We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best idea ever...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
Ranked #11 of 25 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 5, 2014

On February 22,2014 I got married at Dreams Riviera. From the beginning, the resort was amazing. Elisa, my wedding coordinator got in touch with me to plan the details, and stayed in touch till we arrived at the resort. We had a huge hiccup, as far as our wedding favors being stopped my Mexican customs, and not being released. We did not know the box wouldn't be released until we arrived at the resort. I was distraught(clearly), but Elisa and Claudia assured me not to worry and what they could fix, they would. They didn't lie. They were able to make up for what we had lost in the way of favors, and did so in a 3 day period. They are nothing short of amazing magicians. The wedding turned out better than I could have imagined, even if my box would have made it. They truly made my special day amazing.....
The resort itself was also amazing. The rooms were clean and the grounds were immaculate. We only had two problems with the rooms. In my room, the blinds didn't close all the way. There was literally 4inches of material missing from the blinds. We told the resort and that day the blinds were fixed. The only other problem was with my sisters room. The shower head broke and flooded her room. She called the front desk and in 5 minutes(literally) they came and moved her to a different suite and also upgraded her, for her trouble.The beach does have seaweed(more than at some other beach resorts) but the grounds crew were out there all day taking it away, keeping the beaches clean. If you are hanging out at the beach, look for Carlos, he's an older gentleman, but he is defiantly one of the best as far as remembering your drink. And he always seems to be there with your next one as soon as you need it. If your in the World Cafe for breakfast or lunch, try to sit in Jose's section. We went every morning and we always seemed to end up in his section. By the second day we didn't even have to ask for our drinks, he would just bring them, he automatically knew. If you make it to the World Cafe for breakfast make sure you go to the omelet station. Usually, in resorts, these lines are ridiculously long, but Victoria(or possibly Veronica) was amazing and kept the line moving. If you go to the spa for hair/make-up make sure to ask for Concepcion, she is amazing with hair and her contouring abilities are as good as any make-up artist I've ever used. If you go for a massage ask for Perla or Natividad.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the North Beach side versus the South beach side.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CAS332014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaDRERC, Guest Relations Manager at Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2014

Dear CAS332014:

Thank you for taking the time to write about your pleasant stay at our beautiful resort. It is a pleasure for us to read this type of comments and knowing that guests are being treated as they deserve.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your pleasant stay at our beautiful resort. It is a pleasure for us to read this type of comments and knowing that guests are being treated as they deserve.

I´ve already sent your kind review to the respective managers so he passes all the information to the staff

Rewards,

Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,202)
There are newer reviews for Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,170 - 3,176 of 6,202 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2014

Just returned (yesterday) from a 10 day vacation at Dreams Riviera Cancun. We went with friends, for a total of 9 people and had an amazing time. No one was disappointed. Food at all of the a la carte restaurants was excellent. We weren't impressed with the food at the buffet, though we only ate breakfast there. The whole resort is very clean and we had a beautiful oceanview room on the 5th floor. Yes, there were many young families but it wasn't a problem as they mostly stayed by the children's pool. Everything was wonderful. Amazing staff at this resort, from the front desk all the way to the beach area. We went for a couples massage as well and the spa area is truly beautiful. Loved the cafe as well and had many Lattes everyday. Also, loved that I could get Crown Royal and Ginger Ale at every bar.

The following areas need improvement.
1. The nightly shows are not impressive at all and needs to be addressed. Also, a more permanent stage/location should be found, because blocking the main stairs to the lobby/bar area is both dangerous and inconvenient. The kids club area may be the perfect location.
2. More Latin music - we love Latin music and it was sadly lacking at this Mexican resort. This is one of the reasons we vacation in Mexico. We want to listen and dance to music..
3. The entertainment in the Lobby/Bar area was good but they did not play long enough and did not play enough Latin music. The bands in this area should play at least until midnight. Way too short to have a good time. No rock bands here please - maybe in the club, which is totally underused.
4. Since all the staff at this resort is superb, an employee of the month for every department would be a good idea. Recognition of excellent employees always makes the employer look better and is very rewarding for the individual employees.
5. Beds were comfortable but more pillows are needed, especially for a King Size bed. (we only had 2 pillows)
Overall, Dreams Riviera Cancun is a resort I would recommend to everyone and hope to return someday soon.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Vicki G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaDRERC, Guest Relations Manager at Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2014

Dear Vicki G :


Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review, it is a pleasure for us to receive this great comments since we can assure guests are having a pleasant stay at our resort and are receiving the service and attentions they deserve.

Your suggestion is welcomed and being taken care of.

Cordially from Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

After spending 10+ years vacationing on the Riviera Maya, Dreams left us questioning all future resort picks.

The staff, while accommodating, wasn't terribly friendly.

The food was average at best with the French restaurant being our top pick.

The Club Level rooms provide no real benefit over anyone else - save your money.

We were first "upgraded" from the Preferred Club Ocean Front Honeymoon Suite to the larger PC Master Suite. This sounds like great news, but we got to the room and felt like we were on display. 2nd floor corner room overlooking the pool, bar and beach. We asked to downgrade ourselves the rest of the week and ended with exactly the room we wanted. The Ocean Front Honeymoon Suite is private with exceptional views of the ocean. 5th floor absolutely the best!

The beach was clean and beautiful. Cabanas were easy to find as long as you got to them before 7:30am. No saving of course, but it isn't enforced.

The room was clean. Prompt turndown got later as the week went on.

If there is a party or reception poolside or on the beach in the evening, don't even think about sleeping until 11pm. While the walls are thick, the windows and doors are NOT.

The grounds are well kept, but the hallways were atrocious. Same bits of dirt and food on the hallways for days.

The Spa hydrotherapy pools were an outdoor "adventure". Definitely not the lush, tropical feel they were going for. However the massage was very nice.

The exercise facilities were adequate and clean.

Please know that this resorts is not an Adults Only resort. There are many kids. We thought this wouldn't be an issue, but towards the end of the week, it was.

LGBT-friendly with no incidents.

Listed as a Superior+ resort and is probably more Moderate. Only a few years old, the entire resort looks and feels very aged.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Hattereno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaDRERC, Guest Relations Manager at Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2014

Dear Hattereno:

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us regarding your stay here with us. We apologize for not having exceeded your expectations during your vacation.

I´ve already sent your kind review to the respective managers so he passes all the information to the staff.

Best Rewards,

Management Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Very clean hotel and staff friendly and accomodating. I went as a business trip with my husband and 10 year old. The Explorers Club is the the best I have experienced and had a hard time getting him away once in. His independence was increased with his ability to come and go and I had no problem with leaving and going to room alone to meet us. Security is wonderful at hotel and on the beaches. Food was good and breakfast buffet plentiful, Asian place hibachi great for groups and kids. As for the reviews on too many kids, yes this is not a couples resort but didnt find it overfilled with kids. Pools are heated and nice and one pool had hardly anyone in it. Swing bar awesome and swim up bar good too. Only bad was the seagulls diving on new folks with food and you learn fast to cover up and the race in the morning to get a towel out. This was very annoying and was yelled at after one was left on a chair after 3 hours and we took it over at 2:00 and they came back after an excursion and were very rude. I would recomment regardless and sand is incredible and water very nice. Warning to walkers, on the right down the beach a half mile was a nudist club which was a highlight for some in the group-lol. Take advantage of the free in house activities like sailing and the bicycle tour to town. Very fun. The cafe had the best deserts and coffee and the lobby bar had the best made top shelf drinks. Ask for the 10th floor towards ocean overlooking pools. Quiet and beach hums at night.

Room Tip: Ask for the 10th floor towards ocean overlooking pools. Quiet and beach hums at night. we had 1520...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank moppiesue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaDRERC, Guest Relations Manager at Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2014

Dear moppiesue


You are indeed very thoughtful for your kind review. It has been a true pleasure have been choosing us.

Your suggestion is welcomed and being taken care of.


We value your patronage and thank you again for taking the time to provide us with your amazing review

Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We stayed at the Dreams Riviera resort between Feb 12th & 22nd and we found the resort to be absolutely fantastic. We travelled with our Son Harry who is 3 1/2 years old, he spent almost his entire holiday in the Explorers club (kids club). The staff were very professional and we had a job getting him to even come to lunch with us.
This enabled us to have the most relaxing holiday we have had in years, the facilities at the resort are first class I find it strange when I read some of the negative reviews as I couldn't fault it in any way. You have a great choice of restaurants to choose from Mexican, French, Italian, Seafood, Asian & Steakhouse as well as The World Cafe buffet. There is a coffee shop serving cakes, sandwiches, shakes & pretzels.
The World Cafe is open for breakfast & so are some of the restaurants, there is no booking system but we never had to wait for a table in the evenings, during the day lunch is served at most of the restaurants & the Barefoot grill which is by the kids pool. It serves a selection of salads, hotdogs ,burgers, pizza & most days they cook Paella & BBQ Ribs.
There are numerous bars open all day including a swim up bar at the infinity pool & a beach bar, the beach is lovely, pure white sands. Sunbeds were easy to find & towels are provided.
Our room was spacious with two double beds, walk in shower & whirlpool bath. Mini bar was replenished every day & room service is also all inclusive. Rooms were cleaned every day & another maid visited in the evening to turn down the beds. There are plenty of staff who are very keen to help you, constant maintenance is taking place & the whole resort was clean & tidy.
Quality entertainment every night, a lovely atmosphere throughout the whole place. Public restrooms are kept very clean but the one by the CoCo cafe was the best. All in all this resort was first class & we are already planning another visit in 2016.

Room Tip: We had a top floor room facing the sea, very quiet at night
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank cretch09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaDRERC, Guest Relations Manager at Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2014

Dear cretch09:


Thank you for taking the time to write about your pleasant stay at our beautiful resort. It is a pleasure for us to read this type of comments and knowing that guests are being treated as they deserve.

We value your patronage and thank you again for taking the time to provide us with your amazing review.

Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Recently had a group of 120 people/families and couples/stay at the Dreams Riviera. The planning in advance was excellent, efficient and helpful people thanks to Stiballitz, Jennifer and Daniela! This is definitely a family resort, if you want an adult only quiet experience then this is probably not where you want to be. The rooms are not set up for privacy but they are very clean and comfortable beds and have all the amenities that one would need. The resort is set up nicely and for groups works well that everyone can see each other in central areas. The pools and grounds are kept very clean and if parents were a little more considerate with their children, children would not be so disruptive. The concept that you can let your children run is not appreciated by most and luckily not all parents are like this. I was very surprised to see 6 young men, oldest was 13, youngest probably 5, allowed to go to the Italian restaurant for dinner one night without ANY adult. The Manager was wonderful and seated the boys outside the restaurant and they were happy as were the rest of the patrons in the restaurant. The waiters and hostesses go above and beyond to assist with every need! The entire staff of the hotel are kind, helpful people and can not do enough for you. The food at the resort was excellent! Breakfast buffet offered everything anyone could want and lunch buffet again had so many offerings plus Seaside and Oceana for lunch I did not hear any complaints of food. The Italian was so good that I went back twice and had the exact same thing! Thanks to Magdalena, she is everywhere and always with a smile as hostess, Oscar for breakfast, Abraham for lunch at Seaside, Ediberto at the Italian restaurant, these are just a few of the wonderful people from the Dreams Riviera. We had a night off property at Xcaret and I would highly recommend!

Room Tip: Oceanview rooms offer excellent views.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan50225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaDRERC, Guest Relations Manager at Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2014

Dear Susan50225:


Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review, it is a pleasure for us to receive this great comments since we can assure guests are having a pleasant stay at our resort and are receiving the service and attentions they deserve.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your pleasant stay at our beautiful resort. It is a pleasure for us to read this type of comments and knowing that guests are being treated as they deserve.

I´ve already sent your kind review to the respective managers so he passes all the information to the staff

Please do not hesitate in contacting me in case of further assistance.


Cordially from Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We return March 1st. I loved the hotel. Good food, premium drinks, clean, friendly staff that go out of their way to please. Bedrooms were very nice...bathroom is open on the sides to the bedroom, but the shutters can be open or closed. You can have them open for a view of the bedroom or not. This is not an all adult hotel..so why would you complain about kids when you know it's not an adult only!??? Yes...there is music around one of the pools?? There usually is unless it's a QUIETER hotel. You have to look into your hotel when you book. Like another reviewer, we had a room on 5th floor above hot tub. That can be noisey, but stopped around 6:00. People were just having fun. Some times we did smell a strong sulphur smell or some kind of smell. The lobby stairs are a little dangerous for older people. My Mother in law fell down several steps at the bottom and ended up hitting her face..BAD. Needs a railing for balance. The hotel doctor was great and the Cancun hospital was good. Staff of the steak house and fish house were amazing. Staff at all restaurants were good actually....ALL STAFF were great, friendly and very very helpful and accommodating. This was my first time in Mexico and I was very pleased. I will definitely go back to Mexico. I love the Mexican people.

Room Tip: Rooms in building 1 are not near the hot tub...where people seemed to party at from 4:00 - 6:00 p.m.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaDRERC, Guest Relations Manager at Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2014

DearAndrea M:


Thank you for your kind words and dedicated review towards our lovely Resort

We appreciate your recommendations.

Best Regards!

Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Morelos
3.5 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#8 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
8,944 reviews
0.5 mi away
Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun
Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun
#6 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
7,267 reviews
1.7 mi away
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Moon Palace Cancun
Moon Palace Cancun
#24 of 176 in Cancun
22,220 reviews
9.8 mi away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#7 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4,745 reviews
19.7 mi away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#32 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
7,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa

Address: Carretera Federal 307 | Chetumal–Puerto Juárez, Benito Juárez, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#6 Family Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#11 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#11 Spa Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#11 Green Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range: $223 - $931 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 486
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious Dreams Riviera Cancun takes its personality from its incredible location — just 30 minutes from the "hot" excitement of Cancun yet right on the "cool" Caribbean close to Playa del Carmen and many other of the Mayan Riviera’s most sought after sights. Most importantly, it is an enchanting wonderland where families, couples, singles and friends enjoy all the pleasures and privileges of Unlimited-Luxury® where everything is included. Your whole being will relax immediately, surrounded by our large sun-dappled swimming pools and a sugar white sand beach. To this, add lush tropical gardens and of course, our fabulous palm-filled beach. Your day and evening activities range from exciting to purely relaxing — with plenty to do for everyone including endless land and water activities, a world-class Dreams Spa by Pevonia and fitness center, nearby golf and much more. "Home" features the uniquely shaped octagonal room or suite, beautifully appointed with a private balcony, marble floors and full marble bath area with Jacuzzi tub and dozens of other luxury amenities and conveniences that anticipate your desires and fulfill them instantly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone and getaroom.com so you can book your Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort And Spa
Dreams Riviera Cancun Hotel Puerto Morelos
Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Morelos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing