We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive option for short tour”

The Original Snorkeling Adventure
Book In Advance
More Info
$89.00*
and up
Snorkeling Adventure at Puerto Morelos National Reef Park with Lunch and Open...
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An excursion especial to explore the natural beauties of Bahia Petempich one the most conserve reef in the Riviera Maya. This location it's a National Park, surrounded by lagoons and mangrove forests. Facing the second largest barrier reef in the world with an excellent view of the Mexican Caribbean; Come and try one of our amazing Snorkeling Adventures.... The MORNING GLORY SNORKELING TOUR is an excellent adventure for those wanting only a few hours exploring the breathtaking underwater world of the second longest coral barrier reef on the planet. The half day tour includes snorkeling on two spectacular reefs inhabited by endless marine life and amazing breathtaking colors. Includes Round-trip transportation Guided visits to two snorkeling spots, shallow and deeper reefs 45 minutes each. Snorkeling equipment, (new snorkeling tube) Light Breakfast buffet type (self service): fruit, sweet rolls, juice and coffee Refreshments: bottled water, soft drinks, cold beer (NO OPEN BAR) Price: Adults $69 Children $34.50 usd
Reviewed March 10, 2014

My husband and I waited to book a snorkeling tour while we were in Cancun v. doing our research ahead of time. Never again will we trust a tour guide in a hotel. We went through the Expedia representative at our resort and were convinced this would be a nice half day snorkeling option, but we couldn't have been more incorrect. The tour picked us up in the morning (late) and drove us 30 min. to the shop location. Once there we were corralled into a building to hear the "park ranger" give us a lecture to not use our sunscreen, but instead by their biodegradable sunscreen so we wouldn't damage the reef. It would have been nice to know this ahead of time so we weren't stuck paying a hefty fee for something we could have gotten much cheaper elsewhere.
We then were led to another building to pick up the gear.
We then were asked to leave all of our stuff on some picnic tables while we waited for the other buses to show up.
30 min. of waiting later we noticed the breakfast that was promised was out and ready for us to eat (though no announcement was made). A couple of us ventured over to grab some food and no sooner did we do that, but they asked us to hurry to the boats so we could leave.
They took us out to some reefs, where we did see quite a few fish (this was the positive part of the trip), with a bottle of water for some people in between (they didn't give them to everyone for some reason).
After about an hour, they took us back to the beach where our stuff was located and were surprisingly out of the beer that they had just promised to us prior to our departure (and we paid for with the tour). 10 min. later our buses were back for us to leave.
Overall, they overpromised and didn't deliver. This tour should have cost half the amount it did, and would have benefited greatly to having smaller groups, so we didn't have to wait for the other 75 people at each step.

Thank lind_klp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian C, Manager at The Original Snorkeling Adventure, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2015

Hello Lind, thank you for sharing your experience. We are sorry to hear that on this occasion we did not meet your expectations and apologize for that, we will take note on your comments to keep improving our service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (474)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

306 - 310 of 474 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2014

We were picked up promptly from our Cancún hotel and delivered comfortably to the site. The staff were very attentive throughout and a nice buffet lunch was provided with fresh grilled fish and chicken. They are geared towards novices and will keep you safe and comfortable. We had modest surf the day we went and the water was turbid, which limited visibility. We had 3 brief jaunts to different sites. The March water was warm but without a suit, most will not want to stay in the water longer. If you have a suit, bring it. Experienced snorkelers will likely find this site disappointing. But for the casual snorkeler who wants someone else to drive and take care of arrangements, this is a reasonable choice.

Thank Barry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian C, Manager at The Original Snorkeling Adventure, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2015

Hello Barry thank you for stopping by and leaving your comments. Have a great day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I are experienced snorkelers. Cozumel, Turks and Hawaii. Our rep at our resort highly recommended this tour so we were very disappointed once we actually got there and experienced this "adventure." Our rep told us ahead of time about the tax - $3.00 - but when we got there we were charged $4.00. We didn't really care about the extra dollar except that others were arguing about it and we began to wonder what else was not as we were told. As others have commented, we had to sit in the boat rocking on the shoreline for a long period which made both of us sea sick. When we did get to snorkle it was very rushed and I was constantly kicked in my face and elbowed by other snorkelers. When I tried to create a little space between myself and others, I was herded back immediately. There was no time to float and look at the coral and fish beneath you. By the end of the second dive my husband and I were very annoyed at being kicked and rushed so much that we decided not to do the third snorkle. Once back on the boat the sea sickness returned and my husband asked about getting a taxi back to our resort which was about an 8-10 minute drive from the beach. He was told that it would cost us $35.00 US and we would have to give them the money - they would them pay the taxi. This was an obvious rip off to us and we decided that there was no way that we were going to give them another penny. The best part of the trip was the tour bus ride back to our resort. We gave our tips which had been planned for the guides, etc. all to the driver. Stay away from this tour. You can find much better at Akumal and other places and you won't feel guilted into leaving a tip where it definitely isn't deserved.

2  Thank straymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian C, Manager at The Original Snorkeling Adventure, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2015

Hello straymom, thank you for sharing your experience. We are sorry to hear that on this occasion we did not meet your expectations and apologize for that, we will take note on your comments to keep improving our service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

We specifically chose this activity because we were told it was a half day trip, and just 25 minutes from Playa del Carmen. We were waiting for the van at 7:30, the driver was prompt. However, the five other groups we had to pick up, at four other resorts, none of which were close to the highway, were not as thoughtful. It took TWO HOURS to pick them up. We waited at least 15 min for each group.

We got to the "park", lined up to pay $3 each in "tax", to be rushed to line up to get on the boats. Ten minute ride to first snorkel spot. I have snorkeled a few times, so I entered the water and got busy looking, and was thrilled to see a moray eel in a little rock cave beneath me. Suddenly the guide taps me on the shoulder and says" Follow the leader. Keep up!" we snorkeled at full speed for 10 min, saw nothing, turned around and headed back to the boat.

Same thing at second stop. No fish, no chance to look at coral, full speed to a marker, full speed back to boat.

Back at the beach, the gourmet Mexican buffet was warm watermelon, a few packaged cookies, and four ounces of draft beer. We were given 10 minutes to wash off salt, dry, eat, and get back on van.

I would never suggest anyone take this trip.

1  Thank ChinookgalCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian C, Manager at The Original Snorkeling Adventure, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2015

Hello Chinookgal, thank you for sharing your experience. We are sorry to hear that on this occasion we did not meet your expectations and apologize for that, we will take note on your comments to keep improving our service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

This was my first time snorkelling. I personally have a phobia of fish but I overcame it with ease. The staff was really nice and very energetic! It was a lot of fun and we saw a stingray and a barracuda which was fascinating! I would definitely recommend it but not for small children. Some of the adults were upset because their tour got cut short from the children complaining. Its a long time to be in the water and its pretty hard.

1  Thank Jillian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian C, Manager at The Original Snorkeling Adventure, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2015

Hola Jillian! it is great to know that you overcame your fears and did the snorkeling tour! Congratulations. Thanks for stopping by and leaving your comment. We are happy to know that you enjoyed it and recommend it. Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Original Snorkeling Adventure also viewed

Puerto Morelos, Riviera Maya
Puerto Morelos, Riviera Maya
 
Puerto Morelos, Riviera Maya
Puerto Morelos, Riviera Maya
 

Been to The Original Snorkeling Adventure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing