We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and atmosphere”

Fonda Americana Grill
Ranked #31 of 137 Restaurants in Puerto Morelos
Price range: $2 - $19
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Delaware,OH
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

This restaurant is located in the Pueblo approximately 5 blocks off intersection with the 307 highway. Some friends suggested we try this place and it was worth it. The service was a little slow but the food was excellent. We were on vacation so we had an extra beer while waiting! The interior was recently redone with new tables and chairs. I would definitely eat here again

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnSarahDelaware_OH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    17
    6
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
København
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Great restaurant. If you are in Puerto Morelos area you have to visit this restaurant. The food was excellent and the staff very service minded.
We can recommend the roasted chicken served in a pot. SUPER.
It was so good that we visited the restaurant twice.
They do not take credit cards.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDX
Level Contributor
54 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good food, no credit cards”
Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

Food was great, nice decor, waiter very personable. Please order the roasted chicken as it was a treat to the eyes and the stomach. Warning, they do not credit cards or I would have given them 5 stars.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank BigDA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Food!”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We were invited to dine out with a local couple. They usually have a little spot that the tourists aren't aware of, and share their secret with us. This was quite a surprise, as we went from Puerto Morelos over the highway to the Colonia side. I expected a small little Mexican "Open Air" cafe. The restaurant was a couple of blocks from the main street in the Colonia. It had a nice entry with a large sign: "Fonda Americana Grill." We ate inside in an air-conditioned restaurant. We were well-served as though we were in a 5 star resort. Three of us chose the chicken dinner. My husband and I split a salad that was wedges of lettuce drizzed with blue cheese dressing and topped off with fresh bacon bits. The chicken was served in a 2 quart Lodge cast iron individual "casserole style" pot. The chicken was baked and basted to perfection. There were vegetables sliced in with it. They were also perfect- not overdone and soggy. Along as a side were homemade garlic mashed potatoes. There were 2 breasts with the leg in each serving. (Enough for another meal later.) I must say that the dinner really was excellent. The menu included specials from rack of lamb to burgers to lobster. For dessert, we shared a slice of apple pie. That too was delicious. All in all, it was a great dinner in a nice (clean and decorated) restaurant, in an out of the way location. I highly recommend it as a place to go for a special dinner.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Swilson54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Tired of tortillas?”
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

In eight days this is the only restaurant that managed to serve our table of four all at the same time. The service was top notch and the food delicious. I'd call it fine dining with a kid friendly menu. Much better than most of the restaurants found in the tourist zone.

Helpful?
Thank GuppyAttack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fonda Americana Grill also viewed

Puerto Morelos, Riviera Maya
 
Puerto Morelos, Riviera Maya
Puerto Morelos, Riviera Maya
 
Puerto Morelos, Riviera Maya
Puerto Morelos, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Fonda Americana Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing