We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another sexy trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Desire Riviera Maya Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Sicklerville, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Another sexy trip”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We enjoyed another wonderful trip to Desire RM June 18-23. The service was excellent. The foam party was an off-the-hook type of experience. Overall, we have nothing but positive things to say about Desire. The staff is excellent and they seem to have very little turnover. Every time we go we meet the nicest and friendliest people.

The only minor issues are that the rooms are not consistent (the sizes vary greatly as well as the included items). Personally we feel the ocean-view rooms should be larger than the garden rooms but in our case this was not true. It would also be wonderful if they could build a full-service authentic mexican restaurant. Two restaurants and a buffet gets old after a few nights.

The theme nights were pretty good. Our favorite was the foam party night. We have never laughed so hard in our lives. It was an absolute blast! Lingerie night was the only night where the majority of the women got dressed up and participated in the designated theme night.

We had a great time and will definitely be back. We checked out Desire Pearl and may split the vacation next time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank travelingcouple28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,048 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    639
    270
    76
    40
    23
See reviews for
4
924
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

This was our first experience at a clothing optional, adult oriented resort and we were a little unsure as to what we would find. We arrived early around 1:30pm and check in was seamless, we got our room only 10 minutes after arriving. We were 20 feet from the pool and restaurants, which at first we thought would not be good but it turned out being great because we met so many people who walked by our door everyday. The noise level at the pool never bothered us in our room because it didn't get started till about 9am and by 6pm all the party people were in the rooftop jacuzzi (highly recommended but not for the faint of heart or prudes).
The staff was amazing, Sammy, Hector, Vanessa, Desire and of course Black Magic the MC. The wait and service staff were beyond attentive and my wife and I never had an empty glass or dirty plate in front of us. After our pool and jacuzzi filled days, we went back to prep for dinner and disco and found a different romantic shaped towel on our bed in our freshly cleaned room.
The guest were all so friendly and not once did my wife and I ever feel pressured to participate in anything. We felt comfortable and made many friends. We enjoyed our time so much that we will return every year.....(oh and definitely hit the spa and if you are confident in your relationship, you have to try the sensual massage.....Stephanie and Carlos were amazing)

Room Tip: Get an ocean view room....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Angelo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

This was our first time at this or any resort like it. It took us a couple of days to really feel comfortable and relaxed, but once we did, it was a total blast. We are not lifestylers, but that wasn't a problem. We met so many cool and fun people from all walks, we can't wait to catch up with them again. Some things we'd wished we'd done differently, bring more cash for tips (you'll want to tip with the level of service you're getting here) and AVOIDING THE FOAM PARTY. It was a ton of fun and we had a blast, but unfortunately, both of us and a good number of our friends came down with a viral infection in our lungs and sinuses that killed the rest of our vacation. We loved how supportive and laid back everyone was and how much fun everyone (staff and guests) made participating in the activities, whether its the lingerie contest, beach volleyball, or naked surfing in the pool. The music in the club is a bit dated, but the atmosphere was great fun. The playroom was nice, romantic and not intimidating. We enjoyed the playroom :-D You have to get up early to get a good spot by the pool, so get there early and visit your chair often so they don't give it away. We were highly impressed with the service, including the restaurants, (Julian and Angel were fantastic!), Silvia by the pool is just a bright addition to your day, Carlos at the bars made you feel so welcome and fantastic, not to mention he remembers how you like your mojitos. The services at the spa was VERY satisfying ;-). We would have rather had a room on the garden side of the resort. We were close to the main courtyard/lobby/disco, so it was loud until about 2 AM daily. We heard a number of guests near the pool/under the jacuzzi who complained about the noise in their rooms. We spoke to guests who got ocean view rooms who were impressed and happy with their rooms. We saw a number of couples and small parties enjoying private dinners on the gazebo or the beach, which we plan to do on our next trip. There were a number of groups there who were sooooo great, but if it hadn't been for some other solo couples, we may have been a bit left-out. The food was good, but really light on the vegetarian options. Selection of drinks was good, but you may have to pay more for bottles of wine if you want something other than house wine. The entertainment staff were incredibly positive, encouraging, and fun. We took a walk down the beach to the new Desire Pearl, which was really nice and they had just as many fun activities going on there, as well. The pool was enormous and so was the jacuzzi. It's a bigger resort and less intimate, but it was a nice change of scenery. For any other first-timers wondering if this type of resort may be something they could enjoy together, we can only say that we've come away from this experience feeling closer, more intimate and positive in our relationship and we met some amazing people along the way. We can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Get a room on the north end of the resort to enjoy a quieter in-room experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Fun C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

When we first stepped into the reception area, we were greeted with a "Welcome Home". You know what, Desire IS our home! There is something to be said that we have returned to this resort 5 times. There is something to be said that we see a lot of the same people every year & have made some very great, lasting friendships. If this is your type of resort, there is no better place to be.
As usual, check-in was a breeze due to our advance check-in on their website. All our requests for our room were granted & service was exceptional.
They have made some nice updates to the rooms & the renovated disco looks fantastic!
Food was excellent (Suki is our favorite) & drinks were made perfectly.
From the porters, front desk, bartenders, wait staff, pool service, maid service, groundskeepers, maintenance, security, entertainment staff & anyone else we came across, we were treated like we were VIP's.

We really have to search hard & nit pick to find a negative. If anything, our negative would be that we miss some of the staff we have come to know & love who are no longer there (Diana, Charlie Moo, Vanessa, Edgar etc...)

It's just a shame that we have to wait an entire year to return back to paradise. CC & Silvia.... see you in 2014!

Room Tip: There is no bad room if you are at Desire RM! ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Desire07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We went to Desire for our anniversary. We are not lifestylers, but we like the vibe and being around that environment so we love going to Desire, our third visit. As stated in numerous reviews, everyone is very considerate and respectful, but it is a delightfully naughty environment. What makes Desire so special for us is the customer service so I’ll detail some of the many highlights. Prior to arriving we had asked for a specific building and view even though it was a Garden View and we didn’t pay extra we were accommodated with the exact room we had hoped for. When we arrived a cake and bottle of champagne were in our room acknowledging our anniversary. The anniversary wasn’t until the following week, but on that day another cake and bottle of champagne was placed in our room, a very nice touch. Thanks Luis!! We purchased the Romantic Dinner package for our anniversary night and it was superb. The food was the best we had during our visit, and there was a lot of it. The service was very attentive with Marianne and another lady providing excellent care. Everything was top notch, we would highly recommend it even though normally at an All Inclusive we are reluctant to spend extra for add ons. For Mexican themed night at the buffet a Mariachi Band played and they were awesome. Unfortunately, not many people carry money for tips so they weren’t there long, but it was a very nice touch and we thought they were very good. Although we’ve mentioned a couple of outstanding people and their service I wanted to call out a couple more, because I’m sure the Desire staff review these comments and the following people are due recognition.
Entertainment Staff – This is the best group of ES folks we’ve ever encountered at a resort and we’ve traveled to a couple dozen. Of special note are Majic, Hector and Regina.
Bar staff- Our glasses rarely became empty. Yeah for, Abrahim, Elerim, Alejandro and Alfredo
Wait staff – Angel and Marianne were insulted if we didn’t sit in their area and frankly we weren’t interested in sitting anyplace else, they were excellent and just fun to be around.
Guadalupe was our housekeeper and was very sweet and efficient, we loved her
Sylvia and Daniel at the pool are in a category of their own. I always got my lounger and umbrella and I never had to raise a finger to get the next drink, what a team at the pool!
On top of everything else the folks that I’ve mentioned always made you feel like you were doing them a favor by vacationing at their resort. My hat is off to the Desire management for hiring and retaining such high quality employees.

Room Tip: $10-15 a day in ones are totally appropriate for tipping and goes a long way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SgtBruski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We just got back June 22nd after a 4 day stay. I really never write online reviews, but after actually going on the trip and reflecting back on the reviews that made me choose Desire.

We're not exactly "lifestylers" and swinging every weekend. More like the occasional swapping if / when the situation ever presents itself.

Pros -
Breakfast, Beach cabanas, Hot tub at 6pm, restaurants, and the night club

Cons -
If I had to complain about something, internet service stunk, but then again I was on vacation and really did not need to be on my cell phone texting. So is it really a negative, not really.
Maybe the rooms because their outdated, but at this resort you're not going to be spending much time in the room so who cares.

All combined on this trip was an awesome experience and any negatives do not come to mind.


Bottom line if you don't want to read all my writing

We both loved this trip and definitely headed there again this next fall 2013. Likely will book a lifestyle take over week. First day we were there was pretty quiet and sedate, once the life style group arrived the resort became much better. We met many new couples and some new great friends (T & J) while on this trip. If you're a nudist, open relationship, or simply a couple looking to spice things up then without a doubt this trip is for you. It was nice for her and I to get reacquainted with each other again and spend some time together as a "loving couple" and not as "mom and dad".


Booked the trip thru a travel agency, direct flight (4 hours) out of Boston to Cancun. We both just did carry-on bags as we figured we would not need much for clothes at this resort. Aside from bathing suits and some t shirts we really only brought evening clothes for dinner and the night club. Once we arrived to Cancun we headed thru customs / immigration quickly (20 minutes) Then once you get out to the swam of people trying to help you with your bags you locate the taxis. Much easier if you book a trip that has transfers included like we did. Just find the person holding up the sign of your tour company and they get you on your way quickly enough.

Nearly 30 minute drive and we arrived and checked in very quickly and smoothly. They said rooms are not available till 3pm so we opted to go to the grill next to the pool. Very funny at first when we first arrived seeing a variety of people walking around without clothes on. I say just about because by the pool the majority of people are lying out at least topless if not naked. In other areas people do sometimes wear their bathing suits or whatever they feel like. Exception in the restaurants everyone needs to be completely dressed. Manny of the couples and in their 40's like us, there were also couples up into the 60’s and 70’s. Some people really are in shape and some really not in shape at all. What I am saying is do not be afraid to be naked here, even the best looking people we found out were self-conscience.

So after eating we some towels, and laid out by the beach. Bring tons of sun screen, the private areas can burn super quick. So give or take a couple hours and 4-6 drinks we thought best to get a break from the sun and see about our room and then unpack. Everyone said get to the hot tub when the pool closes at 6pm. So like everyone we got to the hot tub and WOW what a crazy thing. Manny spectators just watching, others participate in various acts. Nothing is expected and required here. We saw plenty of couples just keeping to themselves and watching. Other couples mixed it up. No pressure or people attacking your girlfriend.

So after an hour in the hot tub we went and showed at our room and out for dinner. Dinner was decent to average. Tasted good and there was a wide selection amongst the different restaurants. So after eating each night they had some entertainment out in the center bar area, one night was a casino night with free gambling, another night was a foam party at the hot tub, another night was a fashion show. All decent things to do and keep everyone one involved. So after that everyone heads to the night club to dance. Music was decent and the girls all seemed to get into it. But every once in a while they would play some god awful song that would clear the dance floor. Allot of girls get all dressed up in sexy outfits. I feel they take this much more serious than us guys do. I was more comfortable in pants and a nice dress shirt. Back room of the night club was same type of scene as the hot tub. Very wild indeed.

Again without a doubt were going back again this fall, we both loved this place and really could not find many reasons to complain. As with anything you get what you put into it.

Room Tip: I feel they are all good, a bit dated and could use some improvements, but who cares your never in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank wm t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, California
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Ok this is the 10th time we go to Desire we are a couple of 32 yrs premier members and the review is for 6-16/6-19. Check is was very fast and easy room not ready but we got something to meet with friends that's are part of the staff yes friends many repeat guest like us build a very strong bond with them since they always go above and beyond to make us happy. The hotel it self needs in my opinion major renovation not to just the rooms but to plumbing, electrical, and generators, AC units. Don't get me wrong it's not falling apart or anything like that just that in our previous stay we had some type of mechanical problem. But I'm sure not many people come to this hotel for the rooms or the resort this place offers a very unique experience that you can do as much or as little as you want when it comes to the swingers life style. The people are very nice and courteous. During the day you have the choice to be in the pool or the beach tends to be more a relax atmosphere during the day. At about 4-8pm people migrate to the famous jacuzzi great place to meet people and from 5-9pm dinner 3 great restaurant choices from 9-11 lobby bar great sexy shows or contest then from 11-2 disco time
And from 4pm-3am the jacuzzi. The lady's can really wear sexy outfits they have theme nights that make a very unique erotic atmosphere. Me and my wife sometimes just seat back and say only at Desire planing our ext 6-8 day trip back in late November-December

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank latinos28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Morelos
3.1 mi away
Desire Riviera Maya Pearl Resort
Desire Riviera Maya Pearl Resort
#1 of 35 in Puerto Morelos
905 reviews
17.4 mi away
Temptation Cancun Resort
0.8 mi away
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Breathless Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
2.2 mi away
Excellence Riviera Cancun
Excellence Riviera Cancun
#2 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
12,184 reviews
5.9 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#8 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
8,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desire Riviera Maya Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desire Riviera Maya Resort

Property: Desire Riviera Maya Resort
Address: Carretera Cancun-Puerto Morelos Km 27.5 SM 12 | Mza 41, Lote 1, Fracc. 2, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Morelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Desire Riviera Maya Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Desire Resort & Spa is a unique couples only resort, the first and only of its kind in Mexico, that located on Cancun’s Riviera Maya will surround you with amazing landscaping and a deliciously erotic atmosphere to unleash your imagination and stimulate your senses. A place of freedom where fantasies become real, a place to abandon inhibitions and truly be you. Imagine sharing this paradise with like-minded couples who also seek a sensuous, clothing optional upscale venue or an adventurous lifestyle experience.Desire Resort & Spa Riviera Maya is a unique, adults only resort (+21) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Desire Riviera Maya Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desire Hotel Riviera Maya
Desire Resort Mexico
Desire Resort & Spa
Cancun Desire Resort
Desire Resort Cancun
Desire Resort And Spa
Desire Riviera Maya Resort Mexico - Puerto Morelos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing