We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They fixed the road in...kinda”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“They fixed the road in...kinda”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We returned from a week at dreams riviera on Sunday. The road was fixed with gravel and graded smooth last week.overall we had a good stay. Food was good, grounds and room we'll kept. We had internet access in our room.... But don't expect more than 3G transfer rates. Worked we'll for emails but browsing on the internet was troublesome. The only complaint we had was kids pushing chairs across the floors in the morning. We were on the second floor, bellow most. Only bothered us aa couple of mornings. We had a good trip. Staff really stand out they work very hard and aim to please

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cessna18274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaDRERC, Guest Relations Manager at Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Cessna18274:

It´s a pleasure for us to hear that your trip went out as you expected it and that you had a pleasant stay one more time.

Rest assured that we will share your note with our dedicated staff for them to know that you have recognized their efforts.

Your nice comments encourage all of us to work with passion every day

It is awesome to read how much you enjoyed the upgraded facilities and amenities that you received for the preferred room category and we are sure that your information will help other future guests on their decision of choosing this perks on their future visit.

Also I´m sending your comments to our entertainment staff, we are sure they will love to read your opinion regarding the party since they worked hard for the celebration, and yes! It really was awesome.

We sincerely appreciate your note expressing your satisfaction with the quality of service you received as a guest at Dreams Riviera Cancun.

Your kind words serve to encourage all of us at Dreams Riviera Cancun Hotel and Resorts to strive even harder to make all your stays with us as enjoyable and pleasant as possible.

I´ve already sent your kind review to the respective managers so that they know that you have recognized their efforts.

Dreams Riviera Cancun.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,793 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,512
    1,408
    505
    210
    158
See reviews for
2,841
1,741
40
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,652)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Just spent this past week there. Got lucky with weather. maybe 30 minutes of rain in all. Stayed at many resorts in Mexico. This one only had 450 rooms so all amenities close by. The food was very good but not exceptional. Some portions pretty small at the French Rest and Japanese. We did not dare asking for seconds because wait times also an issue on a few nights and some meals taking 2 hrs because of slower service. House wines not the greatest. Staff was quite friendly. The beach was great with no issues getting a chair anywhere. Night entertainment was good but not great. The rooms were quite nice but I had 2 queen beds instead of a king. I was on a biz trip (without my wife) so not sure if I would have had the choice or is it a premium.The road into the resort was an issue because of the flooding and construction. Taxi's charged a premium to transport us because of that. Overall, not a bad trip but would opt elsewhere.

Room Tip: The resort is a horseshoe shape. It has 5 floors. I had a side view towards the back and could not s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaDRERC, Guest Relations Manager at Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Estimado Guy F:

It´s a pleasure for us to hear that your trip went out as you expected it and that you had a pleasant stay one more time.

Rest assured that we will share your note with our dedicated staff for them to know that you have recognized their efforts.

Your nice comments encourage all of us to work with passion every day

It is awesome to read how much you enjoyed the upgraded facilities and amenities that you received for the preferred room category and we are sure that your information will help other future guests on their decision of choosing this perks on their future visit.

Also I´m sending your comments to our entertainment staff, we are sure they will love to read your opinion regarding the party since they worked hard for the celebration, and yes! It really was awesome.

We sincerely appreciate your note expressing your satisfaction with the quality of service you received as a guest at Dreams Riviera Cancun.

Your kind words serve to encourage all of us at Dreams Riviera Cancun Hotel and Resorts to strive even harder to make all your stays with us as enjoyable and pleasant as possible.

I´ve already sent your kind review to the respective managers so that they know that you have recognized their efforts.

Dreams Resorts Riviera Cancún
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Hanover
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We went here for our wedding with 17 of our closest friends. From the moment we were greeted in the lobby with welcome drinks to checkout we were totally blown away by everything. Mind you, this was our first international all inclusive trip.
The staff was great. Always one step ahead of you and at your service 24/7.
The drinks were good as well. Could have been a tad stronger but if you tip they add the top shelf right away.
Beach was well kept, they combed for seaweed daily. There was always chairs available when we went.
Cleanliness overall was great. They really kept up with everything in the bathrooms and around the pools.
I wish the pools had been a little warmer but we had sun the whole time we were there so I cant complain.
I could write about everything but honestly everything was top notch to us and we had a blast planning and being there. The staff by far really make your trip worth while.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lynseymiller0812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaDRERC, Guest Relations Manager at Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear lynseymiller0812:

It´s a pleasure for us to hear that your trip went out as you expected it and that you had a pleasant stay one more time.

Rest assured that we will share your note with our dedicated staff for them to know that you have recognized their efforts.

Your nice comments encourage all of us to work with passion every day

It is awesome to read how much you enjoyed the upgraded facilities and amenities that you received for the preferred room category and we are sure that your information will help other future guests on their decision of choosing this perks on their future visit.

Also I´m sending your comments to our entertainment staff, we are sure they will love to read your opinion regarding the party since they worked hard for the celebration, and yes! It really was awesome.

We sincerely appreciate your note expressing your satisfaction with the quality of service you received as a guest at Dreams Riviera Cancun.

Your kind words serve to encourage all of us at Dreams Riviera Cancun Hotel and Resorts to strive even harder to make all your stays with us as enjoyable and pleasant as possible.

I´ve already sent your kind review to the respective managers so that they know that you have recognized their efforts.

Dreams Riviera Cancún
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
70 Mile House, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

I have sent in a review to the resort about an issue that I saw happen in all restaurants and may explain why some people are getting sick. The staff do not remove utensils that are unused when they reset the table. A lot of our group had stomach problems (cramping and diarrhea) which started anywhere from the second day to the last day. Some are still having problems.
We have stayed at a different resort in the past and did not find the issues we found with this resort regarding utensils and having so many of our group getting stomach problems (over half)
The world buffet was not very varied and I saw more then one person" feeling the bread to get a soft piece" I know it this is not the resort problem but after that we went to the restaurants for breakfast. Check the info sheet at night to see which are open for breakfast,
The Mexican. Italian, Japanese & French where good and we only had a long wait one evening since the resort wasn't that busy, The no reservations policy could be a problem if the resort was busy
The staff are wonderful, check in a little slow but there was a large group of us. Check out was a breeze
The wedding was beautiful and the servers were great!
Coco's was a pleasant place to go get a coffee or frozen drink.
One thing that is missing is an outside bar at night and late night snack bar, as only room service is available after the restaurants close.
If you like privacy the bathroom is fairly open to the whole room.
Clothing storage was minimal
Lightening is terrible, ask for a mirror to do your makeup on the desk.
Would not go back to this resort again, not willing to take a chance.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms do not have a separate bathroom. The tub is out in the open as is the sinks, vanit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Campcariboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaDRERC, Guest Relations Manager at Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear Campcariboo
Your comments are very important to us and we are always looking forward to improve, It is worth mentioning that we are aware of the tremendous responsibility to offer impeccable food and beverage products to our valued customers and have elaborated and respect extremely strict hygiene standards and procedures. Our food and beverage preparation facilities are inspected on a regular basis by the local hygiene authorities. The food as well as our staff is also tested and properly inspected for safety and hygiene.

That has certified us for the second consecutive year by the most important HACCP system (Hazard Analysis and Critical Control Points) as applied for food safety management uses the approach of controlling critical points in food handling to prevent food safety problems.
We value your patronage and thank you for taking the time to provide us with your comments and concerns. It is only through feedback from valued guests such as yourself that we are able to improve in the services of our hotel.

Regards
General Manager´s Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

I have never written a review on this site before, but feel compelled after visiting this property. We have been to Mexico a dozen times and have stayed at a variety of resorts. We have been to 2 other Dreams resorts, Riu resorts, Iberostars, and the Grand Velas resort- all in the Riviera Maya area. We have had lovely vacations at all of these resorts and absolutely love Mexico!! After this year, however, I am frankly afraid to go back to Mexico. My husband, 2 kids, and I all experienced very bad travelers illness. We have NEVER been sick prior at the other resorts, except for very minor and fleeting issues. I am presently on and antibiotic after being home for 2 days because I am still unable to eat without horrible cramping and diarrhea. We all missed multiple meals while at the resort and had to buy lots of immodium at the resort store. When paying this kind of money to go on a special vacation, it is frankly unacceptable to be missing the vacation being stuck in the bathroom. We understand the risks of travel and we have always taken precautions. My husband is a physician and he has done research about this issue, so we know what to avoid. Apparently this particular resort is doing something very different from the others in terms of food safety. Perhaps using tap water in the restaurants, ice , and for rinsing produce. There are many fine reports in the Riviera Maya area for the same price, with lovely beaches, rooms, and delicious food. If not for being sick, I would recommend this one. As it stands, I would recommend anyone visiting this site to stay away and go one of the many other fine resorts in the area.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank bulldog153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaDRERC, Guest Relations Manager at Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear bulldog153
Your comments are very important to us and we are always looking forward to improve, It is worth mentioning that we are aware of the tremendous responsibility to offer impeccable food and beverage products to our valued customers and have elaborated and respect extremely strict hygiene standards and procedures. Our food and beverage preparation facilities are inspected on a regular basis by the local hygiene authorities. The food as well as our staff is also tested and properly inspected for safety and hygiene.

That has certified us for the second consecutive year by the most important HACCP system (Hazard Analysis and Critical Control Points) as applied for food safety management uses the approach of controlling critical points in food handling to prevent food safety problems.
We value your patronage and thank you for taking the time to provide us with your comments and concerns. It is only through feedback from valued guests such as yourself that we are able to improve in the services of our hotel.

Regards
General Manager´s Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladoga, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We visited this property mid January 2014. The first thing that I noticed was how quickly and easily we were checked in. There was also a nice variety of restaurants. But, there were 2 things that really stood out to me. #1. All employees that we encountered were so nice. I think it says a lot when the staff seems to really enjoy their jobs. We were always met with a greeting when passing someone and when I thanked someone for bringing me a drink or anything, I always received a ,"It's my pleasure!" We never encountered rudeness-ever! #2. This property was clean clean clean.. People were constantly cleaning. It was pristine from our room to the pool bathrooms to the landscaping. It was a very pleasant trip spent with a great group of friends. Thanks, Dreams!!

Room Tip: We paid extra for a plunge pool and never used it. While it was pretty, it was chilly and we spent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pamela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaDRERC, Guest Relations Manager at Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Pamela B:
Your kind words serve to encourage all of us at Dreams Riviera Cancun Hotel and Resorts to strive even harder to make all your stays with us as enjoyable and pleasant as possible.

Regards
Dreams Riviera Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

A wonderful location, with lots to do in terms of activities both at the hotel and in the area. Rooms are nice and meticulously maintained, but if you are planning a group wedding or get together a couple of caveats for you to consider. They appear to be a victim of their own success. They are so busy, that they have let some of the basics slip.

We were just there with a party of over 60 for a wedding. Beware of upcharges from the resort, or you will pay roughly double what you anticipated. Go over the contract line by line, item by item, make sure it is exactly what you want, any changes at the last minute or week will be very pricey. If you can get a wedding planner familiar with the property, that does not work for the hotel, you may have someone who actually can work for you, not against you!

The rooms and in particular the Master Honeymoon suite was very nice. Many of our party requested a king size bed and instead got two doubles they would push together and say it was a King suite, sure!

All in all they did a nice job, but are perhaps in need of a wake up call re food safety. 50% of your group will get sick like ours did. Where I am from if this happened, the health dept would shut down the eating places until the sources of contamination were found. And to them it is not contamination, their bodies are used to it, and they dont get sick, it is just for us, we are used to higher standards and perhaps different bugs. Their bugs are not bad, it is just that they are not not our bugs.

We did an all exclusive at a different chain in Puerto Vallarta, and no one got sick, BUT they had inspectors from the hotel running around in white jackets, testing food and temp, pool chlorine levels, etc., all the time. Dreams had none of this that we saw other than I did see someone taking water samples from the pool, once.

Beware of the juices, someone in our group suggested they were only flavour powder, sugar, a dash of natural juice and water. If you like sweet foods you will be in heaven.

Guests should have a great time like we did, just bring lots of tummy meds, and don't let them take you for a ride on the "Wedding or Group Package" budget or you will be disappointed.

Room Tip: Rooms near the water will be noisy from the parties at that end, the good news is they shut down at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank crisilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaDRERC, Guest Relations Manager at Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear crisilton
Your comments are very important to us and we are always looking forward to improve, It is worth mentioning that we are aware of the tremendous responsibility to offer impeccable food and beverage products to our valued customers and have elaborated and respect extremely strict hygiene standards and procedures. Our food and beverage preparation facilities are inspected on a regular basis by the local hygiene authorities. The food as well as our staff is also tested and properly inspected for safety and hygiene.

That has certified us for the second consecutive year by the most important HACCP system (Hazard Analysis and Critical Control Points) as applied for food safety management uses the approach of controlling critical points in food handling to prevent food safety problems.
We value your patronage and thank you for taking the time to provide us with your comments and concerns. It is only through feedback from valued guests such as yourself that we are able to improve in the services of our hotel.

Regards
General Manager´s Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Morelos
3.5 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#9 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,362 reviews
0.5 mi away
Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun
Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun
#6 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,759 reviews
9.9 mi away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#8 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Moon Palace Cancun
Moon Palace Cancun
#21 of 180 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20,939 reviews
17.0 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,984 reviews
10.0 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
#5 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa

Property: Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
Address: Carretera Federal 307 | Chetumal–Puerto Juárez, Benito Juárez, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#6 Family Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#10 Spa Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#10 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 486
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious Dreams Riviera Cancun takes its personality from its incredible location — just 30 minutes from the "hot" excitement of Cancun yet right on the "cool" Caribbean close to Playa del Carmen and many other of the Mayan Riviera’s most sought after sights. Most importantly, it is an enchanting wonderland where families, couples, singles and friends enjoy all the pleasures and privileges of Unlimited-Luxury® where everything is included. Your whole being will relax immediately, surrounded by our large sun-dappled swimming pools and a sugar white sand beach. To this, add lush tropical gardens and of course, our fabulous palm-filled beach. Your day and evening activities range from exciting to purely relaxing — with plenty to do for everyone including endless land and water activities, a world-class Dreams Spa by Pevonia and fitness center, nearby golf and much more. "Home" features the uniquely shaped octagonal room or suite, beautifully appointed with a private balcony, marble floors and full marble bath area with Jacuzzi tub and dozens of other luxury amenities and conveniences that anticipate your desires and fulfill them instantly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort And Spa
Dreams Riviera Cancun Hotel Puerto Morelos
Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Morelos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing