of the low season. It's a little hotter, but the pool is always refreshing, and the vibe here in the summer is even more relaxed.

We hope to see you again in the future. In Spanish you rarely say "adios" because it implies that we won't see each other again. Instead we say "See you later!"....Hasta luego!

Jon & Alicia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sosappy
Christina Lake, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Everything we were looking for and more!!!!!”
Reviewed June 4, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I just returned from an amazing week in Puerto Morelos, This was our second visit to this area, the first time being 4 years ago when we stayed at a nearby all-inclusive resort. During that vacation, we spent more time off-resort and in Puerto Morelos, and fell in love with the area, so decided we would much rather stay in town on this trip.

We booked with Casa Toucan based on reviews, and were not disappointed in the least, In fact, it was more than we could have hoped for, The location is spectacular! We stayed in Casa Toucan 3 (studio apartment) as well as Casa Toucan 2 (one-bedroom) apartment, and both were great, having everything we needed for comfort, convenience and privacy. It also allowed us to do some of our own cooking which we had very much hoped to (and did) do with local ingredients.

As a previous reviewers noted, the information package provided after booking was very extensive and covered pretty much anything we could or would ask, from information on the property, access, rules, amenities, to which restaurants and activities there are in the area. (I highly recommend the walking tour of La Colonia which gives great insight into the local area and its residents, as well as some places to get wonderful fresh food such as produce, tortillas, meats, juices and of course, fabulous tacos) And if there was something we wanted to know that was not in the package, Jon was very willing to help us out.

The location is second to none, being walking distance to pretty much anything we needed. The pool was a perfect size for us to relax by and in, and is literally steps from the beach. The views are incredible, at any time of day and any type of weather (we had sun and rain).

Sharing the "public" spaces with other visitors and the owners was not an issue for us. Everyone was very respectful of each others' privacy, and interactions happened easily if people showed interest. I never felt imposed on in any way. Another review mentioned the cats onsite. At the time of our stay, there were 4 cats, all pretty independent and not pests at all. Two of them barely gave us the time of day, and the other two were more friendly - probably due in large part to us paying them a lot of attention. If we kept the doors and screens closed, they did not bother us in any way, although we were quite happy to have them visit.

We also want to say a special thank you to Jon and Alicia for accommodating an extra night when we made a change in our plans. They did so with zero fuss!

Thank you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Absolutely everything!
Liked least: That we had to come home sooner than we were ready to.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 22, 2015
Suzie & Mark -

Thank you for your very kind words about your stay with us here at Casa Toucan. It was a pleasure having you here and chatting with you on various topics! It always makes us happy when our guests get acquainted with the "real" Mexico outside of the AI resorts, and you guys are a great example - exploring the Colonia, discovering our wonderful fruit and vegetable stands, and even doing some cooking in several of our local residents' kitchens. You guys have a beautiful passion for life and for travel and a positive energy that puts a smile on our faces!

We hope to see you again soon! Cuídense y Hasta Luego!

Jon & Alicia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing