We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable time of your life!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Desire Riviera Maya Resort
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Unforgettable time of your life!”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

This resort is truly amazing, the staff are excellent, helpful and friendly. Just returned from a 10 day holiday and we can't wait to get back. The food is excellent, the atmosphere is amazing and you truly feel well looked after, would recommend to anyone looking for an adult, relaxed, fun sexy holiday.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EnglishCowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSDesire, Guest Relations Manager at Desire Riviera Maya Resort, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are so happy to know that you feel our passion on our service and we want to thank you for your comments.

We are looking forward to see you!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,048 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    639
    270
    76
    40
    23
See reviews for
4
924
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

If you are looking for an adult vacation where service is exceptional, location is beautiful, and the other guests are as nice as can be...this is your place! You can relax in a beach cabana, or chill out by the pool during the day. The hot tub for happy hour is a great place to meet other guests. Their is often entertainment in the courtyard before dinner. Live bands, dancers, and some theme nights that got kinda the crazy fun going. The disco played current music that was easy to dance to. The costumes at the disco were outrageous and sensual...but classy! There are 4 restaurants on the property. A sushi restaurant that everyone that went there told us it was the best sushi ever! The continental restaurant, Sahlo, was our favorite! We couldn't believe that an all-inclusive could have gourmet food this good!! You can get an upgraded bottle of wine and a specialty cut of beef for an upgrade, but the all-inclusive menu and the house Merlot were exceptional without any upgrades needed! Breakfast was fresh and cooked to order. Lunch by the pool was also!
The cocktail service by the pool and on the beach was exceptional. No waiting in a line at the bar for a drink...just sit back and enjoy the great service! Room service is also available at this all-inclusive!
Rooms were all clean and well maintained. We stayed in room 1411 and had a partial ocean view. Some of the other rooms were suites with jacuzzis. All rooms have a balcony or patio. Sure, the rooms could be slightly updated, but everything about them was clean and fully functional. The showers had great water pressure and plenty of hot water, and fluffy white towels were always available. ( I know this sounds like a basic, but our experience at other all-inclusives makes Desire score big points in this area!)
Go and have a wonderful time! If you have another couple that you are comfortable traveling with...invite them. If not, "no worries"' you can meet other couples easily or just enjoy the resort and each other.

Room Tip: You can request a king bed in an ocean view deluxe. We liked the second floor balconies better than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kelly g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSDesire, Guest Relations Manager at Desire Riviera Maya Resort, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are glad you have enjoyed the experience at Desire Resorts & Spa Riviera Maya!

We want to thank you for the time taken in order to give us your comments about your recent stay and we will be more than happy to have you again with us.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Basically Desire is what you want to make out of it so it can be boring, chill, romantic, sexy, hot or wild. It's always about each couple how they fell it however what is more important is that Desire if you allow it, will give you at least the best romantic experience for a couple.

What makes special at first is the people working in the resort. They will make you fell special no matter what. They will say hi to you any time they meet you, they will try to learn your name and your drink preferences and they will try to give you their best attention.

Then the grounds.
The beach is not too big or too wide, but combined with the colors of the Caribbean sea the view it's very beautiful. Also everything it's kept very clean. Same with the gardens that are very romantic in a way as you can walk along the small paths and make beautiful pictures.

The food
There is a lot of talking about the food. I personally liked the food. It's impossible not to find anything that you like. The main concept it's healthy food including greens, fruits, grill etc. However you can find anytime hamburgers or chips you are this kind of person.
Of all time they try to create special day/nights with special food theme that will give you the opportunity to try out new things.

The restaurants
They are not many and our favorite was the former Il Piacere, the international one. The food was special, not big size but very good tastes and nice presentation. Of course there is always available food at some place and it's impossible to starve :)).
What i can say is that it's a good place to eat healthy and loose some weight :)

The party
What makes this place special is that you can party each night. At night the crowd changes and people are dressing very elegant, sexy or even hot. It's like a classy event each night and specially ladies they can dress extremely wild. Even if you are for the first time here you can enjoy the crowd and the shows.
If you like party this place it's perfect as you can get it each night.

The experience
Well, what it's special about Desire is that it's a clothing optional resort. At the first time you may feel shy, however you will learn that it's a journey of learning how to get rid of prejudices and accept your body as is. You may get looks but no one will judge you. I think that everyone had their problems at the beginning but then they learn to deal with it and that free's your mind. I think that by the end of the time spent here you will miss the feeling of freedom.
At any case no one will tell you anything if you wear swimming suit and there are some.

The more experience
Another thing about Desire it's the opportunity of exploring sexual freedom too. One important thing you need to know is that you can set your own limits but you can try many things. However the couple experience it's central. You and your partner can enjoy and try anything you were just maybe talking about because the whole atmosphere of Desire will help you enjoy your partner and explore your fantasies.
Of course sky is the limit when exploring fantasies and Desire will provide you with the opportunity of trying almost as much, but again it's up to both of you setting the limit. Even if you may sometime be asked about doing things, i think that usually it's the other way around, meaning if you want something YOU have to ask or look for it :).
You will notice that usually people are relaxed and willing to talk and connect. Always a good place to start talking is in the big Jacuzzi where booze and crowded space will help you make new friends easy :))

Conclusion
Choose Desire for a unique romantic couple experience enjoying your partner and you will have the best time and sometimes even more.

Room Tip: Well rooms in building 17 and 18 are a little bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank olimpiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSDesire, Guest Relations Manager at Desire Riviera Maya Resort, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for the time taken to give us your comments about your experience at Desire Resorts & Spa Riviera Maya.

It is very heartwarming & important for us to create wonderful experiences to our guest and we are glad you have enjoyed your vacations with us.

We look forward to see you again soon!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clark NJ
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

I just returned from a 5 day vacation at this resort. It was just wonderful. The people, employees and guests were the nicest people I have ever encountered on a vacation. The employees could not do enough for you. The food was excellent. Items were either made fresh or constantly changed at the buffet. The atmosphere is relaxing during the morning and as the day goes on it gets more exciting. By night the places is just full of energy. From the lobby bar dancing to a band or other fun stuff, (you have to see for yourself!) then on to the disco!!!! I cant wait to return. Unfortunally I do not remember names, but the bar tenders at the pool bar made the best drinks, mine was never empty. My room was always clean, (room 2212) thank you for that!!! The attendant at the pool was fantastic. Making sure everyone was set up for the day!!!! The activities staff were so much fun and upbeat. If don't wish to do anything but relax no one will keep bugging you!!!!!! Looking forward to my return next year!!!!!

Room Tip: all the rooms seem good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank babzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSDesire, Guest Relations Manager at Desire Riviera Maya Resort, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate a lot your comments left regarding your recent stay at Desire Resorts & Spa.

We are glad to had been a part of your wonderful vacations and we will be more than happy to have you again with us in a near future!


Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Second visit at this wonderful place. What we can say ? Like the first time.......the best place to stay with your LOVE one and be just happy to know places like this. The garden rooms are now renovated and very clean. The restaurants like always excellent and the staff is working very hard to make you feel happy. From the first to the last minute of our stay, there was nothing we not liked. The people at Desire are, the most friendly, amazing and open minded you will find in similar resorts like this.
Thank you "DESIRE"........we are in LOVE with you........and will come back very soon !!!!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms in the small buildings with garden and ocean view are the best. Very quiet but close to all yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mario V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSDesire, Guest Relations Manager at Desire Riviera Maya Resort, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for the time taken for giving us your nice words.

We are glad to have accomplished your expectations and we are working very hard in order to keep providing the best service.

We look forward to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

This was our first trip to this property but our fourth trip to Desire Resorts.
The first three were in the now sold, Baja hotel. There were a number of things that we found to be different than Los Cabos and our previous trips. The most significant was the lack of Premier Member services. For example, no dedicated pool waiter for the Members, no reserved POOL area beds or loungers, lack of top-shelf alcohol, delay in room assignment (we were traveling for 30 hrs), told we would have a further 3 hr. wait for our room.
The food was adequate but lacked variety at lunch. Buffet style breakfast and dinners made it easier to get an assortment of options. The staff was good, were reasonably efficient but could have used a little more help at peak times at the hot tub and pool service.
The beach volleyball was awesome as the sand is like talcum powder under your feet. There was sailboats/hobbycats available although at the time we were there the constant threat of lightening kept us onshore. We did enjoy swimming nude in the ocean. We really wanted to be in Mexico for Hallowe'en and had planned our 3 week vacation around this holiday. We were very disappointed that the decorations were put up at 5pm and on their way down again before the party even ended at 10pm. Not at all what we had been told or envisioned!
Not quite the celebration there that we thought Mexico is famous for.
The location of the hotel makes it difficult to day trip from as the roads had been washed out due to the heavy rains. It was a 15 min or more cab ride just to do any shopping. We felt somewhat trapped and isolated.
We are planning to return there for the awesome theme parties and the comfortable clothing optional atmosphere.

Room Tip: One end or the other are better as they put a table and 4 metal chairs in front of the middle room o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank norm s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgoodb, Guest Relations Manager at Desire Riviera Maya Resort, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

We do really appreciate your comments left regarding your last stay at Desire Resort & Spa.

We have taken note on every comment and I would like to tell you we already are working on some positive changes.

We are looking forward to see you soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We have been to Desire three times now and it is still, for us, the best and most relaxing place to vacation. What makes Desire so amazing are quite simply the people. The guests are the friendliest, most secure people we have ever had the pleasure of spending time with. We return during the same period each time so we are now recognized by several of the couples we have met in the past. The openness and genuine caring shown by Desire guests is not likely to be found anywhere else. As many like to keep Desire as their secret hideaway from life's constant stresses to avoid accidentally identifying anyone other than ourselves I will simply say that the Canadian in the kilt and his beautiful wife say a big hello and look forward to seeing you again in December 2014.

Now to the business portion of todays review...

As repeat guests of this wonderful oasis it has been our pleasure to actually get to know many of the staff. And I wish to take to time to pay homage to those who go so far out of their way to ensure that we have always been treated like royalty.

Activities Staff:
Vanessa -our beautiful, fellow Canadian is the brightest light at the resort whether at night in the disco or mid afternoon. We look forward to seeing you when we return.
Javier, Leo and Alfredo -very popular with the ladies all work tirelessly to ensure that there are activities and sports to participate in for the guests. If you would like to do something at Desire, these are the guys who can make it happen.

Service Staff:
Africa -Desire's beach would just be a beach if it weren't for Africa. She works tirelessly to make sure that everyone is attended to, and that no-one is left wanting. She is the first person I look for when we arrive. I have loved Africa since the first time we went to the beach and she took the time to cover me with a large bath sheet when I had fallen asleep following too many Mojitos; so that I would not get cold when the breeze turned cool.
C.C. -Her beautiful eyes and amazing smile will draw you to her like a moth to a flame and her knowledge of mixology guarantees that anything you desire is provided.
Sylvia –Is the angel of the pool. A drink and a smile are always near when Sylvia is caring for the guests by the pool.
Ace –Is always entertaining and my wife’s favorite bartender. He is always creating special cocktails for the guests, all the while spinning glasses, bottles and tossing up ice and catching it behind his back.
Raquel –Was new to us this year and is a wonderful addition to the Desire staff. Working the disco every night, she never let our glasses empty and was always happy to be dragged onto the dance floor.
Emmanuel –Has become a dear friend. The special care and attention he provided when we celebrating out anniversary made the night one we will treasure. I highly recommend the flaming coffees. The coffees are delicious but the show when they are prepared is fantastic.
Jesus –If Jesus is your server there is no limit to how much he will do to ensure that your desires are realized.

Concierges:
Jorge –My wife actually blushes every time she is in his presence. His attention to our wants and needs are the reason we continue to pay for a Passion Suite. No request will ever go unsatisfied while Jorge is on duty.
Rafael –Attention to our every need was fulfilled when Rafael was on duty. The change over when Jorge’s shift ended was always seamless. These two are untouchable when it comes to customer satisfaction.
Gustavo and Luis –Are two more exceptional providers of the excellence in service. Even though they were not “officially” responsible for our care, they were always quick to accommodate any requests we may have had.

I have named those who have become so very important to our overall Desire experience. Their caring and special consideration in ensuring that everything is as we wish ensures we will return.

In closing, should you decide to visit Desire; and I highly recommend that you do. Consider our reason for making this wonderful resort our choice for vacation…

Making your way in the world today, can take everything you’ve got.
Take a break from all your worries.
Be glad there's one place in the world, and they're always glad you came where the people are all the same.
You’ll want to go where everybody knows your name.

We do!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank S G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSDesire, Guest Relations Manager at Desire Riviera Maya Resort, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear guest,

We want to thank you for the time taken on giving us your important comments regarding your last stay at Desire Resorts & Spa Riviera Maya.

We always work with passion in order to create memorables experiences and we are glad to have accomplished your expectations.

We hope to see you in a near future!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Morelos
3.1 mi away
Desire Riviera Maya Pearl Resort
Desire Riviera Maya Pearl Resort
#1 of 35 in Puerto Morelos
905 reviews
17.4 mi away
Temptation Cancun Resort
0.8 mi away
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Breathless Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
2.2 mi away
Excellence Riviera Cancun
Excellence Riviera Cancun
#2 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
12,165 reviews
5.9 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#8 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
8,785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desire Riviera Maya Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desire Riviera Maya Resort

Property: Desire Riviera Maya Resort
Address: Carretera Cancun-Puerto Morelos Km 27.5 SM 12 | Mza 41, Lote 1, Fracc. 2, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Morelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Desire Riviera Maya Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Desire Resort & Spa is a unique couples only resort, the first and only of its kind in Mexico, that located on Cancun’s Riviera Maya will surround you with amazing landscaping and a deliciously erotic atmosphere to unleash your imagination and stimulate your senses. A place of freedom where fantasies become real, a place to abandon inhibitions and truly be you. Imagine sharing this paradise with like-minded couples who also seek a sensuous, clothing optional upscale venue or an adventurous lifestyle experience.Desire Resort & Spa Riviera Maya is a unique, adults only resort (+21) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Desire Riviera Maya Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desire Hotel Riviera Maya
Desire Resort Mexico
Desire Resort & Spa
Cancun Desire Resort
Desire Resort Cancun
Desire Resort And Spa
Desire Riviera Maya Resort Mexico - Puerto Morelos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing