We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Buys”

Puerto Morelos Flea Market
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Shelter Island, New York, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Buys”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Great buys and friendly local's, if you want to meet local people from the area must visit Puerto Morelos

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank cjoanne58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    30
    12
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Flea or Flee Market?”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We took a taxi from our hotel one evening into Puerto Morelos ($20 U.S.) . We had heard that the shopping here was as good as Playa delCarmen, but much cheaper. The flea market was one short street with several open air stores which sold souveniers. Most of the merchandise was generic Mexican on the very low-end. My husband bought a refrigerator magnet for $10.00)! Way over priced! We did,however stroll farther into town . to see the lighthouse, pier, and a lovely old church. At the beach a genuine Marriachi band - complete with harp - was providing free entertainment. The town is small and poor, but has a certain charm. I would recommend taking an hour to see the town, but skip shopping. If you want to shop, go into Playa delCarmen.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank lscCanfield_Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Walked into town”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We loved the chance to walk into town to go to the flea market and other shops. It was so much fun to just walk around a little Mexican city.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank munterbrink05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sight seeing”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Small town.Very friendly, Not far from the Hotel. The cab driver came back for us in a pre- planned time. found lots of good deals.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank loveana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Du Bois, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great off the beaten path town”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We took a bus down to this quaint town to do some snorkeling and found this town to be a great place to get away. It's situated around a square but has a few streets off it with some shops. Shops are about the same and there are still vendors trying to lure you in, but more respectful. If you like the Vegas style of Cancun hotel zone, you wouldn't like this.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Puerto Morelos Flea Market also viewed

 
Puerto Morelos, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Puerto Morelos Flea Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing