We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WOW what a great find”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Desire Riviera Maya Pearl Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Naples FLA
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“WOW what a great find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

This resort is geared for "select" group of clients, but what a GREAT resort.

The rooms, food, service, ambiance, grounds, activities were fantastic! Every staffer is incredible and willing to assist you at all times. Anselmo at the front office was wonderful, Victor and Jared at the pool were always there to help, the entertainment staff was always smiling and full of energy!

The only negatives were that one restaurant was closed (undergoing renovations), and the bar at the front lobby needs to be enclosed (very hot and muggy). Also, although we did NOT have a problem, they have some "issues" with the insects and despite spraying (sometimes at 7:00 PM while we were at the bar) it seems to continue to be a problem. While we were there, there was a seaweed problem and the two (2) staffers were not enough to handle the continuous seaweed washing ashore (other resorts use tractors to clean the beach).

This is a "keeper" and we are alredy planning our return in early 2013.

Room Tip: The Master Suites are great - extremely large and comfortable; most rooms require a few steps (up or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SunLoversNaplesFLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    630
    122
    29
    17
    5
See reviews for
3
749
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

We added two extra nights to our trip to see what Pearl was like. We were in room 39 and could see the sun-rise from our bed. Everything was great while we were there. We met some great people. The staff was wonderful. The beach was clean they all worked hard to please you every minute. The food was fabulous. We were looking for a place without the swingers and not so crazy as some other places we went. While we were there some groups came over from Desire and they all stayed together and did not bother anyone. It was all great and hated to leave to move onto the other resort we were originally going to. If we could have changed our plans we would have stayed at Pearl longer. Resort was only 40% occupied when we were there so that was nice also.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kerrville
Level Contributor
455 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

The rooms are at least twice as big as Cabo & Riviera.
Internet is just as flakey. Hot tub & pool are huge and Clean!!!! The staff are all reallly trying but they really should bring interchange staff between the 2 Yucatan resorts for cross training.
Music in the disco--as bad as at the other 2- only 2 rock songs all others techno & rap ( we have complained about this for years) we are all over 40 and this music does not appeal to us. Disco clears out by 11. Return---YES~
Food is good but could improve. Victor the evening manager at the dining is really mean to the rest of the staf!!

Room Tip: WE had 73 but will ask for 86 next trip to have a great upper ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank skgcdl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

We spent 6 nights in mid September here after being offered a couple of nights 'upgrade' from Temptation. Temptation was great but we saw this place and asked if we could stay for the rest of our Thomson bargain holiday! They allowed us to stay at no extra cost and couldn't do enough for us during our stay.
The staff are the best ever and a little courtesy gets you a long long way (they are used to dealing with some (not all) very ignorant Americans so a please and thank-you is a welcome change for them and treating them as equals opens up many interesting conversations with them!)
The entertainment staff work very hard to try and get you involved and once your up for that game of water basketball etc. it is a fun experience. The night-time shows were not to be missed and even though during our time of low occupancy everything was still in full operation.
The beach is nice enough and the seaweed is manually removed each day and is a great place to relax on the comfy beds.
The Pool Guy will sort you out a pool or beach side bed, with towels, arrange it for you in the sun or shade as you request. The waitresses will bring you drinks from the bar on a regular basis, even before you've finished the last one!
The restaurant has a decent choice, with themed nights and occasional change of venue for beach or pool-side evening meal for special events.
The rooms are well maintained with very large comfy beds and the gardens and pool are well maintained and clean.
Watch out for the pool bar closing late afternoon and everyone disappearing to the large Jacuzzi (with swim up bar)...It's HOT in many ways! Keep an open mind and watch "the show"!
Everyone was very friendly and this has got to be one of our greatest holidays ever for so many reasons.
A real Pearl of a place and I cannot fault anything about our stay there - It's a shame British tour operators are not open minded enough to go there!
We need more resorts like this in Europe!

Just a few pointers: Yes it's clothing optional around the beach and pool areas. But it's optional and everyone dresses for meals etc. Yes there are "lifestyle"/Swingers there, but they don't bother you unless you want them too and many are very interesting people and "No means no". The majority of people are very respectful and very friendly

Room Tip: They are all good rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Stevanegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

While at Desire in RV we came to Pearl & spent a day and liked it enough to give it a week try. We stayed 9/23-30, 2012. We really enjoyed it.About 30 min ridr from airport. Quick, easy & friendly check in. It was at low capacity so got our room right away. Rooms are spacious, beach is good, pool is very big w/ swim up bar and hot tub is huge! The food was ok but I understand they're working on it. Would like to see more variety. Drinks were good. Disco is cool although the playroom is only hidden by a curtain; not a door. It's a bit smaller than Desire RM. But, I like the set up in the disco. The shows we made it out to see were pretty good. I like that the staff has "Off" they let you use for the mosquitoes; which were out full force. There is a huge pond in front of the lobby and the fountain does not run continuously. Although it's pretty, it's a breeding ground for mosquitoes. I hear they are taking the pond out and replacing it w/ other items like maybe beds, seating, etc. This would be good. My favorite food night was Mexican although my husband's was Sushi. :) Staff always asked if we needed anything in our room & was quick to get it if we did. Staff was very friendly; all of them. Carla was our favorite waitress & Juan our favorite bartender. And of course, we can't forget the entertainment crew (EC). They were great. While there, 2 of them were leaving to go off on other adventures & 2 new ones were coming on. If I had any complaints/issues at all it'd only be the room service. One night I did order pizza and 1 1/2 hours later it hadn't arrived. My husband called and 10 min. later it showed up but was cold & wrong pizza. I didn't end up eating it. At least they didn't charge us the room service charge. I'd love to see an outdoor pizza oven like they have at Desire RM. That truly is one of my FAVORITE things about it. I can't wait for midnight to get one of those fresh, hot, out of the oven pizzas! :)

One other thing I'd like to mention. Before, the resorts offered a shuttle back & forth at no charge. Now they do not. It's about a 15 min ride between the two. You have to take a cab which runs you about $15 each way. That's not a big deal to us. However, when we got to Desire RM to meet some friends for dinner we were told in the lobby at Desire RM that we could only eat in the buffet restaurant and if we wanted to eat in the other 2 we'd have to pay a $25 fee. I was very disappointed w/ this. These are sister resorts. It should be in writing somewhere (brochure, websites) that if you visit Desire RM you'll be charged to eat there. But, paying a $25 fee AND a $30 cab ride for a total of $55 plus any tips you leave isn't justified. They really should either offer the free shuttle or allow you to eat for free. I can understand that if they are at full capacity that they want their guests to have first dibbs at the restaurants but state that somewhere for other guests to see.

In ending, we are already booked to return to Desire Pearl in June 2013. :)

Room Tip: It's a small resort w/ 88 rooms. Any room is good. All w/in a couple of minutes of walking to an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank sheryllynn69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

My partner and I had a wonderful experience. The service was amazing no complaints in that area. As others have mentioned the music selection could have been a bit more tasteful but my resolution was simply to head to the jacuzzi area or the beach. The beach requires daily maintenance bc of the seaweed but I noticed workers diligently cleaning. We stayed in room 3 which our terrace led directly out to the pool and was next door to the restaurant Pearl. Everyone was nice and started to feel like distant relatives bc the resort is so small we had a great time. Go and experience for yourself. Btw we are nudist and never felt pressured from any of the lifestyle guest.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Kim2134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

This was our 1st time to a clothing optional resort, and we (my husband and I) were very impressed. We have been traveling somewhere new every year and have been married for almost 3yrs. We were nervous to try a resort like this, but after reading all the other great reviews we took our chances. The resort is beautiful and the staff were Amazing. We have never met so many nice and welcoming people anywhere else. We decided to try Pearl instead of the other Desire based on some other reviews and after talking to many other frequent desire travelers we are happy with our choice. I am certain we were the youngest couple at the resort but as I said before Everyone was very nice. We met new people every day and felt very comfortable. This is also the only resort we have been to that everyone actually goes to the disco and participates in the nightly themes. Next time we come to Desire we will be better prepared with costumes. lol. The Entertainment staff were so much fun!!!! I may have still been a bit to shy to participate but really enjoyed all the shows. We stayed in a junior sweet (oceanview) and thought the room was very nice. We were close to the jucuzzi tub but not right outside. The noise did not bother us in the morning (or at night, but we often stayed in the jucuzzi till close). The food was pretty good and we liked that if you wanted something at anytime you could just ask for it.
We cannot think of one complaint or suggestion. This place exceeded all expectations, and we cannot wait to go back. We were the only Canadians and we went at a "low" time. My only suggestion to other 1st timers is to go with an open mind, don't be scared and be ready to meet lots of people. I am not usually a shy person, my husband is uncomfortable in group situations and this place completly relaxed us and brought us closer together. There was no judgement, if I wanted to wear my bathing suit during the day and sexy outfits at night to the disco I could.
Again, We Cannot Wait to go back:) I don't know how we will ever be able to go to a clothing only resort again. lol

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank TPC19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Morelos
3.1 mi away
Desire Riviera Maya Resort
Desire Riviera Maya Resort
#2 of 33 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
0.9 mi away
Excellence Riviera Cancun
Excellence Riviera Cancun
#2 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11,520 reviews
2.3 mi away
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
Temptation Cancun Resort.
3.1 mi away
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
#1 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desire Riviera Maya Pearl Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desire Riviera Maya Pearl Resort

Property: Desire Riviera Maya Pearl Resort
Address: Costera Norte | Lote 1 Sm10 Mz. 26, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Morelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Desire Riviera Maya Pearl Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Desire Pearl Resort & Spa Riviera Maya, seductive, clothing optional sanctuary in the Mexican Caribbean, invites you to come with your partner to discover a world of deliciously sensual experiences. A paradise for couples only, this is the place where you can reinvent the meaning of passion, forget inhibitions and enjoy adventures that go beyond your imagination. Surrounded by lingering ocean breezes, powdery white sand and the captivating, picture-perfect hues of the Caribbean Sea, Desire Pearl Resort & Spa Riviera Maya is found in an alluring beach of Puerto Morelos, as an idyllic setting where your most secret fantasies can become true.With an architectural design that resembles an elegant villa and blends perfectly with its vibrant and tropical backdrop, our clothing optional resort features guest rooms, suites and penthouses that have been provided with a balcony or terrace, so that the only witness of those passionate encounters with your partner, will be the most breathtaking views of the Caribbean Sea. As the most exquisite deluxe all-inclusive hotel, Desire Pearl Resort & Spa Riviera Maya has been provided with superb amenities and features that will seduce all of your senses such as an erotic, clothing optional atmosphere, oceanfront pools, beach beds, beach/pool concierges, and an indulging spa. Two restaurants await you with delightful moments as you discover our variety of gourmet, signature dishes and sensual environments that will embrace you with the taste of Desire every night. At Desire Pearl Resort & Spa Riviera Maya, the most enticing, adults oriented daily activities and nightly entertainment will set the perfect scene for flirtatious occasions to enjoy your partner's company, meet other guests as well as unparalleled opportunities to let yourself loose. For the ultimate seductive vacation, keep your mind open, unleash your imagination and surrender to the Desire Pearl Resort & Spa Riviera Maya experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Desire Riviera Maya Pearl Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desire Riviera Maya Pearl Resort Mexico - Puerto Morelos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing