We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good half day trip” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Almost Heaven Adventures

Almost Heaven Adventures
Ranked #29 of 37 Tours in Puerto Morelos
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Scuba Diving
Annapolis
Level Contributor
249 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Good half day trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

We took the half day snorkel trip through Royal Resorts. The vans they use are recent models, clean and in good condition. It was about a 40 minute ride from Cancun. Enrique who is the owner was also our driver. You have to pay a reef fee when you pick up the gear but that all went fairly quickly. It was a short boat ride out to the reef with a quick briefing on the way. We then got to snorkel in two spots. I enjoyed the second spot "the garden" more. Rafael was able to point out several barracuda to my daughter. Afterwards we had a short stop at the beach bar.

The town was very cute and I would have been happy to spend the afternoon checking it out. Maybe next time. I would definitely go with this company again.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    6
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fantastic fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

We were picked up at The Royal Sands by Enrique and driven to Puerto Morelos - about 30 minutes away. There were 6 of us in the van from our resort and that was the total number in the group. We arrived at the shop to get snorkeling gear and to pay the $3/person park fee. We were then driven to the beach where we were given a brief overview of our boat trip. Rafael was our guide on the reef and he was excellent. He was very adept at finding fish of all sizes, rays, conch shells etc... and making sure everyone in the group had a chance to see what he had found. We snorkeled in one area for about 45 minutes, got back on the boat (which was nice to get a break and warm-up) and then we snorkeled for another 30 to 40 minutes. It was great fun and we would do it again!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City, Maryland
Level Contributor
161 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Professional, Efficient Operation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

We took a 90-minute snorkel trip arranged by our hotel, and were so impressed we called later and booked direct. We wanted to spend the day in this pretty little town and arrange a small-group snorkel outing.
The staff is well organized and friendly. The boat was clean, well-equipped and had plenty of room fo us all to sit comfortably. The snorkel guides did a great job of showing us around the reef, pointing out fish, corals, sea cucumber, giant stingray and more. They cheerfully give a hand in boarding and disembarking (and using the ladder, something not always easy for landlubbers)! The hotel tour included a one-hour stop at a beach club before the van returned us to the hotel. This allowed us to use the rest room (clean and nice) and purchase snacks and drinks while drying off in the sun.
During our second visit with Almost Heaven, we experienced a personal emergency after our snorkel trip was completed. The tour operator/owner and his wife went out of their way to help us communicate with the local authorities and deal with the problem. We are already planning our next trip Puerto Morelos, and plan to again book with Almost Heaven Adventures ... maybe a night time snorkel trip!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank 2BeAlive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good solid, fun snorkeling adventure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Simply stated, this was a well organized, fun adventure. We were picked up from our resort, the Royal Haciendas, at 8:30 a.m., as promised. It took us about 25 minutes to drive to Puerto Morelos in a comfortable, new-looking van. After paying our US$ 3.00 entrance fee to the nature preserve (the shoreline around Puerto Morelos is a protected area), we were fitted with fins, masks and snorkels (included in the price) and transported in the same van down to the dock side. We waded out to the boat, we given ample assistance getting aboard and set off on our trip. We stopped at two dive sites, spent about 45 minutes in the water at the first site and about 30 minutes at the second side. We saw barracudas, sting rays, sea turtles, pompano, trigger fish and much more. Then, we were transported back to the beach and given about 45 minutes to use the restroom, shower and enjoy a leisurely drink at the beach bar.

I have only good things to say about this operation!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MattTD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballwin, Missouri
Level Contributor
386 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“You simply can't do better than this for snorkeling.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

The staff is polite, accommodating and really know the reef just off shore. The boats are in good shape. This ads up to a great snorkeling day on our favorite reef.

This is one of best snorkeling experiences you can have. We will book again next time.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Boat-Captain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Almost Heaven Adventures also viewed

Puerto Morelos, Riviera Maya
Puerto Morelos, Riviera Maya
 
Puerto Morelos, Riviera Maya
Puerto Morelos, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Almost Heaven Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing