We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
Ranked #11 of 28 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 14, 2013

My husband and I went to Dreams for a quick anniversary trip. We have been to the Riviera Maya before, but never to Dreams. Overall, I think the resort was pretty good:
Check-in:
We were offered champagne upon arrival and the bellman took care of our luggage. The check-in clerk was efficient, but not overly friendly. Like other Caribbean resorts, the lobby is open, but it isn't as grand or opulent as some other resorts we've been to. Our room was ready at check-in (around 1), which was really great.
Room:
The room is definately set up more for a couple than a family with an open bathroom concept (which is odd because everything else around the resort seemed very family-oriented). I couldn't imagine being there with a teenager. It was decorated very nicely and we had a partial view of the ocean (paying for the lowest room rate). My biggest comlaint about the room was the hard bed. I woke up everyday with a sore back. Also, the lighting in the bathroom area could be better--definately not conducive for doing makeup. We didn't have any issues with our air conditioning, nor did we notice any damp/mildewy smells like some others have mentioned.
Food/Drinks:
Breakfast, for lack of a better word, was awful. My pancakes and french toast were either cold or runny in the center, and the scrambled eggs were consistently underdone. I would suggest the made-to-order omelets for an edible breakfast. We tried the buffet and the sit-down restaurants for lunch. The buffet was just okay, but both sit-down restaurants (by the pool/beach) were pretty good, though service at the Seaside Grill was really abysmal. For dinner, skip the Japanese restaurant (Himitsu) unless you're doing Hibachi. The sushi was bad--it tasted like sugar was added to everything, really unnatural. The Mexican restaurant was great and the French Restaurant was also really wonderful. The service was excellent. I really liked that no reservations were required. We didn't experience a wait either, but got to dinner by 7 each night. The drinks were extremely weak. I couldn't even taste alcohol in most of them. The wine, though not great, was tolerable.
Beach/Pool:
The beach was pretty good. There was lots of seaweed, but this couldn't be helped and they raked the beach at least once a day and sometimes twice. Also, we saw tons of fish just in a few feet of water (no need to swim out). The jellyfish flag was up each day, but we never saw any. The water is not calm, but certainly swimmable. The pools were nice, but I would have preferred an adults only/quiet pool. I think this area definately caters more towards children/families.
Service:
Everyone was extremely nice (even those who couldn't speak English said hello and were very friendly). The woman on the beach provided the best drink service, responding to every request with "It would be my pleasure." Awesome! The Barracuda Bar had extremely slow service (even if you tipped), but the bartenders were still friendly and the swings were great.
Entertainment:
Probably the best entertainment at any AI we've been to. There was something different every night (and sometimes two different things a night). I would caution though, that if you have a room near the lobby, you can hear the music from your room.

Overall, I thought the resort was very nice, though I felt it catered more towards families with children. For this reason, I wouldn't go back for a romantic vacation.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LLizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,443)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,829 - 3,835 of 6,443 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2013

We just yesterday came back home from Mexico, Cancun. We've been staying for 9 nites in this amazingly luxurious resort. The most amazing staff, food, customer service, and everything. I would highly recommend this resort to all my friends and people I dont know... and also next time we're going to Mexico, we definitely are staying with YOU, guys, again. You are amazing, guys!! Thank you for an unforgettable holidays ♥ while I was staying with you I was treated like a princess :) This Dreams resort is a real dream to stay in!!!!!!!! 5+++++++ <3

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Carolina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We visited the resort as part of a destination wedding. First, I will say that the resort employees we met were very friendly & accommodating. Even though "tipping" is not required, it is graciously accepted for those individuals that have been more attentive to your specific needs. All you need to do is ask politely & you should be accommidated.
Overall, the resort is nice, clean & there is plenty of activities to do including for the kids. However, nothing exceptional stood out to us. Food was average at best. Our room was spacious as we had an ocean front room & was kept well by housekeeping, but the overall value for the cost of our stay(8 days) was below par compared to other resorts we have stayed at.
I realize everyone has their own personal views as to what they feel is a positive experience, but this resort did not measure up to our expectations.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gburg11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We had our wedding at the Dreams Riviera Cancun and it was perfect. We had a group of 54 people travelling with us, and the food, accommodations and staff were amazing. We never had to ask twice for anything and they were always more than happy to help make our stay better, even to the point of creating deserts and meals that were not on the menu for our nephew that has specific allergies. The food was never disappointing, and our wedding coordinators Gina and Jorge were amazing and accommodated every want and need we had. Our wedding exceeded our expectations; couldn't have ask for a better, more beautiful wedding. Special shout out to "Jose" Samuel at the Desires night club and Eric at the "Bar"racuda, you guys made our stay especially memorable.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JandMMangaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was nice room and ocean view was great did not find staff as friendly as other dreams resorts wife sprained her ankle. We went the front desk to see if could a bag with ice to put on it we were told no but they could sent a bucket of ice to our room. Maid serves was hit and miss came back to room after it was made up we had long pillows on our bed but pillow cases only covers halve the pillows floor was not swept once all week. Two days before we left shears were removed from patio doors never to return. Bar service at some bars was bottom shelf on less u ask for something different beach bar was the best Alberto always pour top shelf if he had it food was hit and miss some days over cooked badly or really under cooked both the wife and has stomach problems when we were there never happened before sometime so salty u could not eat it aurora was the best server at the lobby bar servers at the pool were good. Big difference From dreams in puerto Vallarta I think we will stick to the west coast

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Royden G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

My wife and I just returned from a week celebrating our 15-year anniversary at the Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa. We had the most amazing time! We had never vacationed on the Caribbean side of Mexico and had some reservations about cleanliness, safety, and overall value - we just didn't want to be under-impressed when comparing the online pictures to the actual experience, as we have heard can so easily happen. For us, the reality was the reverse - even though the website showed what looked like an amazing resort, our experience at the resort was even better than we were hoping for. The hospitality and service-oriented nature of the staff was wonderful. The facilities were luxurious, amazingly clean, and so well-maintained. We walked up and down the beach evaluating other properties. We even walked a few properties of the other comparable resorts and felt like Dreams was by far the best option for what we were looking for. Sure, there were a few "couples only" resorts which may have been a bit more tranquil, but none of them had a pool positioned in such a way that you could see the beach/sea from the pool itself. Dreams main pool is an infinity pool that you can literally float on the top of and see/experience the gentle sea waves crashing the beach. Dreams was big enough that it had the amenities and restaurant selections to give a lot of variety as well as big enough that you "hide out" and be alone. Yet, Dreams was small enough that everything was a short walking distance and you could meet others if you didn't feel like "hiding out" the whole time. It was the best of both worlds, depending on what you were looking for.

Room Tip: We gave up the idea of the plunge pool for a balcony with jetted-tub and ocean view. We preferred w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Attended a family destination at Dreams Riviera Cancun and from the moment we entered the property we were impressed. Facilities are very clean (housekeeping twice a day) and the beach and pools are beautiful. Would recommend to a friend in a heartbeat! They even opened the nightclub early so that we could watch the Canadiens and Leafs playoff games.

Noel in the Restaurant World Cafe treated us like royalty.

Fantastic vacation from beginning to end!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank s3desouz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Morelos
3.5 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#8 of 28 in Puerto Morelos
9,248 reviews
0.2 mi away
Excellence Riviera Cancun
Excellence Riviera Cancun
#2 of 28 in Puerto Morelos
12,829 reviews
0.5 mi away
Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun
Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun
#6 of 28 in Puerto Morelos
7,587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
3.8 mi away
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
#1 of 28 in Puerto Morelos
936 reviews
19.8 mi away
Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa

Address: Carretera Federal 307 | Chetumal–Puerto Juárez, Benito Juárez, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#11 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#11 Spa Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#11 Green Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range: $271 - $1,043 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 486
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious Dreams Riviera Cancun takes its personality from its incredible location — just 30 minutes from the "hot" excitement of Cancun yet right on the "cool" Caribbean close to Playa del Carmen and many other of the Mayan Riviera’s most sought after sights. Most importantly, it is an enchanting wonderland where families, couples, singles and friends enjoy all the pleasures and privileges of Unlimited-Luxury® where everything is included. Your whole being will relax immediately, surrounded by our large sun-dappled swimming pools and a sugar white sand beach. To this, add lush tropical gardens and of course, our fabulous palm-filled beach. Your day and evening activities range from exciting to purely relaxing — with plenty to do for everyone including endless land and water activities, a world-class Dreams Spa by Pevonia and fitness center, nearby golf and much more. "Home" features the uniquely shaped octagonal room or suite, beautifully appointed with a private balcony, marble floors and full marble bath area with Jacuzzi tub and dozens of other luxury amenities and conveniences that anticipate your desires and fulfill them instantly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort And Spa
Dreams Riviera Cancun Hotel Puerto Morelos
Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Morelos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing