We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming - Great price and location!”
Review of Hotel Sevilla

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Puerto Morelos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Sevilla
Ranked #22 of 28 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Reviewed May 28, 2010

My husband and I started off our 2 week Mexican vacation here for our first 3 nights. We were greeted right away and showed to our room. Because it was slow, the owner (whom we never did get to meet, sadly) moved us to a better room. We had 2 beds, A/C, fridge, TV, and free wifi. Outside our door was the common patio which overlooks their pool. One night we wished we hadn't been right next to the patio as there were guests out there until 4am, so I didn't get much sleep that night but other then that - that was my only "complaint" - the bathroom was huge and had a huge tub. The location in town is great - we were about 2 blocks to the beach and to the center of town. Never felt unsafe at all here or at anytime in the town. We fell in love with Puerto Morelos - it's a simple, small town with excellent food. There is a bread/donut van that drives around and you MUST stop and get pastries from him. My husband and I ate all three meals out and ate on less then $20 a day. Eat at the taco stands!! There is a place somewhat close to the neighborhoods that makes the best SKIRT. A type of meat, sorta like carne asada - you must try it!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank EugeneandKatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (38)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 38 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2010

We stayed here the last night of our holiday to be close to the airport (flight at 6 am).
The hotel itself is very basic, clean, but with mosquitos. Rather noisy as well.
Good place for a overnight stay, but nothing more.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank EmmaBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2009

I have just come back to Hotel Inglaterra to find that they are upgrading to boutique level. One of the ownwers showed me a new upstairs suite with two rooms, cooking facilities and a roof patio with a great view of the sea.about 130 meters away. However, they have kept some less expensive rooms downstairs for people traveling on a budget.
They are also well located just near the city center about 3 minutes walk away.

  • Stayed: April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MTOB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2009

We frequently backpack the Yucatan area and tend to favor our stops in Puerto Morelos almost every trip, given the small town- non-touristy flavor along with the very close vicinity of the airport. We stumbled across this hotel after unexpectedly, walking around the town, searching for a hotel on an extended Mexican holiday weekend morning after missing our flight back home.

There were a couple other hotels that asked us to come back after the rooms were clean and ready, yet Hotel Inglaterra immediately showed us the room-cleaned it immediately while allowing us to put our things in the room to get comfortable.

We were simply looking for a room for the night that was affordable, clean and had air conditioning. It had all that, PLUS some more unexpected amenities. The room we had (I believe Rm #1), came equipped with 2 matrimonial beds, a desk, chair, shelves, mirror, bathroom (with/ hot water and good pressure) and a TV. The hotel surprisingly also has a charming, pool/patio area and stairs that lead to a small rooftop balcony with chairs and a small selection of reading materials. Given all that was offered- this is a rarity for budget accommodations in Mexico. We paid $55- a fair price, given it was high season and during a Holiday weekend (Juárez, Benito Juarez' Birthday). There were other accommodations that quoted us higher prices without air conditioning, so this was a good deal.

A tarp was draped over the ceiling of the pool, allowing it to stay clean and also allowed for some privacy when we took a mid-day dip in the pool. We especially found the woodwork on the patio tables & chairs to be very artistic and crafted uniquely. It appears as though the hotel is being renovated and the painting behind the pool seemed to be one of the updates that was tastefully done.

My only issue with the place was that the room seemed a bit dark- the view out the window was that of green brush and no direct sunlight (although this was great for privacy and nice for sleeping).

This is no resort or luxury accommodation, yet backpackers and budget travelers alike will appreciate this hotel that provides more than the expected bare basics when traveling on a tight budget.

The location is good being 2 blocks from the water and 1 block sound of the main square- making it a very quiet selection.

What I found most to my liking, was the way the staff went out of their way to help us- all on the fact that the man that checked us in knew little English. The staff cleaned the room promptly, checked us in very quickly and when asked- even accepted to do some laundry for us!

We were privileged later that night while eating dinner in the town square to also meet the director of the hotel, Mario Gomez, who did speak English, among other languages and seemed to be very educated and friendly. Even off the premises, the man thanked us for our stay and made us feel extra welcome.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bmohlman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2008

We booked this hotel through Marand travel -who i highly recommend, they are lovely people.
we stayed there during low season so they offered us the 'suite' at the basic room rate of $35 a night. had it been any more expensive we would have been very disappointed but for the price we really couldnt complain. The room had a fridge, 2 double beds, t.v. and a very weak air conditioner, but it did the job. The bathroom was nice with a fantastic huge bath.
the big complaint is how dark the hotel is. There was only one small window in the room and it did not get any direct sunlight. It made us feel like we were back in Grey Edinburgh and not sunny Puerto Morelos. Also, there was no safe other than the hotels safe so we handed over our passports with some reservations but was all ok. The girls who worked there spoke no english but we got by.
As it was, we had booked the room for 2 nights and after that we moved to Posado el Moro for the other 3 nights we were in town. Again, there was nothing really wrong with the hotel we just didnt really feel like we where on holiday staying there. If you are on a tight budget though, you could do a lot worse.
We never tried the restaurant, just didn't appeal to us when there are so many great options in town.
I have included some pictures of the room to give you a better idea.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank chillichill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2008

We are at home in the Hotel Ingleterra. So thankful we found this wonderful place in Puerto Morelos.Mario is doing an amazing job of resoring this hotel and making it a place I am very fond of. The staff is very eager to help.
Dieter is the chef, you must try his wonderful cuisine. The presentation will make your mouth water and the taste sensations are heavenly!
Breakfast is served every morning around 8 am to ??. included for two people.
There are so many wonderful things to say about this home away from home. Very close to the square and easy access.
Come and visit Mario, Dieter, Martina, Heidi, Samuel and Lupita.
You will be glad you did.
Please do remember you are in Mexico, enjoy your vacation. Ask to see what rooms are available, then choose what works for you.
I will have photos to post as soon as I get home.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mexicanjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2008

BIG problems must be the right rating for this place.

>Stay at this british owned hotel just before new year 2007..we reserved two rooms by phone from merida >1 dobbelt suite > 1 singel room. Arrived and got our keys to
1. A dark "prison like" singel room for 45 us .
2. A and a "dobbelt suite" 65 us.. which also was dirty with broken lamps.. blinking and wires sticking out of the wall.. and a bathroom absolutely stinky..we orderer the suite because we where 3 person.(2 adults 1 kid). Complainded to the brittish owner after arriving.. Then got another "dobbelt suite" and same story repeated itself ( like a "groundhogday 2") Went down to find some water at receptionen.. found the german receptionist..
( proberly the person that wrote the >Swell place< rewied here at tripadvisor) In the kitchen, with dogs eating from dirty dishes and a ratty smell around..forgot all about buying water.. or any other substans from this kitchen.. and Goodbye to the breakfast which was included in the price.."ALL TOGETHER THIS WAS A RIP OFF".. specially after we just left the nice hotel "dolores alba" in merida ..which is a good value place.
walked around puerto morelos to find another place but didnt succed.. .. so look out visiting this nice town..with few good hotels..

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank viking0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Morelos hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel el Moro
Hotel el Moro
#16 of 28 in Puerto Morelos
294 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ojo De Agua
Hotel Ojo De Agua
#26 of 28 in Puerto Morelos
35 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Morelos
Hotel Hacienda Morelos
#17 of 28 in Puerto Morelos
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Arrecifes Suites
Hotel Arrecifes Suites
#18 of 28 in Puerto Morelos
90 reviews
1.1 mi away
Acamaya Reef
Acamaya Reef
#19 of 28 in Puerto Morelos
130 reviews
0.8 mi away
Posada Amor
Posada Amor
#9 of 18 in Puerto Morelos
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sevilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sevilla

Address: Av. Ninos Heroes, 29, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Inglaterra)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 28 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Price Range: $40 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sevilla 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Inglaterra Hotel Puerto Morelos
Hotel Sevilla Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Morelos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing