We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch a definite place to go back to”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 20, 2012

Service was outstanding - above and beyond. At the bars, at the restaurants. Food was excellent. The French restaurant was outstanding, the food at the ocean side cafe's was very good. The Japanese restaurant was good - nothing to write home about. The service through out the resorts was nothing but phenomenal. Not the fake greeting in the hall way - genuine smiles by happy employees, enjoying their job. From servers who kiddingly ask if you want a shot of tequila for breakfast, to bartenders that want to make your drink special or recommend a new favorite drink - service was wonderful and fun.
This all exclusive is on the top of my list.
Rooms where large, very nice and fully implemented with everything you need. Beds very comfortable.
Hotel is three years old and is being maintained.
Beach is right there and pools, bars, and quick restaurants are all right there. Order the shrimp civichie at the poolside restaurant it is great.
They need a couple of fixes. The smell of the toilet access (hallway) on the west end of the pool could gag a maggot - use the east pool toilet. And the internet is expensive and wouldn't work in our room - its all wireless and needs to be strengthened.
The great service makes up for any minor issues - a highly recommended stay.

Room Tip: Building 2xxx and building 1xxx are the outside buildings closest to the ocean and pools, try to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dhowbad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,544)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,616 - 4,622 of 6,544 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2012

We stayed at the Dreams Riviera Cancun as part of our honeymoon, it was a fab resort, the staff couldnt do enough for you very helpful, the food was lovely and place was spotless, I would definatley recommend this place to anybody and will be going back

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank becs31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

My wife and I and our 2 kids (aged 4 and 7) were at this resort from Jan 2 - 9, 2012.
My wife and I would constantly be checking this site for updated reviews prior to our trip. Majority of the reviews were positive, but we would come across some negative reviews which would make us worry a little bit. Let me just say that after being at this resort I have no idea what people were thinking when they would post negative comments! I can honestly say that it is very difficult to come up with any negative feedback about this place!!

I will start off by saying that this resort is in the perfect location, especially traveling with small kids! Once on the sunquest bus from the cancun airport, we were the first stop....only 20 mins away! Which we were very thankful for as the tour operator on the bus told the group of 80 on the bus that it was at least another 2.5 hrs to the last stop in Tulum!

The resort itself was fantastic! We arrived at the resort at 3am, and we were still greeted with bottled water and champagne for the adults and Shirley temples for the kids! I have never seen my son smile so big at 3 am in my life!!

The rooms were spectacular! Very modern and very open! We upgraded to the preferred club rooms, which I highly recommend. The preferred section of rooms are much closer to the ocean. We were on the 5th floor 3 rooms away from the ocean, room #1510. you get free wireless (which is $70 for the week), jacuzzi on the balcony upgraded mini bar (m & m's, pringles, barcardi, JD and vodka), and access to the preferred club bar. This place had a tonne of upgraded booze (crown royal, grey goose, upgraded wines, Bombay gin Bacardi to name a few!), private patio, computer lounge, and fancy food and snacks 2 times a day!

The food was amazing! Be sure to eat at all the al a carte restaurants!! Bar selection was like any bar here at home. Just be sure to ask for the specific brands when ordering drinks.....a vodka 7 will get you the local vodka, but a absolute and 7 will get you the good stuff. They even had a coffee cafe where you could get latte, cappuccinos and espressos whenever you wanted...even deserts!

Beach and pools were great! If the sun wasn't out the pools were on the chilly side. Caribbean sea was warm! Sand was super white and the water was nice a turquoise when the sun was out!

If you have kids this is the resort for you! The kids club was amazing! They had tones of activities for the kids and all the club staff were fantastic! They even gave you a pager when you check your kids into the club in case they need to talk to you! If you don't have kids, be prepared to see a lot of kids at this resort!

Overall this resort super exceeded our expectations and made for an unforgettable vacation! I would recommend this resort to anyone!!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Tskins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2012

We're a family of 4 that traveled to Dreams Jan.10-17 with a large group. We're an active family, my husband is a recent paraplegic after a bicycle accident 3 years ago. This is our 3rd sun vacation since then, and we know what we need. Here's a review that I hope is helpful to any other "wheeler" families out there, and also general comments on the hotel:

Pros:
- We had awesome transport to and from the hotel, an extra large SUV to transport all our gear and wheelchair.
- The room was truly wheelchair accessible. Large, on the ground floor, roll-under sink, huge accessible shower with shower bench that folded to the wall, with large bar that folded down for support. Comfort height toilet in the separate area with a door for privacy.
- The resort is intimate, everything is close to the room, all levels to restaurants are ramped.
- Room service is included in the all-inclusive. This was fantastic.
- The hotel staff went out of their way to ensure our comfort, they were accommodating and thoughtful.
- The infinity pool was long enough to swim lengths in (wheelchair to pooldeck to stairs transfer for my husband was okay, plenty of friendly people to help get him back into his chair :-) )
- Fantastic kids pool...large and shallow & warm.
- I did 5 runs (between 8-10kms each) off the hotel property into the town and felt very safe
- Great food overall (4 out of 5)
- Tipping is optional, so when you give a tip it really felt appreciated
- NO elevator rides were required during our hotel stay!!

Cons

- The gym was not accessible - it had a staircase from the spa. This was very disappointing for us, and will be higher on my "must have" list next time.

- The beach was beautiful but there was quite a bit of seaweed washed up. Water was very rough & a bit cold much of our stay so we didn't venture in (might be normal for January).

- WiFi in the rooms is super-slow, so if this will drive you crazy, you've been warned :-).
- Hallways could be noisy for sleep (this didn't affect our kids, just us)

As you can see, the Cons list is very short. Overall, this was a top-notch resort!

Room Tip: The "plunge pool with hot tub" room was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sabrina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2012

Preface: We are a young couple, late 20s, that really focus on food, drink, and relaxation when we're on vacation so please base our review based on those facts.

Check-in/Check-out:
Our Check-in was one of the easiest that I have ever experienced. That being said, this was definitely a benefit of being upgraded to the preferred level. We did this through a travel agent before our trip and I don't think there is any other way to go. We were welcome with champagne and water and taken to our room, our luggage soon followed. Not one complaint here.
Check-out: Relatively easy, again we were able to do this in the preferred club so this made a difference. The lobby was a madhouse the day of checkout and had 450 people checking in, plus it was pouring down rain so being able to check out in the preferred club was huge. We called down 30 min before and the bell boy came and picked up our luggage with no problem.
Room:
Again, we were upgraded to an oceanview room with jacuzzi so our room was extremely nice. When we arrived, there was a bottle of champagne in ice waiting for us which was a nice touch. The AC and the jacuzzi on the balcony were not working so we called down to the front desk to have them come up and check it. It took a couple of calls for someone to show up, but it was done within 2 hours of our initial call. I'm a little pushy so it wasn't something I was going to let go. The bathroom is def. not private at all, so I suggest bringing an ipod or something that plays music and also a plan for "bathroom time" We just went on the balcony to give each other privacy so it was fine. The bed was okay, nothing too spectacular and the fridge was stocked every day, although we really didn't need 1/2 the items in there and wish we would have had more beer and water. The walls are really thin so if you are a light sleeper, I suggest bringing ear plugs, worked for me just fine. The only complaint that I have was the gnats we experiences one day after the rain, they were everywhere and we couldn't enjoy the balcony or the hallway without being swarmed but again, only one day out of 7.
Food:
I am an extremely picky eater with a very sensitive stomach and I ate 3 meals a day, every day. We typically ate at World Cafe every morning for breakfast and were pretty impressed with the variety. We got omelets every morning and they were delicious. The World Cafe wasn't as impressive for lunch, but def. had alot to offer for everyone. We ate lunch at Seaside Grill almost every day and loved this place. The seafood was great ( I don't even like seafood) and almost everything we got here, we liked. Barefoot Grill pizza and burgers were also very good.
We ate at all of the restaurants and had the "buffet" by the pool one night. The buffet was subpar and kind of awkward for a couple b/c they sat you at large tables with people that you didn't know. We did this the 1st night we were there and that was the last time for us.
Bordeuax- This was by far our favorite and we actually at here twice. I had the filet both times and it was really great. My boyfriend had the filet and lamb...lamb not so great but filet, really good. The bread and french onion soup were the highlights of this restaurant for me. Creme Brulee is pretty delicious too.
El Patio- Not impressed at all. The queso was our favorite part of this meal and we didn't feel like they offered enough of a variety on the menu.
Japanese- This was def. a close 2nd for me. I loved it. The atmosphere was great and the food was delicious. We really liked the sushi and I had the Teppanyaki meal that was really filling and good. No complaints here at all.
Portofino- Our least favorite. We eat Italian all of the time so might be spoiled but we just weren't impressed at all by this place. Sauce was really overpowering and just not good.
Seaside Grill- We loved this place for lunch but for dinner it was just so-so. I think the appetizers were the least satisfying. My entree (filet) was delicious though.
Service:
We couldn't have asked for better service. Between the Seaside Grill at lunch (Rene gave us a very nice welcome), the restaurants, and the bars (Alberto and Abidas at the beach bar were our favorite), our experience with service here was great. We spent most of our time in the preferred club lounge and could get drinks all of the time. Also, we spent all of our days at the beach bar with the swings and Alberto and Abidas were the best! Note: the employees switch locations every month so look for them elsewhere come Feb.
I would say that the place we had the worst service would be the lobby bar. They were the least friendly and just not as personable as the other locations. However, all in all a great experience with service. Another Note: Tips do go a long way!!!
Spa: Only went for a pedicure b/c WHOA expensive!!!
Beach/Pool: We spend all of our time at the beach but the pool was def. gorgeous. Servers are everywhere so it's not hard to get a drink. The beach isn't the most beautiful in the world, but it's def. swimmable and pretty. The bathrooms near the pool were a little smelly and not that pleasant but they are at the pool people!!! My suggestion, take the extra 20 seconds to walk to the CoCo Cafe bathrooms, they were my go to the entire trip.
All in all we had a great vacation and would return, but def. plan around the season. We were there at one of the lowest capacity weeks of the year and it was great. No waits, chairs everywhere, etc. but I could see this place being overwhelming and stressful full capacity.

Room Tip: Ocean Front Rooms get more of a breeze and are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Kristin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

Ok, I've read pretty much all of the reviews, and many of comments are clearly from individuals who have never been to an all inclusive before. The other issues do sound frustrating, and I"m surprised the resort didn't handle them, as our experience was that they handled any problem we had. Yes, this resort has issues and I'll cover those, but for the most part, this is an excellent all-inclusive resort.

Rooms:
The rooms were beautiful and well appointed. We did not have a preferred room but ended up with a great view (5th floor- looking outside of the resort). Rooms were clean, modern, and comfortable. Small fridge with cornoas, sodas, and waters as in most all-inclusives-- they will fill it with what you like if you ask. Downsides that have been mentioned are true- you can hear a lot in the halls-- I am a deep sleeper so this wasn't a huge issue but I can imagine it might be for others. The bathrooms and shower are a frosted/clear glass, so don't offer a whole lot of privacy in the room, which isn't generally an issue but for those of you traveling with older kids/teenagers, it might be a little awkward.

Food:
Room service all day/night (stops at 11p)- had this for several meals and was average to good. They would pretty much bring you anything including beers and wine.
Breakfast was typically in the room or at the buffet- nothing much to report- it was good and lots of options (healthy options, ethnic options, standard breakfast fare options like omelets, etc.)
Lunch- at the pool they always have pizza, burgers, and while we were there paella (every day!), soft-serve ice cream, etc. Then, there is a restaurant by the pool that is very good- ceviche, wings, burgers, salads, burritos, etc.
Dinner- This is where I had the biggest issue- no reservations. I found this annoying. We were with a group and had to wait- not great for kids. When you do get into a restaurant, the service is so/so. The food was generally good (in our group comments ranged from "awful" to "excellent" so it really is a matter of palate!). I can tell you its similar, if not better, than most all-inclusives. One exception- Bordeaux (fancy, no kids restaurant) was excellent. Amazing service, amazing choices, would have gone there more than once if we had tried it before our last day. Did not try the Japanese or Italian restaurants.

Service-
With the exception of Dinner, service was perfect. Fast, accurate, kind. Bartenders and servers were very nice. Please consider giving a tip, these people make very little and a little tip goes a long way. Alberto at the bar with swings (on the beach) was awesome. So nice to the kids and fun/chatty with adults.
We saw several people get hurt (not at the fault of the resort), some in our group and a lifeguard/hotel staff person was RIGHT there to help with first aid. Very impressive.
Grounds were impressive- people were constantly cleaning and doing activities to keep up the resort. However, they would tend to miss little things, like empty glasses and plates that had been left around.

Entertainment-
I never caught a full show but walked by them on my way to dinner and they were cool- one night was a fire show, one night a show for the kids, dancers, etc. Entertainment in the lobby ranged from amazing to not-so-good.

Other:
We did do the "time-share" talk for a spa credit- it was low pressure, 90 minutes, if you aren't interested, you can be in and out.
Resort is kid friendly. Others in our group used the kids club- locked gate that you must be buzzed into for security, parents get pagers in case they are needed. Kids loved it and stayed mostly all day.
There were LOTs of weddings while we were there- some were annoyed by that, we thought it was fun to watch.

Room Tip: The rooms that face the interior (pool, lobby, etc.) will be exposed to more noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank kl1203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

In arriving at the airport, my expectations were unsure. As driving to the resort, we dropped off other people at resorts that looked great. I was afraid that this place wouldn't be as nice. Immediately arriving at the hotel, i was blown away by the beautiful lobby. I was given a drink and a delicious cookie upon arrival. It was so amazing. In the room, i immediately went out onto the terrace, the view was astounding, and it wasn't even an ocean view! We looked around and thought "this is perfect!" The food was great, the pool and beach area was breathtaking, and the weather was phenomenal! When leaving I thought, "It's Over Already?" If booking this hotel, just note that 5 nights is NOT enough.

Room Tip: You don't need to get a suite with a pool, the pool area is large enough and you probably won...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dawn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Morelos
3.5 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#9 of 28 in Puerto Morelos
9,392 reviews
0.2 mi away
Excellence Riviera Cancun
Excellence Riviera Cancun
#2 of 28 in Puerto Morelos
13,030 reviews
0.5 mi away
Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun
Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun
#5 of 28 in Puerto Morelos
7,724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
3.8 mi away
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
#1 of 28 in Puerto Morelos
964 reviews
19.8 mi away
Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa

Address: Carretera Federal 307 | Chetumal–Puerto Juárez, Benito Juárez, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#11 Green Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#13 Spa Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#13 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range: $285 - $919 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 486
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious Dreams Riviera Cancun takes its personality from its incredible location — just 30 minutes from the "hot" excitement of Cancun yet right on the "cool" Caribbean close to Playa del Carmen and many other of the Mayan Riviera’s most sought after sights. Most importantly, it is an enchanting wonderland where families, couples, singles and friends enjoy all the pleasures and privileges of Unlimited-Luxury® where everything is included. Your whole being will relax immediately, surrounded by our large sun-dappled swimming pools and a sugar white sand beach. To this, add lush tropical gardens and of course, our fabulous palm-filled beach. Your day and evening activities range from exciting to purely relaxing — with plenty to do for everyone including endless land and water activities, a world-class Dreams Spa by Pevonia and fitness center, nearby golf and much more. "Home" features the uniquely shaped octagonal room or suite, beautifully appointed with a private balcony, marble floors and full marble bath area with Jacuzzi tub and dozens of other luxury amenities and conveniences that anticipate your desires and fulfill them instantly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort And Spa
Dreams Riviera Cancun Hotel Puerto Morelos
Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Morelos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing