We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Desire Riviera Maya Pearl Resort
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$942
$305
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita(Puerto Morelos)
$590
$460
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$269
$231
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort(Puerto Morelos)
$329
$220
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$499
$395
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$643
$304
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$613
$448
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Acamaya Reef(Puerto Morelos)
$40
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Arrecifes Suites(Puerto Morelos)(Great Value!)
$68
$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,028)
Filter reviews
1,028 results
Traveler rating
808
157
34
20
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
808
157
34
20
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubdesire rmaphrodite restaurantquiet endpremier membersentertainment staffmaster suitesexual activitythe penthousesin roomfoam partyjacuzzi areahaving sexbreakfast and lunchswim up barcouples massagebeach beds
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
750 - 755 of 1,028 reviews
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Hello reviewers the only place to go if you like clothing optional 1st but not the last advise to people if you finally decide to go this place dont b afraid to take of you clothes off right away becuase this why you book this place dont be shame or embarrased becuase no body cares if you didnt took em off right away then you will never feel comfortable this was our second time to clothing optional resort nothing this resorti'm gonna give you simple inteniary for the wholeday most peoples gets up around 8 830 am go for breakfast then sunscreen and the sun by the pool or the beach they have plenty of sports activities by the beach you can join them or just lay on the beach nude there is some walkers walks by from another resorts but dont care around 1 130 pm most peoples go for lunch then back to beach or pool whatever you like around 4 430 pmpeoples go back to the rooms take a nap so they can get ready for night you know whats coming next they go for dinner at pearl or arphodite resturant pearl is very upscale so dress up they have 5 course menue mens need pants and collar shirts so you can look like human lol after dinner around 10 most people start to hang out by the main lobby becuase there is theme nights every nights you gotta check their website you dont have to but its make the atomsphere really nice dance drink and sinroom not toomuch there but if you want to you are very welcome after theme nights most people like us will go the jacuazzi let me tell this call jacuazzi nice and big bar you do whatever you want too we were doingevrything i mean everything you know what i mean exactly hey thios why you pick this resort to be free and beleive me we were free we aren't in to lifestayle but there is always some so didnt bother us and body really push you so dont b pressure by that be free and have fun

Room Tip: we got lucky we have book ocean viewroom they endup upgrading us to master suitwhich were veryclose to jacuazi some people cant stay up so it can be lil rough for em we were having fun till 2 or 3 am so np for us
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sal j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessio G, Gerente at Desire Riviera Maya Pearl Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for such kind words regarding your previous stay at Desire Pearl Resort & Spa. I'm glad to know you enjoyed our clothing optional concept. Our mission is to create memories by exceeding our guest’s expectations and it's a pleasure to know that in this case we could do it. I hope to have the opportunity to host you again soon.

Sincerely yours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We did quite a bit of research before deciding on Desire Pearl. My wife and I are not lifestyle type people, but we do like clothing optional aspect that the Pearl offered. Upon arrival, we were greeted with champagne and escorted to our room without delay. Our ocean front room was just as it was described on the website, and was very comfortable and clean. The pool was quite large and there was plenty of seating surrounding the pool and on the beach. Most of our days started on the beach, but as soon as it started to warm up, we would head to the pool for relief. The staff always made sure that there was something to do to keep things lively. This included volleyball, water aerobics, basketball, and even belly dancing. Sadly, we missed the foam party which had just ended when we arrived. The drinks were non stop and the liquor was top shelf. It would have been nice to have a broader choice of beer available. Mirvala (sp?) was our waitress for the entire time, and she made our stay so nice. She went above and beyond her duty to make sure my wife and I had everything we needed. Food was delicious and was always available. Breakfast and lunch were mostly buffet style meals, but there was also an omelet station for breakfast and an open grill for lunch including steak, chicken, burgers, etc. For supper, we ate at at the Aphrodite most nights, and loved everything we tried. The portions are small but we never left feeling hungry. We saved a night at the Pearl restaurant for my wife's birthday, and it was fantastic. The nightlife is pretty much how it has been explained by the other reviews. The wife and I saw quite a few things that we had never seen before which was ok for the most part. We enjoyed the freedom that most people showed, and how most people were just there to have a good time. We were never pressured during our stay, and met several nice people while we were there. Sadly, we don't get to travel that often, but we will visit the Pearl again as soon as we can. Hope this helps.

Room Tip: We stayed on the quiet side which was perfect for us. Like others have noted, the hot tub area can be a bit rowdy at night.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank treyanddanielle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessio G, General Manager at Desire Riviera Maya Pearl Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Dear guest:

Thank you so much for taking the time and share your experience at Desire Pearl. We are pleased to know you had such a great time with us.
It´s always so nice to get very positive feedbacks as yours because it means we´re doing things in the correct direction.
We will be so happy to host you back soon.

Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Ditto all the positive comments about this resort. First class all the way - our favorite of the Desire brand so far. And as an aside, we had a group from Desire RM who came for some action and left wishing they'd booked at Pearl - so, I think it's dependent on the week as to the age and activity level of the crowd. We have no complaints. I particularly want to call out the staff that made our stay so wonderful. Selene at the front desk - very sweet. Victor by the pool and beach beds - the hardest working guy I've ever seen. Jared, also by the beach beds and pool - very helpful. Evaristo and Carlos, butlers that didn't miss a trick. Marvila, drink service perfection - we couldn't stop drinking if we'd wanted to! HAHA (And, if she ever happens to see this, I'm bringing my own whistle next time! Hugs to Mia and best of everything to you!). Rodrigo at breakfast & lunch, knew our names and what we wanted before we knew it by the second day - amazing. Rodolfo at dinner - just wonderful and attentive. And last but certainly not least, the entertainment crew: Charlie, Jovani, Rachel, Jessica, Javier, Joy and Mango. They were all adorable in their own way - obviously enjoyed their jobs and each took the time to stop and chat. Our A/C Was not working when we checked in - so, I called the front desk and as another reviewer put it, they were knocking on the door as I hung up the phone. Fixed in a jiffy. True, it was hot in spots outside - but, Rodrigo told us they would be closing in the alfresco area by the Aphrodite restaurant and running A/C, so hopefully they'll do the same for the Sushi restaurant. It would be nice - although, we always had a nice breeze by the sea. So, here are the VERY minor suggestions for improvement: A/C for the Sushi restaurant, upgrade the chairs in the Pearl restaurant (I mean, what's with the plastic lawn chairs? Is it just me, or do they really fit the exceptional food and presentation?) and key access for the 1st floor room's sliders would be great. That's it. This is the first resort (of it's kind) with which we've made a serious return commitment (particularly since Los Cabos closed!). Thanks to everyone there for a wonderful vacation.

Room Tip: The noise from the jacuzzi can be heard in nearby rooms until 5AM...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MHarbold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessio G, General Manager at Desire Riviera Maya Pearl Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review. Seems like you had an exceptional time at Desire Pearl.
For us is an honor to know that our services and facilities fullfilled your expectations. I will personally share your comments with all the staff and encourage them to keep the great work.
We hope to have the opportunity to host to back in your next vacations.
Kindest regards from Paradise, Desire Pearl.
Truly yours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We originally came here last year before it became popular & at that time said that the resort needed more people...needed more excitement...it was already beautiful, great service, nice spa, nice beach, large upscale rooms. They are now getting the people there, have a nice disco, playroom on the side of the disco, and the food is AWESOME. Also since we had been there, there have been very nice changes for the better.

We have been to all-inclusive resorts for years (Hedo II & III, Caliente Caribe and Desire RM) but Desire Pearl is the definitely Paradise on Earth.We are so limited in clothing optional and lifestyle friendly resorts, so it is awesome that we have such an upscale, beautiful choice in Desire Pearl.

We suggest you arrange for transportation from/to the airport ($80 round trip per couple)...it's about a 30 minute ride from the airport to the resort. We stayed in a MasterSuite (a separate bathroom for each of us), which has a large living room area. We chose a room on the ground floor, so we could use our back sliding glass door to go back & forth to the hot tub & pool. If you have a ground floor room though, you don't get a good view of the ocean. We had friends in the regular ocean rooms & even though they are less area, they are also upscale with beautiful furnishing & decor and much large than rooms at Hedonism.

Our favorites at Desire Pearl: VERY clean everywhere, service, the swim up pool bar, swim up hot tub bar, playroom off the disco, service, large upscale rooms, FOOD was awesome (even with me who has health issues), able to dress casual for breakfast & lunch...did we mention SERVICE.

Also nice: At the pool the servers always seem available to take your drink order, room service available, lunch can be buffet or "order from menu", each evening an alternative dinner (sometimes buffet) was available in the restaurant overlooking the beach, always a bar open, beautiful spa, plenty of lawn chairs in & around the pool, plenty of towels, our guest room cleaned or straightened twice a day,

Complaints: Too hot for us to eat outside for the sushi bar, only had 2 menu choices in restaurant...not enough when you're staying a couple of weeks, no elevators in resort, so you may wish to choose a lower floor.

The entertainment staff is very friendly and lead activities around and in the pool during the day. There is live music just off the lobby most nights & the disco opens at night and has a show every night. There are different themes each evening, so be sure to check out the website to know what to pack, if you wish to participate (most couples seem to enjoy participating).

They have an on-premise dive program for us scuba divers...it's an extra cost, but well worth it. There are also other excursions available from the resort that can be arranged.

It's not required to tip, but the service is so amazing that you'll want to reward them...bring plenty of ones & fives.

We enjoyed ourselves SO MUCH that we're returning in September...can't wait!

Room Tip: If you prefer a view, request a room on the 1st or 2nd floor. If you enjoy going out your back sliding glass door to the pool or hot tub, request a ground floor room.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank muchfuntravelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessio G, General Manager at Desire Riviera Maya Pearl Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear Guest:
Thank you for taking a moment to write about your experience at Desire Pearl.
I´m so glad you had a great time and that you´ve found "Paradise on Earth". All your comments and suggestions have been passed to all the staff.
We hope to have the opportunity to host you very soon. If there is anything we can do to make your next visit even better, do not hestitate to contact us.
Warmest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We love to research our vacations. We buy books, read reviews and talk to people who have been there, and this vacation was no different. As the first leg of a multi pronged vacation, we were a bit nervous but more excited.

We arrived on a Tuesday afternoon and to be honest, we were a little nervous on the drive from the airport. Not because of the potential nakedness or the anticipation of meeting new guests to potentially play with (we are swingers) but because the road to the resort is really bumpy and riddled with shanty like homes and signs warning of crocodiles.

However one you get to the actual resort, it is really paradise. The open air lobby is beautiful and decorated in modern Asian decor. We checked in right away and were given champagne and cool towels. We were given it room keys and brought to our room (12) which is a master suite. This room for us was in the perfect location (our balconies looked out onto the hot tub and further to the ocean).

The room is so spacious and had 2 full bathrooms. It was decorated with rose petals and champagne. We could not have been happier about the room, the location or the the fact that we could play in front off all of the hot tubers and we could watch them as well.

The food was amazing, as someone who has tons (think gluten free, no corn, milk, and some fruits and veggies) of allergies, this place was a fantasy when it came to food. Nothing was off limits or ungetable. At one point I asked for soy milk and someone literally ran to deliver it to me. While there was a small fee of $50 for this alternate menu (for the week!) I would have paid $50 extra per day if asked.

The beach, pool and hot tub are perfect and always the perfect temp for us. The drinks flowed freely but I would recommend bringing plenty of ones and fives for tips. The staff are really amazing. I can't say enough about David, Hector, Adolfo and all of the amazing staff. I can be picky and I expect high level service and this staff blew our minds.

Finally for our fellow swinging friends: we are a young 36 and 33 years old. We like to play with people our age give or take these people were not there. (Except our friends from Bahrain-next time you are in the area give us a shout!). We did spend the day at Desire RM and loved the atmosphere so much more. More outgoing pool games, and the people were friendlier and more our age. We didn't care for the amenities as much as RM but the people definitely make up for it.

In the future we probably would split the time more evenly between the two resorts. On another note, you MUST get the sensual massage. Dear Lord, you have never had a massage like this and if you have please let me know where it can be done in the US!!!

The bottom line? If Desire could somehow get the RM peeps to stay at Pearl, it would be heaven on earth and we would never leave.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank AlexandSarahConcord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews