We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very warm and relaxing environment away from the crowd.”
Review of Acamaya Reef

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Acamaya Reef
Ranked #18 of 27 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Reviewed June 1, 2014

If you want to just go and enjoy the beach and get away from the tourists n busyness this is the place to be. The owners were very friendly and welcomed us with a warm smile. Made us feel very comfortable.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Carmen_tellez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noel U, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Acamaya Reef, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2017

Dear guest,

We appreciate that you selected the Hotel Acamaya Reef Cabanas in Puerto Morelos for your stay. We hope to see you again soon in this paradise.

Thank you very much for your comments, this helps us improve our service.

We are a hotel on a beautiful beach in the Riviera Maya and we love to make unforgettable moments for people.

Our Hotel is one of the first in the Hotel Zone of Puerto Morelos, however, we are not a luxury hotel, we believe that being Ocean Front and maintaining a natural environment will help us give a better experience for people.

Again thank you for your stay in our Hotel.
Staff at Hotel Acamaya Reef Cabañas Puerto Morelos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 128 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2014

Stayed at Acamaya for 7 days. The rooms are all you need for a no frills stay on the beach: our cabana was about three yards away from the beach. Management kept it very clean and provided fresh towels every other day. The fan and AC available in our room were great additions which we were not expecting. The hotel has a small beach bar with drinks and snacks. While the music was loud at times when we were reading on the beach, management did turn it down promptly when we asked. A hidden gem near Puerto Morelos if all-inclusive hotels are not your thing.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
8  Thank C L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noel U, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Acamaya Reef, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2017

Dear guest,

We appreciate that you selected the Hotel Acamaya Reef Cabanas in Puerto Morelos for your stay. We hope to see you again soon in this paradise.

Thank you very much for your comments, this helps us improve our service.

We are a hotel on a beautiful beach in the Riviera Maya and we love to make unforgettable moments for people.

Our Hotel is one of the first in the Hotel Zone of Puerto Morelos, however, we are not a luxury hotel, we believe that being Ocean Front and maintaining a natural environment will help us give a better experience for people.

Again thank you for your stay in our Hotel.
Staff at Hotel Acamaya Reef Cabañas Puerto Morelos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We were flying out of Cancun and needed a place not too far from the airport. Stumbled across Acamaya online and were delighted when we arrived and saw what a special place it was. Thatched roofs, mature palms, beautiful sand, and right on the beach. Daisy and her son were welcoming and helpful. When we arrived they couldn't find our reservation (I gave them the wrong name), but there was never any worries or tension, they said not to worry they would take care of us.

There is nothing fancy about Acamaya, but for me it felt luxurious to be in such a beautiful setting. It was a window into what the area must have been like before resorts/condos lined the beach.

I didn't realize it until we got there, but Acamaya was the perfect way for us to end our vacation, so relaxed, so beautiful. My only regret is that we only had 2 night there. But we will be back!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank K C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noel U, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Acamaya Reef, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2017

Dear guest,

We appreciate that you selected the Hotel Acamaya Reef Cabanas in Puerto Morelos for your stay. We hope to see you again soon in this paradise.

Thank you very much for your comments, this helps us improve our service.

We are a hotel on a beautiful beach in the Riviera Maya and we love to make unforgettable moments for people.

Our Hotel is one of the first in the Hotel Zone of Puerto Morelos, however, we are not a luxury hotel, we believe that being Ocean Front and maintaining a natural environment will help us give a better experience for people.

Again thank you for your stay in our Hotel.
Staff at Hotel Acamaya Reef Cabañas Puerto Morelos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

I loved my stay at Acamaya. The little beach cabana was adorable and had an in room sink, lots of shelves for my stuff, and was colorfully painted. It felt so homey and cozy! The staff are exceptionally friendly and there are a couple of resident dogs too. They look ferocious but really just wanted head scratches. Aww. My only complaint is that the rooms aren't cleaned everyday. I dont need my sheets changed but just the sand to be swept out. Also the shared toilet is a little funny because sometimes I'd walk in on a staff member who didn't bother to close the door. Showers had a hot water knob but no hot water. Brrr! There is food and beer available which was great because there is nothing else on that part of the beach but the food choices are mostly premade, not Mexican food. Still i appreciated the chance to have a snack, otherwise it is a 45 minute walk to town on the lovely beach (great exercise!). Overall this has got to be the best value on the beach and it has a nice rustic Mexican ambiance and you can hear the waves crashing at night. I will absolutely stay here again next time. In fact, someone generously gave me a night in one of the nearby fancy resorts and I actually couldn't wait to get back to the friendly casual atmosphere at acamaya.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank darcitananda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noel U, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Acamaya Reef, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2017

Dear guest,

We appreciate that you selected the Hotel Acamaya Reef Cabanas in Puerto Morelos for your stay. We hope to see you again soon in this paradise.

Thank you very much for your comments, this helps us improve our service.

We are a hotel on a beautiful beach in the Riviera Maya and we love to make unforgettable moments for people.

Our Hotel is one of the first in the Hotel Zone of Puerto Morelos, however, we are not a luxury hotel, we believe that being Ocean Front and maintaining a natural environment will help us give a better experience for people.

Again thank you for your stay in our Hotel.
Staff at Hotel Acamaya Reef Cabañas Puerto Morelos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed in Acamaya Reef Cabana #4 last week. The staff were super friendly and helped us plan our days and find cool activities. They even set us up with a taxi that was patient and helpful and took us around town on a moment's notice. The room is basic but has A/C, private bathroom with hot shower but bring your own shampoo. It was sufficient for our stay which included activities for most of the day anyway. The personalized attention and service are a welcome touch compared to the mega resorts next door.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cruzker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noel U, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Acamaya Reef, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2017

Dear guest,

We appreciate that you selected the Hotel Acamaya Reef Cabanas in Puerto Morelos for your stay. We hope to see you again soon in this paradise.

Thank you very much for your comments, this helps us improve our service.

We are a hotel on a beautiful beach in the Riviera Maya and we love to make unforgettable moments for people.

Our Hotel is one of the first in the Hotel Zone of Puerto Morelos, however, we are not a luxury hotel, we believe that being Ocean Front and maintaining a natural environment will help us give a better experience for people.

Again thank you for your stay in our Hotel.
Staff at Hotel Acamaya Reef Cabañas Puerto Morelos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

This is an excellent place to stay if you're not interested in big resorts with pools and concrete blocks. The huts are basic but with character and clean. The resort is simple but the customer service is impeccable. The staff are patient and helpful and the place is peaceful and quiet. I really enjoyed my stay. A couple of small whinges - my hut had no air condition which I was happy with, but there are no mosquito nets so I got eaten alive every night by mosquitoes. It's wonderful to be right on the beach, but it's a long walk to the town centre. Bikes can be rented for a mere US$5 a day and it's only 15 minutes away, but the bike they loaned me was pretty broken and even though I'm an experience cyclist it was quite scary to be riding a flimsy bikes through port hole roads. Still, all small issues, I would go back there again should I ever travel there. Puerto Morelos is close to Cancun but has so much more character.

Room Tip: I stayed in #5, loved my place (apart from Mosquitoes) hammock on the balcony overlooking ocean - wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank citizen_1903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noel U, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Acamaya Reef, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2017

Dear guest,

We appreciate that you selected the Hotel Acamaya Reef Cabanas in Puerto Morelos for your stay. We hope to see you again soon in this paradise.

Thank you very much for your comments, this helps us improve our service.

We are a hotel on a beautiful beach in the Riviera Maya and we love to make unforgettable moments for people.

Our Hotel is one of the first in the Hotel Zone of Puerto Morelos, however, we are not a luxury hotel, we believe that being Ocean Front and maintaining a natural environment will help us give a better experience for people.

Again thank you for your stay in our Hotel.
Staff at Hotel Acamaya Reef Cabañas Puerto Morelos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

After job duties in Cancun we moved to this peaceful place to spend our vacation here and we definitely haven't regret it at all! Cabanas are an island of non-commercialism between the hotel resorts fortresses. Owners are nice and really helpful if you ask for assistance with trip organization etc., and they have two great dogs. You can get drinks in local bar during the day; snacks are also available and for bigger meal or shopping you can walk (2km along the beach) or bike (bikes are available to rent from the owners) to Puerto Morelos. Cabanas are cozy and clean but naturally not hermetic for wildlife as geckos (which was awesome for us as biologists). For these reasons we can fully recommend it to everybody who doesn't prefer super fancy but artificial hotel resorts. Acamaya Reef Cabanas were definitely a perfect choice for me and my husband.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
8  Thank Misha29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noel U, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Acamaya Reef, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Hey! Thank you very much or your comments! Hope to have you back soon in the area!

Kind regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Morelos hotels
2.0 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Morelos
Hotel Hacienda Morelos
#16 of 27 in Puerto Morelos
412 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Arrecifes Suites
Hotel Arrecifes Suites
#17 of 27 in Puerto Morelos
88 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Ojo De Agua
Hotel Ojo De Agua
#25 of 27 in Puerto Morelos
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel el Moro
Hotel el Moro
#15 of 27 in Puerto Morelos
294 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ocean Coral & Turquesa
Ocean Coral & Turquesa
#13 of 27 in Puerto Morelos
11,727 reviews
0.1 mi away
Excellence Riviera Cancun
Excellence Riviera Cancun
#2 of 27 in Puerto Morelos
12,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acamaya Reef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acamaya Reef

Address: Carretera Cancun-Tulum, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range: $46 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Acamaya Reef 1*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Description: Welcome to “Acamaya Reef Cabañas & Beach Club” in Puerto Morelos, a unique Hotel on the beach with cabanas in the Caribbean Sea with its own style, simple, charming and comfortable and above all let’s not forget that we are an Eco-hotel, trying to improve in recycling and other activities to help the world to be a better place.We are located in the middle of the Puerto Morelos National Marine Park with the Second Largest Reef in the World right in front of our little cabanas, making it an even more special place to stay. You can go on a Snorkeling Tour right from the hotel and enjoy the fantastic coral formations where you will see hundreds of multi-colored fishes.We are not a five star resort; we are only a Puerto Morelos Eco-hotel on the Beach! with cabanas But we have all of the needed services like Massages right on the beach, Restaurant and Bar Service, Kayaks and Bike rentals, free parking lot, free wireless Internet and we also have the Concierge service for anything else you may need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Acamaya Reef reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acamaya Reef Hotel Puerto Morelos
Acamaya Reef Puerto Morelos
Acamaya Reef Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Morelos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing