We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“awesome place”
Review of Casitas Kinsol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casitas Kinsol
Certificate of Excellence
Canning, Nova Scotia, Canada
1 review
“awesome place”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

great service, the owners will help you with anything if they can, very knowledgeable about the area. the place is away from the big tourism
crowds yet conveniently close to everything. rooms are nicely decorated and you can have a room/house with a fully equipped kitchen. another great feature they allow you to bring your dog!!! now how awesome is that.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mnita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    45
    7
    3
    4
See reviews for
19
105
42
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Casitas Kinsol has a wonderful welcoming atmosphere and unique decor that make you feel right at home. Everything from the colors, the flower arrangements, the lighting and candles come together to create a truly wonderful rustic-Mexican style experience. Alan is a wonderful kind host who's willing to share many helpful tips which allow you to experience Puerto Morelos and its surroundings to the fullest.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valeria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goettingen, Germany
Level Contributor
51 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

A great little place away from the tourists. Very friendly, relaxed and helpful. Don't miss eating at Marys Blue Shack across the street!! A definite for great food and friendly service. Living among the locals was great compared to living among the tourists along the beach.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katja W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockport, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We spent a week at Casita Kinsol. The room, the place, the people and the owners were all wonderful!! We recommend this great guest house to anyone who wants to get away and have a little privacy while off the beaten path. The owners and there pets are fabulous!! They are helpful and its true you leave as a friend. The rooms are quaint, clean charming and rustic. fun, fun times!!! A definite place to stay if you're looking for a good, clean place while on a tight budget to relax and hang out.

Room Tip: Just go for it.... You won't regret it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We had an amazing time at Casitas Kinsol, and wouldn't hesitate a second in writing them a review! It's hard to pinpoint exactly what made our vacation so perfect. It could have been that the Casitas are located in a town that is soooo charming and tranquil compared to the tourist traps at either end of the highway. The food was amazing, the people friendly and it's a very safe place for us female travellers and families. It could have been that our suite was equipped with everything we needed to make our stay comfortable. We cooked at least one meal everyday, and the beds were super comfy and the fans made the room always the right temperature. Anything we requested was provided for us that wasn't already there including a beach cooler for us to keep our beers cold at the beautiful beach stretching along the entire coast of the town. No, I've got it, it has to be that we were lucky enough to have made friends with one of the most interesting and lovely couples we have ever met. I have done my share of travelling and know the real deal when I see it!!! Thank you Christine and Alain for sharing your vision with us, we love you and the Casitas and look forward to returning next year with our friends and family....maybe a wedding at the cenote....heehee...we miss you! Kaleah and Stacy

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeekeeMae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Oasis...the exact word I used to describe this guest house, before I read Arleen's earlier review. My significant other and I spent three too-short nights here, far away from the tourist traps of Playa Del Carmen. Alain was a gracious host who continually steered us in the right direction regarding local food and fare. Unfortunately, Christine was out of town, but her presence was always near in the form of her beautiful art. Granted, this place isn't for everyone - it's located in the poorer "La Colonia" area of Puerto Morelos and there are a variety of noises you may hear in the night - roosters, dogs, the occasional car alarm - or perhaps a neighbor practicing on the drums. As for my partner and I, these things all added depth and character to our experience and we were far more comfortable in this colorful, working neighborhood than we would ever have been in an all-inclusive resort. 20 pesos will get you to the beach, bars, and bazaars if that's what you seek, and taxis are plentiful. No need for a car here, though we were fortunate enough to have rented one on this trip. I truly hope we can make a return trip soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ACgypsy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

This was just what we wanted! We stayed here a few days after traveling for a month and we were tired. We loved the village (although going to the beach is always an option-so close and easy to get there) It was a great place to catch the bus to the airport! Alain was very welcoming and so helpful---He gave us a heads-up on buying our airport bus tickets early as the bus often fills before arriving at Puerto Morelos (it is the last stop!) We look forward to returning!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank peace51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Morelos hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Morelos
Hotel Hacienda Morelos
#16 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel el Moro
Hotel el Moro
#15 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.4 mi away
Buenos Dias
Buenos Dias
#2 of 20 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Acamaya Reef
Acamaya Reef
#19 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
1.0 mi away
Jolie Jungle
Jolie Jungle
#6 of 34 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
2.2 mi away
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
#1 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casitas Kinsol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casitas Kinsol

Property: Casitas Kinsol
Address: Avenida Joaquim Zetina Gazca Lote 18 | Manzana 6 Colonia Zetina Gazca, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Morelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casitas Kinsol 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casitas Kinsol is a Guest House with 8 rooms for rent in Puerto Morelos, on the Mayan Riviera, 25 minutes South of the airport international of Cancun and 4 blocks from the main bus stop in town. It resides in the heart of the “Colonia” of Puerto Morelos conveniently located between Cancun and Playa del Carmen and only 2.5 miles to the beach. Surrounded by many eateries, grocery stands and stores, it offers 8 romantic rooms and bungalows: 4 with kitchenettes and 4 without. All the rooms have basic amenities at low prices for double occupancy. The rooms come with private baths, hot showers, air fans and a unique décor designed by the owners. Most of them come with WI-FI. Room #1:The Master Room is (as well as the room 8) an authentic Mayan hut where Mayan people used to leave until the early 1990's. It has been converted to a large room with its private bathroom. The thatched roof was replaced by a stucco one with two skylights. Two small windows were added to bring some more light to the room. It has cement floor and tiles in the large bathroom. It is a very large standalone, ground floor, hut style bungalow, complete with a full-size (double) bed and one twin-size (single) bed, so it will accommodate 3 persons. Private bathroom and kitchenette. It offers a refrigerator and two burner stove-top but no ovens or microwave. No microwave or standard ovens, no dishwasher either. This room has a front door allowing you to exit onto the boulevard without having to go through the grounds but also a backdoor giving you access to the gardens and relaxation areas as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Casitas Kinsol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casitas Kinsol Hotel Puerto Morelos
Casitas Kinsol Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Morelos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing