We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“delicious”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of El Merkadito

El Merkadito
Ranked #11 of 138 Restaurants in Puerto Morelos
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“delicious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

seafood restaurant.
"mejillones al vino blanco" and carpaccio were just delicious! and this with a good beer is like heaven.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Camille2704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

971 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    547
    252
    72
    45
    55
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Pleasant lunch by default”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

Frogmarched to this place by pushy woman who insisted the restaurant we were looking for was closed - although we did actually walk past it on the way back from El Merkadito and it appeared very open - and no good. etc etc You know the drill. Anyway we were hot and bothered and hungry.
El Merkadito itself very pleasant with terrace onto beach. We both had Cerviche which was great but not necessarily better than anywhere else. Service not swift but does it really need to be in this neck of the woods.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Ceviche Ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

My girlfriends and I came here on the suggestion of Sandra, owner of the Jungle Spa, after our amazing massages. It was the perfect way to end our day. We sat on the beach chairs behind the restaurant, drinking coronas, while enjoying the perfect view. As the sun set, we went up into to the restaurant for dinner. We ordered the mixed ceviche- a combo of shrimp, octupus and white fish- as an appetizer. It was honestly the most delicious ceviche I've ever had. I then had shrimp tacos for dinner, which were scrumptious. If you're making a day of Puerto Morelos, this is definitely a place to try!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eurobound77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akumal, Mexico
Level Contributor
125 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

I love the charm of this restaurant, funky, casual, welcoming. The food was tasty, a wide variety of tacos y tostadas. The service was good. The drinks are served in big metal cups which adds to the funky feel. It is a super fun place to go with friends.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank locogringocom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great views and seafood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

The place has great views, fresh seafood and a very laid back vibe. We enjoyed a few cocktails & beers and some tasty ceviche.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rick Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Merkadito also viewed

Puerto Morelos, Riviera Maya
Puerto Morelos, Riviera Maya
 
Puerto Morelos, Riviera Maya
Puerto Morelos, Riviera Maya
 

Been to El Merkadito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing