We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfection in Puerto Morelos”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
53 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Puerto Morelos, Yucatan Peninsula

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 53 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Laine A
Limerick, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Perfection in Puerto Morelos”
Reviewed October 28, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

From the outside, it may not look like much but step inside the gate and have your initial thoughts transformed. Casa Toucan is small oasis in Puerto Morelos. Located near the town square, the malecon and great restaurants, you will not find a better property to sit down your luggage. Beautiful lush gardens, sparkling dipping pool and the view you visited the Riviera Maya for. The beach is just outside the gate of the property: flat, wide, white sand await you. Never too crowded and a leisurely pace it is the beach solitude you have been craving.There are three units to choose from and each offers what you're looking for: comfort, the ocean and tranquility. Jon the owner and our host, is welcoming and easy going. For the money, you will not find a better value in Puerto Morelos.

Date of stay: October 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 30, 2017
Laine & Kim -

Hola! Thank you for your positive comments regarding your stay with us here at Casa Toucan. It was a pleasure having you here and talking with you and getting to know you a little. We hope to see you back here soon. Hasta luego!

Jon, Alicia & Jon Conner (and Sully, Lobo, Tika, Azi, & Tigre)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COLZ123
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Oceanfront Location Near the Square”
Reviewed October 24, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

My mother and I stayed in Casa Toucan 1 for four nights. The layout was great for us with two bedrooms and two bathrooms. The bathrooms were newly renovated and very nice. The beds were comfortable and each bedroom had more than enough built-in storage space for all of our belongings. The AC did a good job cooling down the bedrooms at night.

It was really nice to be so close to the town square - it is about half a block away. There are lots of good restaurants very close by. We enjoyed dips in the small pool and hanging out in the ocean. We were the only guests at Casa Toucan during our stay so we had our pick of beach loungers and mostly lounged by the pool. Most days someone would come to rake the seagrass from the beach.

Jon, the owner, lives on the top floor of the complex and was very hospitable. We always felt safe during our visit and would definitely come back to Casa Toucan for another stay.

Date of stay: October 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 25, 2017
Coles & Sarah -

Thank you for your kind words about Casa Toucan. I enjoyed having you here and getting to know you a little. Thank you for leaving your suite so tidy and organized! We would welcome you back at any time and hope to see you at Casa Toucan again in the future. Please tell Sarah I said "Thanks for the gin!".

Hasta luego!

Jon, Alicia, Jon Conner, Sully, Lobo, Tika, Azi, & Tigre
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dreamtrav...
Madrid, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“As great as ever, and even better!”
Reviewed April 29, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

This is the second time we have stayed in Unit 1, and we are very happy we did. Unit 1 has had lovely renovations to the bathrooms, and a kitchen remodel is planned for later this year. Can't wait to go back and see it! The grounds are lovely, and the new additions to two other units have only made the whole space more gracious. Jon and Alicia are, as we had come to expect, such delightful hosts of the property. A word about a previous review - any difficulties from the new plumbing (and they were only occasional and mild) will be soon fixed - Jon is very proud of their property and really keeps on top of things. April weather was great, as March had been last year in Any time us a good time to be in PM at Casa Toucan.

Date of stay: April 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 25, 2017
Nancy & Ed -

Thank you for your kind words regarding your repeat visit with us here at Casa Toucan. It is always a pleasure having you as our guests.

We haven't made any changes to the kitchen in suite Toucan 1 yet - it will probably get a facelift next summer. We did, however, tear out the brand new shower floors to address the odor, and I am happy to report that after the installation of U.S.-style p-traps, the bathrooms are odor free! The guys did a great job putting the floors back together so the newly-remodeled bathrooms look better than ever!

We hope to see you again in 2018. Hasta luego!

Jon, Alicia, & Jon Conner (and Sully, Lobo, Tika, Azi, & Tigre!)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaysey66
California
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great location, helpful owners”
Reviewed April 20, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We stayed for 4 days in unit 2 which had a nice balcony overlooking the pool and beach. The location was the best! Walking distance to the square, shops and many restaurant. The unit itself was spacious, clean and had an adequate assortment of cooking supplies. The bed was very comfortable; however the reading lights were on bed tables that were much too low , so reading in bed was not a good option. The top of the walls of the bedroom are open about 18 inches on 2 sides so that light and sound (TV) from the living space could not be blocked out.As we are older folks and have different sleeping habits, this was not ideal. The owner , Alecia was most helpful and did not intrude on our privacy . The pool was small, but fine to take a dip in. We found the gate to the beach extremely hard on our old joints as there is no handrail; however, there is public access a block away so we used this to do our beach walks.All in all we enjoyed our stay.

Date of stay: March 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 25, 2017
Barbara & Roy -

Thank you for your kind words regarding your stay with us here at Casa Toucan. I have added your comments about the reading lights and the handrail to the beach to my to-do list! We appreciate feedback from our guests so that we can keep working to make the property better for all of our guests. We enjoyed having you here and hope to see you again in the future. Cheers!

Jon, Alicia, & Jon Conner (and Sully, Lobo, Tika, Azi, & Tigre!)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kelly s
winnipeg
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Absolutely No Surprises”
Reviewed March 22, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
3
people found this review helpful

My wife and I stayed at this exceptional property for 2 weeks in Feb. This was our second time visiting Casa Toucan. We have stayed in 2 of the 4 units on the property. I take exception to some points in the previous review and wish to relate our experience. First of all the owner supplies complete, detailed and accurate information about the area, property including rules and regulations. Absolutely no surprises! Read them. Shared outdoor common area works great, only 3 other couples at most and plenty of space, chairs, tables and room in the pool / hot tub. We have found that the owners being on site is a MAJOR positive in our holiday. If you need something fixed, adjusted, advice, directions or just an opinion on where to find a great breakfast, they are always available. It's like having the ultimate concierge service; accommodating, friendly and discreet. We have met many other couples during our times at Casa Toucan whom express the same opinion. Check out next winters availability calendar, booking up quickly with return guests. I'm one of them.

Date of stay: February 2017
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 25, 2017
Kelly & Sharon -

Thank you for your positive remarks regarding your stay here at Casa Toucan. And thank you for coming to our defense jajaja! In my three decades of working with the public, I have found one unequivocal truth: No matter how hard you work and try, there will be people that you simply cannot make happy. Luckily this has been the case in a tiny minority of our experiences hosting 300+ groups of guests here at Casa Toucan. The vast majority of our guests are awesome people (like yourselves!), so we don't let the occasional curmudgeon bother us. As you stated, a high percentage of our guests (like yourselves!) return again and again, and we will always work to make their experiences better each year.

It was a pleasure having you here again this year, and we look forward to seeing you in 2018!

Best,

Jon, Alicia, & Jon Conner (and Sully, Lobo, Tika, Azi, & Tigre!)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gsorkow
New Hope, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointed. Better attention to a few details would make for a more pleasant experie”
Reviewed March 19, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We Stayed at Casa Toucan in Mid-March 2017. We were a party of four adults and stayed in the two-bedroom unit, Toucan 1. The location is great, with (gated) access to the beach and walking distance to all the restaurants and attractions in the lovely village of Puerto Morales.
I cannot comment about the other units in the facility, but I found Toucan 1 in need of some improvement.

John, the property owner was very accommodating. He thoroughly answered all the questions we had about the property and the town prior to our arrival. (once the contract was signed he sends very helpful detailed information). He quickly responded to a few maintenance requests during our stay including cutting a vent in the (temporarily) boarded-up window opening in one of the bathrooms to get rid of the smell of sewage.

Yes, the biggest problem in Toucan 1 is the odor of sewer gas that emanates from both bathrooms. The odor varies throughout the day from tolerable to overpowering. Besides the vent that John cut, we tried capping the drains when we were not using the sink and shower. Both had minimal effect. I suggest before you rent this unit that you inquire about the status of this issue. Why wasn’t this mentioned anywhere in the paperwork that otherwise thoroughly described the details about the property and the owner/renter responsibilities?

In our opinion, the pots and pans, drinking cups and some of the furnishings were well used or worn out and in need of replacement - Not the quality we expected for the price paid. Besides weekly maid service, the Kitchen needs to be thoroughly cleaned.

Also worth noting, contrary to the amenities section on Trip Advisor, Toucan 1 does not have its own Patio, Deck or Terrace. The sliding door opens immediately to a table and benches that are part of the “common area” and the rules state it must be kept free of possessions when not in use. The hot tub described by John as “make-shift” needs to be running constantly in order to stay hot. At one point however, we were told not to keep it running. This rendered the hot tub pretty ineffective
I must agree with another TA poster about having the owners on-site. It can be a mixed bag. We felt as if we were being observed for any possible infraction of the numerous rules.
I would suggest that before you choose to make a reservation that requires a non-refundable deposit you ask to review the rental contract and the rules and regulations. The owners, John and Alicia are proud of their property, but the primary theme is, “This is our home.” Rather than “You are our valued guests/customers.”

It is a challenge to write a mediocre review, The location is awesome, and the facility has great potential. A few improvements will indeed make it paradise.

Date of stay: March 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 25, 2017
Gail & Mitch -

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay here at Casa Toucan. Yes, the issue with odor in the bathrooms has been completely corrected. Please understand that you were visiting another country, and you cannot always assume that the rest of the world will be exactly like the U.S.A. It is common in this area for bathrooms to have this odor as p-traps are not typically installed, used toilet paper goes in the wastebasket (not in the toilet), and bathroom doors are kept closed. We are the only property that I know of that tries to make our guests more comfortable by following practices more customary to American and Canadian guests by flushing our toilet paper. The odor was exacerbated by the fact that we were awaiting the installation of new windows and as a result one of the windows was boarded, but I do not recall anyone being "overpowered". I apologize for this inconvenience. Regardless, this summer we installed p-traps on the shower drains and since then I have asked each guest, and each one of them has said that there have been no odors in the suite. Success!

I am not sure what you mean about things being "well used or worn out". How does a drinking glass get "worn out"? I also do not understand what you mean by "Not the quality we expected for the price paid"...you spent less than $65 USD per person, per night to stay in a multi-million dollar beachfront property on the Caribbean Sea. Does the "quality" of the dishes, or the presence of a small tear in a bedsheet, or any of the other very minor things that you complained about somehow outweigh all of the other qualities of the property?

A few notes of clarification:

1) There is no mention in our listings of a private patio, deck, or terrace. It is clearly stated in each listing that Casa Toucan is a multi-suite property and that the pool deck and other outdoor spaces are for shared use by all guests. I am sorry that you did not understand this, but the description is unequivocal.

2) Accordingly, we ask that guests not monopolize the common areas as a courtesy to fellow guests. At one point, your towels, books, and other items were strewn across five of the seven lounge chairs around the pool, and you had left the property! We had to gather your possessions and put them outside your suite so that the chairs were available for our other guests.

3) The Rental Agreement is available here on TripAdvisor for your review prior to booking. I am sorry that you chose not to read our very simple terms, and then subsequently wanted to cancel because you failed to do your research.

4) Upon your arrival I clearly explained to you how we use the hot tub. We absolutely will NOT waste electricity and gas to keep the hot tub running at all times because you refuse to follow a very simple procedure. Energy is very expensive here - more than triple what you pay in the U.S. - and we do our best to conserve it.

5) Another very basic rule: We keep the gates of the property locked, primarily to keep people from wandering in from the beach, but also to improve security. We asked you repeatedly to lock the gate when you left, and your reply was "But we want it open". At times you left the gate not only unlocked, but standing wide open! "But we want it open" does NOT change the rules here!

Ultimately, your problem with your stay was that we asked you to follow some very basic, common-sense house rules, but you think that the rules do not apply to you. As was the case in the two other reviews that you cited, you did not like the owners being on-site because you didn't want to have to follow the rules. You are absolutely right, this IS our home, and we ask that you respect some very basic requests. The fact that you have paid to stay here does NOT mean that we will allow you to be disrespectful and discourteous of us nor of your fellow guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy L
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Lovely property on the beach with a great location!”
Reviewed February 1, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Great location within walking distance to town and numerous wonderful restaurants. The unit was lovely, clean and right on the beach.

Date of stay: January 2017
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 4, 2017
Nancy -

Hola from Casa Toucan! Thank you for your kind words regarding our property. We enjoyed having you and the girls' gang here and we look forward to seeing you guys again in the future. Hasta luego!

Jon, Alicia, Jon Conner, Sully & Lobo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing