We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Arriba”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Azul Beach Resort Sensatori Mexico
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
GreenLeadersSilver level
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Arriba”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We stayed from 1st Jan 2014 for 10 days having booked in the adult only section.

The room was spacious and clean as per photos on Thomson website. For once the bed comfort was excellent; we have never slept so well on holiday. Mini bar had beer and soft drinks that were re-stocked daily. The room had all of the usual amenities and a particularly good hairdryer. Cleaners did different towel art not sure if this was due to small tip we left each day (20 pesos).

The hotel is quite compact so you do not have to walk far to get to the restaurants, bars or beach. The only restaurant you had to book was Le Chic and think this may be because it is only part of the all-inclusive package for Thomson customers. The restaurants were never full and service (apart from one occasion) was always attentive.

The zoning worked well and on the one occasion that children did come into the adult only section they were quickly asked to move on. The adult only bar was the main place that we went to drink and it offered a variety drink options. You do need to be aware that the apart from the Le Chic restaurant (which you would not want to eat in every night) all other dining experiences are mixed. This did spoil any chance of a romantic evening meal as you are seated by the staff who for some reason often sit you next to large groups (we assumed wedding parties) or families with children so lacked the ambience we sought . This is probably our biggest criticism of the hotel as it would be very easy for them to rectify this with more careful seating planning.

The food in all of the restaurants was very good and flavoursome, especially the Italian and Caribbean. Le Chic was very different and a little bit whacky. It was a taster menu of 12 courses over about 2 hours. It is worth trying just for the experience itself. The buffet restaurant offers a wide variety of foods and it would be disrespectful to report otherwise. If anyone was unable to put a meal together from what was on offer then we could only conclude that they are either fussy or non-adventurous eaters. It is the best food that we have had on an all-inclusive package and we had no stomach upsets which is a miracle based on previous experiences.

The staff were always trying to be very attentive and we found this to be the case whether you tipped or not. They did do some little extras if you tipped such as making up different shots for you to try at the bar. Staff were keen to please and provide service with a smile. We would like to name Carlos and Jorge at the Waves bar who were brilliant.

We did not engage in much of the entertainment on offer although when we did the staff were really good. Giovanni, Katinka and Omar worked really hard to keep guests entertained during the 7 days of rain. One day we randomly ended up playing Mexican bingo in the bar which was good fun and broke up the day well.

Most other guests were English or Canadian so there were lots of opportunities to socialise if you wanted to.

The beach was very nice to walk along although due to the rain we were not able to do this as much as we would have liked. Also we went out to the mangrove near the hotel and saw crocodiles which was an awesome experience.

This is relatively relaxed place and you need to make sure that you check what is going on and what is available otherwise you may miss out. We did not realise that you could help yourself to sparkling wine (champagne as they called it) in the reception area until the day we left.

It is a luxury yet not pompous experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank graytowse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,571
    1,881
    714
    258
    190
See reviews for
3,299
3,700
47
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,214)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Heswall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Sensatori Mexico is amazing!!!
the food is gorgeous! room is just unreal!
everything is perfect!
definitely do the cancun bar crawl it was soo much fun and met loads of people through it!
We went back a few times just me and my boyfriend and got the hotel to arrange taxis!
definitely do the mandala beach party on a tuesday in cancun...
The mexican people could not do enough for you they are just so so sweet and kind hearted people wanted to take them all home with me they work so hard!
would 100% go back worth every penny, you will never get treated like that in another hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Naomi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

From the moment we entered the lobby to the moment we left, we were impressed and in love with the Azul Sensatori. The food is wonderful and the extras this resort offers all guests puts it a cut above. If you then choose to upgrade to Premium - watch out - SPECTACULAR SERVICE!!!
We stay in many different resorts and we could not fault this one. We loved the Mojito Lounge for the drinks and the fun atmosphere. We loved the pool bar for evening drinks and meeting new friends from around the world.
Please note: the beach is not pristine white sand. It is natural and has some rocks and seaweed. the ocean is a living thing and nature will appear on this beach. There is an area for swimming but please do not choose this resort if you want to spend a week in the surf. You choose this resort to relax, be looked after and enjoy friendly happy people. You lie on the beach and you swim in one of the stunning pools.
We loved it - we will go back again and again and again. Thsi is now our benchmark for Mayan Riviera resorts (if not Caribbean resorts) xoxo

Room Tip: The basic room is stunning. There is an adults only building. If you like having a pillow menu, ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank tara h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

What can I say ... this place is amazing!!
We are in the adults only section, have a lovely clean room with all amenities we need.
We've had a few bad days with the weather but there's plenty of things available to keep you occupied.
The service in resort has been 5* from start to finish, with extra finishing touches for us on our honeymoon ... along with a couples massage that was truly amazing and relaxing, just what's required after planning a wedding!!
Will definitely be coming back here ... I just hope the weather is slightly better!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrNMrsJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angles, CA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Dinner at the molecular gastronomy restaurant Le Chique was AMAZING! Delicious, creative and they were great about accommodating our vegetarian diet. I can't believe it was included in the package! The reservation system for the restaurant was unnecessarily complicated, however.

The other restaurants & the buffet had very few vegetarian options, were often very slow (in their defense it was Christmas week) and were pretty mediocre. The Caribbean place was good but slow.

Also, other than the Mexican restaurant & a mariachi show one night of the week, there wasn't much of a Mexican feel to the place. This is a shame because Mexican food and culture are awesome. To me it felt more like Las Vegas than Mexico. Another food complaint -- why no snack bar? It would be great to have some place to pop in to in your bathing suit to grab a taco or a quesadilla or slice of pizza while lounging. Instead you have to eat a meal and have to follow a dress code to do so. On the other hand, having room service as part of the all inclusive is pretty cool.

The rooms were beautiful & spacious but the bathroom is totally impractical. The sinks are really far from the mirror so it's hard to apply makeup, etc. And they use frosted glass for both the shower and bathroom, so you can see the silhouette of your partner doing his business. And from the bedroom you can see the silhouette of the person showering. Maybe that turns some people on, but we're not into it.

Lastly, they ran out of beach towels a few times. It was Christmas week & crowded so that probably contributed. You also had to get up before 7 am to get a cabana and even beach chairs were hard to come by.

The grounds and pools are very nice, the shows were good, the gym is good, the staff are nice even if they aren't so great at actually bringing you what you ask for. But given the number of all-inclusives on the Riviera Maya there's nothing that compels me to come back to this place. And vegetarians may want to look for someplace a little more veggie friendly.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank mariposa01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Stayed at the resort in December and was was very impressed by services & attention to detail.

- Check- In : They did a personalized check in and it was great not to stand in line and wait .
- Rooms : Stayed in Adults Section; Rooms are clean , big in size and come with great amenities- used the Jacuzzi a lot . They were cleaned once a day & time when they clean does not matter as you are on a holiday
- Beach : is clean and they have great Sun shelters with Bali beds which have a linen covers on them. The Butler service was great on the beach .
- Grounds : Very well kept and are immaculate
- Restaurants: Service is a little slow but that does not matter as I was not in a rush to be somewhere . Wine selections are top of the line and food is best at Caribbean for lunch , Try Mexican for breakfast ( sit on the patio it is beautiful in the mornings ) & for snacks Beach side is the best place.
- Room Service : they were very accommodating and in spite of the Rain made sure that they delivered my order in 20 minutes although had told me it might take 40 minutes .

Last but not least it was It was great to see the detail in planning the resort like the Glass panels to improve the views on balconies & Path along the beach , the Bali beds with real linen covers rather then plastic sheets . You could tell that the company puts the comfort the guests before cutting costs like the cheap North American Hotels !!!

Room Tip: Go with rooms on Second Floor as their balconies have proper coverage from Rain and you can enjoy th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Starbucksnhighheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

In November 2013 my husband and I traveled with a wedding party to Azul. We were very concerned when our ride to the hotel did not arrive at the airport for about 1 hour. Then the travel to the resort was on terrible water ruined roads. At times we bumped through 8 inches or more of water to get to the resort. However this was not the fault of the hotel as they had terrible rains and were working to fix the roads. We should NOT have worried. When we arrived at the hotel it was first class accommodations, food, and service. We have been on many all inclusive vacations and this one was superior. The only complaint was the location of the hotel. It was quite a way off the main road so travel to the cities and sites was quite costly and time consuming. Other than that this was a wonderful place and you would be hard pressed to do better. I always have to put in the reminder that this was first class in another country, so if you want first class according to Canadian standards then stay in Canada. Otherwise enjoy other cultures and their relaxed ways.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tickdeeboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Morelos
6.7 mi away
Moon Palace Cancun
Moon Palace Cancun
#21 of 175 in Cancun
21,241 reviews
5.3 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#8 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
8,541 reviews
21.4 mi away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#34 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
6,946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
4.8 mi away
Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort
19.5 mi away
Ocean Riviera Paradise
Ocean Riviera Paradise
#77 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azul Beach Resort Sensatori Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azul Beach Resort Sensatori Mexico

Property: Azul Beach Resort Sensatori Mexico
Address: Carretera Cancun-Puerto Morelos km 27.5 | Manz 37, Super Manz 12, Bahia Petempich, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#7 Spa Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#7 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#9 Business Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Azul Beach Resort Sensatori Mexico 4.5*
Number of rooms: 435
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring the renowned Gourmet Inclusive(R) concept by Karisma, the Azul Sensatori Mexico Hotel brings together spacious facilities with unlimited activities and services. Azul Sensatori Mexico is designed to allow couples, groups, wedding parties, families and friends from all generations to re-connect under the sun. The 435 spacious and luxurious suites are tastefully designed in contemporary Caribbean style with dark wood accents and canopy beds. These suites are located in four story buildings with an elevator in each building. Views are either pool, garden, ocean or ocean front. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Azul Beach Resort Sensatori Mexico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azul Sensatori Hotel, By Karisma Hotel Puerto Morelos
Azul Sensatori By Karisma Hotel
Azul Beach Resort Sensatori Mexico Riviera Maya - Puerto Morelos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing