We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Desire Riviera Maya Pearl Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Relaxation”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

My partner and I had a wonderful experience. The service was amazing no complaints in that area. As others have mentioned the music selection could have been a bit more tasteful but my resolution was simply to head to the jacuzzi area or the beach. The beach requires daily maintenance bc of the seaweed but I noticed workers diligently cleaning. We stayed in room 3 which our terrace led directly out to the pool and was next door to the restaurant Pearl. Everyone was nice and started to feel like distant relatives bc the resort is so small we had a great time. Go and experience for yourself. Btw we are nudist and never felt pressured from any of the lifestyle guest.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Kim2134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

882 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    699
    130
    28
    19
    6
See reviews for
3
823
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

This was our 1st time to a clothing optional resort, and we (my husband and I) were very impressed. We have been traveling somewhere new every year and have been married for almost 3yrs. We were nervous to try a resort like this, but after reading all the other great reviews we took our chances. The resort is beautiful and the staff were Amazing. We have never met so many nice and welcoming people anywhere else. We decided to try Pearl instead of the other Desire based on some other reviews and after talking to many other frequent desire travelers we are happy with our choice. I am certain we were the youngest couple at the resort but as I said before Everyone was very nice. We met new people every day and felt very comfortable. This is also the only resort we have been to that everyone actually goes to the disco and participates in the nightly themes. Next time we come to Desire we will be better prepared with costumes. lol. The Entertainment staff were so much fun!!!! I may have still been a bit to shy to participate but really enjoyed all the shows. We stayed in a junior sweet (oceanview) and thought the room was very nice. We were close to the jucuzzi tub but not right outside. The noise did not bother us in the morning (or at night, but we often stayed in the jucuzzi till close). The food was pretty good and we liked that if you wanted something at anytime you could just ask for it.
We cannot think of one complaint or suggestion. This place exceeded all expectations, and we cannot wait to go back. We were the only Canadians and we went at a "low" time. My only suggestion to other 1st timers is to go with an open mind, don't be scared and be ready to meet lots of people. I am not usually a shy person, my husband is uncomfortable in group situations and this place completly relaxed us and brought us closer together. There was no judgement, if I wanted to wear my bathing suit during the day and sexy outfits at night to the disco I could.
Again, We Cannot Wait to go back:) I don't know how we will ever be able to go to a clothing only resort again. lol

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank TPC19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, BC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We have stayed at Desire on several previous occasions, and thought that we would check out what the buzz was all about. We have to say that we were very impressed in several respects: pool (larger with a pool bar!) and jacuzzi (larger with multiple levels and it lights up with varying colours at night!) are far superior to the older location. The rooms were also better (larger with plenty of storage) and we also preferred the beach at Pearl as it was larger and there were numerous palm trees and plenty of loungers.

Staff was great although the restaurant staff seemed somewhat overwhelmed at times when the occupancy increased. Food was better at other Desire, but Pearl had more top-shelf alcohol available without an added charge (for example, Grey Goose at Desire requires that you pay the server..) House wines were somewhat better than other location and additional choices available at ridiculous prices - but that is always a problem in Mexico. That said, kitchen accommodated requests to make dishes that were not on menu (and that included room-service requests) Music at Pearl should be improved: they should invest in satellite radio or a digital music system as the never-ending Michael Jackson muzik in the restaurant at breakfast and lunch got a bit tiresome.

They charge for wi-fi ($15 per day) which is something which should be changed immediately. I doubt that people are streaming videos: frankly, it is something which most resorts include and is at odds for a resort which markets itself as all-inclusive. Similarly, they charge to use the spa's steam-room and sauna which is also at odds with the concept of an all-inclusive.

Entertainment staff was enthusiastic and did their best to get everyone involved. As we understand it, the resort has only been in the Desire family for a half a year and we expect that the deficiencies should be addressed over time and that this resort will become the place to go. All in all, we were very impressed and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank okskidivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

My fiance and I have stayed at all 3 of the Desire properties over the last few years, and really enjoy their erotically permissive environment. Like the other Desire's the food is just above average, but the level of service here is the best we've experienced of the three. Although the rooms are nicer than RM, they are no where near the Los Cabos property. But, let's face it, most people aren't coming to Desire for the rooms.

Their marketing tag line "Naturally Sensual" does fit the overall ambience of the properties. Except when it comes to the entertainment. Spring Break type Frat Party games and innuendo may work for the 20-something single crowd (like at Temptations), but guests at Desire, at least to our experience, are couples, older, more traveled, and have an expectation of sophisticated sensuality - not 'Party on, Dude' style pool games and disco shows. It cheapens the Desire brand, and intrudes on the guests own sensual experience by the pool, on the beach, or in the Disco.

As another reviewer suggested, perhaps the management at Desire should consider formatting and target marketing that crowd (who enjoys the cheesy games and loud DJ style) for the original Desire RM, and get a newer, more sensual and erotic style of entertainment for its more experienced lifestyle crowd at Pearl. As an example, the new jacuzzi area at Pearl is great. It is beautifully designed and appears specifically laid out by someone who understood the lifestyle experience of the guests. And, once the pool closes, it takes on a more ultra-lounge style of music and lighting. All perfect choices. But, if you brightened the environment and started cranking heavy beat dance music into the area, you would kill the entire erotic ambiance. I would hope that the new GM of this property would take note and change the entertainment format to be as "Naturally Sensual" and successful as the new jacuzzi area.

Room Tip: The pool has a quiet side and an active side. So, choose a room location to suit your vacation needs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank C S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We spent the first half of our honeymoon at this resort, and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. It was our first experience going to a clothing-optional resort, and we felt right at home. Everyone, including the staff and guests were perfectly welcoming and very fun.

The room was great - we had an Ocean front room, and we had a beautiful view. The bed was comfortable, and it was well kept. There was still a lot of construction and repair when we were there as the resort had just opened after Desire took over. The staff did everything they could to make us comfortable even though that was happening. It rained while we were there, and they provided umbrellas to keep us dry walking from building to building.

We were nervous about the food since it's an all-inclusive, but it was actually wonderful. We loved all the meals, and there were snacks in the afternoon as well. And of course the open bar helped - we often drank our snacks! We usually opted for the served restaurant for dinner, and the options were varied and wonderful.

The disco was the place to be every night. There were some fabulous shows & audience participation, followed by dancing. We usually didin't stay long though, and headed out to the amazing jacuzzi afterwards. It was nice and large, which gave you room if you wanted it, and a bar dedicated to it. You could also order snacks to the bar, such as some late-night pizza, that was fabulous.

I have to give a special thanks and huge recommendations to all the staff. They were all wonderful - they got us to participate in volleyball, basketball, water arobics and even a pole dancing lesson by the pool! All the activities were fun, and the staff was amazing. The bartenders and waiters were all great too. They remembered us and our drinks, and mixed up some fabulous concoctions while we were there! I rarely had to actually order my evening margarita as the bartender would send one over as soon as we got to the jacuzzi!

The Jacuzzi and pool were both wonderful, as was the beach-front. The space on the beach is rather small, but we spent most of our time in the pool as we were spending the rest of our honeymoon at the beach. It's an infinity pool, so I got plenty of time staring at the water with my margarita in hand, and thoroughly enjoyed the lounge chairs and small jacuzzi attached to the pool as well.

We did take advantage of the opportunity to visit the original Desire down the road one day. It was definitely a bit different - more people, and less space. But it was fun as well - just a little more cozy!

We loved our vacation here, and will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Maria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almere, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We spent two weeks in this resort, and we must say it was amazing. This was our first visit to Desire Pearl.
The room (Master Suite) was magnificent: huge living room, very nice spacious bedroom with kingsize bed, firm but very comfortable, choice of at least 4 types of pillows, two bathrooms, sufficient storage facilities, two balconies.
The pool is large with a more crowded part with swim-up bar, and a more quiet part, with enough chairs and beds to accommodate all guests. Nice beach with beach chairs and beach beds, palm trees and palapas providing shade where needed. The only issue is the rocks in the water, so water shoes are recommended.
We think the jaccuzi is the nicest one we ever saw, transformed from a former childrens pool. It easily can have 50 or more people, is nicely decorated in red, white and black, with different levels. This is the place where the fun is at the end of the afternoon, and after the disco.
As occupancy was rather low when we arrived, only one restaurant was open, which was okay. However, when a group arrived, bring the occupancy up to 80%, the staff was not able to cope with the number of guests and the limited number of seats. This resulted in long waiting times, either before one was seated, or until dishes arrived, once ordered. Quality of food in general is okay, choice being rather limited with an Italian and an international menu. Besides of the menus, however, you always can ask for your favorite dishes, not on the menu. Staff is doing their utmost best to accommodate you.
The disco is a bit over-the-top Vegas style. Every night there is a theme, with corresponding show and/or contest, as well as dress code. When we were ate Pearl, only part of the guests were dressed according to the code for that night. For us preparing at home for the theme nights is part of the fun. After the show a DJ is playing music, which almost every night was techno. The average age of the guests being over 45, this was not really the type of music which was highly appreciated, so the disco most evenings was almost empty around midnight, everybody moving to the lobby bar or jaccuzi.
The staff at Desire Pearl really is the best we ever experienced at any holidays: after two days everybody in restaurants and bars remembered our names and knew exactly what our favorite drinks were at which time of the day. Staff really is pampering the guests, and do everything to make and keep them happy. The entertainment staff was great as well.
We, being the only ones from Europe, met a lot of nice people from US, Canada, Mexico and Latin America, varying from hardcore swingers to people visiting a c/o resort for the first time, and feeling a bit embarrassed by the DPA in and around the jaccuzi and some other places. We had a lot of fun, and certainly will go back next year, despite of some growing pains, which in our opinion certainly will disappear within reasonable time. One should not forget that this resort only opened some months ago.

Room Tip: We had a room at the quiet side of the resort, close to the beach, with nice view on the pool. Rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Hans_Ellis_50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

This place is awesome, loved the environment and the people! It was our first time to this type of resort. It was amazing, I'm actually wondering why didn't I go sooner. I guess I was waiting for The Pearl to open!

In regards to the hotel the place was perfect and I'm a very picky traveler when it comes to accommodations. We upgraded to a penthouse and it was well worth every penny: the bed, pillows, the view spectacular. I think the food and the restaurant service has some room for improvement.
The crowd was really nice, we met a lot of fun people. Very relaxed environment but at the same time very sexy! Loved it! We will be back in January that's for sure.
We fell in love again, just like when we were teenagers. It was an amazing experience for both us, I felt like I was 20 years younger! We had so much fun, and did things together like the couples massage on the water, the private dinner with lobster and then the romantic portrait that was the best!

Room Tip: We recommend room 75 it's perfect! or any other room in the same building they are not to close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mijea76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Morelos
3.1 mi away
Desire Riviera Maya Resort
Desire Riviera Maya Resort
#2 of 34 in Puerto Morelos
1,017 reviews
20.4 mi away
Temptation Cancun Resort
0.9 mi away
Excellence Riviera Cancun
Excellence Riviera Cancun
#2 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
12,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
3.0 mi away
Breathless Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
3.1 mi away
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
#1 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desire Riviera Maya Pearl Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desire Riviera Maya Pearl Resort

Property: Desire Riviera Maya Pearl Resort
Address: Costera Norte | Lote 1 Sm10 Mz. 26, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Morelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Desire Riviera Maya Pearl Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Desire Pearl Resort & Spa Riviera Maya, seductive, clothing optional sanctuary in the Mexican Caribbean, invites you to come with your partner to discover a world of deliciously sensual experiences. A paradise for couples only, this is the place where you can reinvent the meaning of passion, forget inhibitions and enjoy adventures that go beyond your imagination. Surrounded by lingering ocean breezes, powdery white sand and the captivating, picture-perfect hues of the Caribbean Sea, Desire Pearl Resort & Spa Riviera Maya is found in an alluring beach of Puerto Morelos, as an idyllic setting where your most secret fantasies can become true.With an architectural design that resembles an elegant villa and blends perfectly with its vibrant and tropical backdrop, our clothing optional resort features guest rooms, suites and penthouses that have been provided with a balcony or terrace, so that the only witness of those passionate encounters with your partner, will be the most breathtaking views of the Caribbean Sea. As the most exquisite deluxe all-inclusive hotel, Desire Pearl Resort & Spa Riviera Maya has been provided with superb amenities and features that will seduce all of your senses such as an erotic, clothing optional atmosphere, oceanfront pools, beach beds, beach/pool concierges, and an indulging spa. Two restaurants await you with delightful moments as you discover our variety of gourmet, signature dishes and sensual environments that will embrace you with the taste of Desire every night. At Desire Pearl Resort & Spa Riviera Maya, the most enticing, adults oriented daily activities and nightly entertainment will set the perfect scene for flirtatious occasions to enjoy your partner's company, meet other guests as well as unparalleled opportunities to let yourself loose. For the ultimate seductive vacation, keep your mind open, unleash your imagination and surrender to the Desire Pearl Resort & Spa Riviera Maya experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Desire Riviera Maya Pearl Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desire Riviera Maya Pearl Resort Mexico - Puerto Morelos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing