We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming, relaxed, simple, clean b&b that feels like a Robinson Crusoe treehouse with beautiful ocean view!"” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amar Inn B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amar Inn B&B
Ranked #3 of 19 Puerto Morelos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Charming, relaxed, simple, clean b&b that feels like a Robinson Crusoe treehouse with beautiful ocean view!"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2010

My husband and I went for our 10th anniversary, beginning of Oct. '09. We are so happy that we decided to visit Puerto Morelos and to stay at Amar Inn! The pictures really don't do it justice, and it was much cuter than we had expected! Rudy welcomed us and when he took us to the top penthouse palapa, we couldn't believe our eyes. You feel like you're in a treehouse, and there's a huge screened window that stayed open the entire time, providing a constant breeze into the un-air-conditioned room. Although it took a couple of nights to get used to sleeping with the loud sound of surf and breezes, we saw it as perfectly in keeping with the exotic environment we were in. Fyi, no bugs at all, and even though some reviews mentioned water from the rain coming through, we had some small showers and did not feel a drop anywhere. The bathroom in the room doesn't have a ceiling that closes it in within the tall palapa, but it really wasn't a problem, and we had no water or plumbing issues whatsoever. The beach was great, despite it being seaweed time. There was some seaweed floating in the water close to shore, but it was perfectly tolerable. The beach was almost completely deserted the 5 days we were there except for Sunday, when the local families came out. But even with more people, the vibe was completely relaxed and mellow, not raucous or crowded at all. It's a short walk to PM, and most days we walked there for lunch and dinner. We recommend Trini's, if you're lucky Victor will be there. Pelicanos is good too; tip: they have huge, strong margaritas. Another tip: take cash! A lot of places did not take credit cards in this small town. And finally, for those looking to save money, don't listen to all the folks at the airport urging you to take taxis or vans -- there IS a (nice) public bus that will take you to PM for a FRACTION of the price -- called the ADO. Go to www.adogl.com.mx/es/index.htm for schedule! Perfectly safe!!! We're talking $5 vs. $50!! And another thing, we walked around PM at night and always felt perfectly safe, so don't go there being paranoid. Good luck and enjoy!!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank worldcombers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    46
    15
    2
    1
See reviews for
29
66
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2010

This little family owned Bed and Breakfast with authentic Mexican type rooms. This is not for the traveler that wants luxury, being pampered or high end furnishings. The owners will do anything for you to make your stay an enjoyable one. There is a very bountiful breakfast with home prepared Mexican taste treats. In fourteen days we did not have the same breakfast twice. Then if you do not like what they have prepared you can order what you would like from the kitchen.
The B and B is located right on the luxurious sand beach and the facitlity has beach chairs that can be taken the 20 steps down to the beach. It is a very quiet complex and is kept very clean around the grounds and of course in your room.
Puerto Morelos is a quiet little town with entertainment almost any night at a location a short walk from Amar Inn. If you want rest and relaxation with the best breakfast we have ever eaten in Mexico this is the place for you. The staff is always friendly and ready to meet your every need.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roadwarriorrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2010

We have stayed at Amar Inn in Puerto Morelos we were disturbed by the barking of their big dogs very anoying and trouble sleeping they would bark very early in the morning people who wish to go there remember they have dogs and it is not pleasent to hear.
Jean

Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank giteCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2009

I would recommend this quaint hotel if you are looking for a great deal with ocean view and on the beach. The staff is helpfull and speaks English well.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank natidWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2009

This is a small family run place in a small out of the way town perfect for relaxation and enjoying the beach. We had the top room which had a wonderful breeze blowing through it during the hottest part of the day. The beach is spectacular and quiet, with amazing snorkeling out on the reef. There are plenty of restaurants in town for food, and a mini mart for food if you are looking to save money. We were, and we were successful. We had friends who were going to stay here too, and they decided it was a little "too quaint" but we enjoyed it greatly. Not for everyone, but great for someone!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Buerc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2009

This is a beautiful, non-touristy place. I loved the village of Puerto Morelos, and wish we could have stayed longer. The staff was friendly and very helpful. Rudy got us settled in and gave us great information about what to do and where to eat. We spent a relaxing day on the beach (sadly our last day in Mexico) just snorkeling, swimming and taking in the beautiful view of the long, white sand beach and clear blue water. We stayed in a beautiful oceanview room with a small balcony and palapa roof. My only complaint /problem (and I've read this in other reviews as well) is that, during the night, we had a torrential downpour of rain. I felt sprinkles of rain, and awoke quickly, remembering that I had read about the water coming in. I groggily picked up our suitcases and everything else that was on the floor and put them on the table. I also secured all of the windows, but to no avail. In the morning, the floor was covered with at least an inch of water. We told the owner, and he sent a staff member right away to clean up the water on the floor. Nonetheless, I still loved this place and would go back in a heartbeat. The view from the room was incredible, and we are easygoing, non-pretentious, no frills travelers, so there was no harm done.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kwtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2009

My partner and I had heard of this place from a friend who spends winter in Mexico each year. We checked it on the web and found that the photos do not do it justice. We had booked a room for night 3, 4 & 5 of our trip as they were full on 1 & 2. When we arrived to our predestined hotel at 11.30pm on the first night after a long flight from Dublin, our hotel was locked up and there was no answer at reception. The only local number in Puerto Morelos was for The Amar Inn. We phoned to see if they had any recommendations, what else were we to do?? Luis, one of the sons who looks after the place, drove to us, picked us and our luggage up and said that he wouldn't see our first night ruined. He gave us a bed for the night and said that he would re arrange things so we could stay on. We moved to the penthouse the next day and things got decidedly better. The room is a large open plan space with a palapa style roof. Windows opened onto the ocean with a small balcony just beside it. The bathroom is also quite large with a wet room shower. The bed was huge and very comfortable. The style of the Amar is something you have to see to believe. If one likes to stay at the 'Holiday Inn' style hotel, this is not for you. Not that there is anything wrong with that type of same old same old, I just wanted something different. To gain access to the penthouse, you climb, again, climb up a Robinson Crusoe sort of spiral staircase, not the easiest after a few Margaritas, but fun. Breakfast is served each morning on the Veranda and what is on offers, differs. All very authentic. They family who run the Amar could not do enough for us, they were simply a family doing what they do best. We moved onto Tulum for a few weeks and when we returned, the greeting was like that of old friends. I would honestly recommend The Amar to anyone who wants something different in Mexico. The Riviera is unfortunately turning into something like Playa Des Ingles, Canary Islands and places like this won't be around for long. In my opinion, STAY, STAY, STAY!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pfbyrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Morelos hotels
2.3 mi away
Hotel el Moro
Hotel el Moro
#15 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Morelos
Hotel Hacienda Morelos
#17 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.7 mi away
Buenos Dias
Buenos Dias
#2 of 19 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
#1 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
3.1 mi away
Acamaya Reef
Acamaya Reef
#18 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
3.2 mi away
Excellence Riviera Cancun
Excellence Riviera Cancun
#2 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amar Inn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amar Inn B&B

Property: Amar Inn B&B
Address: Gral. Lazaro Cardenas Lt 4 | Smza 1 Mza 2 Lt 4, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Morelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Amar Inn B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amar Hotel Puerto Morelos
Amar Inn Bed And Breakfast
Amar Inn B&B Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Morelos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing