We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Vacation with our child”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Amar Inn B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Amar Inn B&B
Ranked #3 of 19 Puerto Morelos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Vacation with our child”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012 via mobile

We are so glad we found this place! The staff were beyond helpful and very thoughtful to the smallest detail. It was an amazing value. The breakfast was lavish. We told them we are vegetatarian and they completely catered to us. Our daughter loved chasing geckos and playing on the talcum powder like beach. We will be back.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank batiots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    47
    15
    2
    1
See reviews for
31
66
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Didsbury, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

We absolutely LOVED Amar Inn!! Miguel and Luis were gracious hosts and the Inn itself was so lovely and quaint. We loved to spend our afternoons in the beautiful shaded courtyard. The breakfast were delicious! We can't wait to go back!!

Room Tip: They have very basic and rustic rooms but clean and comfortable. Some rooms have a kitchenette othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marvel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chardon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2012

We spent two nights at the Amar Inn March 31 to April 1, 2012 and had a spectacular stay. We were greeted by Luis and his son Luis Jr. and checked into the Penthouse suite which was just charming. My sister and her husband had the ocean suite which was very nice also.
Luis and his family was so gracious as we were given advice on what to do in Puerto Morelos and had a great dinner oceanside at La Playita for some of the freshest and inexpensive seafood we had ever had. The town square was only a ten minute walk, but the roads were quite dusty as there is alot of road construction going on. I am afraid Puerto Morelos will not remain a tiny fishing village any more from the looks of the construction machinery. But enjoy the town for now and hope to come back next year. I met alot of new friends especially from the great Northwest. So thanks to Luis and see you soon!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CesarMChardon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

We arrived in Puerto Morelos without a reservation and were only able to stay here the first night of our three day stay!. It was still worth doing. It is a sweet location not too far a walk to the main square. The breakfasts are really excellent and would highly recommend it for that alone. Next time I am here I would make sure to book it ahead of time.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Byron18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2012

We discovered and fell in love with this sweet inn in '02, when Puerto Morelos was a somewhat smaller, simpler town. Stayed several times before Wilma in '05, and were always treated like family with each return visit. Ana Luisa and family survived and repaired admirably, plus the hurricane deposited sands lost in Cancun and Playa in front of them making their beach even wider, but heard from friends more recently about the evil condos being built between Amar and the shoreline. So it was with some concern that we returned to our beloved home away from home after all these years, worrying that our memories might not line up with these new realities.

Happy to report that in spite of their front row status being (most likely illegally) stolen out from under them, Amar continues to be a most charming place to stay. A few of the air-conditioned motel-style rooms no longer have a view to the beach, but they still face the gorgeous courtyard. Plus the "white room" on the ground floor has a little balcony from which you can see the beach. I believe the "green room" upstairs has side views too. The two most attractive and expensive palapa rooms are fine--the lovely "penthouse" still has views at certain angles and plenty of breezes, and the "ocean room" has one large window blocked but the others are unscathed. The more modest cabins on the other side of the yard have as they always did, a focus on the courtyard.

We and friends stayed in the more rustic cabins for the first time this trip and while they can get warm if there's no breeze, we found that the upstairs sleep lofts in the large one were no hotter than the ground floor thanks to those tiny vent windows in the top, and our friends were also fine in the midsized one. With fans we were comfortable, though outdoor temps ranged from the mid-80s during the day to upper 60s at night. At a hotter time of year, we might feel differently. Stair climbing (see pic) in the largest cabin can be a challenge--kind of like sleeping in a tree house--but we're middle aged and managed it fine. There is a basic kitchen there, and I love the little sitting area just outside the door that was all ours. Lots of room, especially for a family with kids. Later in our stay, both couples moved to the ocean and penthouse rooms and enjoyed them immensely.

The grounds are prettier and better maintained than ever--there's always someone working on them! Shady and lush, filled with birds, flowers, and iguanas, it's sometimes hard to push yourself out into the sun and sand. There are hammocks under a palapa and chaise chairs under the trees that look out to the beach.

Amar's legendary and diverse breakfasts continue to be served on the porch looking out to the garden from 8am-10am daily. Fresh squeezed OJ, fresh fruit salad, a different main course every morning, a basket of sweet breads, and seriously good coffee (a big deal to me) are always something to look forward to. I rarely needed another meal until dinner. So good.

Ana Luisa and her two sons Luis and Miguel will do whatever they can to help make your stay memorable. They can book trips to the reef, massages at the Mayan Jungle Spa (my friends went and loved it), tours etc., find you a cutting board and knife for the kitchen, loan you a hair dryer, catch you up on the local goings on--whatever you need. They've been in Puerto Morelos forever (the property was inherited from her mother many decades ago) and while there may be more modern, slick places in town these days, with newer sheets and other amenities, I seriously doubt that any has the vibe that Amar Inn has. This is a more "bohemian" "real Mexico" type of inn, but don't kid yourself--it's also very professionally run, well-kept, and clean--with a great location, awesome breakfasts, interesting guests from all over the world, and the wonderful Aguilar family there to take care of you. I love spending time there, and am already planning my return!

So go stay at Amar, do some yoga on the beach in the morning, come back for breakfast, get a fantastic massage at Violeta's next door (see beach pic with tent), then chill in one of the hammocks in the shade. How can it get any better than that???

Room Tip: There are basically 3 kinds of rooms, budget cabins (2 with kitchenettes) with no ac and fewer cross...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bevvy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

A lot of what people say about this place is true- It is well located one door down from the beach and close to town. It has a really nice garden with hammocks and birds in the trees. The family who runs the hotel is friendly, helpful and always around. Also, Puerto Morelos is a sweet little town with a quiet beach and snorkeling off the reef. It is very cool, laid back Mexican town ( which is unique amongst the insane development of nearby Cancun and Playa del Carmen). However, our room/apartment at Amar Inn was kind of disappointing. We had a garden apartment and it felt kind of dank and unattractive. The beds were located on a loft above the spartan living room. Upstairs there was very little air (no AC- but fans,) because there were just tiny windows cut into the roof. Therefore it felt kind of stuffy. The beds were not very comfortable with old, scratchy sheets. Considering it only cost $65(with breakfast included) I guess I shouldn't complain- but I would recommend that if you stay here you request NOT having a garden room..

Room Tip: Don't get a garden room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank golondrina1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Level Contributor
101 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2012

The so-called "Mayan Riviera" has become a nightmare of gargantuan resorts and overhyped tourist attractions. Fortunately, not far from the Cancun airport, the village of Puerto Morelos retains a fair amount of character and authenticity -- and the Amar Inn is the perfect place for travellers seeking both. Not luxurious but very comfortable, well-run (some of the family members that own live on site), friendly and very affordable. The beach is one property away, and the premium rooms still have beach views despite a modern construction nearing completion next door. The breakfasts (which come with the rooms) are delightful. The main square is three blocks away, and snorkel trips and massage can be found within fifty yards. Good swimmers can grab a bouy and swim to the reef, which is now a protected marine national park. Plenty of good restaurants close bar, and the town feels completely safe late at night. The interior area of Amar in is nice for hanging out on a lazy day, including hammocks with a beach view. If you are looking for all-inclusive, all-American luxury, stay in Cancun; if you are looking for friendly, relaxed Mexico, Amar Inn is a delight.

Room Tip: The cheapest rooms are fine as relaxing base for a trip; if you have a few extra bucks, the premium...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank keithgct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Morelos hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel el Moro
Hotel el Moro
#15 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Morelos
Hotel Hacienda Morelos
#16 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
23.0 mi away
Hotel Arrecifes Suites
Hotel Arrecifes Suites
#17 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Buenos Dias
Buenos Dias
#2 of 19 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
1.6 mi away
Excellence Riviera Cancun
Excellence Riviera Cancun
#2 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11,520 reviews
1.5 mi away
Acamaya Reef
Acamaya Reef
#19 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amar Inn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amar Inn B&B

Property: Amar Inn B&B
Address: Gral. Lazaro Cardenas Lt 4 | Smza 1 Mza 2 Lt 4, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Morelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Amar Inn B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amar Hotel Puerto Morelos
Amar Inn Bed And Breakfast
Amar Inn B&B Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Morelos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing