We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay!”
Review of Casitas Kinsol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casitas Kinsol
Certificate of Excellence
Kitchener, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely stay!”
Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

Lovely stay. You can rent rooms with kitchenette which proved to be wonderful considering there is amazing fruits and veggies to be found just down the street.
Nice, rustic and relaxing. We will be back!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hopoutdoyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    45
    7
    3
    4
See reviews for
20
105
42
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malone, New York
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

We have stayed at Casitas Kinsol twice. The first time was 4 years ago. We were on a 3 week vacation of the Yucatan and we spent the first 4 days and the last 4 days of our vacation with Christine and Alain at Casitas Kinsol. We loved the space- beautiful secluded garden area to relax in, clean, comfortable nicely decorated rooms. And Christine and Alain are wonderful hosts. They truly mean it when they say you come as a guest and leave as a friend. We were so happy to be going back to Casitas Kinsol at the end of our trip around the Yucatan. We felt like we were coming home.
We only got to stay at Casitas Kinsol for one night on our vacation this past December because of bad weather and flight cancellations, but it was even more lovely than 4 years ago. The whole space is just so comfortable and relaxing. It's located in La Colonia- the part of Puerto Morelos that is close to the highway and a short ride from the beach town. The neighborhood is safe and friendly. There is a great fruit and vegetable market one block away that has 2 coolers full of fresh squeezed juices everyday. There are lots of inexpensive places to eat, places to buy tortillas, laundromat, everything you need. It's a great home base to do day trips to many different places in the Yucatan. Christine and Alain are full of helpful information on where to go, how to get there and most anything you need to know to plan your stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roseanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

I'm so glad I chose to stay at this place. Myself and my daughter can't stand the typical tourist trap places, jammed with vendors and hagglers, very common in the Riviera Maya. Casitas Kinsol is located in the Puerto Morelos town itself, where real mexicans live. The whole place has a wonderful, primitive feel to it and it is extremely clean and well taken care of by its super nice owners Christine and Alain. A $2 taxi ride takes you to the beach and the beach town. To take the buses that take you to Cancun or Playa del Carmen you just have to walk about 7 minutes to the place where they all stop (they cost only $2 and take about 25 minutes to either Cancun, on the North, or Playa del Carmen to the south. For another $3.50 you can head to Tulum from Playa. If you scuba dive, there are some outstanding ocean sites and cenotes nearby....or, Cancun, Playa, and even Cozumel are close enough for you to go there and dive and come back to Casitas. Even if you party at Playa del Carmen, you can take a bus as late as 12 midnight that lives you 7 minutes walking distance from Casitas Kinsol. And it's safe!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank live_2-travel-dive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreview, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

If you are looking for a unique experience and are willing to forgo much of the comfort of usual tourist places, Casitas Kinsol may interest you. Owned by Christine and Alian, two kind and helpful people who will do whatever is needed to make you comfortable, this little group of casita style rooms surrounding an interior courtyard, has basic comforts, much like rustic cabins. You can boil water in the kitchen or cook more if you are willing to buy some supplies. Bedding and towels are well worn, but work. Be aware that you are surrounded by a small neighborhood of people who live close to the earth. We found Puerto Morelos friendly and adequate with small cafes and just a short cab drive from the beach.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miriam062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussie in London
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We really loved this place! It has been so nicely done up - the rooms are really beautiful set witihn gorgeous garden. We were staying over Christmas and the hosts very kindly organised a Christmas meal where all the guests could meet each other. We had a really fun time and greatly appreciated the hospitality shown to us.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skippyspots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 7, 2014

What a hidden gem! we stayed at Casita Kinsol for 8 days over x-mas, and couldn't have asked for a more perfect vacation. Christine and Alan were perfect hosts, very friendly and very accommodating. The room exceeded our expectations (room 6), it was large, clean and came with a little kitchenette that was perfect for making breakfast every morning. We even had a little covered porch with chairs, and the bathroom was big with plenty of hot water.

Casita Kinsol is located in an ideal wooded area that makes you feel like you were hidden away from the din of Puerto Morelos, and every morning you were woken to sounds of the nature of Mexico. In the evening you can walk out to a handful of amazing local restaurants, or sit in the square with a paleta. Everything you need is close by, grocery store, fruit and veggie market. It's perfect.

Casita Kinsol is a 3 km walk to the beach, which makes for a perfect morning stroll or bike ride before the sun gets too hot. On your way you can stop and see the giant lobster graffiti or try and spot the crocodiles in the mangroves. In the afternoon, it's only a $2 cab ride back up to Colonia.

I can't say enough about Casita Kinsol. This is a place that we will be coming back to in the future without question. We loved it!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poppy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We loved our stay in Casitas Kinsol. It's like a little garden paradise, quiet and comfortable. We were taking our Open Water Diving certification classes, and were exhausted every single evening, so it was great to have such a relaxing and peaceful place to retire to every night. Alain and Christine were great, gave us some excellent advice on where to eat and what to see. It's not right on the beach, but you can easily get into town taking either a colectivo (bus) or a taxi for 25 pesos (about $2). And the price can't be beat!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mpowell99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Morelos hotels
23.0 mi away
Hotel Arrecifes Suites
Hotel Arrecifes Suites
#17 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
81 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel el Moro
Hotel el Moro
#15 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
286 reviews
0.4 mi away
Buenos Dias
Buenos Dias
#2 of 18 in Puerto Morelos
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Corales Puerto Morelos
Corales Puerto Morelos
#9 of 35 in Puerto Morelos
42 reviews
1.7 mi away
Posada Amor
Posada Amor
#9 of 18 in Puerto Morelos
77 reviews
2.2 mi away
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
#1 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casitas Kinsol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casitas Kinsol

Property: Casitas Kinsol
Address: Avenida Joaquim Zetina Gazca Lote 18 | Manzana 6 Colonia Zetina Gazca, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Morelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casitas Kinsol 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casitas Kinsol is a Guest House with 8 rooms for rent in Puerto Morelos, on the Mayan Riviera, 25 minutes South of the airport international of Cancun and 4 blocks from the main bus stop in town. It resides in the heart of the “Colonia” of Puerto Morelos conveniently located between Cancun and Playa del Carmen and only 2.5 miles to the beach. Surrounded by many eateries, grocery stands and stores, it offers 8 romantic rooms and bungalows: 4 with kitchenettes and 4 without. All the rooms have basic amenities at low prices for double occupancy. The rooms come with private baths, hot showers, air fans and a unique décor designed by the owners. Most of them come with WI-FI. Room #1:The Master Room is (as well as the room 8) an authentic Mayan hut where Mayan people used to leave until the early 1990's. It has been converted to a large room with its private bathroom. The thatched roof was replaced by a stucco one with two skylights. Two small windows were added to bring some more light to the room. It has cement floor and tiles in the large bathroom. It is a very large standalone, ground floor, hut style bungalow, complete with a full-size (double) bed and one twin-size (single) bed, so it will accommodate 3 persons. Private bathroom and kitchenette. It offers a refrigerator and two burner stove-top but no ovens or microwave. No microwave or standard ovens, no dishwasher either. This room has a front door allowing you to exit onto the boulevard without having to go through the grounds but also a backdoor giving you access to the gardens and relaxation areas as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Casitas Kinsol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casitas Kinsol Hotel Puerto Morelos
Casitas Kinsol Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Morelos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing