We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb seafood”
Review of La Playita

La Playita
Ranked #17 of 138 Restaurants in Puerto Morelos
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Hanover, New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Superb seafood”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

This turned out to be a real find for us on our visit to Puerto Morelos recently. We loved that it said "family owned". The various ceviches were terrific, as were the fish fillets which were so fresh that no toppings or sauces were needed. Only disappointment was one very sullen waitress. Everyone else was terrific there.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank 120Inge120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    126
    25
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“I don't understand”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

I just read the latest review of La Playita where the reviewer had a terrible meal. Deep fried fish is usually very safe as the oil kills everything so I don't understand how it didn't sit well.

We ate there every afternoon because it was the busiest time which to me translates as the 'freshest time'.

The fried fish comes with beans, rice, tortillas and the standard entree of nachos with green and red sauce dip. One fish was enough for the two of us. Ate the same thing every day and it was a treat. Plus nibbling around the bones takes time of which we had lots making for a long relaxing meal. We tried all the beers and Dos Equis and Pacifico were my favourites so order one with your fish. Cost without beer was around 80 pesos.

The setting is great behind a sand dune with plenty of shade.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

One of the chip dips looked and tasted like barf!! My digestive system was very OFF from eating there yesterday. Although the fried fish tasted great for the first few bites, it sat in my tummy like a greasy spoon. Rice & lettuce were terrible, as well as the tortillas. Have to say I was very disappointed by my meal. Waiter was very nice however.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Deb154919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Simplicity, excellent fresh fish, and great value”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We heard about this restaurant while on a snorkeling excursion in Puerto Morelos. Either snorkelers or the guides told us about it. It was not the easiest place to find. A young local guided us to the restaurant as we walked from the dock toward the city center. It is right on the beach, and you sit in white plastic chairs under a canopy. It was just opening around noon, and we sat with some other snorkelers, and had a few beers and appetizers. I had grouper in garlic sauce, and my spouse had ceviche. All I can say, is WOW! This food was great. And we've been coming to the Yucatan for over 15 years. We will be coming back here, and exploring this wonderful little town some more.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FlipKal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Falls, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Our first and last stop when flying into Cancun”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Great fish and shrimp ceviche, enjoyed with your feet in the sand, palm trees overhead and the oven just over the sand dune. Great food, reasonable prices, wonderful location. How can you beat it?

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pscotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Playita also viewed

Puerto Morelos, Riviera Maya
Puerto Morelos, Riviera Maya
 
Puerto Morelos, Riviera Maya
Puerto Morelos, Riviera Maya
 

Been to La Playita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing