We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4th trip to Desire”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Desire Riviera Maya Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We have just returned from our 4th visit to The Desire Resort & Spa and we experienced the same excellent service we received in our last 3 visits. As we were staying 7 nights we were given free transportation from the airport to the resort and back. The van was there on our arrival and in less than 30 minutes we were checking in to a wonderful king size room in a very nice and quiet area of the resort. Just what we asked for and there is no need really for an ocean view room.

Even though this was just our fourth time it was so nice to be recognized by certain staff members who went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed, whether it was on the beach, at the "lobby" bar, hot tub or any of the restaurants.

Theme nights had changed which was nice and it gave Cheri a chance to wear different costumes at night. Disco music was a little better and that must come from the little survey you complete on what music you like when checking in. Hot tub was always clean and warm despite the use it gets plus the beds on the roof had been replaced and were much better.

It still is an adult resort of course and certain activities may not be everybody's taste but the rules are strictly enforced and certain activities are only allowed on the roof or in the play room and so if you don't want to partake in any activity there is no pressure from anybody to do so. The majority of people who vacation at Desire are friendly and always seem to have a lot of fun. We are not pool or game people so we relax on our bed on the beach during the day, meet similiar people and save the partying for the evening.

Once again the food and service in every restaurant was excellent and we enjoyed each one no matter what our tastes were. We found ourselves eating dinner 4 times in the international restaurant, once in the sushi (it can get a little loud) and the remainder in the buffet dining room. It so nice to have a dresscode for dinner and the majority always followed it. Ladies put on their sexiest dresses and men have to wear a nice shirt and pants.

We experienced a wonderful massage out on the beach for a very reasonable price, only distraction was they allow people to sit too close and their talking can be a little distracting when trying to relax. No big deal really.

We have to say this was our best vacation here out of the four, mainly because we knew what to expect and everybody helped exceed our expectations. We shall certainly return many more times.

Tony & Cheri

Room Tip: Ask for a garden view room away from the center of the resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TonyandCheri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,122)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

564 - 570 of 1,122 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2012

Our stay was from August 23 to 31 and it was a BLAST !!!!!!!
Silvia on the pool and CC on the bar.......you girls are awesome.
It was a week in paradise and we planing to come back very soon.
Tray to get the #2105 room , or one in this 2100 building ......is so nice.
We are not swingers and we were not harassed by anyone at the resort.
Best place to enjoy the women you LOVE !!!!!!!!!!
The Disco was soooooo much fun and the ladies was wearing the sexiest dresses on the planet.
This was our first trip to Desire and YES we will return.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Mario V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We went to Desire with a group of friends for a week in September. Our group travel agent arranged for transfers to the resort. Make sure to avoid all the people trying to sell you as you go through the terminal and go outside. The ride to the resort was less than 20 minutes.

This is an adults only, couples only, clothing optional, all inclusive resort and spa. Check in was a breeze. as our rooms were not ready, we went to the restaurant next to the nude pool for a drink and lunch. The room was ready before we finished.

Although the pool is clothing optional, open sex is not alowed due to the proximity to the public beach. All beaches in Mexico are public. There is a spa pool on an upper level that is hidden for the public view. It is open from 1:00pm until 3:00am and the rules are MUCH more relaxed there. Almost anything goes.

The resort is beautiful, well maintained, and the entire staff is eager to please. There is a different type buffet each night and two restaurants that take reservations. The disco provides music and high energy dancing. Most people participate in the nightly dress themes.

One building was closed for repairs and opened before we left. In talking to Martin, the General Manager, all buildings will be done and finished by the end of the year. Any needed maintance needed in our room was done immediately.
pearl
Our group spent one day at the sister resort, Desire Pearl. It is very nice and gave us a change of pace. The wife went scuba diving 3 days and had 2 massages. All excellent.

This is not our first trip to Desire, and it will not be our last.

Room Tip: We like the rooms as close to the pool and restaurants the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank mandjinneworleans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We have been to Desire each year for the past 7 years. The service is always excellent, as is the food. The Disco and evening shows were very good. Pool activities were also fun. The property though is starting to show it's age and renovations are in order. One last comment, which has us re-thinking future visits. Racoons. At our visit last year, a guest was bitten by a racoon and required getting rabi shots in the US. During this stay, another guest was bitten and fortunately, there were 2 Dr.'s who were guest who treated the injury. When we spoke with mgmt about the racoons, they thought it was nice to have them. While having pizza at the outside lobby bar, we watched the cook clap his hands to call the racoons who did repsond and he fed them food scraps. Not the most sanitary or safe thing to tolerate. It may deter us from going back.

Room Tip: Bring bug repellant. Nights are difficult. Watch out for the racoons, especially around the night pi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank TouristNaples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We have been to Desire several times. I hate to say it but since the new Desire has opened things have dropped off at the original.

We spend our days on the beach. The usual beach bartender was on vacation so they just didn't open the beach bar. Instead they had very hard working people from the restaurant also serve the beach. During the lunch two hours nobody served the beach. We improvised and went to the lobby bar for our own drinks but this was annoying. The manager really should have opened the beach bar and put a bar tender in it. We may not have had beach service but at least we wouldn't have had to walk to the lobby.

The food was fabulous as always, I still get a kick out of sitting up at the grill in the Asian Restaurant.

The beach was gorgeous, the sand was great and lots of it, the water was very clean, very little sea weed and bath tub warm.

Disco was well the disco...You cant compare this to any other place on earth. The vibe is LA but the fashion takes it to another level. The clientèle and the bartenders make this a place to Desire.

We upgraded to a Passion suite but the one we had was in an older building. The room was not impressive like the newer rooms and was just really a jacuzzi suite with the added perks of a passion suite. Breakfast on the balcony every morning was spectacular. If you pay for a passion suite insist on one in the newer building by the pool, they are much nicer.

Room Tip: Always at least pay for the Ocean View unless you are just there to party. Then garden view will suf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank B G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

My boyfriend and I took a 2 day upgrade to Desire from Temptation. We were told by Temptation that Desire had a similar age range (30s and 40s) but was more couples and a little less of a spring break atmosphere. However the minute we arrived we started counting down the minutes until we could return to Temptation. It wasn't an upgrade at all.
We're both in our late 20's and by no means are we prudes; however this place is disturbing and disgusting at the best of times.The crowd was significantly older than expected (+50) which wouldn't have been a problem but upon arrival we witnessed 5 couples actively having sex in the swimming pool outside the restaurant. Did I mention it wasn't much past noon? Kudos to them for their creative positions and floating oral sex but these "sex shows" should be kept for their bedrooms or the Playroom. The only swimming pool (if you're brave enough to go in it and your shots are up to date) closes around 6pm and many people head upstairs to the Jacuzzi Lounge. The Jacuzzi Lounge is a lot like the roof top one at the old temptation los cabos but with people having sex all over the place. We spoke to a few couples who have been to Desire in the past who said public sex isn't normally allowed outside of the Playroom, so maybe they were short security this time?
The room was significantly smaller and more dated than Temptation. The only "upgrade" was that the sheets were softer and our room was quiet despite being below the Jacuzzi Lounge.
The food at the Japanese and International restaurants was very good (about par with Temptation) and I liked not having to make a reservation. The breakfast/lunch buffet was nothing to write home about and very repetitive. I couldn't imagine eating there for a week.
The only good things about this resort are the staff and well maintained grounds.
All in all this resort is not desirable at all.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank CalgaryChic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Because we weren’t sure how we would like it, my wife and I stayed only for two days during the second week of August. It turns out we had a great time. We had a second floor garden view room which was perfectly adequate. The resort is small, but still a lot of fun. I think the food at the lunch grill would get old if it doesn’t change – it didn’t for the two days we were there. Breakfast was fine as was the buffet both nights. Other comments posted here accurately describe the rest, and I would add the beach sand was particularly soft.

My BIG complaint that I’m surprised more people don’t mention is a TOTAL lack of enforcement of no phones, tablets, etc. at the pool or hot tub. Many if not most people where using some type of electronics. Most probably were just using them for music or reading, but I suspect at least one idiot took a picture of us at the pool and another couple was effectively making home porn at the hot tub. We left the hot tub because of this and mentioned the filming to staff, they seem surprised and at least pretended they would do something, but we didn’t follow up. There are bartenders and other staff all over and no one does anything, so beware – it only takes one a—hole to post it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank tripabcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Morelos
3.1 mi away
Desire Riviera Maya Pearl Resort
Desire Riviera Maya Pearl Resort
#1 of 35 in Puerto Morelos
958 reviews
17.4 mi away
Temptation Cancun Resort
0.8 mi away
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Casitas Kinsol
Casitas Kinsol
#5 of 35 in Puerto Morelos
212 reviews
2.2 mi away
Excellence Riviera Cancun
Excellence Riviera Cancun
#2 of 27 in Puerto Morelos
12,702 reviews
5.9 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#8 of 27 in Puerto Morelos
9,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desire Riviera Maya Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desire Riviera Maya Resort

Address: Carretera Cancun-Puerto Morelos Km 27.5 SM 12 | Mza 41, Lote 1, Fracc. 2, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Morelos
Price Range: $429 - $889 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Desire Riviera Maya Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Desire Resort & Spa is a unique couples only resort, the first and only of its kind in Mexico, that located on Cancun’s Riviera Maya will surround you with amazing landscaping and a deliciously erotic atmosphere to unleash your imagination and stimulate your senses. A place of freedom where fantasies become real, a place to abandon inhibitions and truly be you. Imagine sharing this paradise with like-minded couples who also seek a sensuous, clothing optional upscale venue or an adventurous lifestyle experience.Desire Resort & Spa Riviera Maya is a unique, adults only resort (+21) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Desire Riviera Maya Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desire Hotel Riviera Maya
Desire Resort Mexico
Desire Resort & Spa
Cancun Desire Resort
Desire Resort Cancun
Desire Resort And Spa
Desire Riviera Maya Resort Mexico - Puerto Morelos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing