We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brunch at Little Mexican Cooking School”

The Little Mexican Cooking School
Ranked #48 of 138 Restaurants in Puerto Morelos
Cuisines: Mexican, Contemporary
Restaurant details
st. louis, missouri
Level Contributor
66 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Brunch at Little Mexican Cooking School”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We had very nice Sunday brunch here. Porch is large and comfortable. Best bathroom in Pomo. Food very good.Nice gift shop. PLEASE anyone going to Pomo take childrens school items-socks, backpacks , notebooks,etc and leave them here for the charity.Visit the Little Mexican Cooking School website for more info. A very worthy organization and thanks to the owner of this restaurant for establishing it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vetmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    7
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cornucopia, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Elegant and upscale”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We enjoyed brunch on the veranda on a sunny Sunday morning. The food was carefully prepared, and on the gourmet end of the scale - crepes, fresh fruit...and a side of ice cream! The school has a gift shop with an interesting array of kitchen tools, natural foods, and local items.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NWIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
44 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“breakfast starts at 7am”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

So if your room overlooks the ocean, you've watched the sunrise and plan to do a morning dive, go here. Puerto M. is a sleepy town and this was presented as the only place open that early ( serving breakfast until 10am) what a charming spot. Quiet with soaring ceilings and surrounded by a garden oasis. ladies in traditional dress calmly bring you coffee and freshly squeezed oj and a small fruit bowl plus your choice of breakfast. We went here 4 times and only discovered the gift shop on the last visit, purchases included vanilla pods, organic honey and gorgeous Mexican retro greeting cards.carefully prepared food, beautiful place to be, we loved it.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank TorontoCandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
107 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A great time in a great place.”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Lets start by saying that other reviewers are right. The class seems to run a bit too long. BUT, it is never boring with plenty of hands on activities and tastings throughout the class.

Now, I am not a chef but I like to cook and I love food. This class really piqued my interest in Mexican cooking and delivered just enough background to really help me understand why certain ingredients are used and why they go together.

I tried many foods (mostly fruits) during the class that I had seen in stores but would never venture to buy. There were also a number of delicious drinks plus a great a history and explanation of types of tequila.

The instructors were informative but perhaps a bit difficult to follow at times. However, questions were welcome and the answers were through.

All in all a great way to spend a day in Paradise.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Y2kc5oh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
111 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“What a treat.”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We found this place only because the condo we rented was down the street. We stopped for breakfast every morning and it was lovely. I think it might be the cleanest property we have ever seen in Mexico. We didn't take any cooking classes but we for sure will next time. On sunday they have a brunch menu, it is not buffet it is just a different menu for breakfast. We checked out the rooms and they looked lovely it was very quiet and also the rooms were as clean as the rest of the place. I encourage you to stop even if it is a little out of your way I don't think you will be dissappointed it is worth it. Enjoy if you go and write a report, we would never have known unless we bumped into it by accident.
Cheers, Candy

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank stylin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Little Mexican Cooking School also viewed

Puerto Morelos, Riviera Maya
Puerto Morelos, Riviera Maya
 
Puerto Morelos, Riviera Maya
Puerto Morelos, Riviera Maya
 

Been to The Little Mexican Cooking School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing