We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don Julio 70”
Review of La Pepita

La Pepita
Ranked #30 of 191 Restaurants in Puerto Morelos
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Description: Don't be fooled by the shabby, palapa entrance. Beyond is a large, open air restaurant with gravel floor. Great botanas including a killer pumpkin seed dip. Ate terrific local fish prepared 'al diablo' - spicy but not 'habanero hot'. Served with tasty rice and avocado. Lobsters were also on offer. Mix of locals and visiting divers. Lots of space and keen juke box - didn't see any children but would have lots of space for them to run around. Great local restaurant.
Restaurant details
Description: Don't be fooled by the shabby, palapa entrance. Beyond is a large, open air restaurant with gravel floor. Great botanas including a killer pumpkin seed dip. Ate terrific local fish prepared 'al diablo' - spicy but not 'habanero hot'. Served with tasty rice and avocado. Lobsters were also on offer. Mix of locals and visiting divers. Lots of space and keen juke box - didn't see any children but would have lots of space for them to run around. Great local restaurant.
Reviewed May 7, 2019 via mobile

Do yourself a favor, walk in ask for Walter and get a couple shots of this amazing tequila. Hands down the best out there.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank justthetip2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (197)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 197 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2019

We loved eating here at Pepita. The fish is fresh from the boat that day in a cooler where you can pick which one you want to eat, the tequila shots are poured with extra love, and the margaritas are great.
The service is exceptional and very attentive.
The flooring is sand - can't get much better than that while in Mexico. They also have a great mural to take pictures by for the social media aspect of life.

We will highly consider coming back here as we visit Puerto Morales every year and look to try new places. Enjoy!

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank sjnickers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2019

Although we have been to Puerto Morelos 3 times now for extended stays this was our first visit to La Pepita. Nacho chips and a couple of dips are served complimentary to begin the meal. Wine was very reasonable at 70 p per glass. My husband ordered the arrachera steak ( skirt steak )which came with refried beans ( not a favourite of his ), fries and some guacamole . I ordered sea bass in a garlic wine sauce smothered with shrimp and octopus, with sides of rice, sliced avocado, tomato and lettuce. It was a huge helping and absolutely delicious! My husband was a little disappointed in his steak which was a little chewy . When he looked at my plate he was quite jealous !! I took half the fish home for another day ! Service was friendly and efficient.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank Louise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2019 via mobile

I wish there was a 3 and 1/2 choice. We ordered some fish fillets in the spicy sauce choice and it was delicious It was five stars. Ordered a lobster tail with the garlic sauce. Garlic sauce was great but the lobster was overcooked quite a bit. disappointing because the lobster ended up cutting almost 800 pesos. If it weren't for account for the lobster being overdone I would do five stars The service is great very friendly. Recommend going highly but skip the lobster

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank Kaycee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2019 via mobile

The food her is amazing! There staff is super polite and caring, the place is super organized and they have amazing prices as well as fresh food! This is overall the best restuarant me and my family have been to these 2 weeks in Puerto Morelos

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank marisa554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Pepita also viewed

Puerto Morelos, Riviera Maya
Puerto Morelos, Riviera Maya
 
Puerto Morelos, Riviera Maya
Puerto Morelos, Riviera Maya
 
Puerto Morelos, Riviera Maya
Puerto Morelos, Riviera Maya
 

Been to La Pepita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing