We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreams Riviera Cancun”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 10, 2014

As with all vacation places, there are pros and cons. We stayed at the Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort for one week in January. There was a group of us attending a wedding. Loved the size of the resort and the layout. Loved the fact that you don't have to make reservations at the restaurants. If you have a large group, you can advise them and they give you a "blinker" that let's you know when your seating is available. You can walk back to the lobby and have a drink while waiting. All of the staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room was very clean and was kept that way. The wedding was beautiful and went off without a hitch. One complaint was the room set up. Did not really like the fact that the bath tub was out in the open. Very little privacy with regard to the bath, shower and toilet. Also, I like to unpack when I arrive at a hotel. The closet space was adequate, but there wasn't a dresser (just three shelves in the closet) to unpack other items. We had to leave one suitcase unpacked. Another issue was that quite a few people attending the wedding had stomach issues. The only thing I noticed as a health issue, is the outside bars and the dirty glasses being cleaned for re-use. I watched the bartenders cleaning the glasses and I don't think the method was as sanitary as we are used to. That could be where we picked up a bug or something. We really enjoyed our week at this resort, other than the stomach issues. Be sure to take Immodium with you, just in case.

Room Tip: Only get a room with a plunge pool when the weather is very hot. These pools are not heated and you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaDRERC, Guest Relations Manager at Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Dear Susan M:


Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review, it is a pleasure for us to receive this great comments since we can assure guests are having a pleasant stay at our resort and are receiving the service and attentions they deserve.

Your suggestion about the outside bars is welcomed and being taken care of. We really hope you could give us a second chance to improve the image you have from the resort.

We hope to have you back in a near future Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,293)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,285 - 3,291 of 6,293 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2014

We stayed at the DREAMS CANCUN from FEB 2-9th. There were 9 of us in total.
The resort was in prime location. Walking distance to the markets and all the of bars. About a 25 minute drive from the airport.

The front desk was very professional and helpful. We were up in our room within 5 minutes and our luggage right after us :)

ROOMS~ Were clean and spacious. We were on the 4th floor of the dolphin view rooms. I would highly recommend and request it :) There is also a tower but with the kids these rooms were highly recommended. The maids were always cleaning and our beds were made everyday.


We had 2 kids ages 6 and 8. The explores kids club was great. The kids participated in the kids disco every night :) They loved dancing and playing on stage. The staff there are amazing. My kids didn't spend a lot of time in the explores but loved the ladies there. Abby and Regina were so great with the kids. The kids never wanted to miss the trampoline @ 4 pm everyday where they had lots of fun doing flips.

FOOD~ The buffet was ok. Lots to choose from. Not too much to com pain about

Seaside grill~ had nice lunch alternatives: wraps/chicken burgers
Dinner here was ok. Good ribs and fajitas.

Himitsu~ Sushi restaurant was AMAZING. Sad I went here on the last day :S

OCEANA~ Right at the beach. Great view. Food was ok.

SNACK SHACK~ Good sandwiches/ Hambergers and fries.

Overall it was a great family friendly hotel. The kids took advantage of swimming with the Dolphins. Sad that they are going to tear down this hotel and re-build. It was great that it wasn't a huge hotel like most of them where you are looking for your party the whole time.

The entertainment staff were really energetic and fun. There is really nothing to complain about. We all wish we could return :)

Room Tip: 4th floor dolphin rooms are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TiffanyLefebvre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaDRERC, Guest Relations Manager at Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Dear TiffanyLefebvre:

It´s a pleasure for us to hear that your trip went out as you expected it and that you had a pleasant stay one more time.

Rest assured that we will share your note with our dedicated staff for them to know that you have recognized their efforts.

Your nice comments encourage all of us to work with passion every day

It is awesome to read how much you enjoyed the upgraded facilities and amenities that you received for the preferred room category and we are sure that your information will help other future guests on their decision of choosing this perks on their future visit.


We hope to have you back in a near future Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa


Best rewards,

Dreams Riviera Cancún

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

My first time to a Dreams and I enjoyed the following:

- The room (beach view) was set up very well. You are always looking at the ocean, no matter if you were showering, shaving, or just laying in bed.
- Pools and beach area are very nice. Lots of amenities to keep you busy (if that is your thing). Huge relaxing chairs for reading a book...etc.
- Easy to get to from airport.
- Easy to get to Cozumel from location.
- Kid areas looked great... didn't have kids with me, but I'm sure that they would have had fun.
- Service was very good... they did not skimp on service for an all inclusive.
- Main steak house was very nice.
- Entire resort was very clean and landscape was well manicured.

Short complaint list:
- If your room is near the beach facing the pools, and there is a wedding (or party) going on at night... bring earplugs... it will get loud!
- The main restaurant seemed to be pretty busy during prime eating times... get there early so you don't lose any beach time.
- The Spa value was lacking.

Room Tip: If you are looking for tranquility, chose a room facing away from the pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GranburyDad_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaDRERC, Guest Relations Manager at Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Dear GranburyDad_12:

It´s a pleasure for us to hear that your trip went out as you expected it and that you had a pleasant stay one more time.

Rest assured that we will share your note with our dedicated staff for them to know that you have recognized their efforts.

Your nice comments encourage all of us to work with passion every day

It is awesome to read how much you enjoyed the upgraded facilities and amenities that you received for the preferred room category and we are sure that your information will help other future guests on their decision of choosing this perks on their future visit.


We hope to have you back in a near future Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa


Best rewards,

Dreams Riviera Cancún

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Not usually a fan of all-inclusive resorts, but this is the first one I would go back to a second time. Super relaxing and easy. It's not huge so you don't get lost in throngs of people and miles of walking. Nice beach, nice pools. Good food. Nice gym. Clean and well kept resort. Great value.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DavidoffWood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaDRERC, Guest Relations Manager at Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Dear DavidoffWood:

Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review, it is a pleasure for us to receive this great comments since we can assure guests are having a pleasant stay at our resort and are receiving the service and attentions they deserve.

Best rewards,

Dreams Riviera Cancún

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We live in chilly Chicago and needed time away from the cold. We purchased out trip off CheapCaribbean.com as a mystery deal. We got a great price and also a great hotel. From the minute we arrived the staff was extremely friendly. Based on trip advisor reviews we requested a high floor and it was no problem at all for them to accommodate. The room was clean, bed was comfortable and our view from the bed was of the water over the trees.

We ate at Oceana for breakfast, lunch and dinner at least once on our trip it was by far our favorite restaurant. My boyfriend said the steak at the Mexican restaurant was amazing and maybe his favorite meal. We did not try the French restaurant during our stay and the others we ate at weren’t bad but weren’t really outstanding. For an all inclusive the food is above average. The 24 hour room service is amazing even though there are times when the restaurants are closed you can still get food if you are hungry.

The resort does an excellent job of catering to adults but remaining family friendly. We loved the music in the lobby each night and we were amazed at the breakdance show.

There are a lot of weddings here. There were 2 or 3 going on each of the nights; this also brings lots of groups to the resort. It wasn’t a good thing or a bad thing just something to take note of. If you are a couple living together they will try to get you to sit down for an hour meeting to review other properties they offer. The only real negative we found was the seats at the pool are reserved early before people go to breakfast. We where on the beach all day but if you are looking for a pool spot its something to keep in mind.

Overall we loved our experience, anything we needed was taken care of. My only regret is that we didn’t stay an extra day. We would definitely go back to this resort and maybe even have our wedding there.

Room Tip: We followed other reviews and asked for a high floor. We had no noise issues and a beautiful view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kellyLynn_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaDRERC, Guest Relations Manager at Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Dear kellyLynn_8:

Thank you for your kind words and dedicated review towards our lovely Resort
You are indeed very thoughtful for your kind review.

It has been a true pleasure have been choosing us.

Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review, it is a pleasure for us to receive this great comments since we can assure guests are having a pleasant stay at our resort and are receiving the service and attentions they deserve


Dreams Riviera Cancún

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

My wife and I spent 4 days at Dreams in January. We vacationed there with another couple, we met on our honeymoon, years earlier. The property was nice, the food was great and the service was top notch. Our room was very clean, and most importantly, it was properly cleaned everyday. We were able to eat at every restaurant and they were all very good. My favorite was the daily brunch at the International. All in all, it was the best all inclusive food, I have ever eaten. My wife and I spent one morning at the spa. It was very nice, clean and relaxing. My massage was fantastic. We spent the rest of our time on the beach, by the pool, or in one of the swings a the beach bar. The grounds are very well maintained and inviting. I can't rave enough about the staff. They really went above and beyond, to make sure we were enjoying every minute of our stay. They always had a smile on their face and were very polite.
Now for the Cons, although there were only a few. I feel it wouldn't be a fair review, if they were omitted. #1. We purchased a ocean view room and were given a lagoon view. Technically, you could see the ocean from our room, but to call it an ocean view room was a real stretch. The view was 98% lagoon and 2% ocean. We brought this to their attention and they said they would move us. They called 2 days into our trip and said they had a new room available for us to move to. At this point, we decided to stay where we were, since we were already unpacked. At this point, we felt our time was better spent on the beach. Rather than packing, moving and unpacking again. #2. Dreams is a family friendly resort, which is great. I have three boys of my own. A lot of family's equals a lot of kids. The hallways at dreams are tile and the walls are stucco. This looks great, but it affords no buffer for noise control. Every sound echos dramatically down the hallways. You can imagine how much noise was created in the morning, when the young kids started running up and down the hallways, excited and ready to start the new day. We had hoped to sleep in on our vacation (since we had left our boys at home) but that was nearly impossible. Finally, the bed was not comfortable. It's unfortunate, because everything else about the property is so nice, I feel the resort could have provided better bedding.
On a side note......my wife and I went for a walk on the beach and discovered a nudest resort not to far from Dreams. It was definitely one of the more interesting beach walks, we have ever taken.
Overall, we had a great trip and enjoyed our time at Dreams. I am happy to say, I can recommend this resort to my friends a tripadvisor. Have Fun!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1989Rebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaDRERC, Guest Relations Manager at Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Dear 1989Rebel:

Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review, it is a pleasure for us to receive this great comments since we can assure guests are having a pleasant stay at our resort and are receiving the service and attentions they deserve.

Best rewards,

Dreams Riviera Cancún

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We just returned from spending 4 nights here. My wife, 2 year old daughter and myself were here to attend a wedding. We loved everything about the resort. The staff was amazing, the food was very good, and the hotel entertainment in the evenings was a good time. I was concerned my 2 year-old would get bored, but boy was I wrong. Between the pool, the beach and the staff making her balloon animals restaurant we went to, she had a blast! We did not use the kids center, explorers club I think it was called, mostly because we wanted to use this vacation time to spend a lot of family time together. In summary, it is a great place for an all inclusive vacation with little ones and I would stay again without a doubt!

Room Tip: We stayed in garden view room and it was a beautiful room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChicagoBigstve12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaDRERC, Guest Relations Manager at Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Dear ChicagoBigstve12:

Thank you for your kind words and dedicated review towards our lovely Resort
You are indeed very thoughtful for your kind review.

It has been a true pleasure have been choosing us.

Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review, it is a pleasure for us to receive this great comments since we can assure guests are having a pleasant stay at our resort and are receiving the service and attentions they deserve


Dreams Riviera Cancún

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Morelos
3.5 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#8 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
9,047 reviews
0.5 mi away
Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun
Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun
#6 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
7,371 reviews
1.7 mi away
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ocean Coral & Turquesa
Ocean Coral & Turquesa
#13 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
11,624 reviews
17.7 mi away
Ocean Riviera Paradise
Ocean Riviera Paradise
#69 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
2,475 reviews
19.7 mi away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#32 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
7,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa

Address: Carretera Federal 307 | Chetumal–Puerto Juárez, Benito Juárez, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#6 Family Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#11 Green Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#12 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#12 Spa Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range: $224 - $1,003 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 486
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious Dreams Riviera Cancun takes its personality from its incredible location — just 30 minutes from the "hot" excitement of Cancun yet right on the "cool" Caribbean close to Playa del Carmen and many other of the Mayan Riviera’s most sought after sights. Most importantly, it is an enchanting wonderland where families, couples, singles and friends enjoy all the pleasures and privileges of Unlimited-Luxury® where everything is included. Your whole being will relax immediately, surrounded by our large sun-dappled swimming pools and a sugar white sand beach. To this, add lush tropical gardens and of course, our fabulous palm-filled beach. Your day and evening activities range from exciting to purely relaxing — with plenty to do for everyone including endless land and water activities, a world-class Dreams Spa by Pevonia and fitness center, nearby golf and much more. "Home" features the uniquely shaped octagonal room or suite, beautifully appointed with a private balcony, marble floors and full marble bath area with Jacuzzi tub and dozens of other luxury amenities and conveniences that anticipate your desires and fulfill them instantly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort And Spa
Dreams Riviera Cancun Hotel Puerto Morelos
Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Morelos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing