We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“winter trip from ireland”
Review of Jolie Jungle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jolie Jungle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 23, 2013

This place is a jewel!

We booked in here for the first two nights of our 3 week trip to mexico as we had absolutely no desire to stay in Cancun/resortland. This was quite expensive, but was such a great introduction.

Anais (the daughter) was really helpful via email before our arrival, and we got nice clear instructions on how to drive to the Jolie Jungle. It's set back off the road, so nice and easy to get to, with a security guy/barrier at the road. Anais was very welcoming, and showed us to the beautiful cabana, in a quiet and peaceful location. The cabana is wonderfully built, with good mosquito nets and insect proofed as well as can be done (it is still the jungle, and sensible precautions required). However, the room was homely and welcoming, with a very nice bed and spacious shower. Strangely, of all the places we visited we had the least problem with biting insects here in the jungle!
We were straight out to look for birds though and the place provides an excellent starter for a birding trip in Mexico, with lots of jungle paths and lots of bird species.
The restaurant and communal area is a credit to Dino (the french dad) who has put a huge amount of high quality work into the site, and kept it truly eco friendly as far as is possible. He cooks some lovely food too - we ordered 'something with chicken' the first night and left it up to him, and were not disappointed with a lovely meal mixing french and mexican tastes.
Paul (the son) was also a great host, very helpful and great fun, loved to chat and practice his very good english.
All in all Jolie Jungle turned out to be one of the major highlights of our stay, and we were quite sad that we couldnt get back at the end of our trip. It was made extra special by Dino, Anais and Paul, but is a gem in its own right, peaceful, cosy and welcoming.
Now, if they could just drop the price a small bit....!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ciaran C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JolieJungle, Owner at Jolie Jungle, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Hello,
This is Dino,
Thank you so much for your comments,
I hope you will keep good remembers of JOLIE JUNGLE and you return was peaceful.
Thank you again for staying with us and believe we still are at your service.
Best regards,
DINO.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (164)
There are newer reviews for Jolie Jungle
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 164 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2013

Looking for peace ? wouldn t you like to forget the busy world for a while ? Would you like to experience the real jungle without having to refuse the comfort of civilisation ? In dies Eco-louge you can have it all , simple but very tasfully decorated bungalows with very comfortable beds and pillows,warm water and electricity,a very nice natural water pool with pool towels and a Tezmacal and a fantastic Restaurant in a palapa.Dino,the host,gives his heart in everything he does,specially in preparing absolutly delicious food.He ist the king of "Guacamole ", but everything he prepares (pasta,fish,creppes, breakfast etc..) it tastes great.The music at the restaurant was also very good.To hear every moning the sound of the birds and walk around and feel the richness of nature was a very nice experience .We enjoyed talking to Dino(and to his son Paul ).Dino has undestood what it is important in life and is one of the few wo lives his own values everyday.

Room Tip: Bungalow nr 6 was very nice.If you have wishes or questions i am sure Dino will try to fullfill your...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carla12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JolieJungle, Owner at Jolie Jungle, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Hello,
This is Dino,
Thank you so much for your comments,
I hope you will keep good remembers of JOLIE JUNGLE and you return was peaceful and was a JOLIEV WAY BACK.
Than you again for staying with us and believe we still are at your service.
Best regards,
DINO.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in a suite at the Jolie Jungle. It was a great change from the beach! The best part about this small lodge is the personalized service and the amazing restaurant/lounge area. Our kids had a great time hanging out in the hammocks listening to the sounds of the jungle. This is a great getaway for a couple of nights but I would recommend getting a car if you plan to stay here for more than two nights. We didn't have a car when we arrived but Anais was very helpful in arranging the rental of a car for us, they even drove us into town to pick it up! There are a lot of cenotes to visit on the road between Puerto Morelos and Jolie Jungle.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CalgaryHamsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JolieJungle, Owner at Jolie Jungle, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Hello,
This is Dino, I'm sorry to answer you late but I want to thank you so much for your comments,
I hope you will keep good remembers of JOLIE JUNGLE and you return was peaceful.
Than you again for staying with us and believe we still are at your service.
Best regards,
DINO.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

What a special place: magical, mystical, peaceful. The bungalows are spread around the large property so that each has privacy. Ours was spacious and comfortable, containing a bed with mosquito netting (although we had no mosquitoes during our visit), table and chairs, and sofa. The toilet is in a separate room from the shower and wash basin. In the morning you wake to bird song. Eighty species of birds have been identified on the property and it is a favorite of bird watchers. Paths meander through the jungle.

Dino, one half of the couple who own and run the lodge, was amazing to us. (His wife was away during our visit). He is an excellent chef and easily accommodated our preferences, including vegetarian for me. Continental breakfasts were included, with freshly squeezed local juices, fresh fruit, toast and coffee/tea. We had our lunches and dinners there as well, and all meals were creative, full of flavor, and enjoyable. There is a small bar with liquor, wine, beer, and soft drinks for purchase. The building that houses the restaurant and bar is comfortable, open air surrounded by foliage, and has an upstairs lounging area with chairs and hammocks. We tended to sit on the ground-floor outside patio before dinner, enjoying a beverage, the resident dogs Taco and Leica, and the general ambience. Taco and Leica are adorable dogs who came with Dino from Paris and who love living at the jungle lodge. As dog lovers, we really enjoyed spending time with them.

When we checked in, we expressed to Dino our interest in going to a cenote and also participating in the Temazcal. The next day he dropped us off at Cenote Verde Lucero, went to do some shopping, and picked us up again later. We loved this cenote, with its zip line that allows you to drop into the clear, fresh water, surrounded by trees, a lovely setting and a wonderful experience. There weren't a lot of people there and it is not at all touristy; a perfect choice for your cenote experience.

The Mayan Temazcal ritual was amazing. It requires hours of preparation on the part of Dino's helper, "el hombre del fuego", as he tends the fire of lava rocks and makes other preparations. Dino explained the temazcal history and ritual to us, which is fascinating and spiritual. This particular temazcal structure was built for Dino and his wife's wedding. Once the lava rocks were ready, eucalyptus and other oils put into hot water, incense lit in strategic places, and fresh aloe cut, the three of us entered the temazcal on our knees, bowing our heads to the ground and saying a special Mayan phrase thanking the gods. The Mayans would sit on the ground but we had a bench for comfort. We wore our bathing suits. Dino gave each of us a piece of aloe with the long side peeled to expose the flesh, and we rubbed it on our bodies. Dino sat by the entrance and he and his helper moved hot lava from outside to the inside fire pit via a shovel. Each time the shovel went in and out, the special phrase of thanks was repeated. The hot oils were poured over the lava rocks, creating a cleansing steam that we inhaled through our noses and expelled through our mouths. We were in the temazcal for an hour and a quarter, which Dino said was the short version! We shared at times, we sat quietly much of the time, and we continued to soften our skin with the aloe. Interestingly, while we were certainly hot and perspiring, we were comfortable the entire time. About halfway through, fresh hot lava rocks were passed in and put into the inner fire pit. When we were through in the temazcal, we exited and went to the swimming pool, which is filled with cenote water. It was beautifully refreshing. The pool is surrounded by tall trees. We floated on our backs and watched the stars high above the treetops. It was a special, magical experience.

Had I known how nice the cenote water felt, I would have gone in the pool earlier.

I highly recommend spending time at the Jolie Jungle Lodge. Even if you can go for just a couple of days, do so. It's only about a half hour drive from the coast and Puerto Morelos but it's a whole different world. I can't say enough about Dino; what a wonderful man. He did so much extra to make our stay as special as it was.

Room Tip: All bungalows are private; any one would be fine.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank axasal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JolieJungle, Owner at Jolie Jungle, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Hello,
This is Dino,
First of all, sorry to answer so late. I wanted to thank you so much for your nice comments,
I hope you will keep good remembers of JOLIE JUNGLE and you return was peaceful.
Than you again for staying with us and believe we still are at your service.
Best regards,
DINO.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Owners and staff are very helpful and accommodating. Breakfast is a very nice fruit plate, juice, coffee and breads. It is a bit out of the way to Puerto Morelos, but it is a very relaxing place. The rooms are very authentic Mexican and very very clean. Beds even have netting over them, but there were no bugs. It is was wonderful to hear all of the birds and animals in the mornings. Pool was not open when we were there, but we did visit a nearby cenote. They had a good selection of wine.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelhorse60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JolieJungle, Owner at Jolie Jungle, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Hello,
This is Dino, I first am sorry to answer you so late however I want to thank you very much for your comments which will help us to always give a better service to our customers.
I hope you will keep good remembers of JOLIE JUNGLE and you return was peaceful.
Than you again for staying with us and believe we still are at your service.
Best regards,
DINO.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

The place is small so you get a very personal welcome. The owners will take some time with you to show you the place and make recommendations on where to go and what to visit in the area. This is an ecological small resort in the middle of the Yucatan jungle. Of the 20 hectares of land they own, 95% was preserved as primary forest. Perfect for birdwatchers and nature lovers. I have observed around 80 species of birds in 4 mornings spent there. Birdwatchers visiting Yucatan must stay here a few nights.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fred B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JolieJungle, Propietario at Jolie Jungle, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2015

Hello, thank you very much for your review, its very nice that you metion we preserve the nature, and it`s a perfect place for Bird watchers. Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

OMG, the road between Tulum and Cancun is a showcase of BIG money, commercialism and lack of soul. But turn 26 km west, on the Road of Cenotes, and you arrive to this property located on a spacious swath of untouched jungle. Birds galore, quiet nights. Very personable, caring hosts, Neda and Dino. They fix french dinners, a bit on pricey side, but a welcomed respite from tacos. They also have an ample supply of good wines. Basically, all ingredients for a perfect night on their classy restaurant patio in the jungle. Beds were SOFT, high quality mattresses. We reached Jolie Jungle at the end of the Yucatan road trip, and my back was maimed by rock-hard mexican mattresses. What a relief! We also liked their line of natural hair products with Mayan honey. Easy drive to Puerto Morelos, a nice seaside town. Would never ever stay in Cancun after discovering Jolie Jungle.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Morelos hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel el Moro
Hotel el Moro
#15 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
288 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Morelos
Hotel Hacienda Morelos
#17 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
396 reviews
2.0 mi away
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
#1 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#8 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
8,946 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ocean Coral & Turquesa
Ocean Coral & Turquesa
#13 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
11,549 reviews
2.0 mi away
Excellence Riviera Cancun
Excellence Riviera Cancun
#2 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
12,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jolie Jungle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jolie Jungle

Address: Ruta de Los Cenotes Pto Morelos-L Vicario Km 26. 5, Puerto Morelos 77560, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Morelos
Price Range: $76 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jolie Jungle 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jolie Jungle has great appeal thanks to true ecological environment around us, it is characterized in that it is located away from the bustle of the city, surrounded mostly by forest. Jolie Jungle is an ecological hotel that offers a unique experience for nature lovers, it's a real atmosphere of peace and tranquility, with a unique and ideal landscape for bird and butterfly watchers. Our Bungalows are total confort and fullfill ecological standards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Otel, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Jolie Jungle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jolie Jungle Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Morelos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing