We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss this unique massage experience!!”
Review of Ixchel Jungle Spa

Ixchel Jungle Spa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sandra's Jungle Spa is project for the local women of our community in Puerto Morelos. Our non profit organization provides the spaces and support for the local women to gather to creater an income to support thier families. They sell their hand made crafts and offer Mayan massage
Reviewed April 22, 2013

I know some folks insist on luxury as part of their spa experience and may not find this a good match for their tastes, but for everyone else--do yourself a favor and make sure you get to the Jungle Spa!
We made appointments in advance by email with Sandra and took the colectivo van from Cancun to Puerto Morelos bus stop where we caught a cab for the short distance to the spa.
While we were seated in the intake room, we got to hear first-hand satisfaction from several happy customers who were just finishing up and also met several of the friendly small dogs who like to hang out with the guests. Sandra told us about the background of this small business and determined based on our needs who would be the best masseuses to assign to us. We both got deep tissue massages followed by the aloe and banana leaf wrap and the whole package was A-1 from start to finish. Being in the screened palapas added a nice nature connection and the integration of Mayan techniques into the massage made it different from any of the many others we have experienced elsewhere. Hope you get to enjoy it for yourself!

Thank kmk415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JungleSpaReina, Owner at Ixchel Jungle Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

it is so wonderful to hear from you and how you loved your massage! The women work so hard to do their best . Comes from their heart. Just thought you would like to know took the puppy to the vet for her shots so looks like we are keeping her!
Thanks for your comment and look forward to seeing you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (728)
There are newer reviews for Ixchel Jungle Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

344 - 348 of 728 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2013

We had a group of 7 women and a guy who spent an afternoon at The Jungle Spa. The short review is that all of us stated it was the best massage we had ever had (and some of us in this group are spa junkies).

The experience is unique to say the least. Upon arrival we were a little concerned as we were walking up the path from the road to the main building when Sondra came out and greeted us. You are brought to a large room that has a large table that you sit around. You receive about a 15 minute background on how the jungle spa came to be and the history of Mayan massage. You then do a shot of a licorice tasting liquer and then choose which services you want. We all went all out for the Mayan experience which is an hour and 45 minute massage including a portion where you are laying on your side (heavenly) and there is a point and time where she is standing on your back while hanging onto a bar from the ceiling. Unconventional for sure but felt amazing.

We also all opted for $20 to add a 30 minute chocolate or aloe scrub. They put the stuff on you then cover you in banana leaves, leave it on for about 10 mintues, come back, wash it off, flip you over and do the other side. The only thing that would have made this better was instead of leaving the room for the ten minutes if the Masseuse would have stayed in the room and done a foot rub while you were on your back and a scalp massage while you were on your stomach. I got a little bored during the 20 minutes. However, my skin felt great afterwards so I would still probably do it again. For the 2 1/2 hours of services we paid $100 plus tip. 2/3 the price of what a 50 minute massage would have cost us at the Ritz Carlton. (and I'm sure much better)

Couple things to keep in mind if you are considering this experience (which I encourage you to do). The massages are done in large palapa huts. The only thing separating you from the person next to you is a sheet (and you obviously don't have clothes on). Also the sides of the palapa have a light burlap as walls, however you can see through them if you are on the outside. I am far from a modest person but were in Mexico on an executive retreat for my company, so it was a little strange to be with co-workers. My husband on his way out saw a little more of one of my co-workers than he had bargained for. Again, nothing that should deter you from going, just something to be aware of.

Next time I am in the area I will definitely be back.

Thank susanbratwurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JungleSpaReina, Owner at Ixchel Jungle Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Thank you for your comment! we really enjoyed having your group. I glad it all work out so well!

Just one thing the Aloe is not a scrub. the Chocolate sluffs off the dry skin and leaves the nutrients of the chocalte in your skin, and chocolate is taken of with warm water. The aloe is
a moisturizer and soaks into your skin in about 10 minutes and is not washed of but stays in your skin to moisture it.
Thanks again for your support it is greatly appreciated!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We had a large group visiting Puerto Morelos and made a couple of trips to the jungle spa and it was GREAT! Sandra did a great job of set us up with the right masseuse depending on what are individual needs were. The price was great and I Highly recommend!!

On a side note....Avoid a man named Jesse James that sells boat trips and adventures out of downtown Puerto Morelos. He ripped our group off for $150. Otherwise Puerto Morelos is a great little town, the locals are wonderful and we will be back!!

3  Thank Scott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JungleSpaReina, Owner at Ixchel Jungle Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Your group was wonderful and we throughly enjoyed you! Glad we can help
make people's vacation enjoyable and give them good memories!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

On a recommendation from Daughter we visited the Jungle Spa in Puerto Morelos on 4/11. This is a wonderful place out in a jungle setting with in a simple primitive area, wild monkeys in the trees, wonderful outside air flowing through the treatment spaces, and birds singing. After a very interesting historical presentation from Sandra we were assigned a Mayan masseuse who lead us to the hut and performed a wonderful massage on us. Those Mayans can really work you over and get to those tight places (the Mayan Special - WOW). They found knots and worked over muscles we were not aware of. We both felt very good after the message and enjoyed much conversation with Sandra and the masseuse after words. The price is much cheaper than any other in Mexico or the US. The experience is priceless. We will definitely return when visiting this area of Mexico again.

Thank Wes B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JungleSpaReina, Owner at Ixchel Jungle Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Really enjoyed meeting you both. Yes eveyone who comes for the first time hears our story . We are not a typical SPA Business. Most people are very interested in who we are, how we created what we have. I also go through the the types of massages we offer and prepare you for what to expect so you are well informed. Our massages are unique, not the usual. After you have heard our story once and when you come back you do not have to hear it again!
Thanks for your comment and support and we look forward to seeing you again sometime

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We have been visiting the Jungle Spa on our annual trips to Puerto Morelos for the last four years. The Spa has grown into multiple palapas from our first visit, without losing the charm and character of the Jungle Spa. It is always a pleasure to chat with Sandra and the other guests from around the world. I am amazed at the comments from these guests as most of them say how great they feel and how the massage has helped them with their problem areas, or how the masseuse has found knots in their muscles that they never knew they had. Most of them also inquire about scheduling a return visit. I highly recommend it as I usually make two trips to the Spa as “Once is not enough”. This year I had Mari and Eusebia as my “miracle workers”. They will work out your issues with problem areas and you will definitely cringe as they work on your muscle knots, remember, you can ask for a lighter touch but a firm deep massage is a firm deep massage. I know that the busy season for them is about over and they can use your support so please pass the word about this little piece of heaven. It is easy to get to. A taxi ride from a resort should be 200 pesos or 20 dollars. Sandra can call a taxi for a return trip back to your resort. Some taxi drivers will wait while you receive your massage. I highly recommend the four hands 90 minute massage and schedule it early so you can make a return visit. The prices are far cheaper than at a resort and the money goes to local families and not a big hotel chain. You won’t be disappointed.

1  Thank NeilsReady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JungleSpaReina, Owner at Ixchel Jungle Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Apreciate your support for low season. Thank goodness the women make enough to keep going.
We are always glad to see you and i well tell Mari and Eusebia about your comment.
We do massage for any age and gear the massage to each person needs from soft, medium to firm .
Look forward to your return

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ixchel Jungle Spa also viewed

Puerto Morelos, Riviera Maya
 
Puerto Morelos, Riviera Maya
Puerto Morelos, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Ixchel Jungle Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing