We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun
Ranked #6 of 25 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Fords NJ
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good time”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Having been my 7th trip to Mexican Riviera I am a bit more picky, having stayed at some of the best. Now is beautiful and the service above average. Two major complaints that other travellers should know. One is the restuarants are not air conditioned, making enjoying a good meal tough. The other is the rash of locals over running the resort on the weekends. I will continue to try other resorts as I love this area of Mexico

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jakemax819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,379
    1,766
    663
    199
    110
See reviews for
2,574
2,787
88
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,423)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

My trip to Mexico at the Now Sapphire hotel, listed as Riviera Cancun, and is farther south than the main hotel area of Cancun. This is on the Mayan Riviera close to Puerto Morelos and it was beautiful. It is all inclusive, and has to be, as it is more remote but had great food buffet and 5 restaurants all inside. We were somehow given VIP status which gave us a lounge with high end liquor and snacks and a pool just for VIP members including drink service. We also had a reserved area on the beach where they brought drinks to us at our chairs which were set up with towels each morning. Entertainment was great and not just the usual staff shows. Rooms were nice and clean and the staff was wonderful, friendly and accommodating

Room Tip: We didn't pay for an ocean view but all rooms were very close to the beach. If walking is a pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gilmorecs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We spent 14 nights at the Now Sapphire Riviera and we really enjoyed our stay. We wanted to chill out and that's exactly what we did. Just a few things to mention......
We upgraded to the Preferred Club and pleased we did. On arrival after a long flight, we were given our room keys and given the low down on the resort. Then we were sent to see Illiana, who was lovely, a good sales lady, unfortunately for us she went on for a long time and it was difficult with the language barrier. We were too tired to listen to her and I just went along with what she said. Then realised when I got to the room, that I'd agreed to her 90 minute meeting at another hotel the next day. We decided not to go and let her know, she was a bit upset but we made light of it in the end.
We were confused when it came to the 'tips/gratuities'. I was under the impression that these were included. We saw some people tipping. I felt that we should get the same service from the staff irrespective of the tip. It became apparent that money talks.
Cleanliness all round was good.
The marble floors look fantastic, but are difficult to walk on with high heels.
It was Mexican Independence Day when we were there, which was great, as we got to learn about the culture, the costumes and the food.
Restaurants, all were good, I loved Lemongrass the Asian dining experience. The Paramour was lovely, extra special service. I personally wasn't impressed with the Bluewater Grill. Cibu was closed the nights we wanted to return. The Market Cafe was good, I prefer to be waited on though.
Note the hotel is much busier at the weekends and you may have to queue for meals.
The beach and the Preferred Pool were fantastic. Ivan was most helpful, shame he was on vacation for 6 days.
We moved rooms on the 11th day as we thought we had bed bugs, as each day we woke up to more bites. We expected an apology and some compensation for this, we were promised some wine and cheese, it never arrived!
Rooms: Our first room 402 Tropical View on the ground floor was dark and damp. Our second room 429 Tropical View was better, brighter and not so damp. Would recommend a Sea View.
We didn't try the Spa, bit expensive for what you get I think.
The little extras with the Preferred I thought were good (a shame we neeeded to pay for these extras!). We needed Wifi and this was included (although as mentioned we did pay for this service). It was nice to have a quiet lounge to relax in, this included drinks and food.
Saw some great wildlife, a raccoon, a coatimundi and some iguanas.
We went on the shopping trip to Playa del Carmen twice. The first time we felt we didn't get long enough to look around. The roads are awful, full of pot holes.
I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Confirm your exact room type up front!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LittleJ0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince Albert, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

A true 5 star in my opinion. Felt catered to from the moment we walked in. Nice little extras like free room service was appreciated, we travelled with young kids. We were there for a wedding, and the cocktail hour and supper service the resort did for the wedding was spectacular.
Every staff member except maybe front desk went out of their way to stop and talk to our 8 month old. One worker in the lobby bar area would even take her from her stroller and show her off to other employees.
The grounds are nice, the multi building layout was my only complaint as we had #6. Ocean front, but furthest from the core area, so a lot of walking back and forth to the room to change. We were there Sept. 24 to Oct 1 and it was very hot. Ocean was red flagged all week due to jellt fish but some still went in. Water was bath tub warm, but murky with lots of seaweed.
All in all, very happy with the place, but would recommend trying for a room closer in then what we had

Room Tip: I would suggest ocean front in the 2 or 300 block to be close enough to enjoy, but far enough to avo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Waterboy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Clean, well maintained resort. Was there for a week for a friend's destination wedding in April--well organized. Our rooms were furthest from the ocean but seemed quietest. Glad we didn't sign up for the premium ones (superb view) because we were out of our rooms for most of the time. Staff were always courteous, attentive and helpful. Meals at the restaurants were mostly good. Breakfast buffets were replenished very regularly; fresh fruit and cooked to order food were nice. Lunch was okay too. Dinners at different themed restaurants varied--best, in my opinion, was the Mexican restaurant. Don't bother with the Asian one. Watch out for loud, drunk Canadians--they start pretty early by the pool bar. Yoga classes were great; poolside dance and exercise classes were fun too. Went fishing; our group caught a half dozen fish, which we gave to the crew of the boat. Found out later that the resort could've cleaned and cooked them for our dinner. Would come back here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank titabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

My husband and I returned yesterday from Now Sapphire-Riviera Maya! We went for our 25th anniversary, and our choice could not have been better. We purchased the preferred package from the beginning. Our oceanfront room was unbelievable! The rooms and the entire resort was extremely neat, and clean and well cared for. The wait staff, housekeeping staff, and pool and beach staff were absolutely top-notch! Jose Louis, Israel, and Ivan make you feel like you are part of their family! I was actually so sad to have to say good-bye! We enjoyed the restaurants, especially the Blue Water Grill, and the breakfast buffet- the omlet lady was superb! The bars, the lobby bands, and most of the entertainment were enjoyable! Yes there is seaweed on the beach constantly, but they clean it up as fast as it washes up!
I would go back tomorrow if I could! We will return again hopefully sooner than later!
The views are amazing! The pools are great, the busy pool, and the preferred pool-is wonderful because it is quiet, yet there is still a bar, and service that is above any other I have ever experienced!

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the preferred-it is so worth the money! we stayed on the 1st floor, beach side, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Marwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We returned home yesterday after visiting this excellent resort. We arrived at the hotel last Saturday and was greeted with a cocktail and a cold flannel. All rooms at the hotel are called suites. We had the deluxe tropical view which is just the standard room. When we arrived staff were very welcoming and we were in our room within 30 mins which included the personal welcome chat. The room itself was clean, very well presented and furnished as would be expected. The room was split into 3 main parts, bathroom, bedroom and lounge area. The room was cleaned every day and the minibar was replenished daily witout fail. We stayed on the second floor of block 14. Block 14 was very central and overall a good place to be as far enough away but not too far away at the same time.

Part of the welcome chat was an invite to the sister resort of dreams for breakfast and a tour etc. Please note, this is a sales presentation. I was told it was a sales presentation before we went. The idea is signing up for a holiday payment scheme which sounded quite good but wasnt for us. The sales people are not pushy at all.

Back to the Now Sapphire...... The resort itself is superb....so much to do and in our case not enough time to do it!! You can do as much or as little as you'd like to. The entertainment team aren't pushy at all and will leave you alone if you arent interested. The pool area is kept clean and is in good condition. At the end of the day the staff even go around the pool and straighten up all of the sunbeds so they are all in perfect lines. The pool are is large enough to find a quiet spot as well.

The "cherry on top" for this resort is the food......6 restaurants and a coffee shop. They are all follows:
Market Buffet (Standard Buffet)
Fresca (Mexican)
Paramour (French)
Cibu (Mediterranen)
Lemongrass (Asian)
Bluewater Grill (Grill)

We tried them all apart from the french. All the food we had was superb. However, our favourite was the Bluewater Grill. Normally housed outside depending on weather, they offered great fish and steaks. Have a look at the menus online to get an idea. The buffet restaurant was good buffet food too not just mass produced. The buffet was also very varied and you'd struggle not to find something you liked. Check out the omellettes at breakfast!!

The staff work very hard to keep you happy. Constantly serving drinks/food, always friendly and helpful.

Other points to note:
Gym was well equipped and clean.
Spa looked good but cant really comment as we didn't use it.
Kids club looked very comprehensive and lasted all day.
Activities started at 9 and fined at 4. Rain alternatives also in place.
Evening entertainment was varied and as expected.
Had some good bands play in the lobby bar during the week we were there.

All in all, a great resort which painted a great pictuire of Mexico for our first time, just a shame we didn't have longer there......

Room Tip: We were on the second floor next to a noisy ice machine. Try to get a third floor room if possible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Morelos
3.9 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#8 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
8,775 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
#39 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
9,490 reviews
8.0 mi away
Moon Palace Cancun
Moon Palace Cancun
#24 of 175 in Cancun
21,733 reviews
10.3 mi away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#7 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4,700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun

Property: Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun
Address: Super Manzana 11 Manzana 9 Lote 10, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#6 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#6 Spa Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#7 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#8 Green Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun 4*
Number of rooms: 496
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now Sapphire Riviera cancun Set in a tropical landscape of palm trees, soft sand and sparkling azure sea, combining a AAA Four Diamond award designation with Unlimited-Luxury(R) amenities, Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun redefines all-inclusive and offers the perfect escape for families with teens and tweens, couples and friends. Our Unlimited-Luxury(R) experience at Now Sapphire, where everything is included, is redefining all-inclusive. Spacious rooms and suites are graciously appointed and luxuriously equipped with amenities. Active and lively settings provide entertainment for guests of all ages, including kids, teens and tweens with the supervised Explorer's Club for Kids with Red Cross certified staff and Core Zone Teens Club. It's all wristband-free! At Now Sapphire, these amenities include: Limitless access to gourmet à la carte dining options without reservations required Unlimited international & domestic top-shelf spirits Unlimited natural fruit juices and soft drinks 24-hour room, 24-hour Coco Cafe & concierge services Pool and beach wait service Daily refreshed mini-bar with soft drinks, juice, bottled water & beer Daily maid service Endless daytime activities and nightly entertainment Theme parties, oceanfront bars and entertainment venues No wristbands required All taxes and gratuities Enjoy free Wi-Fi and free international calling to the US, Canada and Mexico with Unlimited Connectivity. The mobile app also allows guests to view the schedules of all events, activities and restaurants at the resort, plus to learn about local destinations, excursions, and much more Unlimited-Luxury(R) for reconnecting every generation ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun Hotel Puerto Morelos
Paradisus Puerto Morelos
Paradisus Hotel Puerto Morelos
Paradisus Riviera Maya
Paradisus Riviera Cancun Hotel
Paradisus Riviera Cancun Resort
Paradisus Cancun
Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Morelos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing