We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7,380)
Filter reviews
7,380 results
Traveler rating
4,520
1,753
648
260
199
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,520
1,753
648
260
199
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsworld cafeplunge poolpreferred clubseaside grillel patioswim up barkids clubfrench restaurantexplorers clubcoco cafeoceana restaurantocean viewpaellawedding coordinatorfamily vacationdestination weddingmaster suite
Filter
Updating list...
4,720 - 4,725 of 7,380 reviews
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed at Dreams Riviera Feb 4th -10th this is a newer property and bigger than dreams Cancun. The hotel, Lobby, pools, beaches and resturaunts were great. We loved Pablo our pool side waiter who made us grasshoppers out of palm leaves. Eric the swing bartender was great also. I think the entertainment staff at Dreams Cancun was better that riviera and me being allegric to shellfish I had to miss out on a lot of amzing food choices at Dreams Rivieria.

This resort is a great place for families or couples, they balance both ends of the spectrum well and although I liked the more personilized service at Dreams Cancun I loved this property, and do understand it is bigger and tougher to provide the extra service as dreams cancun does.

Room Tip: Choose a room closer to the pool area it will be quiter and better views, plunge pool rooms probably aren't worth the extra cost as they are not very private. Bring closed toe shoes as a few of the resturaunts require them
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Troy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

You will encounter Sewer Smells here! The large white tanks on the South side of the property (near the Spa), beside building 2, are full of the sewage from the Dreams resort. When walking near this area, especially downwind, you will gag from the overwhelming sewage smell. Also, you will smell sewer gas every time you go into the World Cafe. They have a plumbing problem in the World Cafe and it's allowing sewer gas to escape into the restaurant. It's mostly on the side away from the food service buffet but the smell was there every time we went into the World Cafe. Staff fumigating with masks on while customers ate and did not warn. What chemicals are they using? is it in the water system . Also strong smells every time you walkninto bathrooms in public areas due to deodorizers also fragrance in tissues.. Could cause allergies. Was sick the whole time there.

Room Tip: 1500 south facing ocean 5th floor jacuzzi on patio.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

My husband & i just returned from a week at dreams :). The resort is so well kept .....they are constantly cleaning and restocking. The staff work so hard and are happy to please the guests. A few staff that made our stay memorable were Al (resident manager), Iran & Efren ( Mexican restaurant), Gamaliel, Estrinova (beach), Jose, Rosealba, Estrinova, Libador, Luz, Rafael, Victor & Gerardo. The restaurants were all very good....we didn't eat at the buffet. The Mexican restaurant is soo much funny... ask for Iran! Weather was beautiful the whole time..we spent most of our time on the beach. Top shelf liquor at all the bars....if you don't see it just ask. My only comment would be if you don't have kids you might want an adult only resort as there are lots of kids especially in the pools.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boston89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

My husband and I just took a four night babymoon to this resort, and it was incredible!! We didn't have to leave the resort for anything. They had plenty of restaurants, activities and entertainment to make us not want to leave the hotel AT ALL. Had I not been 6 months pregnant, we definitely would have left to do a few excursions, but we stayed around, got massages, swam in the pool and just relaxed. It was ideal. The food was delicious at all seven restaurants, the service was amazing and the room was wonderful. We stayed at one with a personal "dipping" pool, which was lovely on those hot days.

Also, the resort was both family friendly and couple oriented. While there were lots of kids there and plenty for them to do, it didn't get in the way if you wanted to have a "couples only" type of vacation that is more romantic. It was big enough where you had your own space, but small enough, where you got to know people and could enjoy the comraderie at the pool bar or pool activities.

I would definitely go back ....

Room Tip: If you can afford the little extra bit of money, go for the personal dipping pool, where you have your own mini-pool outside of your bedroom. It is so relaxing on a hot night!!!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SSDuckett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Just returned and it was an okay resort. There are A La Carte restaurants but they do not accept reservations so be prepared for a wait when you want to eat. The only reservation that can be made is to sit at the cooking table in the Japanese Himitsu restaurant and this was by far our best meal of the week.
Main buffet is only average and does not change much during the week, also quite small so crowded and noisy. Food is good and the servers are nice but it should be bigger for the size of the resort.
Pools are nice but again small for the size of the resort. A couple of days the main Infiniti pool was absolutely crammed as it has the only access to a swim up bar. Swim up bar staff are often overwhelmed with the workload but do well considering.
Very small beach and really not swimable. Swimming area is buoyed off but quite small and no fish to see. Was at the Barcelo (south of Playa del Carmen) last year and the beaches and snorkeling are phenomenal. We did not see one person swimming in this Dreams resort beach the whole week.
Rooms were nice and the jacuzzi in the room is a nice touch. Resort is well cleaned and staff are friendly. One thing we found was our room was very noisy with cleaning ladies talking, laughing and sometimes yelling outside our door at 8 am. The disco Desires can be loud too but it shuts down at 1 am.
The nightly entertainment is average but the Friday night Rock Circus was fantastic. Lots of real good hard rock songs mixed with acrobats, a unique combination.
Overall, a decent resort but the Barcelo offered far better accommodations, beach and pools for the same cost. Lesson learned for us.

Room Tip: Stay away from the rooms that are around 1430-1450 as the noise level is very loud.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hfxbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews