We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth checking out”
Review of La Petita

La Petita
Ranked #47 of 137 Restaurants in Puerto Morelos
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Worth checking out”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

This was our first meal in town,and we enjoyed it.

The chips and guacamole were simple and yummy.

My husband had chicken fajitas that were tasty, and I ordered the "fried fish tacos ". What I expected was tacos containing fried fish, but what I got were fish tacos closed like an empanada and fried. Not what I wanted, but pretty good.

My first PM piña colada, and it was delicious.

The staff was very welcoming and friendly.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank justjoy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    36
    9
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tasty seafood”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Friendly service, good food, fair prices, open air seating. Very enjoyable time. I particularly liked the garlic filete

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank jake9000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
111 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“it was just o.k.”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

There are a lot of good places to eat in Puerto and this one is just average. Everyone has different taste however being a veteran in this town it isn't our first choice, but it's not bad.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank stylin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent fried fish”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We ate here back in 2009 and made a point of returning when in the area again. You can choose your own fish to be fried, add on different preparations like Veracruz style or garlic (we chose garlic, which is the most popular). Excellent, attentive service in an authentic setting. Highly recommend, even if it is a block off of the beach.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SeattleGTs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“EFFICIENT INFORMALITY, CHARACTER”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Unique informal service that was, at the same time efficient. I loved the fact that I was able to select my own meal from a tray of freshly caught fish to be fried.
Good prices and cold beer.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ivan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Petita also viewed

Puerto Morelos, Riviera Maya
Puerto Morelos, Riviera Maya
 
Puerto Morelos, Riviera Maya
Puerto Morelos, Riviera Maya
 

Been to La Petita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing