We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not as good as we had hoped” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of David Laus - CLOSED

David Laus
Cuisines: Italian, Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: A popular restaurant with both residents and travelers for over 5 years. It's eclectic menu means it has something for everyone. All food cooked to order, so I can even get gluten free.
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not as good as we had hoped”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

We went here based on reviews and were a little disappointed.

We had HUGE and delicious margaritas ( strong ), and shared a won ton soup, which was pretty good. And an order of crab rangoons that we enjoyed.

We got chicken egg foo yung which would have been quite tasty , but was severely oversalted.

Our second dish was coconut shrimp, which as reviewers warned, was very sweet. However, that sweetness transfered nicely to the accompanying rice.

The wait staff were friendly and service was quick.

If the shrimp were a little less sweet, and the egg foo yung a lot less salty it would have been an excellent meal.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank justjoy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    14
    6
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
82 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Regulars to Pto Morelos have this among their staples”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

Good Chinese restaurant
English speaking manager - friendly
Good food a number of times
Long term winter residents seem to like and recommend this place as a restaurant that is good and consistent

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank FrankDowling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Oriental, but with menu variety”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

This is one of our favorite places to eat during our stay in Puerto Morelos each winter. We've ordered Pad Thai chicken, cashew chicken, sweet & sour and have been with friends who ordered pizza...how's that for pleasing personal tastes! When we left in December they had done some repainting, had table cloths all matching and in general the decor looked very inviting. You have a choice of tables on the sidewalk, inside but open to the view of the park and it's happenings, or more secluded inside tables for conversation. They have a back room which used to have occasional bands playing...making a nice evening out in PM. Hope they can get that working again. If so, stop by early in the day and reserve a table for you and your friends.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank beachgal1036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
111 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Best Chinese food ever had.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

We were reluctant to eat chinese food in Mexico however it was one of the only places open on New Years day. What? how can chinese be this good? especially in Mexico. Do it just have some chinese there so you can see for yourself.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank stylin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Almanor, Ca
Level Contributor
58 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wasn't Open”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

We can from Playa Del Carmen today -Friday for lunch. Everywhere I saw on websites stated it opened at 1:00 on Fridays. It was closed. A little disappointed as we were looking forward to Chinese food

Didn't want to drive back to Playa as we were hungry. We found a cute restaurant Las Palmeras, which turn out to just fine. See trip report for this restaurant.



    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Thenut1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed David Laus also viewed

Puerto Morelos, Riviera Maya
Puerto Morelos, Riviera Maya
 
Puerto Morelos, Riviera Maya
Puerto Morelos, Riviera Maya
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing