We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Birthday Weekend at Dreams”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Amazing Birthday Weekend at Dreams”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

My husband and I travelled to Dreams for a four day long weekend birthday celebration (April 19-21). This trip-from the flight to the hotel check-in was seamless. The hotel is one of the cleanest resorts we have ever stayed at and the service and food top notch! Although we didn't bring our kids with us-this would be a terrific spot for families.

The entertainment team was excellent (yes-you Diego!!) and the shows were the best we have seen at a resort.

We are already hoping to come back next year with the kids. Thank you Dreams for giving us a wonderful getaway. We just wish we were able to bring the Mexican heat home to Canada!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,440
    1,382
    499
    206
    153
See reviews for
2,784
1,705
40
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,612)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

My family & I travelled to Dreams Riviera Cancun over the Easter holidays. I read TripAdvisor before booking this hotel and also in the run up to our holiday - and I therefore wanted to submit our view as well.

In a nutshell - we had a wonderful time. The resort was beautiful and was wonderfully maintained. The staff work hard to ensure that you are looked after and enjoy your holiday. We ate in all but the French Restaurant (adults only) and we especially enjoyed the Asian & Seafood restaurants. Breakfast was awesome at the World Cafe.

Good entertainment at night and the themed evenings were fantastic. My children (9 & 11) did go to the kids club - but there were perhaps a little to old for some of the activities. They met children of a similar age around the pool and they had fun with football on the beach and lots of pool games. Table tennis in the pool was great fun.

On a negative point - we did wait quite a while to check in and then the room we reserved and had already paid for was not available for 2 days. On moving day - that took quite a while as well. The room is beautiful and perfect for a couple. However, for a family it is quite a squeeze. There is no room for unpack all of your clothes and put your suitcases away - we found we lived out of ours for the 2 weeks we were there. I think the wifi should be included in the price of the room - not in additional. I needed to complete some work emails in the final week - so had to pay up. It worked well - no issues. I agree with other comments that reserving beds at this resort is not great. However - if you ask security - they will move towels & personal belongings of those not attending those beds for over an hour.

All in all - we had lots of fun Great resort.

Room Tip: Ask for room on floor 3 or above - near to the beach - away from the noise of the entertainment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LizzieW63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

I just came back last night after staying at this wonderful resort from Apr 15 - 20, 2013.

I booked the ocean front master suite with preferred club membership and what an amazing welcome we received upon check-in. The ocean view from the 5th floor was outstanding with spectacular sunrise in the morning that kept us refreshed all day.

Extremely friendly staff, very well kept resort, clean and great food. Loved the Bordeaux (French restaurant - formal dining) and Himitsu (Japanese restaurant). Oceana and Seaside grill gets busy during peak hours but if you schedule yourself appropriately, the wait to get in is no longer than 10 - 15 minutes and food and drinks arrive within 10 minutes of placing the order. If you don't want to wait, World Cafe is always there to accommodate at any given time of the day - good variety of food at all times. It's a small resort so if you tip few bucks on every visit, the waiters come to know you in a short time and they take really good care of you when you arrive. They're extremely hard working people and look forward to these tips to supplement their salary.

Beach is nice, clean and they took every measure to clean the overnight accumulation of seaweed every morning. Carlos took good care of us at the Beach and never stopped the drinks supply. He's getting old now after working in hotel industry for 23 years but is not giving up and always keeps that smile on his face.

Preferred club is definitely worth the extra cost as it gives you special privileges i.e. access to club for breakfast, bar and snacks at odd times,wi-fi internet access, special check-in and out to name a few.

Overall, it was a great experience and I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Preferred Club is definitely a plus. OceanFront Master suite is quiet and gives excellent view. Ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shahid H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Wwaspent a week at this family resort. We spent time at the gym daily and participated in some great classes. We dis also take the bike trip into the town of PM, though dis not realize it was to stop at markets to souvenir shop. We also took a hobie cat rise which waa beautiful and fun. The food waa top notch as well as the service. We so not have children, though the kids explorer club area was full of activities and open long hours and there were teen/tween activities happening as well. We liked the size of this resort; large enough to offer amenities and small enough to run into the same people throughout your stay and get around easily. Our room waa cleaned daily and mini bar stocked. The resort puts out a paper 'The Sundial' every evening letting all know of the activities and special events each day. There were about 20 weddinga that occurred while we were there also. The only thing that was not top-notch was the water as there was seaweed in most areas so only wading in was an option and we enjoy playing in the surf. The staff did however. Lean the seaweed off of the beach multiple times daily to allow for the many beach volleyball and soccer games that were going on. It was a greattrip at a great place!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CSFTMF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

My family and I stayed in a premium club plunge pool room here for 2 weeks over the Easter period. The hotel overall was lovely, great food and the staff are incredibly friendly however our 1st night was a nightmare.

After a 10 hour flight we checked in to be told my family were being put into a room with only a kingsize bed and 1 single, there are 4 of us! After explaining we had booked a room with 2 double beds and I had it in black and white, the reservation manager said that this was only a request! I explained that I had been in the travel industry for 20 years and that if you have it in writing its clearly not negotiable. The hotel had effectively overbooked, we also found out that 4 other families that checked in with us from our flight also had been downgraded. For our first night we slept in a room with 2 extra fold away beds which was a total health hazard if there was a fire. The following day the hotel said that our original room would not be available for another 2 nights, we said that we would except this if they compensate us, after much debate the hotel suddenly decided that in fact they had a room for us that afternoon. Other than that first day hiccup we did enjoy our holiday at Dreams.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jobUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

My family has just returned from 7 nights in the Maya Riviera -- not our first visit to Cancun or the surrounding areas, and will not be our last. This trip we spent three dreadful nights at the Iberostar Paraiso Maya (see separate review) and four great ones at the lovely Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort and Spa.

We found this Dreams resort to be really a nice surprise -- and a surprisingly good value, even considering that we paid a bit extra to have a Preferred VIP room with an outdoor plunge pool. We thought this resort was a bit nicer than four stars and were particularly impressed with our comfortable room.

Room: The preferred room was lovely and modern-feeling, with a breezy open wall, very comfortable bed and super A/C. It looked exactly like the photos you see in the reviews. It was clean, comfortable and the few requests we had (extra pillows, for example) were generally honored quickly and with a big smile. In general the room had what we needed and then some. Closet and suitcase space was sufficient, toiletries were generous, hair dryer worked well, mini bar was restocked as advertised, sheets were actual cotton, etc. The plunge pool and patio was a great late day retreat. As a plunge pool, it's meant to be a quick place to cool off, not a warm place to swim laps. The water was cool and we loved having that space to relax and get out of the sun in the late afternoon. Our kids happily splashed out there every day after hours on the beach or in the larger (and warmer) swimming pools.

On the less good side: We did have a minor maintenance issue (drapes came partly off the rod and wouldn't fully close) that we asked to have fixed twice with no success. We also never had a turndown service and occasionally thought that housekeeping was a bit lax.

As others have noted, other guests walking by on the outside pathways do pass directly by the plunge pools that face the beach. This didn't bother us, but could bug others.

VIP service: The breakfast buffet in the main restaurant was very busy so we enjoyed our breakfasts in the cozy club lounge where I had great skim milk lattes every day. (Not available in room service.) Breakfast there included both hot and cold offerings and was more than enough for us. We also popped in there periodically for snacks, though didn't typically like the afternoon offering. The service was quite nice, as was having a quieter spot for a glass of wine or small sweet. I was, however, disappointed that minibar service was not available from the club lounge. (The guidebook in our room said that we could get mini bottles of alcohol for our room there... not so, apparently.) This would have been a nice extra touch to be able to enjoy drinks on our private pool patio in the afternoons without waiting 45 minutes for room service or going back to the pool.

Pools: This resort has very nice pools and a great layout with the infinity-edge pool looking out at the lovely beach. Overall, the resort feels neither too large, nor too small. It has super towel service and pool-side drink service. (And we did NOT tip everyone as others have said was necessary for every little thing.) At times the pools could have been cleaner on the margin. The pool decks and treacherous "bridge" across the kids' pool also need a good scrub with something to strip off a layer of slippery spilled sun lotion and sand. Both my daughter and I each took a fall on the pool deck because it was so slick!

It's a pain to do the 6:00 am chair save routine, but I've yet to see a resort in Mexico where that doesn't happen. It's great not to have to deal with towel cards or bracelets. We also loved the large pool beds with the shaded cover. The kids loved the mini ice cream cones by the pool. I appreciated the drinks that tasted like they had fresh lime juice and mint and other ingredients, though in general would have liked to see more fresh fruit juices and fewer mixes. (picky, picky!) Drinks were usually neither too weak nor too strong.

The beach was very pretty and well-maintained. There was a bit of seaweed coming in but it was well-groomed. The kids loved the hammocks and umbrellas on the beach. They also spent a nice afternoon painting some pottery in the shade for an extra fee. I appreciated that the poolside and beachside vendors are limited and that the "Adventure Photos" guys came around just once or twice a day to offer photos. None were very pushy. (Though I would recommend bargaining a bit as they were a bit pricey.)

The entertainment and food: We appreciated the mix of daytime pool activities and entertainment, though as some others have noted there is an almost constant flow of loud music by the pool and some occasional quiet would be fine too. The evening shows were neither so large as to be irritating, nor so small as to be too silly. There was a good mix. (A magician/juggler one night, a large fiesta, a fire show, etc.) Our dinners in the a la carte restaurants were actually very good -- especially for an all-inclusive resort. We were particularly pleasantly surprised by the Italian restaurant, Portofino, and our very charming waiter. We did not have to wait for dinners any night except one, and just went out to the poolside fiesta that evening (where there was no wait). So overall our experience with the entertainment options and dinners was quite good, as was our breakfast experience. We also loved the daily chefs parade with 40 chefs bringing tastings from the kitchen. What fun!

Lunches, on the other hand, were a problem. The two poolside a la carte restaurants have really terrible, terrible service. 45 minutes from order to food coming one day at Oceana, and a 25 minute wait for someone to even take a drink order another day at Seaside Grill. (We left.) We tried a room service lunch that day instead. That also took 45 minutes and arrived cold. The food at lunch was just in general not very good. When we DID get service at the poolside restaurant, the nachos we ordered were of the quality you might get at a nicer US sports park (melted yellow American cheese, ugh!). The walk-up buffet by the pool had decent (but not good) burgers and hot dogs, and passable pizza but was very limited. A few more snacks would also be nice for the afternoon.

In general for an all-inclusive resort with options for all ages, this resort offered decent food that was at times even good... just not at lunch times.

Overall, we had a really, really nice time at Dreams and would definitely go back, especially with the kids for whom the rather basic food options aren't really a problem, and especially if the good deal we got on the VIP Preferred room upgrade is available in the future. Very nice resort. Very relaxing few days with lots of quality family time balancing relaxing and activities. Great family vacation spot. Recommended.

Room Tip: VIP Preferred Club room was worth the extra cost. Plunge pool patio was cool place to relax in the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GeorgiaOnMyMind_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norhtern Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Wonderful week of relaxation. Great Staff, great food. Thank you to Manuel at the pool who always made sure I had a cold drink. Word of advice if you want to mak sure that you get even better service throw the pool waiters a few bucks. I would start the day and give him $20 and i never waited for anything! You do not have to tip to get drinks at all! I just know these guys work hard and i dont mind passing it along. Im sure other reviewers have mentioned but if it rains and thye dont have a night event at the pool get a reservation early. Great Kids club, my 9 and 10 year old girls loved it. Go see the Dolphins at Dolphinaris Riviera Mya. You can purchase this by the Pool Towel Shack. They recommended this and they hit a home run with this. We had a Plunge Pool and it was great (and Cold) my only complaint (and not the resorts fault) is the people above who on two nights dropped bottles into onto our deck and pool and had to have it cleaned. Any calls to housekeeping or room service were responded in 10 minutes tops. We used DreamsDays for a car service and I will only use them moving forward. Great service and they have very comfy Cadillac Escalades and cold beer. We were at the resort so fast I was only able to enjoy one beer on the trip from the airport!
Cant wait to go back.

Room Tip: Request a Plunge pool room by the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NorthernVADude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Morelos
3.5 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#9 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
8,218 reviews
0.5 mi away
Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun
Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun
#5 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
6,587 reviews
9.9 mi away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#7 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Moon Palace Cancun
Moon Palace Cancun
#23 of 182 in Cancun
20,610 reviews
10.0 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
#5 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,805 reviews
17.0 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
2,908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa

Property: Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
Address: Carretera Federal 307 | Chetumal–Puerto Juárez, Benito Juárez, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#6 Family Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#10 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#10 Spa Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 486
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious Dreams Riviera Cancun takes its personality from its incredible location — just 30 minutes from the "hot" excitement of Cancun yet right on the "cool" Caribbean close to Playa del Carmen and many other of the Mayan Riviera’s most sought after sights. Most importantly, it is an enchanting wonderland where families, couples, singles and friends enjoy all the pleasures and privileges of Unlimited-Luxury® where everything is included. Your whole being will relax immediately, surrounded by our large sun-dappled swimming pools and a sugar white sand beach. To this, add lush tropical gardens and of course, our fabulous palm-filled beach. Your day and evening activities range from exciting to purely relaxing — with plenty to do for everyone including endless land and water activities, a world-class Dreams Spa by Pevonia and fitness center, nearby golf and much more. "Home" features the uniquely shaped octagonal room or suite, beautifully appointed with a private balcony, marble floors and full marble bath area with Jacuzzi tub and dozens of other luxury amenities and conveniences that anticipate your desires and fulfill them instantly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Jetsetter, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort And Spa
Dreams Riviera Cancun Hotel Puerto Morelos
Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Morelos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing